The Thrill Is Gone

Yesterday was kinda sad, like running into an old flame and discovering the fire had gone out.

Sarah Palin Endorses Donald Trump, Which Could Bolster Him in Iowa

Sarah Palin, the former Alaska governor and 2008 vice-presidential nominee who became a Tea Party sensation and a favorite of grass-roots conservatives, endorsed Donald J. Trump in Iowa on Tuesday, providing him with a potentially significant boost just 13 days before the state’s caucuses.

“Are you ready for the leader to make America great again?” Mrs. Palin said with Mr. Trump by her side at a rally at Iowa State University. “Are you ready to stump for Trump? I’m here to support the next president of the United States — Donald Trump.”

Her support is the highest-profile backing for a Republican so far. It came the same day that Iowa’s Republican governor, Terry Branstad, said he hoped that Senator Ted Cruz would be defeated in Iowa. The Feb. 1 caucuses are a must-win for the Texas senator, who is running neck-and-neck with Mr. Trump in state polls.

The endorsement came as Mr. Trump was bearing down in the state, holding multiple campaign events and raising expectations about his performance in the nation’s first nominating contest.

As Mrs. Palin announced her backing, Mr. Trump stood wearing a satisfied smile as she scolded mainstream Republicans as sellouts and praised how Mr. Trump had shaken up the party. “He’s been going rogue left and right,” Mrs. Palin said of Mr. Trump, using one of her signature phrases. “That’s why he’s doing so well. He’s been able to tear the veil off this idea of the system.”

It is not clear that Mrs. Palin’s blessing will have a major impact on Mr. Trump’s long-term prospects. But in Iowa, where Mrs. Palin spent years developing a network of supporters, it could be helpful. Mr. Trump has faced questions about whether his campaign’s organizing muscle can draw the voters to match his poll numbers come caucus night.

Sarah Palin exploded on the national political stage 7 1/2 years ago. She went from a little-known first-term governor of an isolated, large-in-area, small-in-population state to a media star almost overnight.

Then the knives came out. The media treated her like a pinata, and we soon discovered that she was despised by the GOPe as much or more than by the Democrats in and out of the media. She was an antihero, the antithesis of the coastal elites who control both parties.

Her fans were legion but they were never as well organized or as powerful as her enemies. After the election she didn’t fade away but remained in the spotlight, mostly due to the incessant and unrelenting attacks on her politically and personally. They went after her family too.

Then the Tea Party happened, and she quickly became their unofficial leader mainly because she was the most well-known politician who supported them. She was instrumental in helping Tea Party candidates win elections across the country in 2010, often defeating GOPe incumbents.

She resigned her position as Alaska governor, a move that has been widely criticized. She wrote books, gave speeches, had a gig working for Fox News, and even did a reality television show. She generated lots of interest as a potential candidate for the 2012 GOP nomination.

Will Sarah run? Run, Sarah, run!

In the end she didn’t run, leaving her supporters disappointed and her enemies gleeful.

Since then her star has faded. Her life and family are still tabloid fodder but her fans began to drift away.

Yesterday she appeared on stage to endorse Donald Trump. The Palin Derangement Syndrome was evident everywhere you looked. Her supporters not so much.

I don’t think her endorsement will really make much difference. It won’t help Trump or hurt him. Maybe it will give him that little boost in Iowa that puts him on top on election say two weeks from now, but Sarah just isn’t relevant any more.

One thing that was clear to me is that Trump’s supporters are not just a reincarnation of the Tea Party. This is his movement.

As for Sarah, some of us will always wonder what might have been.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

174 Responses to The Thrill Is Gone

  1. 49erDweet says:

    If you have only one card, a savvy politician plays it well. Palin completely jumped the gun seems to have become a caricature of Tina Frey. This will not end well for her.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Trumps endorsement now reeks of desperation. Desperation she would once more have relevance.

      • votermom says:

        The question is does she have enough influence in IOWA? That’s the primary he might lose. If he wins Iowa, he’ll steamroll over all the next states.

        • 49erDweet says:

          His story could be better if he looses Iowa but still steamrolls, which seems about to happen. Interjecting her – now – seems desperate and contrived, and wasteful. And manipulative.
          Her role should have been to come in as an elder statesperson in the late stages and calmly make a reasoned endorsement. Instead she Tina Feyed his campaign, taking the spotlight off him at the very moment he needed to be in it.

          • leslie says:

            Instead she Tina Feyed his campaign, taking the spotlight off him at the very moment he needed to be in it.

            I agree. While I watched the news last night, I had a sinking feeling – not about Trump – but about Palin. She looked (and mostly sounded) like a caricature of herself. In fact, I heard myself saying “keep it down Sarah. You’re only giving them rope to hang you with now”.
            She did not really damage Trump; he can hold his own.

        • This is true and why he did it.

      • piper says:

        Totally agree – maybe his real poll number are lower than what is being reported in the ‘media.’
        Still wondering about number of people contacted, what age group, party affiliation, landlines vs. cell phones.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      The past eight years have been quite lucrative for Team Palin. I hope they didn’t spend it all.

      • votermom says:

        They do say that living well is the best revenge. Good for her.

      • 49erDweet says:

        Unless she ends up in an important cabinet role she can actually handle, her good times might be about over.

        • votermom says:

          I would like her in Cabinet but I don’t know if that is what she wants – she seems to want a tv talk show… Just speculation.

          • elliesmom says:

            Given Palin’s career choice as a young person was to be involved in media it wouldn’t surprise me at all if that’s her goal. Sometimes circumstances pull us in an unexpected direction, and she’s at that age where one sits down and thinks about a course correction. It’s my understanding she initially got involved in politics over concerns at her kids’ school. I’m not sure she ever envisioned herself running for VP when she ran for school board.

          • DeniseVB says:

            em – As I recall, she first ran for PTA President to make the changes to school policies she disagreed with and she did. That led to the City Council, then Mayor of Wasilla and made changes locally. Then Governor, where she tossed the corrupt GOPe (some went to jail !). Then VP nominee, where the destruction on her personally and professionally began. I think the RNC/GOPe would rather had Obama win that year then have her be a heartbeat away from destroying their political ambitions of gathering bags full of money while spending ours.

            I see Sarah hasn’t changed, and that’s a good thing🙂

        • lildoggy4u says:

          I think she’s probably enjoying herself. I don’t think she needs to be a politician to have a good time. They made some money and apparently live a good life where they want to be. Now if all her kids can stay outta trouble, thats another thing. But all of us deal with that.

          • Myiq2xu says:

            If she was serious about a career in politics she would have to leave Alaska and I don’t think she wants to do that.

          • piper says:

            People lost a lot of respect for her when she quit being the governor since she had been hailed as a fighter taking on corruption and people.

  2. votermom says:

    I still like Palin. I was wondering how much this helps Trump, if at all. Then I saw a bunch of ODD but only from the non-Trump supporters, so I guess it must help him?

  3. Myiq2xu says:

    • dm says:

      I hate freakin Iowa and their damn caucus system. They hold everyone hostage over the ethanol, which granted, seems to be about the only game in town for them. Ethanol is not cost effective but that’s the sword they hang over every politician’s head.

      • lildoggy4u says:

        DM, i’m recrawding your comment.

        • dm says:

          Thanks…I could go on and on about all the infuriating facets of our political system.
          But it’s the only one we have and NOBODY seems interested in changing it – at least no one who is in a position to do so. I was so uninformed prior to 2008 and after the Clinton Iowa debacle, I educated myself on exactly what a caucus is…Iowa loves their power – which I suppose is understandable. Once you have it, you never want to give it up!

      • Myiq2xu says:

        In about 2 weeks Iowa will go back to being irrelevant again, at least until about 2018 or so.

  4. 1539days says:

    Wow. People went sour on Sarah Palin fast. Palin didn’t kill the Tea Party movement, the GOPe did that when they stood by while the IRS dried up funding during thew 2012 campaign. Palin prizes loyalty and I think that’s why she endorsed Trump. Her worst sin may have been not giving Ted Cruz enough of a chance before her endorsement of Trump.

  5. Myiq2xu says:

  6. driguana says:

    I liked Palin in the first go round. Especially what she had to say and her verve. However, from the start she had vocal presentation issues. She still does. I tried listening a bit but the shrieking voice did me in. Sad. I’ve written to her and her staff numerous times suggesting some simple voice training. It’s very easy to lower the tone of your voice with a good vocal instructor and enormously positive. When I started radio and theater many years ago I retained a distinctive Cincinnati “hillbilly” twang and sibilant “s” (Obama has that annoying feature whenever a sentence or word ends in “s”). It took some work but the results helped considerably. All actors and performers, of which I would also qualify politicians, do this. Too bad for her as she still commands presence.

    • leslie says:

      This was what I was talking about in my comment above. I couldn’t listen to the shrill screech that sounded more hysterical than reassuring. It’s too bad she and/or her staff failed to listen to your advice. It would be more than helpful to her and enhance her credibility because more people would be willing and able to listen to her.

    • cynic says:

      My ears can’t tolerate her voice. Wish she would take some voice lessons. FWIW, I also can’t stand Barry’s and Hillary’s voices either. And, I’m already tired of listening to the angry, old Bernie voice.

      • leslie says:

        It usually takes me a while to get to the “I can’t stand listening to (him/her/them)”. By the end of the first term – even of the people I like, I’ve reached my limit. I feel that way about nearly everyone running this time. I was sick of bronco’s voice way before his election. Within weeks of his inauguration, I was turning off the sound whenever he spoke – and it seemed he was “speaking” hourly. He continues to sound like a viper with his “Sssssssss” es. I’m with you on Palin, Hillary and Bernie. I’ve stopped listening to many others just because…

    • Dora says:

      I’m glad to see some of you commenting on Sarah’s voice. It has bothered me since I first heard her speak back in 2008. At that time I was called a New York snob for even bringing it up. Now these same people who called me that, are ridiculing Donald Trump for his New York mannerisms. Go figure.

      • cynic says:

        Dora, all my senses are sensitive. There are many smells that immediately make me nauseous/give me a headache; women’s perfumes especially. The new light bulbs are too bright and white. DH had to put a dimmer switch in my kitchen after he installed those new light bulbs.

        Certain tones/sounds are painful to my ears. Sarah’s voice is one of them, and my voice even makes me cringe sometimes.

    • 49erDweet says:

      They (her staff) must consider her voice to be one of her endearing qualities. Wrong again. Talkin’ about wasted opportunities.

  7. leslie says:

    From John Kass, one of my favorite columnists (in Chicago)

    “When Republican candidates appeal to their base, it’s usually characterized by the liberal media as “pandering to irrational anger.” When Democrats do it, it’s called “outreach.”

  8. DeniseVB says:


  9. Dora says:

    Hillbuzz is back!

    Sarah Palin Endorses Donald Trump (and Bristol Palin takes aim at “Ted” Cruz)
    Posted on January 19, 2016 by Kevin DuJan

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Breitbart’s got the text to Sarah’s speech, much better to read than to listen to. Her voice didn’t bother me, it was a rally….in a barn😉

    • votermom says:

      Thanks for posting that. I didn’t watch the speech, so I have no opinion on the screeching, but in reading it I have to say she gets it.
      Also a smart move to appeal to the Randians.
      It reads as a good barn burner speech.
      Pity about the voice issues.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I caught the part where Rush “read” her speech on my walkies today. He was impressed and annotated along the way. Odd, he usually plays sound bites.

  11. DeniseVB says:

    Hmmm? My old liberal anti-establishment (Question Authority, ‘member that?) meets my fiscally conservative self who wants to take the power away from the donor and political class plus break up the duopoly. I support the team that can git’r done😀

    • DandyTIger says:

      There’s one more dimension here. Between Cruz and Trump, who can better handle both economic and military relations around the world. Who can work with people, negotiate with people, and get things done.

  12. DandyTIger says:

    I disagree. I think Palin’s endorsement is a big thing for Trump. Partly because she was in the Cruz camp and a big part of why he won the senate. And partly because she is very well liked among tea party and evangelicals, which is a big Iowa thing. She chose sides. She basically said we need Cruz to stay in the senate and be a fighter there, and we need the big guy in the oval office. I think that will move some voters over. And as Scott Adams said, it’s an empathy endorsement move too, which helps with a Trump weakness. So I think it will help. The question is how much.

    • Anthony says:

      I think it will help in Iowa, where everyone already assumed Cruz would win. Also, it will help Trump with conservative and evangelical support, where he was lacking.

      I found it hard to listen to her (at first, I thought she might be a little loaded), but then it sunk in that Trump is in it to win it. He’s not fooling around, and like any savvy politician, he sought endorsement that would shore up his weakest demographic. His mission was (still is?) to leave Cruz and everyone else in the dust.

      Of course, the MSM is having a collective heart attack over this. Most interesting to me is that Morning Joe did NOT even mention it; mostly because Mika let it be known that she absolutely refused to give either Trump or Palin any air time.

      • cynic says:

        And for that, Trump is brilliant. Sarah choosing Trump over Cruz could sway some IA voters.

      • leslie says:

        Morning Joe (MSNBC) is filled with Trump interviews, videos and coverage of his appearances and rallies. Mika may have said “No” to mentioning this morning’s news, but that is for today. It seems as though they have had Trump or a story about Trump’s campaign nearly every day.
        The program following Morning Joe today (Jose Diaz-Balart) is currently at a Trump rally in Iowa (live). They have been covering Trump and Trump-Palin nearly non-stop since the show began today.

        • Anthony says:

          Chris Matthews also covers him a lot. I suspect thats for ratings, but what do I know?

          The fact that MJ covers Trump a lot is what makes Mika’s boycott today even more suspicious (not to mention juvenile). I know she’s working closely with Valerie Jarett, and I suspect thats where Mike got (gets?) her marching orders from.

          • leslie says:

            Chris M is banned from my tv. lol. So your comment about his coverage just adds more fuel to the ratings/ValJar connections. The suspicions about Mika and ValJar communications was, I think, confirmed years ago, or perhaps I’m misremembering.

          • Anthony says:

            No, Leslie, you’re remembering correctly. They started some bogus community organization for women (while they attack any woman who does not have her bona fides in Obama ass-kissing). Thank god this will all be over in Jan 2017…

        • leslie says:

          I didn’t watch MJ today. Got up with a headache and decided not to contribute any further.

      • cynic says:

        I was surprised that Nicolle Wallace didn’t throw any jabs at Sarah. That’s not like her.

        • Anthony says:

          Actually, she did. And she was squirming while she did it. Also almost lost it when Joe was talking about how GWB had a lot in common with Trump, re: sounding unscripted as opposed to Rubio. It was delicious with my morning coffee… 😀

          • leslie says:

            Well, Nicole’s parents are Trump supporters so I’d guess when they watch her dis anyone remotely enthusiastic about Trump, she gets a little uncomfortable.

    • votermom says:

      I agree with you DT.
      Also I wonder if she was baiting the opposition a bit. The more she gets attacked, the more those sympathetic rally to her.
      Smart move by Trump to get her to siphon off Cruz’ s support.
      Btw, I just noticed that you & Donald have the same initials. OMG this means something! Where’s my tinfoil pirate hat?😉

    • dm says:

      Endorsements have never been a factor in my decision making…probably because I believe everyone connected to politics – and perhaps the general population as well (including me) – are completely self serving. All I can do is try to inform myself from as many sources as possible and make a judgement.

    • lyn says:

      This was the first time I listened to a whole speech by Sarah since her nomination. I always thought she needed a voice coach too, but I had no problem with her voice yesterday. I listened to her words. People who liked her are turning against her now. Some call her a “political whore.” (That’s better than being called a c^nt.) I have no problem with her endorsement of Trump, and I agree that Cruz needs to stay in the senate to fight. (Cruz has a funny voice too.) I am disappointed in how Cruz supporters are responding to Palin’s endorsement, and they think Trump supporters are obnoxious?! LOL. I also laugh when I hear that “if you don’t like Obama, then you shouldn’t like Trump.” Sorry, Charlie, but Obama and Trump are two different people.

      • taw46 says:

        I am with you, her voice doesn’t bother me as much, other than the fact that some people use it to discount her. That is probably because I grew up in the South and have seen the reaction to the “Southern drawl”, lol.

    • Venus says:

      I’m late to the party but want to jump in to say I agree with Dandy on this. Cruz is running as the “conservative” (as opposed to “New York values” Trump) to appeal to the Evangelicals in Iowa. The Palin endorsement, the birther stuff, the Jerry Falwell Jr. “not an endorsement endorsement”, John Wayne family endorsement and the Iowa governor’s “any one but Cruz” endorsement together are YUGE because Trump doesn’t need to take *every* Cruz vote in Iowa — he needs to move *some* people away from Cruz and to him. Each and every one of those endorsements listed above help move *some* people away from Cruz on their own. Add them all up, and Trump can win Iowa handily.

  13. DandyTIger says:

    Great bit by Adams on why Trump would beat Clinton in a landslide.

  14. votermom says:

    A reason to celebrate today

  15. Myiq2xu says:

    It’s Mom’s birthday today! She is eighty-two.

    I’m buying her some lottery tickets and a fancy box of wine.

  16. Dora says:

    There are many retired New Yorkers living in Florida.

    • Anthony says:

      Her also did a LOT of construction in Fla, which also created jobs. I was cracking up this morning watching Mika scowl any time they showed polling results. Also LOVED it each time she interrupted everyone who tried to talk about the Palin endorsement, especially Chuck Todd. He almost got his ass handed to him lol

  17. mothy67, says:

    Regarding Palin’s accent she can’t win, she’d be attacked for being fake if she took voice lessons.

    • votermom says:

      That’s true. Any big change in voice or appearance.

      I might try to review her book today.
      I’m such a slacker.

    • taw46 says:

      And probably doesn’t see a need to change, secure and strong that woman, like her or not.

    • 49erDweet says:

      I disagree. Coaching doesn’t change your voice. It teaches control and cures bad speech habits. I do radio and TV voiceovers and family/friends say they recognize my voice when they hear it, but aren’t distracted bc it’s me. SP’s voice distracts. She’s a classic case of needing coaching but not acknowledging it.

      • taw46 says:

        I understand and agree with the points you make about voice coaching and Palin’s voice as a distraction. But, I don’t think she cares if people judge her by her voice. I think if Sarah wanted to acknowledge and change that, she would have done so in 2008. I think Sarah is just going to keep being Sarah. 😉

        • 49erDweet says:

          Yep, so the entertainment world ultimate goal idea might be spot on. To me, that’s a waste. I’d hoped she wasn’t that shallow.

          • leslie says:

            Maybe it depends on what and how she uses the entertainment world goal.

          • taw46 says:

            I don’t see it as being shallow. I think she knows that no matter what she changes about herself, she will still be hated and ridiculed by the media, the left, and the GOPe. I mean, they dressed her in designer clothes and had her hair professionally done. She was still mocked.

          • 49erDweet says:

            That is the reason I woulda liked to have seen her jam it down their throats. Schadenfreude. Oh, well…

          • mothy67, says:

            I think a lot of people identify with her manner of speaking. I personally find Fiorina’s clipped speech distracting.

          • 49erDweet says:

            I agree with you. But there’s something called a “Command Voice”. When it speaketh, people listen – and follow. Think of James Earl Jones when he says “This….. is CNN” He makes it sound important. Coaching can help anyone develop that skill. She could still use her own vernacular and colloquial isms, but get rid of the Tina Frey-istics.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Palin’s voice is Sarah. Greta and Hillary’s voices grate on me more. As did Eliz Hasselbeck’s on FnF, but she’s gone now.

  18. DeniseVB says:

    Will our countdown clock change to 11 months at midnight ? We should have a New Months Eve party every month now😉

  19. DandyTIger says:

    Winter is coming. Better stock up.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Here’s our coastal Virginia guy🙂

      • taw46 says:

        So, did you buy it yet? 😉

        • DeniseVB says:

          Nope. We’re on the rain/snow line, and I always bet on the rain🙂

          • elliesmom says:

            We’re on the rain/snow line, too, which is something we’ve never experienced before. We’re used to having a big arrow on the roof of our house that says, “Dump snow here”. The forecast for where we are in RI is anywhere from an inch to a foot. I like the inch better so I’m preparing for that.

          • Mt.Laurel says:

            Always bet on the rain in VB.

            Here in DC Land they are predicting an HISTORIC & CRIPPLING & GAME CHANGING snowfall . We may not be able to dig our way out until the ground hog appears next month. Maybe not until the Cherry Blossom Festival. They seem to forget each year that we have indeed had snow before. A couple of years ago we even had more than Buffalo. I headed out to the store before noon to get in lunch supplies for the next couple days. Our office building in in a shopping center with a grocery store, a liquor store and a 7-11. Bred/milk/ice melt, booze and lottery tickets. All the essentials.

            I also picked up some cat treats as the kitties like a little nosh while watching the snow plows.

            Oh and now they say you should not let your kids eat the newly fallen white snow. This message brought to you by the global warming alarmists who are still back peddling from the ice on the Potomac. I guess they do not want the kids to figure out snow is cold.

  20. DeniseVB says:

    On a related note. We made 100 comments before noon ET !!!!!

  21. Dora says:

    It seems like it’s all falling apart.

    FEC complaint filed against Ted Cruz for undisclosed loans in 2012 Senate campaign

    “It is a big deal,” said Craig McDonald of Texans for Public Justice. “He left the voters of Texas in the dark as to who was underwriting this campaign.”
    “Cruz is railing against the big banks and Wall Street, and yet he hid the fact that CitiBank and Goldman were actually providing him the money to run the campaign,” he said.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Did he repay the loans?

      • mothy67, says:

        Does that matter? Is disclousure not required?

        • 49erDweet says:

          Possibly, but if it’s repaid it’s sorta nit pickin’. I’m worried about debts owed. That’s where the mischief occurs. It’s sorta like driving your car with no proof of insurance on ya. Cause you left it at home. Illegal, but no big deal.

    • dm says:

      Just wondering…if you need a substantial loan for something like a run for the US Senate, who do you go to??? I’m thinking Bank of America probably wouldn’t touch that.

      • DeniseVB says:

        On the local level they go to Pat Robertson. He donate to just about every candiate in Virginia, oh, maybe about $20,000 total. He’s been rewarded millions in fed grant money for his CBN for about 20k invested in politicians.

  22. Dora says:

    Sarah will be joining him.

  23. taw46 says:

    Heh, heh. My prog relatives are at this moment freaking out about Trump. To their credit, they think Bernie would be a disaster. I am not in this conversation, just listening from the other room.

  24. Dora says:

    They were doing live streaming at the airport. I just watched the Trump plane land and everyone get out and into their cars. Wow! It’s as if he is already president. Sarah was with them too.

    Meanwhile waiting in Tulsa:

    • leslie says:

      I’m listening to Palin in Tulsa. She is on fire today and so is the audience. I have no link and I’m certain Dora will come in with one soon.😉

      I’m leaving for acupuncture in a few minutes. I don’t think it did much last week, but I’m still willing to try for greater pain management with it.

      • taw46 says:

        I am missing it, look forward to the link. The Palin haters were going crazy on Twitter, saying she missed a scheduled event in Iowa. Calling her a no-show, a quitter, etc. All this time she was in Tulsa. Hahaha.

      • lyn says:

        Just came back from acupuncture. Hope you have a good session.

        • leslie says:

          How long have you been getting acupuncture? What for? Have you used it for pain management? you can use my email if you aren’t comfortable sharing. leslie 0109 at comcast dot net

  25. DeniseVB says:

    I found this latest version of Pick Trump’s Cabinet pretty nifty. From Laura Ingraham’s new website:

  26. taw46 says:

    Did not know this.

  27. votermom says:

    Going with the Palin theme of the day

  28. leslie says:

    there’s that slippery slope again. The world’s going to rue their cowardice.

  29. helenk3 says:

    as much as I can not stand trump, this is wrong.
    In America all that are running for office should be allowed to make their case and let the voters decide

  30. helenk3 says:

    ust a reminder

    at this time in 1 year we will have a new president. backtrack will be gone

  31. mothy67, says:

    I’m watching on OANN what did the protesters do? He keeps throwing people out. I love it.

  32. taw46 says:

    Seriously? There is a documentary called “Weiner,” about the Anthony Weiner sexting scandal? Opening Sunday at the Sundance Film Festival. Lol.

Comments are closed.