Thursday was always “Here Comes the Circus Day” Open Thread !

Vintage 50’s tv was so fun, kinda creepy because it reminded me of 2016’s circus political season ! Also, I outlived most of these first wave Mouseketeers. Yay,me !

A fond childhood memory, this show was๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

144 Responses to Thursday was always “Here Comes the Circus Day” Open Thread !

  1. votermom says:

    Good morning. Too sleepy today.

  2. Myiq2xu says:

    Ahh, yes, I have fond memories of Annette.

  3. Myiq2xu says:

    Back in the 50’s tv was brand new and the studios weren’t really sure how to use it.

  4. Dora says:

    Me thinks we have a very weird campaign going on this year.

    Kasich: Trump Is โ€œThe Prince Of Darkness,โ€ I Am โ€œThe Prince Of Light And Hopeโ€

    โ€œโ€ฆand I have a message โ€“ look, we have a lot of candidates who like the โ€œPrince of Darkness,โ€ I consider myself the โ€œPrince of Light and Hopeโ€ and I donโ€™t spend all my time getting people riled up about how bad everything isโ€.

  5. Myiq2xu says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Sounds like the perfect ticket to me. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Obama did a pretty good job running the country on fear and loathing, right?

      • votermom says:

        Hate /Fear 2016!

        Love it!

      • leslie says:

        I wasn’t as afraid in the beginning as I am now. (Well, that’s a lie. I was scared sh*tless about bronco and the damage he might do.) Then he unleashed hell aka BLM and ACA and ISIS/ISIL/DAESH and sanctuary cities and the current post-racial timessssssssss. I can’t imagine what it will take to right the damage. But we must remain shtrong so that we can learn how to speak again and live with one another in mutual respect again.

        • taw46 says:

          Obama exceeded all my expectations ๐Ÿ˜‰.

        • leslie says:

          Crap, I forgot F&F and open borders. I’m certain others will come to me as the minutes go on.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          I expected Obama to hurt our country thru incompetence. I did not expect outright malice.

          • leslie says:

            Nor did I. but, he was known for his vindictiveness in the IL legislature. Who knew that would follow him into the WH. And who and what was he getting even with/for? His mother? His father? His sense of entitlement knows no bounds for its chilling vitriol.

          • DeniseVB says:

            leslie – didn’t Obama lose his first run for congress, then started pulling the dirty politics card on future opponents and started winning ? Oh, there was malice blooming all right๐Ÿ˜‰

          • cynic says:

            I think that he was only the puppet. If you look at all those that surround him/feed him, him getting elected was a ’60’s-’70’s radical’s wet dream. He said it himself in his book. Look who he chose to hang out with when he went to college. He’s always had ties to the Communists, activists, radicals, and terrorists. (oh, and drug dealers)

          • leslie says:

            In 2000 he lost the election for state legislature against Bobby Rush. Earlier he had challenged his mentor, Alice Palmer’s nominating petition to run for state senate. He has been able by hook and by crook (mostly) to eliminate any opposition. It is said that he told Bobby Rush, after losing to him, that he (BHO) has a long memory. The threat was implied. I don’t recall how he “got even” with Rush, but he did. (I used to know all this scuttlebutt. But I guess the memory hole is deep and my fishing lines are not as long as they once were. )

          • Underwhelmed says:

            Truly, I did. Everything he has ever done has reeked with malice. Him and his wife.

        • 49erDweet says:

          Leslie, I think that shipped has sailed. The bitterness I’m seeing is too strong to be gone in mere generations, IMO. The creeps making their livings off maintaining the “victimhood” meme have done too good a job. I think we’re gonna disunite quite a few states, first, sadly.

          • leslie says:

            I just returned from my errands and while out, I heard a report on the radio. Hollywood – specifically the Oscar nominating people are caving into the boo-hoo-hooing from the I- Wanna-Get-An-Oscar-Too-Because-I’m-Black-And-I-Deserve-It crowd. I couldn’t listen any longer because I’d have run into a wall at that point. How come when I threw a tantrum, I got sent to my room? Did I have to be Black to get my way??

          • leslie says:

            ^THIS^ was in response to the “victimhood” meme.

  6. Dora says:

    Bringing Beck on board to help is the worst thing he can do.

    Glenn Beck to appear with Cruz as he swats at Trump


    And how many minutes do you think it will take the Trump Team to remind voters of this episode?

    Ted Cruz Joins Glenn Beck to Deliver Soccer Balls, Teddy Bears and Food To Illegal Immigrant Kids

    • Somebody says:

      Who is advising Ted Cruz? Did he hire some of Yeb’s people that jumped ship, maybe some that left the Walker or Perry campaigns??? This is not a smart move.

      Even if he didn’t join Beck at the border to hand out soccer balls and teddy bears, the last thing he needs is to associate himself with Beck.

      Cruz needs to take a step back and assess the situation. Honestly he needs to just stop and take a look at the big picture, regroup himself and his team, and focus on the election NOT on Trump. Trump has gotten into his head and Cruz is shooting himself in the foot, which is what Trump was banking on.

      Cruz is being too aggressive and trying check mate Trump tit for tat; not surprising because he’s an attorney. That is a common trait in real attorneys, successful attorneys that turn politician. Just like attorneys are generally good debaters, very good…..but usually they refuse to cede any point and they will take up any line of argument to win, which quite often can make them come off as either really aggressive or wonkish.

      Somebody needs to whisper in Ted’s ear, steady as you go! He’s trying to counter punch Trump and sometimes a counter punch isn’t needed. Ted, please stop what you are doing, get out some maps, figure out what part of Iowa you need to focus on and ignore Trump.

      • leslie says:

        Oh, how I wish the Cruz campaign would read TCH today. Those are strong and smart words of wisdom, Somebody. Have you tried to send your thoughts to his campaign? Please do. I hate seeing him shoot myself in the foot – both feet

      • taw46 says:

        At first, I was all for Cruz. Then back and forth between Trump and Cruz, wanted that to be the ticket. Just don’t like what has happened. Agree with you, Cruz is just screwing up now.

        • leslie says:

          Isn’t that odd? I am the same. First I was for Cruz. Now, with Cruz making such a muck of his campaign, I’m not sure who I ‘d vote for.

      • Dora says:

        I knew it wouldn’t take long.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Some of the most recent Mouseketeers went on to awesomeness…..can you spot, Ryan Gosling, Britney Spears, Christina Aquilera and Justin Timberlake ?

  8. leslie says:

    I never watched the Mickey Mouse Club.So, I have no idea which Mouseketeer was which – except for Annette. We only had tv for the grown-ups. (I used to sneak down the stairs after bedtime to listen as they watched Steve Allen and Jack Paar.) Later, they let us watch Your Show of Shows. That was wonderful. It wasn’t until I was in hs that I got to watch American Bandstand. I’m okay with that.

    • taw46 says:

      Me, too, never watched MM club. But I did watch American Bandstand. My sister and I loved to watch movies. After everyone went to bed, we would sneak in and watch late movies.

      • leslie says:

        You lucky duck. The tv was downstairs in my parents’ room. They were very wise people.๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Dora says:

        American Bandstand – another great show. I bet your favorites were Arlene and Kenny, right? They were the most popular. Or possibly Justine and Bob. They were popular too.

        Oh my, I am becoming nostalgic. ๐Ÿ™‚

        • taw46 says:

          I had a favorite couple, but can’t remember their names, lol. I don’t think they were in the top two.

        • helenk3 says:

          before Dick Clark was on bandstand the host was Bob Horn. he was arrested for taking teenage girls to NYC. I remember bumper stickers on cars saying Ike for president, bob horn for vice

    • DeniseVB says:

      From 2007๐Ÿ™‚

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Once upon a time shows like AB were played live and they weren’t recorded. Of the early tv shows that were recorded, many of the recordings were destroyed or deteriorated.

      • leslie says:

        It’s too bad that there are no recordings of some of those early shows. It would be interesting and maybe great fun to see some of the programs that “filled the airways” in the early days.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    LOL, if this were the GOP polls, my area would be Santorum๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Dora says:

      State of Emergency for 2 inches? OMG. What do the folks down there do in a blizzard? ๐Ÿ™‚

      • elliesmom says:

        I went to Savannah one year for MLK weekend. It snowed about an inch. Some of the restaurants were closed because not enough staff could get to work. We had left Boston in a snowstorm so we had plenty of warm clothes. The city was beautiful, but not many people out and about to see it. It’s not my only trip to visit there,but probably my favorite.

        • leslie says:

          Savannah is one of my most favorite cities in this country. What a beautiful place. I bet it was wonderful having Savannah mostly to yourselves.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I think they just close all airports now in snowstorms. Saves money on de-icing wings ? I don’t know what’s worse, flying out in a blizzard or tropical storm (they shutdown for those now also).

          Savannah is gorgeous !

          • Dora says:

            I’ve never been to Savannah, but I’ve wanted to visit it ever since reading “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil’. I understand, following the success of that book, the city had tours of the different places mentioned. I would have loved to go on that tour. Maybe one of these days I’ll get there and see the places myself.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I’m in the <1 area, same as Santorum is polling today ? 2 inches would cripple us for a week๐Ÿ˜›

  10. leslie says:

    Yesterday, Bronco Bama was stuck in traffic trying to get from Andrews AFB to the WH because of the “major” snowstorm that dropped and inch of snow on the DC areas. :horrors: It took over an hour to reach his destination by car. He usually uses Marine One to make this trip. (I am also certain that if it took Bronco over an hour, his motorcade caused others, who routinely make this trip, a much longer delay.) My hope is that this delay gave him time to rethink his position on denying the city of Flint, MI the declaration of a federal disaster because of the damage being done to those Flint residents.

    Some $5 million in federal aid has been freed up to immediately assist with the water crisis. However, President Obama denied Synder’s request for a disaster declaration.

    The president’s actions authorize the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to coordinate responses and cover 75% of the costs for much-needed water, filters, filter cartridges and other items for residents, capped initially at $5 million.

    Typically, federal aid for an emergency is capped at $5 million, though the president can commit more if he goes through Congress.

    This problem has been going on since April 2014. Those poor people. Especially the children and the unborn. Yet, he – the “champion” of the black and the poor will deny them the ultimate help they deserve.

    *And btw, they are still being charged for their water. The water they cannot use for drinking, bathing, cooking, cleaning, or touching.

    • elliesmom says:

      The people will not blame Obama, though. They’ll blame the Republican governor. One more sellout to keep them in the party.

      • leslie says:

        There is enough blame to go around. BUT yesterday – even before yesterday – Obama refused to declare this a federal disaster , thereby denying the city and the victims the help required to clean this up. Also, there will never be enough money to undo the damage to the children – born and unborn.

  11. helenk3 says:

    the trumpettes here will not like this article. I post it only because it does paint a strange picture

    • piper says:

      Thank you for posting this article. We need to keep an open-mind about out candidate otherwise we become obots with our unwillingness to see how closely the trumpkins mirror the Obama fans from 2008 in their refusal to see or hear any negative about their chosen one.

      • piper says:

        hate autocorrect – should read our candidates better yet the GOP candidates.

        This election is too important for us to elect another ‘celebrity’ who throws out hype and word salads.

        I will continue to post articles and hopefully other commenters here will follow the adage – it’s okay to agree to disagree without rancor or denigrating comments.

        • jeffhas says:

          Please continue to post… I am and will remain skeptical of everyone after 2008.

          I do like the anti-establishment options this time around, but I’m not sure they’ll be anti-establishment all that long – or that they’re really anti-establishment now!

          As the field narrows, I’ll have to make a choice, or not – and the more you read and listen, the more you know… So, I wanna read and listen to as much as possible.

          • jeffhas says:

            For the record, I like Trump AND Cruz….

            I like that Trump doesn’t want my money to fund his campaign, but I’m not blind to the fact that he will likely have his own cronies mixed in with his selections of ‘hiring the best people in America’… And I’m not so fond of ruling with unchecked authority – I mean any challenge to Trump warrants nuclear-strike retaliation. It sounds like a recipe for a benevolent dictator – and even a benevolent dictator is a dictator. BUT, maybe there are enough checks in our system that it can’t go that far, and maybe Trump is really just a fighter that wins at all costs… Which ain’t great, but ain’t really bad either.

            I like that Cruz has bucked the establishment all along, he has been very consistent, that generally tells you where you are headed… It is very attractive in making a decision when you firmly know what you will get… Which makes the Citi/Goldman Sachs loans so problematic – I feel like I’ve been duped a little (or a lot), and he’s got big time donors that will want big time results (unless they are all benevolent donors).

            So I’m happy there are anti-establishment choices, and yet it looks like the new boss might be a lot like the old boss….

            So, I will probably close my eyes and take a leap of faith when the time comes!

          • foxyladi14 says:

            Amen Jeff, Words of wisdom. ๐Ÿ˜€

      • DeniseVB says:

        Trump is not Obama. Apples and Oranges. I agree, there are some off-the-rails supporters of all the candidates now, but I avoid those and just enjoy the news tidbits. It’s what high information voters do.

        I’m more concerned with the Hillary supporters, who can’t name one accomplishment that prepares her for the Presidency and blew her only executive experience at State. Or the Bernie supporters who are somehow dreaming of a Communist Amerika.

        What else ya got ?๐Ÿ˜‰

        • Myiq2xu says:

          What I am sick of is this kind of stuff:

          “Who are you supporting?”



          • jeffhas says:

            Haha – that just kills me…

            Of course I kinda do the same thing (well I just laugh out loud) when I ask someone who they’re supporting and they say, “Bernie Sanders” (truth be told I laugh on the inside if they say “Hillary Clinton” too)

          • jeffhas says:

            Actually I don’t really ask anyone who they are supporting, because that generally come back to who I support, and well 2008 and all – but people tell me who they support and then there’s the ‘Bernie Sanders’ result!

          • DeniseVB says:

            Sadly, that does sound like some of my favorite conservative writers who are sounding a lot like those liberal Obot writers of 2008. Ugh.

        • taw46 says:

          I follow someone on Twitter who talks a lot about world events (finance, trade, politics, etc). Since last summer, he has said we have one group of elites (now including Koch brothers) against Buffett and another set of elites (who control Obama). Used to have consensus, but now fighting for control of US. He believes that is why Trump threw in with the Koch brothers, and decided to run.

          For months, he did not believe Trump wanted to be President, that he was paving the way for Cruz (both backed by the same special interests). So, all, including Trump, shocked at his popularity. So, he continues to run and he WILL choose Cruz as his VP, is what he thinks.

          I make all of this sound like a crazy conspiracy theory, haha. If you read his tweets over the past 6 or 7 months, he has a lot to back it up, especially about Buffett and how Obama had Eric Holder go after the Koch brothers.

      • jeffhas says:

        I’m apparently a terrible 11th dimensional Chess player…

        I just don’t know who the hidden establishment candidate is or could be anymore:

        Is it the business man who owes no one that writes checks to the establishment then uses the establishments talking points to bring down their biggest enemy?

        Or is it their ‘biggest enemy’ who takes money from the establishments largest donors to fund his campaign?

        Would a Trump/Cruz ticket correct any of this?

        Why can’t everyone just be friggin’ transparent? – I don’t have x-ray vision or the time to think/rethink/ask others/rethink again about all of this – I just got to pay the bills man!

        • dm says:

          Just finished reading through the thread and I gotta say I pretty much agree with everything you said Jeffhas. I too like both Trump and Cruz. I just can’t work up any real passion; just too burnt out and disgusted. I follow some general sites and a couple specific or strongly leaning towards both. I read both the negative and the positive. Like I’ve said before, everyone has their own self interest to protect here. Trump is a very cagey kind of guy…he hasn’t gotten where he is today by luck. Cruz has a great background constitutionally and that, for me, is a very desirable background – not to mention that everyone hates his guts. If people like McConnell and Boehner hate him, that is a ringing endorsement for me. Some folks, and you know who you are, really, REALLY support one over the other. I remain skeptical as to who will actually be on the ballot – just all out of trust and faith in the system. I may have to force myself to the polls, but I will vote – and perhaps this time it will make a difference for the better.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Nope, doesn’t bother me at all. Going back to 2013-14, businessmen make strange bedfellows with politicians.

      • lyn says:

        I think everyone needs to step back and breathe. There’s a lot of hate going around by Cruz supporters too and they are gleefully trashing Sarah. I think our country needs more than political purity right now. People need jobs. Love him or hate him, Trump walks the talk.

  12. Dora says:

    I’m not sure if this will work, but . .

    360 view of Trump’s rally in Tulsa, OK:

  13. mothy67, says:

    I am hoping politics will never be the same again after this year. Whether Bernie or Trump it seems to me the people are commandeering the process. Politics is a game for the insiders but we feel the results.
    I was okay with Cruz until this week. Now I hold him in disdain. People do not like lawyers and he has gone full on lawyer. I had several friendsyears ago that were Ivy league graduates. They worked 60 plus hours per week. Friday nights they’d start partying andcthey didn’t stop until Sunday afternoon. So much cocaine. There is so much cocaine on Wall Street. I had weekends off and often indulged. Attorneys after a binge fell into argument. Seriously sitting on a roof top coked to the gills arguing case law. Who they are. I crash to hard on blow. I did some but not up for a marathon. I’d go to sleep wakeup with the same arguments still going. Two lawyers together is a competition. Always trying to prove. Trust me not fun.
    Crus has become a coked out lawyer. He seems more machine than human. A dog with a bone trying to prove his intellect. Dull.
    By the way I have not done any drugs since my twice ordered rehab. I drink a lot but drugs were never my thing. I walked into a cab. Bellview then a rescue station on Staten Island then 28 days in rehab then 6 months in a half way house in Ronkonkoma. You were then forced on public assistance but you had to have a job. I woke up every day rode my bike to rehab then biked to my faux job at DHS. I was so poor I collected cans. I made bank finding private school party spots. I don’t regret my time. I had fun but I also grew up. Imagine living with ex cons for six months in a home. I bought a huffy kids bike within a week and picked up nasty bottles. I was content when I hadcto fight. Something is wrong with me I dropped out of Temple and then commuted from Philly to New York to go to Hunter. I felt alive. I did six am train and got home at 12:30 twice a week. I was the overnight full time room service guy at Hotel atop the Belview I also worked 20 hours at South Street Souvlaki. I am happy when I push.

  14. DeniseVB says:

    Some good news ! The War on Special Snowflakes has begun๐Ÿ˜€

  15. Myiq2xu says:

    Guess what I saw on my patio last night?


  16. DeniseVB says:

    More snow fun for the New Yorkers …. comments are hysterical, even the liberals can’t stand DiB.

  17. Dora says:

    The former secretary of state made a fundraising stop in Beaumont, Texas Wednesday and KFDM reports only six people showed up at the airport to greet Clinton.

  18. DeniseVB says:

    I smell an Oscar in Tyler Perry’s future๐Ÿ˜‰ I am excited about this news….

  19. 49erDweet says:

    Apropos of nothing, dvb, my PC’s count down timer reads 364 days, 22 hours and 22 minutes to go!

  20. taw46 says:

  21. Dora says:

    Trumpsters, get over there and vote for our man.

    The rest of you – just ignore this. ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. foxyladi14 says:


  23. Dora says:

    YES!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Michelle Wiles โ€“ one of the Palmetto Stateโ€™s most influential conservative activists โ€“ is leaving the South Carolina leadership team of Ted Cruz and joining the campaign of Donald Trump, sources close to both campaigns told us this week.

    The Upstate social conservative โ€“ widely known and respected in evangelical circles โ€“ had been one of Cruzโ€™s most articulate, well-connected South Carolina supporters.

    Now her support will go to โ€œThe Donald.โ€

    Continue reading here:

  24. taw46 says:

    Baby steps, people, baby steps. Start dressing in loose fitting clothes, Burka just around the corner.

    • leslie says:

      This is so sad, really. This is often how social workers in our Public Aid or DCFS offices become disenchanted or even bitter and hard hearted. This is also how teachers in the inner city become disillusioned as well. And the sense of entitlement continues and grows into anger and rage and the cycle continues……

      • taw46 says:

        I know, after college I worked as a School Social Worker. This was in late 60’s and 70’s, something I would never do today! It was so frustrating, from the parents who did not care (or should never have been parents) to the school administrators and courts, who were often at cross-purposes. I loved the kids and felt such empathy for them. But after about 7 or 8 yrs, I left for a happier job.

        The other side of this, I am furious that they continue to let these people into Europe. The women there are the ones who have to pay for this misguided policy, they are the ones that are expected to change their behavior, not the migrants. Just going to get worse. Agenda before everything.

        • leslie says:

          Your work as a school social worker was so essential. I understand how frustrating it was. I taught in CPS schools for a short time. I saw what you describe so often. When a parent was supportive and understanding, it was like a heavenly reward.
          I later became a social worker (I recently retired after 25 years). Again I worked in the inner-city. I saw the limitations of the systems and the demands of the needy. I truly empathize with those in need. Their lives are a mess thanks to the systems that continue to keep them in need. And the demands are so much greater than the available resources. It is not easy for anyone. (I do/did not, though, excuse bad or unrealistic expectations or behavior. Though I know it exists.)
          In the case of the migrants, they do not belong in Europe – for the most part. And if they are allowed in, they need to adapt to their country of choice. If they choose not to adapt, they really should go back.
          My dil is a school social worker and after 8 years is getting frustrated with the population as well as with the systems that she is forced to support in her work.
          *I’m glad you were able to find something that was a happier fit.

          • taw46 says:

            I admire you for your work, for so long. And understand the dil’s frustration. You know, I was lucky in that it was a different time. And I was in a relatively small city in Florida. Most of the people I dealt with had real needs, just not a successful way to help them. System was bad, even back then. I did not have to deal with the level of crime/hatred/entitlement that exists today. There were other reasons I changed careers, but mainly, I just could not see myself in that profession for years to come.

          • leslie says:

            It’s funny, I was thinking about that this morning. About how long I had been in this profession and how I had never anticipated doing this work for so long. I also thought about the young people I worked with and really liked, and who entered the field during my years there. I wondered just how long they will continue doing this work. (I worked with seriously mentally ill adults, their families, and the systems the interact with.) With all the cutbacks in Chicago in the last decade, it is a miracle anyone gets any help at all. I recently learned that Obamacare has played havoc with their treatment and has made a handicapped system even worse. It is just awful. And trying to explain and defend my feelings about ACA and bronco to people – even my colleagues – has been difficult at best. My metamorphosis from a Progressive/Liberal to a Conservative is the big question to my family. I think they believe I’ve “lost it”. When, in fact, I believe I found something. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comments are closed.