Saturday on Ice Open Thread

I choose to be inspired🙂 Stay safe and warm right coasties, TCH family, and if you still have power, this is an OPEN THREAD !

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

81 Responses to Saturday on Ice Open Thread

  1. lyn says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      True story. 🙂 Not to make fun of the south, I do understand. On the rare southern snow storms, I had spent an overnight or two at the veterinary clinic to cut paychecks for the employees, who never showed up the next day.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Out here on the Left Coast we have to deal with millions of Californians who forgot how to drive in the rain.

        • Jadzia says:

          That was the WORST in Los Angeles. I used to always take the surface streets home if it rained, under the theory that I would probably survive a non-highway crash with one of the many idiots who panic just because of a little water.

        • lyn says:

          Denver drivers are nuts in the snow and rain.

        • piper says:

          Every year Wisconsin drivers show what slow learners they are, driving the first couple of snowfalls with mucho accidents – driving too fast, bumper riding, forgetting to remove snow from their vehicles including the roof thinking that it will just blow off which can impair their ability to see and other drivers’ vision, talking and texting on their phones, jamming on the brakes, losing control of car in a skid and so on and so on.

          • leslie says:

            That driving must be a Midwest thing. I can’t believe people get ticketed for loud mufflers but not for not cleaning off their cars when it snows. I hate when it snows (not really) but I hate driving after the snow falls here in northern Chicago. Those drivers are cray cray.

          • elliesmom says:

            When we moved to northern Chicago, friends and neighbors expressed surprise a couple of New Englanders “didn’t know how to drive in the snow”. I tried to explain we don’t have long straight roads here. There are lots and lots of curves. And it’s not flat. If you don’t slow down and switch into a lower gear, you end up off the road or unable to make it up a hill. I couldn’t believe how fast they still drove. When folks from the Chicago office would get sent here on business trips and it snowed, they were petrified to drive from the local hotel to the office because the hotel was at the top of a steep hill. One time after one of the guys came down the hill sideways, he called the rental car company to come pick up the car. He took a taxi everywhere for the rest of his stay.

        • 49erDweet says:

          If it ain’t named San Andreas it ain’t slowin’ us down.

        • wailuagirl says:

          Nothing ever changes but the weather in my ol hometown SooooCalifornia

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Storm starting to move out from the beach …. oh, wait….

    • cynic says:

      Oh my goodness, that looks like the yard from my first house! Seriously, all the way down to the trees, bushes, and the neighbor’s house!

  3. leslie says:

    Smiling feels so good…

  4. DeniseVB says:

    From Dec2015…..

    • lyn says:

      Great find. Had someone reply to a tweet with an insult and then she blocked me before I replied. I replied anyway and blocked her back. I started to tell these twerps that I’m old enough to be their mother.

  5. Jadzia says:

    It’s Day 7 of the Whole30 and I want to kill someone.

    The washing machine is leaking.

    The dishwasher broke, two weeks after I had a guy come out to look at it and he “little ladied” me and told me I was imagining things.

    The dog is in heat. This actually helps with the Whole30 because it is disgusting.

    I am on Round 6 with a local bank trying to get a GD checking account. Thanks to all the new reporting requirements that the US has foisted on banks all over the world. So thank you to both Obama and the Republicans for that.

    Mama needs a vacation.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Mama needs a spa day and some wine.

      • Jadzia says:

        Wine is one of the many things that are forbidden. I do have cucumber water.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          How about some chocolate and a foot rub?

          • Jadzia says:

            Ha ha ha. No chocolate. No dairy. No legumes. No alcohol. No bread. No grains. No fucking fun.

          • Myiq2xu says:

            Are you pregnant or in a cult?

          • Jadzia says:

            It is kind of culty. But it’s just 30 days! My “gonna eat healthy” New Year’s resolutions always start a little bit later than everybody else’s because my birthday is in early January, and a diet is no bueno for that.

            And no, there are going to be NO MORE BABIES IN THIS HOUSE. Neither human nor canine. You should’ve seen my husband’s face when he found out (um, today), that “in heat” lasts for a month. I think he might be a little PTSD’d about this kind of stuff after 10 years of dealing with my PMS. Which he is now convinced that the dog has.

          • Myiq2xu says:

            I make resolutions I know I can keep, like “drink more beer” and “don’t eat veggies” and “gain some weight”.

          • Jadzia says:


        • leslie says:

          Happy Birthday Jadzia ! ❤❤
          When was your birthday?
          Mine was the 9th; my sister's is the 8th; My mother's the 15th and my dil is the 26th. So many January birthdays. The holidays never end here . . . . . 🙂

          • Shez ZK says:

            Another Capricorn here, mine was the 5th. (The big six-oh, where did the years go)
            Happy Birthday to both you and Jadzia!

            I have one other thing in common with Jadzia, I too am a Yooper from the U.P. like she is. My relatives live at the top of Lake Michigan in Mackinac county, and I think she’s from the Marquette area up by Lake Superior. Living near Lansing now I miss the Lakes, the fish, and the northern lights the most. Jadzia when you can make it back to Michigan one of these days it would be fun to have a meetup!

          • leslie says:

            Happy birthday to you!!! I’m not a Yooper. I was born in the lower part (Grand Rapids area). Never lived there, really, but spent time each summer there with my mom’s family until I was about 10-11. a meetup in MI would be grand… So would a meetup in Chicago.

          • Jadzia says:

            Thank you! Oh God, now I think I hear a kid puking. I AM RUNNING AWAY FROM HOME.

          • leslie says:

            sounds like my son’s house. Everyone got sick – except my son (and me). Good luck!

          • Jadzia says:

            Happy birthday to you, too! Mine was the 11th; my FIL was the 4th; Boy #3’s was the 19th. Then we get a breather until February 4 (MIL) and March 13 (Boy #2).

          • Jadzia says:

            WOW another Yooper! I will surely let you know if I ever make it back there. I was born in Ishpeming and mostly grew up in Palmer, but now the family is HQ’d in Marquette and Michigamme. I am counting the days until this !@#$!@#$@$ Whole30 is over so that I can make pasties. Say yah to da UP, eh?

  6. Dora says:

  7. helenk3 says:

    my daughter called a friend to see how he was doing during the storm.
    he told he is at a hotel in Wildwood, in a jacuzzi watching the ocean. The gym and jacuzzi are on the top floor of the hotel and have windows overlooking the ocean.

    this has to be the smartest guy in the room. He knows how to weather a storm

  8. Dora says:

    His second rally today. Sen. Grassley sitting in front.

  9. Dora says:

    Cruz is having a rally too.

  10. Myiq2xu says:

  11. Myiq2xu says:

  12. Myiq2xu says:

  13. westcoaster says:

    Clint Eastwood about the Oscar protests:

  14. CiscoKid says:

    Truly inspiring. “Crying” about my aches & pains and this wonderful lady is skating at 87!
    I couldn’t skate that well when I was a kid, but of course, she’s a champion and it shows.

    • wailuagirl says:

      I hope your aches & pains get better CiscoKid.

    • Jadzia says:

      I hope you feel better! It is inspiring knowing that you don’t have to hang up the skates as you get older. I can’t remember not knowing how to skate but I rarely go (even though there is an ice rink literally a 10 minute walk from my house) because I am a MUCH better skater than I am a skating teacher, and the thought of having to teach several, probably crying, little kids who keep going BOOM makes the whole thing a lot less appealing.

  15. dm says:

    still snowing and blowing here in Maryland…daughter made it to work safely, no details on how that was accomplished. Now I can drink…hope everyone is warm and comfy on this bone chilling Saturday night.

  16. 1539days says:

    I’m pretty close to this massive Nor’easter, but there’s been literally no snow this weekend and mostly seasonal temperatures. Frankly, it’s better right now than it was last week.

  17. Dora says:

    I noticed a few birthdays mentioned. I don’t want to miss anyone, so I’ll just say Happy Birthday to all the Januaries.

    The snow finally stopped and the travel ban will be lifted at 7:00 AM in NYC and Long Island. Because the ban is lifted doesn’t mean everything will be back to normal. That’s not going to happen for a while.

    Here are some pictures of the blizzard. Some are funny; others are pretty; all of them make me realize how lucky I am to be in my warm house with all the power still on.

    These Are The Craziest Images From The East Coast Blizzard

  18. DeniseVB says:

    Wut ?

Comments are closed.