Don’t Let The Oscar Hit You In The Ass On The Way Out

Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs

Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs

I am really sick of this whiny bullshit:

Oscars ‘Heartbroken’ Over Lack of Diversity, Academy Pledges ‘Big Changes’

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, which dispenses the Oscars, acknowledged Monday that the group is “heartbroken” over the lack of diversity among this year’s acting nominees, and pledged to make “big changes.”

“I am both heartbroken and frustrated about the lack of inclusion. This is a difficult but important conversation, and it’s time for big changes,” said Cheryl Boone Isaacs, president of AMPAS.

The statement came on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, as the nation remembered its commitment to civil rights and the path forged by the visionary leader.

I am pretty sure this was not part of MLK’s vision. He dreamt of a world where people were judged on their merits, not the color of their skin.

Hollywood has come under fire for the second year in a row for failing to nominate a single actor of color in any of the Academy Awards acting categories. On Monday director Spike Lee announced that he would not attend what he called the “lily-white Oscars,” while leading entertainment figures such as Jada Pinkett Smith and “Straight Outta Compton” producer (and Oscar voter) Will Packer criticized the persistent status quo.

The backlash has placed Boone Isaacs, who is African-American, in an uncomfortable position. However, she pledged in her statement that the group is addressing the problem.

“The Academy is taking dramatic steps to alter the makeup of our membership,” she said. “In the coming days and weeks we will conduct a review of our membership recruitment in order to bring about much-needed diversity in our 2016 class and beyond.”

This is hilarious. Other than education there is no industry that is more tightly controlled by liberals than the movie business. Sidney Poitier “broke the color barrier” in 1964 when he won a Best Actor Oscar for his role in Lilies of the Field.

Maybe Hollywood should use a quota system in handing out nominations and awards. And not just for “actors of color.” Every identity group should get a few trophies every year – Asians, Hispanics, gays, lesbians, trannies, the list goes on and on.

Or they could start having separate awards for minorities – a “Black Oscars” for black people, an “Asian Oscars” for Asians, and so forth. These award shows could be “safe spaces” where white people were not allowed. Resegregation now!

Or maybe . . . just maybe . . . there weren’t any black actors, directors or movies that were worthy this year. Maybe people of wealth and privilege like Spike Lee, Jada Pinkett Smith and Will Packer should just shut the fuck up.

“I give interracial couples a look. Daggers. They get uncomfortable when they see me on the street.” – Spike Lee

SMOD 2016

SMOD 2016

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

178 Responses to Don’t Let The Oscar Hit You In The Ass On The Way Out

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    Even though I won’t be attending the Academy Awards this year I still hope Angie runs another Oscars Pool for us. Never did find out who our mystery winner was last year.

    • leslie says:

      I was #2 last year and Steve Harvey wasn’t involved. LOL..
      This year I doubt I’ll even get 5 correct. I did go see “Creed” yesterday. I hate boxing, but I thought the movie was good, not great, though. I think Stallone may win if only for sentimental reasons. He certainly was not up to the performance of last year’s winner…but then who is?

    • dailypuma says:

      Seems like you didn’t see any movies with african american leads in them this past year so why are you gawking that they don’t have a point?

  2. leslie says:

    With so many black actors and directors, etc. willing to boycott the Oscars this year, it should be a lot shorter and I won’t have to go to bed wondering who, what won this year. I also won’t have to ask myself, when one actor, director,movie score, etc. wins, ” is it just because he, she, it was (wasn’t) a minority ?”
    I think I like it. 😉

  3. leslie says:

    I’m child caring today, so I look forward to baby girl’s nap time so I can read today’s comments.

  4. dm says:

    If my gossip site is to be believed, part of the “nomination” process is the campaigning…I just read the other day where Leo DiCaprio had worked up quite a lather instructing his staff, his agent, his PR group etc to do WHATEVER it took to get him nominated…maybe our esteemed actors of color need to consult Obama about how to campaign for the big prize…or MAYBE there really weren’t any outstanding performances…it’s possible.

  5. lildoggy4u says:

    I’ve decided to honor the boycott as well. This article convinced me; “One example is the 1965 film, Othello, based on the Shakespearean play of the same name. Lawrence Olivier sported blackface and was nominated for an Academy Award for playing the Shakespearean character, described as a “Moor” in the play”.
    Damn those honkys in 1965!

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Black actors have had their own awards for almost 20 years now. Crybabies.

  7. Myiq2xu says:

    Twitter is down and I am feening for my tweet fix!

  8. Myiq2xu says:

    QOTD: Why don’t people eat eggs with chicken? They eat eggs with bacon, ham, sausage, and steak, but not chicken. You can get chicken fried steak and eggs, but that’s steak.

  9. Anthony says:

    Love that they’re boycotting. Can I have their seats?

    • lyn says:

      I’ll go with you.

    • DeniseVB says:

      One year I applied to be a Seat Filler, but then decided it wasn’t worth the airfare, hotel, and worse, I had to wear a red carpet worthy gown.

      • taw46 says:

        Growing up, we had a family friend who loved movies. Since we lived in a small Southern town, he would have to drive about 3 hrs to larger city to see movies. As he got older, he made many trips to NYC, just for movies. And he knew EVERYTHING about them, including writer, box office, etc. He read Variety regularly.

        He always told us one day he would go to the Oscars. I believe it was in 1970, he rented a tux, got a hotel room where they were having the after-party (only one main party at that time, not like today). He could not get into Oscars ceremony, but walked into the party with Burt Bacharach’s group. No one stopped him, and he was able to pull it off because of his vast knowledge of the movie industry. I can’t remember all the stars he talked to at the time, but I remember John Mills and Merle Oberon. Wish I had written it all down, it was such a fun story. So different back then, not the security they have today.

  10. piper says:

    Here’s my opinion which I’m sticking to like glue. Most of the movies made today are not worth even the price of a senior ticket on Tuesday.

  11. Myiq2xu says:

    This explains why Dandy Tiger is an outlaw:

  12. elliesmom says:

    I didn’t go to the movies much when I could walk to the theater. Now that I have to pack a lunch to drive to a theater I expect to go even less. The only movie on this year’s list I’ve seen is “Bridge of Spies”. I enjoyed the movie, but it wasn’t best picture award worthy. I like to watch docudramas about events I’ve lived through. Seeing how Hollywood bends the truth about things I know about infuses me with skepticism about docudramas made about events in the more distant past. I enjoyed “Argo”, too, but there was more fiction than fact in that one. Watching “Saving Private Ryan” with my dad who was on the beach at Normandy was interesting. He said the opening scene of the battle was enough to trigger PTSD, but the rest of the movie was just good fiction. The capture of the Russian spy and the exchange for Francis Gary Powers really happened. The rest of the movie was good fiction. If the movie warranted a best picture nod, the rest of the movies made this year must not have been all that great.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Most movies these days aren’t worth the DVD rental.

    • leslie says:

      Both “Amy” (nominated) and “Best of Enemies” we’re really good documentaries. “Spotlight” and “Brooklyn” were wonderful. If you have a chance to watch “Phoenix” – it’s on Netflix – do. You won’t be sorry.

      • taw46 says:

        I thought Spotlight was excellent. Also liked Brooklyn and Bridge of Spies. The three of the eight nominated that I have seen so far.

      • elliesmom says:

        Thanks for the recommendation. “Phoenix” was worth the watch.

        • leslie says:

          I’m pleased you were able to see it and enjoy it. I got to watch some of “Homeland” this weekend when Showtime was free. The German actress, Nina Hoss, who is in this last season, is the star of the movie “Phoenix”. I read that she is a highly regarded actress in Germany before I saw the movie. And then to see her on Homeland was a nice surprise.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Was Saving Private Ryan the movie that lost to Shakespeare in Love ? That’s still controversial, even my husband refused to go to any movie for a few years after that.

      Yep, found it, was in 1999.

    • taw46 says:

      My sister gets mad at me, after these movies I look up facts to see what they changed (slanted). She asks, why do you do that? I say, because you believe everything as portrayed in the movie. Doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy the movie, but the agenda is so obvious sometimes.

      After I saw Bridge of Spies, I found a site that had a long list of what was true, what was not. Amazed to find most of it was true.

      • elliesmom says:

        The timeline was manufactured. There was a long time between Abel’s conviction and Powers capture in real life. No one shot Donovan’s house. Most of the story about Pryor was fictionalized. Lots of little inaccuracies that don’t matter all by themselves, but they added up. Most of the changes were done to add to the drama- like the Iranians chasing the plane down the runway in “Argo” never happened, but without it the escape would have been too dull for a movie plot. I don’t object to what they did to make either into a movie, but when I watch “The Borgias”, I don’t think I’m seeing “history”.

  13. lildoggy4u says:

    Who does this sound like?
    “a mental disorder in which people have an inflated sense of their own importance, a deep need for admiration and a lack of empathy for others”
    “But a lack of empathy is just one part of narcissistic personality disorder. Just beneath the surface layer of overwhelming arrogance lies a delicate self-esteem that is easily injured by any form of criticism”
    No, they’re not describing Obama.

    • elliesmom says:

      See, I don’t believe Trump lacks empathy. He does a lot of good things for people he encounters and doesn’t feel the need to brag about it. Wanting to stem the tide of illegal immigration might be construed as a lack of empathy for the illegals, or it could be a sign of great empathy for the legal residents of the US who have had their job prospects limited and their wages depressed by illegals crossing our borders. Likewise, wanting to halt the immigration of Muslims into this country long enough to sort out the ones who are looking for a better life from the ones who are coming because they want to kill us is very empathetic to the people who fear terrorism and need to be reassured their government is trying to prevent it. Like most things empathy is in the eye of the beholder.

    • taw46 says:

      Lots and lots of projection over there, both in article and in comments.

      • leslie says:

        GMTA. I was just coming over to say the same thing.
        (Grandbaby girl is sick w/flu-like symptoms and is napping. Poor little thing.😦 So my schedule will be weird today.)

        • taw46 says:

          Hope the grandbaby feels better soon.

        • Somebody says:

          Leslie, I hope your grandbaby is feeling better soon. It’s so tough to see them feeling so miserable. My youngest grandbaby has hand, foot and mouth disease. She’s covered in a rash even inside her mouth and throat, plus fever and coughing. We’ve already been to the doctor this morning. I knew what it was when I saw it, but my son insisted she be taken to the doctor and so she was.

          That stuff is highly contagious so I’m disinfecting everything every few seconds, argh! My son had a “friend” and his daughter over this weekend. The “friend” is actually a friend of the egg donor and is just as ratty and nasty as her. I’m certain that’s where this came from and on top of that I’m sure the visit was just for spying purposes, despite the fact that his daughter and one of the grandbabies at one time were playmates.

          I’m so tired of all the germs and sickness, good grief. I’m a quasi germophobe anyway and this constant barrage of illnesses drives me nuts.

          • leslie says:

            I’m so sorry for your little one and for you! Yes. It is hard to see the babies sick. And to do everything that goes along with it as well. I, like you a somewhat of a “geraophobe” and I’ve just finished disinfecting my hands for the 4th or 5th time in the last couple hours. Ouch. Good thing I threw in my hand lotion before I left this morning.
            Good luck with today, somebody.

        • swanspirit says:

          Sending healing o the Grandbaby Girl!!

          • leslie says:

            Thank you, swannie and everyone else. I think she’s doing better. We had some touch and go scenes throughout the day, but by the end of the afternoon, she was holding smiles and thoughts and holding down the tiny bit of food that she was able to eat.

        • elliesmom says:

          Aww, I hope she feels better soon.

    • DeniseVB says:

      You had me fooled, that IS a description of Obama😉 It’s also Raw Story. Plenty of msm stories out there with actual Trump philanthropy. Like the “evil” Koch Brothers who’ve probably done more for cultural arts and hospitals in the NYC area than DiBlasio could only dream of.

  14. Myiq2xu says:

    Not if he wins.

  15. Dora says:

    Oh my.

    Marco Rubio: Poor Little Rich Boy Runs Into Real Estate Trouble

    The Senator’s three houses, various lady friends, assorted con artist pals and piles of unexplained income

    • leslie says:

      Even if what the author, Ken Silverstein, says is the truth, I wonder who put him up to writing/posting it now. FWIW, I am not a Rubio fan. But I have been around long enough to know that it isn’t coincidence that this article/expose’ is coming out just days before the first caucus or primary.

      • Dora says:

        I could be wrong, but my first thought upon reading that article was that JEB was behind it. They are both competing for the Florida vote.

        • Somebody says:

          Yeb!, for sure. They’ve been hinting for months that Marco has a sordid past and that it will all come out.

          What a hit piece it is. Lots of guilt by association and innuendo. On top of that downright distortions, the real estate market in Miami was bad in 2005? Bullshit! What his house was assessed at is NOT the same as what it was worth. Houses in FL are assessed between 75 and 90% of their market value depending on the county.

          I could go on and on, but what is the point. Just another example of Yeb’s desperation. I don’t have to tell any of you that I’m not a Rubio fan girl. As one of his constituents in FL, I’m damned pissed at him over his flip flops on immigration and his desire to bring in 4 times as many foreign workers on visas. I hope if Marco loses it’s based on his stance on issues, not based on this gossip rag bullshit.

    • Lildoggy4u says:

      I knew all this months ago about Rubio. I think I have explained him losing the speakership in the Florida legislature due to his shady dealings. I wasn’t surprised he won the Senate since he’s Cuban but was surprised he’s come this far in the nomination process without all the sleazy stuff coming out already. Btw, you know Jeb! is talkin

  16. jennifer lyn says:

    yes. one million percent yes. Black people commit more crimes and thus are arrested more, spend more time in jail, etc. etc. Worked in social services, have law degree, this is WELL KNOWN FACT by people in law and social services but no one will speak it. People HATE IT when I say this but they don’t even have normal sleeping habits are up at night–don’t believe me go to black neighborhoods and see what is open at midnight CHICKEN SHACK, NAIL SALON you will not believe it and who is taking care of the babies that they use to get money for the nails (yes, I said it) no one. Worked for 20 years and gave it up. Can’t help people who don’t want help, can’t help kids because the parents don’t want them just use them for money and so I had to walk away.

    And as far as Trump goes I am SICK TO DEATH of people saying he isn’t good enough, true enough, committed enough he is running, he is doing his best, and he is using his own money. PUT UP OR SHUT UP. You can’t have it 100% and I am very happy to have him my god if Rubio won we would be screwed. He is a crook and a two bit wanna be at best.

  17. jennifer lyn says:

    and this is on not even one cup of coffee. We don’t have time to mess around here people the next president will have the hardest job in the world and it is the most critical time for America. The world is in denial of the threat of Islam, the “victim” movement, the lack of balanced budgets, the too many children not enough money problem, the aging of America, you name it we do not have one second not to get our s..t together. MLK had it right. He dreamed of an America were all people were judged by character vs. color/gender. We have become a MONSTER and the enemy of that dream and now is the time to kill that beast and fight back against the insanity. Don’t agree with me–prove me wrong then. Show me how we are not bloated, insane, ass backwards, illegal, unconstitutional, and just plain stupid.

  18. leslie says:

    Editor’s note: The U.S. Supreme Court announced Tuesday that it would consider ​reversing lower court rulings against President Obama’s executive orders on immigration. Twenty-six states, led by Texas, have challenged the president’s plan, which could potentially shield up to 5 million immigrants from deportation, saying the president exceeded his powers. The dispute is likely to be argued before the top court in the coming months, with a ruling likely handed down by the end of June — before November’s presidential election. If the White House wins the case, President Obama has about 7 months to implement his plan before a new administration takes over in 2017

    . From breaking
    An update said Harry Reid is confident that SCOTUS will ensure bronco can implement his immigration plans before he leaves office.

  19. Dora says:

    The Sarah Palin rumors must be true because the Cruz campaign is now attacking HER!!

    • DeniseVB says:

      The article is still speculating “if” she endorses Trump. But, something’s up. Sarah is close to both Trump and Cruz (she helped him win his Senate seat). A few weeks ago she sounded like she was keeping her powder dry and not endorsing either because she loved them both. An endorsement by Sarah, another victim of the GOPe, is another giant poke in the eye to the elites.

  20. Myiq2xu says:

  21. DeniseVB says:

    This is really funny. Seems like some of the twits commented without actually reading the story, which makes it funnier.

  22. DeniseVB says:

    Looks like Trump’s surprise was being endorsed by John Wayne’s daughter ?

  23. DeniseVB says:

    Oooops. DJT has another rally later today. (this is not his verified account) So, it could be Sarah too?

  24. votermom says:

    Got back from the doctor because I had a symptom that worried me a lot but she said nope, probably not what I was thinking. I am SO relieved! Thank you, Lord.

  25. votermom says:

    The Oscar thing – if you were a black actor / director / etc, would you really want an Oscar if you knew it was because they HAD to fill a black nomination quota?

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Ever see those lists of actors that never won an Oscar and/or movies that were nominated but some crappy “My Left Foot” type movie won instead?

  26. Dora says:

    Maybe Gov. Branstad is the surprise. Everyone is assuming that it’s Sarah.

  27. Myiq2xu says:

  28. Myiq2xu says:

    Cheesus Crust on a cracker!

  29. lyn says:

    This looks funny.

  30. Myiq2xu says:

  31. Underwhelmed says:

    Absolutely they want quotas of winners at the Oscars. They want the diversity boxes ticked off all nice and neat. The problem is, while the public face of Hollywood is all liberal and diversity now and so forth, the Academy noms/votes are all secret ballot stuff. The majority/most powerful don’t want to give up their shiny trophies any more than the next guy. But if you keep on making movies about how hard done by you are, and how Whitey keeps you down, and how the world is a terrible place and it’s all my fault – even when there is some truth to it — you’re not going to get a prize for it. Not in this arena. You can’t have it both ways. Either non-white creative types make and star in movies that are about entertainment first, political messaging a distant second, in which case they’ll enjoy massive success – or they’re going to make angry hissy fit movies about how the world is mean to them, in which case the world is going to say who cares? I didn’t oppress you. I’m not giving you my money so you can tell me how evil I am, then give you a shiny prize on top of it. It’s not that these folk don’t have a point about the unbalanced domination of whiteness on visibility, funding and awards. They do. But tackling it this way is counter-productive.

  32. swanspirit says:

    Yet another round of school bomb threats today here on the Shore, and in other parts of Maryland as well. Law enforcement hasn’t yet determined who is doing the multiple bomb threats, but all of the children are being evacuated.
    I hope one outcome of these threats; other than finding the perps, is that some of the liberal complacent locals are getting a wake up call, because this is very disturbing, and I don’t have any children in the local schools.

    • piper says:

      Threats may range from hoaxes, pranks or worst scenario where a group is planning an actual school attack based on school administrators and police responses to threats. I wouldn’t doubt that we have ISIS sympathizers/planners here in this country working on developing a successful (hate using that word) attack where they the plotters avoid capture.
      Retreating to my cocoon for a time-out from bad news and politicking.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      They also had to evacuate Arlington Virginia Police Headquarters yesterday.

  33. votermom says:

    I turned the Bday Cake book into a post

  34. Dora says:

    Dr. Carson asking for prayers after accident.

    Ben Carson Suspends Campaigning Tuesday Following Car Accident Involving Iowa Staff

  35. Dora says:

  36. Myiq2xu says:

  37. taw46 says:

    Twitter is going crazy over coming Palin endorsement of Trump. Heads exploding.

  38. taw46 says:

  39. taw46 says:

    And, here we go.

  40. helenk3 says:

    My brother-in law escorted Joan Crawford to the oscars one year.
    I have not really watched the oscars in years. i do not know half the people nominated. Used to go to movies a lot, not so much any more.

  41. Dora says:

  42. DeniseVB says:

    Just got back from Star Wars. Whoa, I’m exhausted.

  43. DeniseVB says:

    Trump Live Stream (I guess this is the one with Sarah?) Starting any minute now (sched for 6pm ET)

  44. DeniseVB says:

    Sad news, the Carson staffer died of his injuries😦


  45. DeniseVB says:

  46. Dora says:

  47. Venus says:

    Spike fucking Lee? Lee needs to have SEVERAL seats — the last good movie he made was “Inside Man” in 2006 — and really, that wasn’t even his direction that made it good, but the fact that it is almost impossible to make a bad movie when you have Denzel Washington in the lead. Having support from Jodie Foster and Christopher Plummer doesn’t hurt either.

    • leslie says:

      The same Spike Lee who received a lifetime achievement award that was awarded last fall, will be boycotting the Oscars. And I’m still assuming it will go faster than in the past. Even faster if Chris Rock decides not to host. Nicely done.

    • jeffhas says:

      Clive Owen is no slouch either…

      But let’s face it – this was one of his few ‘not preachy’ movies – hence the reason it stood a chance at being good. Some studio exec must’ve said “hey Spike, we can’t make any more of those money-losers unless you can make a money-maker once in awhile – oh, hey, here’s an easy formula pic that should do it, we need a stand-in director”

      No way he makes that movie on his own…

  48. No comments allowed on this Ta-Nehisi Coates article:

    Coward. The only people more annoying that BLM are Feel-the-Berners…

  49. taw46 says:

    Did anyone see Hannity last night? Here is a video clip about the generosity of Trump. I had heard the limo story, but not the others.

  50. helenk3 says:

    off topic just because

    the scope of the 3D printer is unlimited

Comments are closed.