If Obama Had His Way….

This band would be called Roses😉

Thursday Open Thread !

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

106 Responses to If Obama Had His Way….

  1. DeniseVB says:

    3 Powerball winners … California, Tennessee and Florida. So much for my dreams of buying the Presidency or living in the Upper West Side of Manhattan😉

  2. Dora says:

    It looks like Obama is determined to have his way – and that’s not good! In fact, it is going to be one heck of a year!!😦

    Brace Yourselves: Obama Planning to Issue “Audacious” Executive Orders This Year


    • mothy67, says:

      So he is giving the shaft to the rest of the party to appease whacked out echo chamber leftists on the elite coasts. Each executive order will alienate more of the base.

  3. DeniseVB says:

  4. DeniseVB says:

    In the news, only WaPo can write a story about a faulty sound system. Apparently, when you rent an arena, isn’t it also about a sound system that works? Great Trump rant though🙂

    • leslie says:

      And right now, on Morning Joe, they are ripping Trump for his remarks about the sound system. Only yesterday (or Tuesday) Mika was ripping Delta for not getting her luggage to IA the last time they went there. I don’t know. It got HER there, didn’t it? So I guess she has no room to complain. Right?

      • DeniseVB says:

        I like Joe, but I don’t watch the show because Mika annoys the bejesus out of me. Like Andrea Mitchell does.

        The twitheads are in stormin’ Trump mode. “See that, he doesn’t have the temperament to be President !!!!” I beg to differ😉

        • leslie says:

          You’d have “loved” her today. She was rolling her eyes and sniveling and shrinking away from the video in which Phil Robertson(?) from Duck Dynasty endorses Ted Cruz. (It’s actually one of my favorite political videos – ever.) Mika and I would not like each other. Even when we agree, I find her such a disagreeable snob, I can’t begin to tell you.

    • Myiq2xu says:

  5. Dora says:

  6. leslie says:

    I am so sad to learn that Alan Rickman has died. He was one of my favorite actors – ever. I think I first saw him in “Truly, Madly, Deeply” . Perhaps it was in “Time After Time”. But it was love.
    Alan Rickman, RIP.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Of course we all knew this, just not to the extent of the coordination involved to make Obama look good😉

    • Somebody says:

      There is something that just doesn’t add up about the whole sailors and Iran story. How is it possible that we had two boats that were disabled??? Two boats with two engines each and all four engines fail??? Somehow communication on both fails???

      We didn’t have any other naval assets in the area?? Come on, you know we did, so what gives?? Also if the boats were disabled then how in the hell did our sailors return in them? The Iranians are adept at repairing American boats??

      Nope something doesn’t add up. I don’t know if we’ll ever know the truth, but something is fishy with this whole situation.

      As for the sailors being down on there knees with hands behind their head, that doesn’t bother me as much as why we ourselves didn’t rescue them. If an Iranian ship drifted into our waters we’d approach on full defense and we wouldn’t trust them. We’d make them at least put their hands up because it could be a trap. Now the hijab and the apology, those were uncalled for and done purely to humiliate the US. I can’t wait for this administration to be gone!!

    • AFVet says:

      Really makes you look forward to the year ahead huh.

  8. Dora says:


    • DeniseVB says:

      That was torture to watch, but I laughed anyhow😛 Ouch.

      • leslie says:

        Ditto. and Ditto.
        I fell down my son’s front steps in a blowing “snowstorm” on Tuesday to avoid stepping on the baby who had just perched herself on the top step. I landed on the front concrete walk on my hands and knees. The baby was unscathed.

        • cynic says:

          Oh my, hope you’re ok! I suppose gloves saved your hands? Just found out that my friend, who also watches her grandbaby, fell down five of her stairs, fracturing her rib.
          When i missed one step in my house, I fractured my ankle, and was in a cast to my knee for six weeks.

          Our lives can change ever so quickly.

          • leslie says:

            Thanks, cynic. I’m as okay as I can be. Only the tiniest of a bruise on my right knee and a little soreness on my right hand. I was more worried about my back and my left side. Nothing damaged there, thank goodness!
            I remember you mentioned your ankle one time. But from missing only one step – what a pain.

          • foxyladi14 says:

            So True. 🙂

    • Somebody says:

      It snowed in Florida in 1989

    • elliesmom says:

      Remember when Willard Scott used to wish people a happy hundredth birthday? Given the demographics, you would have thought most of the people would have been from Florida. But they weren’t. They were from places like Minnesota and northern Maine. The cold is good for us.🙂

  9. mothy67, says:

    One of the things I find so disturbing is DeBlasios and other democrats pushing for expanded day care. Nothing is so tragic as babies lined up in playpens against a wall. Row after row of kids getting no attention. I have my pup because a bus was running late. I was on bus got a call can I pick up the baby. I was going back to New York. Gonna drink til 4 am snort cocaine and talk about Afghanistan on a rooftop for hours. Good times no reponsibility. I partied hard. I made okay money (80) but I had nothing. I’d wake up at 4 for my 3 pm shift buy clean clothes off the street(New York offers that) get a car. Change and brush my teeth in a town car. Pour Jim Beam in a coffee cup and get my job done. Day after day.
    I picked up this six month old because my bus was late. I walked into the place it smelled like ass. I have never witnessed anything so tragic. I think neglect can be worse than physical abuse. These babies were just alone in playpens. I walked over to her and she put up these chubby arms. I dissolved. She never went back. I quit my job. I was 39 when I picked her up. I will be 49 in two weeks. I lived in the art/music world most of my life i was buying heroin in the early nineties. I never shot. Just snorted and other than being dope sick for a few days i was able to walk away. Been 25 years I struggle endlessly with cigarettes i quit for ten days and then I smoke. I assume heroin is like that makes no sense.
    Anyhow I picked brat up and she clung to me. I knew she needed me and once I said that to myself I could not walk away. She would be an after thought in life if I didn’t stand by her. I find it impossible to believe that I once waited outside an ATM for 9 am to roll by so I could withdrawal another 500 for cocaine. I was still awake and wanted more but I’d hit my max the day before.
    I was that guy now I get delighted when berries are two for one. Smoothies are priority.
    Anyhow I think daycare for infants is cruel. What is to become of these children if they don’t matter. My baby girl pulled something out of me that I did not know existed. I think the word is feeling. Who the hell wants feelings. Being a cold asshole used to be fun and then you care and you are fucked. You can never uncare.

  10. DeniseVB says:

    The Racist Academy Award Nominations are announced (yep, they’re bitching)


  11. DeniseVB says:

    Yep, I agree ….

  12. DeniseVB says:

  13. DeniseVB says:

  14. mothy67, says:

    I love Harry Potter. J K Rowling has gifted me so much. Kid was wee a broken collar bone. What the freud do I do. I read Potter. We stayed up all night reading the Chamber of Secrets. I have read everyone of those books out loud. In a world where Lena Duham is held in esteem I genuflect to Rowling for offering Hermione. A friend, a student, a role model. She is no less real than the fabricated Dunham. Alan Rickman was the perfect Snape. May he rest knowing millions of kids will continue to see him for generations doing his art.

  15. DeniseVB says:

    LOL, has Hillary broken laws that even Rod Blagojevich followed ?


  16. DeniseVB says:

    Good read from Don Surber on a muslim woman paid to troll a Trump rally to prove how bigoted his supporters are … and failed.


  17. elliesmom says:

    “The Other Side is Not Dumb”. https://medium.com/@SeanBlanda/the-other-side-is-not-dumb-2670c1294063#.56ohttps://medium.com/@SeanBlanda/the-other-side-is-not-dumb-2670c1294063#.56ol082o3l082o3 A good read.

    As a science teacher in very liberal MA, I still came across an occasional student who refused to accept the theory of evolution. You know what? Not everyone has to. As long as enough people do to continue the research and find the money to pay for it, we’re OK. It was important for the kids to learn about it, but it was OK for them not to believe it. Much more dangerous for them to reject conservation of momentum. You know that thing that happens when a small car and a big truck collide. But not believing in evolution is not life threatening, and it doesn’t keep a person from being smart and educated.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Good point. It’s often a fine line between respecting religious beliefs and teaching science (or literature, engineering, or anything really). On the one hand, you need to teach it, people need to learn. On the other hand, if it’s not a life threatening thing, it’s no big deal for someone to skip a class here and there. The hard part is often keeping a straight face while someone says how when the meteor flies overhead if they take arsenic they get to ride to heaven. Or whatever their deeply held belief is.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I find the theory of evolution fascinating and more believable than creationism, but that’s the joy of an open mind, both sides are interesting.

      I was lucky to be in NYC when AMNH had their Darwin exhibit and saw all the little species he collected from all over the world. I believe it was the mockingbird, one species collected from different world locations, and the subtle differences due to climate and other environmental factors. Just ate that stuff up. Still no proof we evolved from apes, because there are still apes ?

    • votermom says:

      Much more dangerous for them to reject conservation of momentum. You know that thing that happens when a small car and a big truck collide.
      I’ve noticed that Consumer Reports is not a great believer in the conservation of momentum. They are always claiming that small energy-efficient cars are so much safer than big bad SUVs.

      • 49erDweet says:

        Yeah, CU would rather worship at the altar of Responsible Consumerism than accept the possibility of contrary views. There is absolutely no reason for any army to use heavily armored tanks. Fiat 500’s are perfectly fine.

  18. mothy67, says:

    I know there is a mother here that is dealing with a child’s addiction. I cannot quit smoking. I try and I get 10 days I start again. There is no reason. I did heroin but it was never my drug. The woman that turned me on is Dr. Suzanne Mallouk. She was Jean Michelle Basquiats lover. She was a Canadian runaway drop out that became a shrink. Julian Schnabel Warhol film is a joke. Her story is unique. Schnabel is without talent. He made a limited movie. I have so much respect for Suzanne I know your daughter needs help. Look up Suzanne. She lived it.

    • Somebody says:

      Tim get an e-cigarette and fill it with whatever flavor you want, but no nicotine. It can act as a pacifier when those cravings strike. For me stress……especially a screaming kid is a major trigger. I’ve also noticed I have boredom triggers too or maybe it’s accomplishment triggers?? All I know is on the weekends once my laundry is done, house is clean, meals planned, shopping done, groceries put away suddenly I want a cigarette, weird I know. I’m past the usual triggers like after a meal.

      I’m in the process of quitting again. The slow release patches really help me, have you tried them?? It takes a couple of days to work through once you start and for each step down, but for me they work. I bought the new nicotine mints just in case, but haven’t used them and of course I have my pacifier which is a big deal to have those first couple of weeks. I haven’t touched my paci in a couple of weeks.

      I’m going to try something new this time around. They’ve been doing studies with DHEA and addiction. Apparently when you first come off a drug, any drug; there is a period of brain reset, the most intense of which is in the first 30-90 days. By taking DHEA studies have shown more success in that reset process, thereby significantly reducing relapses in addicts in clinical trials. For some reason they’ve found the most positive results with heroin addicts when they keep them on DHEA for a year, other addictions they do 3-6 months. Clearly I’m a nicotine addict. I discussed this with my new doctor and was surprised she was aware of the studies and was fully supportive of me going on DHEA.

  19. votermom says:

    Kid (on lunch break) just texted demanding to know if Alan Rickman died. She’s sad too. She said we have to watch Harry Potter tonight.

  20. votermom says:

    My Alan Rickman post

    let me know if I should repost it here

  21. DeniseVB says:

  22. Myiq2xu says:

    Somebody doesn’t understand how elections work.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Redstate is very,very GOPe, so this doesn’t surprise me. Walker and Perry were the most popular candidates at their gathering last August (how’s that working out for them), also Nikki was a featured speaker. Enjoyed them all. That was the one Trump was blown off and disinvited because family values, who’s your leader now Redstatekins? 😀

  23. Dora says:

    I just have to quote this from the article. I can hardly believe she really said this. What a ditz! –

    “”Kellyanne Conway, who heads a pro-Cruz political action committee, on Wednesday explained to Fox’s Dan Gallo exactly what her candidate meant by his remarks. “New York is home to many wonderful people and places, but the emphasis is more on money than morality, on self-aggrandisement than humility,” she said.””

    Is that what they really think? Yikes! That’s not going to go over well. At least the Southern voters seem to like Trump’s New York values.

    Donald Trump’s Southern hospitality

    • DandyTIger says:

      They’re very good at shooting themselves in the foot. Just like the establishment types calling most of their base bigots. Apparently thinking these things through is hard.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Kellyanne Fitzpatrick/Conway was one of the first FOX Foxes. She wore short skirts and had really long legs and usually flashed her panties at least once a show.

      So I’ve been told.

  24. Dora says:

  25. swanspirit says:

    Or why Donald Trump says we are being led by very stupid people
    And how Obama instead is making gun violence worse.


    1. Fight Crime

    Gun violence isn’t some isolated phenomenon caused by guns. It’s just crime.

    Most gun violence is gang and drug related. To stop gun violence you have to stop gangs and drug dealers. No amount of cracking down on ordinary citizens is going to stop organized crime from getting its hands on guns. Instead you have to fight organized crime directly.

    But while Obama considers the civil rights of legal gun owners to be expendable, he has made leniency toward drug dealers a priority, even personally intervening to free violent armed drug dealers and launching investigations into the police treatment of drug dealers like Freddie Gray.

    The Ferguson Effect has limited the ability of police to stop gun violence before it happens which is turning over entire neighborhoods to violent gangs.

    It is structurally impossible to be soft on crime but tough on guns, and yet that’s exactly what Obama is proposing. He wants to free drug dealers and then blame their murders on insufficient gun control.

Comments are closed.