Just Another Open Thread


It’s Friday. L. Neenyo is here in California, and Snowmageddon II is carpet bombing the east coast. There are a couple playoff games this weekend. I got a pot roast going in the crock pot. Teh Kittehs are all sleeping right now.

There are three bottles of Sierra Nevada Pale Ale calling to me from the fridge, which means I have to either stay sober tonight or go to the store before I start drinking.

What else is going down?


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

164 Responses to Just Another Open Thread

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    According to California I am “NPP” which means “no party preference” but actually I prefer having no party. As I have previously stated, my ideology has no name.

    I am finding that this is a much less stressful way to experience an election season. I can simultaneously cheer for Donald Trump, Ted Cruz and Bernie Sanders without being the least bit inconsistent.

    • lyn says:

      I may end up voting for Bernie in the general.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Just as long as you’re not incontinent.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Watching the NRO playout on the social medias and teevee, I remember the idiots at the RNC blamed low Republican turnout on a few million conservatives sitting home election day because Romney was not “Pure” enough conservative. How did that turn out? Dear Lawdy Lawd, wouldn’t Mitt have been better than….TEAM OBLAHMA’s second term?

      Yeah, maybe that’s what I’m angry about now, those 2012 aholes who stayed home. Now the Purity Test is being administered before the first primary ballot. I’m going with Hulk and Wreck-It Ralph. Trump/Cruz 2016 !

      • 49erDweet says:

        I’m at the point where if Bernie picked Cruz as his running mate I might hold my nose…..

      • 1539days says:

        I hate to say it, but if Trump loses because butthurt Republicans stay home, it still validates the opinion that Trump can’t win. Right now, there are two reasons to support Trump. You can like his platform of populism. You can like his ability to outmaneuver and persuade his opponents. You can like both.

        Trump is at 40-something percent right now among Republicans. He has to get that to 90% by August to have any chance at winning the general election. If he trashes everyone else on a personal level, a lot of their supporters will give a big FU to Trump. The political world is run by a bunch of weenies like Nate Silver not Alpha males like Trump.

  2. Dora says:

    Beck picked up on the nationalism. Somebody is right. But Beck is wrong. In fact, he’s nuts!

    • DeniseVB says:

      I was at that event in the photo. Beck did pack in more people on the National Mall than MLK did in ’63. Photos prove that, but Beck had Sarah there too. Later, they would have a come-a-part split. Later, I paid $100 to attend an NYC Kickoff for his new post-Fox network which included a free year’s subscription. Which I never used. Though later I found it remarkable, his online line network had more paid subscribers then Oprah’s new cable network had viewers.

      I think later that year, the Beck/O’Reilly roadshow came to Norfolk, Va. I went, it was a sellout crowd, but felt dupped, another infomercial for the Beck O’Reilly brands.

  3. Myiq2xu says:

    I have to admit there are some Trump supporters that are vile and disgusting racists. I blame the reemergence of white racists on Barack Obama because of his deliberate increasing of racial polarization.

  4. elliesmom says:

    Elliesdad came grocery shopping with me today. It took 4 times as long, I spent twice as much, and I didn’t get half of what I needed. With a trunk full of groceries, we ate lunch out.

  5. Dora says:

    About how Jeb is spending millions to destroy Rubio because Rubio didn’t wait his turn. Jeb’s true character is showing and it’s not pleasant.

    Why Jeb Bush is out to destroy Marco Rubio


  6. Dora says:

    National Black Republican Association Endorses Donald J. Trump

    Announcing National Black Republican Association Endorses Donald J. Trump
    By Frances Rice


    • leslie says:

      So, I guess the fallout wasn’t quite what NRO thought it might be. . . or maybe it was. They gleaned more exposure In their manifesto and appearance on the Kelly File than in years. Rich Lowry will be on the Kelly File again tonight, per twitter.

      Not certain if I’ll be watching. I was so offended by last night’s tirades that I may really cut off FOX after 7:pm.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Yum, pot roast. Before I look up slow cooker recipes for the hunk of chuck I bought, any good ideas from the TCHers ? I have cream of mushroom and dry onion soup on hand, plus the fresh veggies to toss in. I never seem to make it the same way twice! Thanks guys!

    • leslie says:

      GMTA, I already made a pot roast for this weekend last night ! 😉

      I use a pressure cooker, so I’m no help here. But I do use onion, bay leaf, beef broth and carrots, potatoes, and green beans. I cook the veggies in the cooker at the end so they are still semi crunchy (carrots and beans.) I’m getting ready to re-heat it now. yum

    • gram krakka says:

      Ronaldo’s Beef Carnitas

      If you like Tex-Mex this is real tasty and easy to prep once the beef is cooked and shredded.

      I prepare tortillas by placing a long strip of pepper-jack cheese on one half of a flour tortilla, then a layer of the shredded beef topped with a shredded Mexican cheese blend. (Sometimes I also smear on a little refried beans.)

      Fold over the other half of the tortilla and heat both sides on griddle till cheese melts and tortilla is slightly browned and crispy. Serve with sour cream, guac, salsa, diced fresh plum tomatoes and sauteed onions, red peppers and mushrooms. A pitcher of top shelf Margaritas and a slice of my famous Key Lime Pie make this one of our favorite dinners.

      I buy marked-down, Manager’s Special beef roasts and freeze till ready to make this. I rarely buy meat that hasn’t been marked-down. Even though my son-in-law can afford full price, my thrifty, tight-wad upbringing balks at today’s meat prices.

      Ronaldo’s Beef Carnitas

      4 pounds chuck roast (pot roast, whatever is on sale)
      1 (4 ounce) can green chile peppers, chopped
      2 tablespoons chili powder
      1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
      1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
      2 cloves garlic, minced
      salt to taste

      Preheat oven to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C).
      Place roast on heavy foil large enough to enclose the meat. In a small bowl, combine the green chile peppers, chili powder, oregano, cumin, garlic and salt to taste. Mix well and rub over the meat.
      Totally wrap the meat in the foil and place in a roasting pan.
      Bake at 300 degrees F (150 degrees C) for 3 1/2 to 4 hours, or until the roast just falls apart with a fork. Remove from oven and shred using two forks.

      Strain the hot juices into a glass measuring cup, discard the fat layer after chilling, reheat juices and pour back over the shredded beef to help keep meat moist. Use a slotted spoon to drain the meat before preparing tortillas.

  8. Myiq2xu says:

    • leslie says:

      This means his campaign doesn’t use the Chicago Plan. I’m sure Hillary picked up some pointers from her last go-round.

  9. Dora says:

    Oh Dear – Mark Levin Credibility Melts Like Glenn Beck Tears – Levin Family is Staffer for Senator Cruz…

    There’s something initially angering that becomes very sad when a fraud is revealed. Tonight on his radio show Mark Levin was forced to admit the son of his fiance’ is a full time staffer for Senator Ted Cruz.


  10. helenk3 says:

    I was laughing at the picture of the confessional.
    Little kids when they make their first confession are really funny. I am surprised that the priests do not write a book about it.
    A girl i worked with told me when her son made his first confession , he told the priest he committed adultery 6 times. How the priest kept a straight face i will never know.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      The boy tells the priest, “Father I’m afraid I’ve been with a loose girl.”
      “Hmm, ok son, what was the girls name?”
      “Oh I can’t say.”
      “Was it Mary Jane?”
      “No Father.”
      “Adalina Mozarelli?”
      “My lips are sealed.”
      “How about Cindy King”
      “I can never say.”
      “Oh come on boy, I’ll find out soon enough. It was Tina King wasn’t it!?”
      “It has to be Tracy Cummings though!”
      “Father I will never tell you.”
      “Ok fine, but for your sin you can’t be altar boy for four months.”
      “Ok, Father”
      The boy leaves and his friend asks, “So what’d you get?”
      The boy responds, “Five good leads, and a four month vacation!”

      • Myiq2xu says:

        A priest was doing confession duty on a Wednesday morning. It was quite slow when the sudden urge to go the bathroom made him open the door to look for another priest to relieve him. The only person he saw was the janitor so he motioned for him.
        “Janitor, I need you to sit in here for a few moments while I relieve myself. Don’t worry, it’s slow, but if anyone comes in, listen to the sin then look at this cheat sheet and give them the appropriate number of Hail Mary’s.”
        The janitor agreed and sat down. As soon as the priest went around the corner, a man sat down in the booth.
        “Forgive me father for I have sinned. I can’t help it! As soon as I see a woman, I have to hit on her! If successful, I take her back to my place and have anal sex with her!”
        The janitor was shocked at the admission, but looked at the cheat sheet. Of course there was nothing about anal sex. He opens the door looking for the priest, but there was no one but an altar boy.
        “Hey altar boy! What does the priest usually give for anal sex?”
        “Twenty bucks.”

        • Myiq2xu says:

          A 92 year old man goes to confession. The moment he’s settled in,
          he blurts out, “Father, I had sex with a pair of nineteen year olds!”
          The priest says, “Wait a minute. I don’t recognize your voice.
          Are you a member of this parish?”
          The old man says, “No I’m not.”
          “But you are Roman Catholic, aren’t you?”
          “No I’m not.”
          “Well, why are you telling me about it?”
          The old man says, “Hell, I’m telling everyone about it!”

  11. Venus says:

    An entertaining (and enlightening) open letter to Mark Levinson re: Cruz v. Trump.


  12. Myiq2xu says:

  13. Underwhelmed says:


    Yes indeed, let’s let ’em all in, no questions asked. And then prosecute the locals who protest at this filthy behaviour.

  14. lyn says:

    “There are a number of Americans who are losers from a process of economic globalization that enriches a transnational global elite. These Middle Americans see jobs disappearing to Asia and increased competition from immigrants. Most of them feel threatened by cultural liberalism, at least the type that sees Middle Americans as loathsome white bigots. But they are also threatened by conservatives who would take away their Medicare, hand their Social Security earnings to fund-managers in Connecticut, and cut off their unemployment too.”

  15. Dora says:

    Bravo to these very brave and dedicated souls.

  16. Dora says:

    Up pops another challenge to Cruz being eligible to run for President.

    Motion demands Cruz be removed from Illinois ballot


  17. Dora says:

  18. swanspirit says:

    I think the National Review just threw up all over themselves , and before a single vote has been cast. If that is what they were trying to do, influence voting, they have accomplished that goal, but not the way they intended.

    • leslie says:

      . . . and according to the tone they are taking on twitter, they are even more arrogant and obnoxious today than on Thursday night. They’re going to suffer from the backlash. They continue to mock and call people (who support Trump) stupid and uninformed.

    • lyn says:

      The political class has ignored Middle America, and the NR gang rape of Trump is evident that conservatives have no clue.

  19. Dora says:

  20. leslie says:

    How is everyone doing in this storm?? I’m watching the news and am reminded of winter a couple of years ago. It was horrid and so hard to get around that year. Stay warm and safe – everyone. ❤

    • Somebody says:

      Yes that winter a couple of years ago was horrible. That was the first year my daughter was in NC, north of Charlotte. They had 11 snow and ice storms that year, she was so freaked out. She slipped on ice and broke her ankle, survived a big power outage, on and on. She’s been trying to find a comparable position in Florida or another non-snow area ever since, LOL!

      In fact she is visiting us right now (she got out of dodge), we had a lovely walk on the beach yesterday afternoon under warm sunny skies. Many of her co-workers were texting her asking if she had power and was she OK, which I truly appreciate. She was texting them back pictures of her walking on the beach and assuring them she was fine!

      I wish I could transport everyone on TCH that is snowed in down here to walk on the beach too! Stay safe and warm everybody.

      • Ann says:

        It poured buckets here yesterday morning in our little corner of northern Florida. This morning it is 39°, overcast and windy.

        We got down to our condo on the 9th and there had been ONE sun day to that point in 2016. The weather is uneven at best in “sunny” Florida in January. (The joys of snowbirding on the beach.)

        The positive is we (hubby, me and the dog) no longer want to scratch our northern-dry skin off. It took our skin about a week to heal and plump-up. And, by Feb 1 the weather “should” be pretty steady and nice, and by April 1 it is so warm we can’t wait to get back home.

        • Somebody says:

          Ann I’m in North Florida, the very NE corner and although it rained in the morning it was 70 and sunny by 3pm. We were walking along the beaches of Amelia Island

    • taw46 says:

      Maybe no power for some? Or maybe, out playing in all that snow! Anyway, hope everyone is safe and warm.

    • DeniseVB says:

      We rain-snow line people are doing okay. As forecast, snow-rain to wash it away. We’ll get the backlash from the storm this afternoon and will be turning back to snow. Other parts of the state are getting slammed. Hope DT fed his tauntaun this morning😉

    • votermom says:

      It’s hard to judge because of the wind, but I think we have at least a foot. It was sounding like pellets an hour ago, now it is tiny flakes.

    • Dora says:

      It’s going to be bad. We’re supposed to get 2 inches an hour until late tonight. I still have power, but it’s awfully windy outside. The lights flickered a few times. I am prepared to stay indoors for the weekend. There is plenty to do, but not if we lose our power. That’s something I dread.

      I just saw Christie on TV giving instructions to the people of New Jersey. When he reminded them that this is his 17th emergency as governor, I yelled at the television – “Do your friggin job Christie and stop campaigning”! Geeesh!

      Blizzard, Coastal Flood Warnings in Effect, Up to 2 Feet of Snow Expected
      Snowfall estimates for the island have skyrocketed over the past 24 hours.


      • taw46 says:

        I just saw photos of flooding in Stone Harbor, NJ. Awful.

      • piper says:

        We in the midwest have been through these storms before so here’s a bit of advice which is worth about a plug nickel. Stay inside and wait until the storm subsides before shoveling – some people think you should keep up with shoveling snow however Mother Nature usually has the last laugh as she blows the snow back over shoveled areas. Gather up flashlights with batteries, food, blankets and books to read. Power up cell phones as they can be used when landlines usually don’t work. Stay warm and if you can keep in touch with us – we do worry when our relatives, friends and blog people are experiencing horrendous weather.

        • Dora says:

          Thanks for the advice Piper and Leslie. We do have to make sure that the top step on the stoop remains clear and Tom has been going out every once in a while to shovel it off. We learned our lesson years ago. The storm door opens outward and one time the snow drifted up against the door and froze there trapping it shut. A few of our neighbors had to dig us out. That was scary.

          Anyway, I just looked outside and noticed that someone has shoveled the front steps and made a path to the street. I didn’t hear anyone and have no idea who did it. One of the kids on the block, I guess. They often do that and then leave without saying anything. I have such wonderful neighbors and really appreciate them all. Especially at times like this.

          So far we’ve been lucky and didn’t lose power. I hope it stays that way. BBL.

      • leslie says:

        Dora, I just read piper’s comments to you and I second her advice – especially about keeping the cell phones charged (although you could charge them in the car if need be. Some cars don’t even have to have engines running to charge batteries. I had to do that once.) ❤
        And wait until the snowplows push the snow over your driveway, walk, or cleaned off car. That is really who has the last laugh…. the snowplow drivers. 👿

        • piper says:

          I’m sure that snowplow drivers receive lessons on to irritate us and earn brownie points on number of complaints city officials receive. Last big storm, spent more time clearing base of driveway than rest of drive. Big chunks of ice that my little snowblower couldn’t handle. Thank goodness for heating pad and Aleve.

          • leslie says:

            I know, right?

          • 49erDweet says:

            When I was a teen-ager, about a gazillion years ago, up In Idyllwild, CA, during the heavier snowstorms we would take our jeeps and spin “brodies” in the slush in the village center, which was a huge parking lot between the bowling alley and the market, We left 6 – 8 inch high ribbons of slush all over. Later, around 2 am, the clouds would clear off and the slush would freeze hard, into solid ice. In the morning (sound travels a long ways in the mountains) while waiting for the school bus we could hear the county snowplows fighting and chipping away at that frozen, thick ice, because they had to clear the parking lot first, in order to have somewhere to store the snow they wanted to push off the state highway. They could have killed us if they’d caught us. LOL.

    • lyn says:

      It’s been raining in southern Oregon.

    • elliesmom says:

      The rain/snow line moved inland a bit so we’re getting more snow than was predicted. Ellie and I got up early and cleaned and filled the bird feeders. She looked like the Abominable Snowman when she came in a few minutes ago. There’s no wind to speak of, and the snow is pretty fluffy so I don’t expect to lose power. Nowhere we need to be until Wednesday so I’m not concerned.

    • swanspirit says:

      Thanks for asking Leslie, We had about 4-6 inches of snow last night, then sometime about two or three Am the wind and rain came. The rain washed away all the pretty snow. ( I think it’s pretty because I don’t have to drive in it ) and the wind is still going, and blowing stuff around, so it really is bleak midwinter here. I checked on every family member and friend affected by this storm, and they are ok too, so that is reassuring.
      Every twig, and a few things that were quite a bit larger than twigs; that hit the roof woke me up, so I am sleep deprived, but warm and comfortable for now; knocks on wood!!! My son is still here, so he will help with clean up once this storm is done.
      A lot of people are having a much worse time, so I have a lot of gratitude that this is all I am dealing with at the moment.
      I am going to cook a nice dinner tonight, and just continue to hunker down and wait it out..
      I hope everyone else is doing ok too , sends warm hugs to everyone!!

    • DeniseVB says:

      Must’ve been Hillary’s first experience with a high information voter ? Those were great questions.

    • Somebody says:

      I hope more people in the all of the early voting states do the same thing to all of the candidates. Ask legitimate questions AND follow up questions that the media refuses to ask.

  21. taw46 says:

  22. DeniseVB says:

    Why is George Snuffalaughagas still allowed to interview political candidates? I can’t imagine him treating Hillary like this, though would like him to ask these questions of her too ….


    • Somebody says:

      It’s not just George, there has been a revolving door in both parties for decades. If you worked for an administration then you aren’t a journalist, you’re not unbiased and therefore shouldn’t be trusted and that goes for BOTH sides. Maybe people who leave an administration and want to work in television should be relegated to the weather or cooking segments, LOL!

  23. Somebody says:

    This is quite interesting about the Cruz campaign, or maybe it’s just interesting to me because I like to know who is behind the curtain. Anyway this article is about Cruz’s campaign manager, he’s touted by many to be the next Karl Rove.


  24. Myiq2xu says:

  25. Myiq2xu says:

  26. Myiq2xu says:

    • leslie says:

      I am so disgusted with HRC. When I hear her on tv or radio, I shake my head in amazement that I couldn’t see through the lies when I supported her in 2008. I am ashamed that I supported and believed her. I also wonder how people like Uppity and others feel and what they think when they now read about her antics and her dishonesty.

      • piper says:

        Occasionally I go over there to read her threads and comments. I’m so over Miss Hillary and her lies and outrageous actions that I jokingly tell pollsters that I’m voting for Martin. No longer affiliated with any party and haven’t chosen any candidate that I would be happy to see as president.

        • leslie says:

          If not for Benghazi, and her cave-in to bronco, I wonder if I could still be supporting her. Probably not. But now listening to her makes me ill.

      • leslie says:

        I meant to say
        “I wonder how people like Uppity and other can still feel and think about HRC when they read about her . . . “

        • DeniseVB says:

          I run across an Uppity tweet now and then, she’s vetting Bernie The Evil Socialist and celebrating Hillary promising women their reproductive freedom.

          • leslie says:

            I know. it is so sad…but better to deal with my discovery of HRC being a l.i.a.r and traitor to the country and the people who serve and protect than to continue blindly follow her despite proof that contradicts my earlier loyalty and beliefs.

    • taw46 says:

      As someone said on FOX yesterday, every time they bring up her answering questions for 11 hours: two hours less than “13 Hours”.

    • helenk3 says:


      the clintons really do not see anything wrong with her lack of action and lying about Benghazi

  27. votermom says:

  28. taw46 says:

  29. leslie says:

    OT ~
    Today on NBC, the US Figure Skating Championships. Coverage is this afternoon (pairs and dance) and then again later in the evening (women). Coverage for the men is tomorrow afternoon.
    Gotta go do grocery shopping now for a friend who is sick with the flu. Cross your fingers, everyone. I haven’t yet caught the virus my grand daughters have tried to share with me since a week ago yesterday. But the other gamma has and she is really sick😦

  30. Dora says:

  31. lyn says:

    Snow bear

  32. helenk3 says:

    the wind is so strong at the Wildwood NJ boardwalk that it is turning the ferris wheel.
    my youngest grand daughter is stuck at work due the flooding in Stone Harbor NJ. Her friend’s truck is under water so they are stuck

  33. DeniseVB says:

    Sad that the only confirmed traffic death, related to the stormageddon in Virginia, happened just a couple of miles from my house. In the rain.

  34. helenk3 says:


    wonder how many hollywood jobs this will cost?
    the leftist should be so proud

  35. lyn says:

    Awesome sauce:

  36. Dora says:

    Travel ban ordered. NYC and Long Island have been just about shut down. It’s eerie.

    Gov. Cuomo orders LIE travel ban, LIRR suspension

    MELVILLE – Gov. Andrew Cuomo has ordered a shutdown of Long Island’s roads and rails due to dangerous conditions from the storm.

    The Long Island Expressway and the Northern State Parkway are now closed to drivers. Cuomo says drivers who do not heed the travel ban could face summonses, fines and points on their licenses


Comments are closed.