Aw, Crap! It’s Monday Again


This is an open thread.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

101 Responses to Aw, Crap! It’s Monday Again

  1. cynic says:

    Happy Monday everyone! Only one week until the Iowa primaries.

    I’ve been reading all your comments this past week. You guys are great. I looooved Somebody’s rant. Happy belated birthday to all of you that celebrated this month.

    We had two funerals to attend last week. It’s always sad to say goodbye, but take solace in the fact that they had long lives (99 and 86). I ended up making desserts for the luncheons, had family over for dinner one night, and over-night company another night. Seems like I spent a great deal of time in the kitchen.

    Speaking of kitchen, thanks gram for the recipe, and Klown, I too like two buck Chuck. The Merlot is my favorite.

    Hope all is well with all of you dealing with the snow. I can’t believe that it’s the last week of Jan., and they’re predicting rain today for where I live.

    • leslie says:

      ❤❤ cynic ❤❤
      I'm sorry for your goodbyes. I think you may have written in the past about one of your neighbors. They and their families are so lucky to have you in their lives. Here's to a happier and healthy rest of your year.
      (And thanks for the birthday wishes, too)

      • cynic says:

        Thanks Leslie. Yea, one was my neighbor’s father. Thought it was touching that the grandsons all wore his ties at the funeral.

        I am actually bored today after being so busy last week! I’m finding nothing of interest to read on the internet. Guess there’s a book coming out about the Bush’s tomorrow. I’m laughing at the Bush campaign. Who thought it would help Jeb to have him remove his glasses, and have his mom on a ad? Then he tweets a picture of her with football shoulder pads on! It just seems so desperate.

        • leslie says:

          Jeb is desperate. Even if he were the best candidate, I think his last name would deny him enough votes to win. Don’t you?
          Yes, the boys all wearing his ties is a touching tribute to their grandfather. It is lovely, really.
          I know what that feeling (of having nothing after being so very busy) is like. Go see the movie “Carol”. Tell me what you think. I can’t remember experiencing such underlying tension in a movie for a long time. I finally was able to take a breath after it was over.

          • cynic says:

            I rarely go to the movies because my DH works a lot of overtime and gets home late. I checked it out to see if it would be something that my girlfriends would like, and after reading reviews, I figured it wasn’t. I’ll have to wait and see it on the tv.

            I saw that Todd Haynes is the director, and really liked ‘Far From Heaven’.

          • leslie says:

            It was beautifully done. I hope you get to see it.
            Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara deserved to be nominated for Oscars. The movie was nominated for Oscars in 6 categories and should have been in at least 2 more imo.
            Hope you are adjusting to the quiet.

          • cynic says:

            Thanks for the link.

          • mothy67, says:

            I think Netflix has the right idea with these smaller adult films in planning to release them on demand at the same time in select cities. Suffragate made less than 5 million and by the time it makes it to VOD it’s forgotton.

          • leslie says:

            I’m listening to the soundtrack as I’m typing. It is stunning/beautiful. Just like the movie.

          • cynic says:

            I just went to Wiki to read up on Rooney Mara. What a family background! Then I read the movies that she’s acted in, and realized that I really don’t watch many movies. I don’t think I’ve seen any of the movies that she’s been in.

            Got to thinking, besides watching Morning Joe, I really don’t watch very much tv either. I really like quiet. It’s probably why I enjoy living in the country so much. I listen to the birds and our chickens, and the occasional neighing of one of the horses.

          • leslie says:

            I know you love the country. (Please go see Carol by yourself. You won’t regret it. I’d have gone alone but a friend took me for my birthday over the weekend.) I am listening to the soundtrack on youtube.
            Listen . . .

    • votermom says:

      I’m sorry to hear about the funerals.
      Glad you are able to rest a bit now.

  2. jennifer lyn says:

    I think that this year will be defining in American history as establishing for a fact that both parties are completely corrupt, self serving, and deserve to be disbanded. Trump is a product of that fact and his victory (or Cruz–sorry people you are impossibly hard on even the good guys) is the only thing that will save us from a black-lives-matter-slow-death-march-to-insanity. When he wins I hope he uses Carson (education), Cruz (borders/attorney general), and others to make America the bright star she used to be. I want America to shine and her people to be happy.

    • lyn says:

      Well said.

    • cynic says:

      Voter’s do not want the establishment or the media to choose their candidates. My head almost exploded very early on when I heard the Bush/Clinton match-up.

      There are only a couple of Republicans that I have real problems with. I like to listen to Cruz, Christie, Paul, and even Rubio. Kasich, for some odd reason, makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. No to Jeb.

      We need a problem solver, good decision maker, and someone that’s not afraid to take on the media. Romney was weak. He should have taken on Harry Reid’s lying on the Senate floor about him, and Candy’s behavior at that debate.

      • leslie says:

        You’re absolutely right.
        I can listen to Cruz, Christie and Paul, but not Rubio. He is too smooth for me. Reminds me of bronco.
        And about Kasich – The first time I heard him I had the same reaction.
        It is too bad Romney did not fight back. But perhaps he was not the fighter we needed.

        • cynic says:

          I really like Ann Romney as well. She would have been a great First Lady. I suppose I should take the Romney/Ryan bumper sticker off my car,

          Oh, and I saw my first campaign bumper sticker in my little town. It was for Bernie, on an old beat up van, with the driver’s side window taped in place, front grill missing, and the driver was young, and had very long hair.

          • leslie says:

            LOL !! Maybe He’s hoping for a new car. 😉

            I like Ann Romney as well. And I agree with you about her being a great FLOTUS.

          • Somebody says:

            I can’t abide Rubio, probably because he’s my senator and I know what a lying sack of shit he is. He is up for sale to the highest bidder, a COC sweetheart. Rubio will open the flood gates to cheap foreign labor because that is what his boys want, he’s already tried. He is for amnesty, I don’t give two shits what comes out of his mouth he is for amnesty. Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me. That little rat bastard will never fool me again…… I said I might be a little biased when it comes to Rubio blush.

            I can listen to Trump, Cruz, and Christie. Although I can get annoyed with their schticks easily too. I still harbor some resentment toward Christie over the hug and his convention speech in 2012 got on my last nerve. Who the hell talks about themselves like that??? Chris Christie will, Chris Christie thinks, does, whatever dude, weird. He has grown on me in the debates, but I don’t quite trust him.

            I don’t care for Rand Paul, he does make some good points here and there……but I just don’t like him. Unlike the rest of you I can tolerate Jeb. Perhaps it’s because he was my governor and I’ve met him a couple of times??? I don’t agree with him on immigration or common core (if you guys only knew!) and I have no desire for him to be the nominee. For some reason I can tolerate Jeb better than Rubio. Rubio makes my head explode, LOL! If Yeb stood a chance I might have the same reaction to him, but honestly I just want him to walk away and try to save some shred of dignity.

            By the by, I’ve seen Trump, Sanders and Hillary bumper stickers in my area. Most of the Sanders ones around here are on luxury cars, LOL! The Trump signs are HUGE, at least the ones I’ve seen. They’re magnetic signs on the car doors or the back of SUVs.

      • Lildoggy4u says:

        Actually Romney wasn’t weak. He was a gentleman. Obama and his Cronies were/are not.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Rumor has it that Trump is a true gentleman too and he did endorse Romney in 2012. I think we all thought the very classy Romney would win it in a cakewalk against the sniveling, pompous Obama. Lola and I gained about 2500 followers on our Romney Democrats FB page those few months between the convention and election. Mitt was that appealing across the aisle🙂

          Trump is smart, he’s not campaigning like Romney. I don’t care if he’s a Dem/lib/Repub/con/Romulan/Jedi/Sith …. country before party !

        • Underwhelmed says:

          He’s a Pisces. Too nice by half.

      • cynic says:

        Somebody: “I still harbor some resentment toward Christie over the hug and his convention speech in 2012 got on my last nerve. Who the hell talks about themselves like that???”

        This was exactly what I said to my BIL yesterday. I don’t want to attack people for their choices, but when he said that his wife likes him, I agreed that I really liked him in ’09, and loved when he would appear on ‘Morning Joe’ (his wife watches as well). I then added the BUT, and proceeded to say what you just said.

        The hug was secondary for me. The first was the speech at the convention. I was like, huh? and so disappointed in him.

    • DeniseVB says:

      After decades of corruption, I think a Trump-Cruz ticket is just the right stuff for the country. Though, scanning the news timelines, I’m told not to believe the polls and Trump is probably not ahead afterall ! LOL !

      Iowa can’t get here soon enough, only 7 days to go before I’m told what else I should believe😉

      • lyn says:

        The Trump haters are worse than the Obama lovers.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Yup, the twitter wars are getting tiring. It’s only the Trump side asking the Cruz side to chill so we might possibly coulda maybe hopefully have a kickass ticket. I don’t see many Cruzzies putting down their swords😉

      • Somebody says:

        Denise I was sort of settled in on a Trump-Cruz ticket, but I don’t think that is as likely as it once was. I think there was some kind of agreement between the two, but I think that has been broken. I think them going after each other is genuine and I don’t think Trump will consider him now. Trump doesn’t like people that cross him or so they say, hence why I think Ted is off his list.

        • Lildoggy4u says:

          I keep saying so forgive me but I’d like to see Attorney General Cruz.
          Gowdy needs to stay in Congress

        • DeniseVB says:

          I’m hoping it’s all kabuki campaigning which makes for newsworthy sound biting. Our media is clueless about fair coverage, just ratings and clickbait (I’ve given up on print media going for “circulation”, they’ve already pretty much killed themselves off). My fingers are crossed for a Ninja Star Throwing Ticket ! So far, I haven’t seen any kill shots between T and Cruz, and if they can merge their supporters, it will be an unbeatable ticket.

          Then again, my track record since Kerry/Edwards …. sigh😉

  3. Dora says:

    • mothy67, says:

      Happened in November as well.

    • mcnorman says:

      But my neighbor whose car engine was marked by an unaltered cat for a week (and then she used a million cleaners) was detained and held for two hours by DHS because K-9 said she was trying to hide something with all those cleaners.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Sounds like the DHS my son deals with at the Denver airport. He was so happy the DC office has been shutdown for snow that he doesn’t have to deal with those “non-essential” gov employees who he has to deal with on a daily basis.

  4. Myiq2xu says:

    Guess there’s a book coming out about the Bush’s tomorrow. I’m laughing at the Bush campaign. Who thought it would help Jeb to have him remove his glasses, and have his mom on a ad? Then he tweets a picture of her with football shoulder pads on! It just seems so desperate.

    Jeb reminds me of the Emperor Maximilian. He thought that all he had to do was show up and he would be welcomed by the people. But his only support came from the elites and the people hated him. Instead of a coronation he got executed.

    • swanspirit says:

      Yep. Yeb! acted surprised and flustered that he actually had to do something other than be present for his coronation, and then petulant when he didn’t get it. His mommy must have purchased Florida for him, and given it to him as a present, and he expected the same for the oval office.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Days after the NR slam of Trump, I’m learning it’s mostly because Trump didn’t come up through the political ranks, so, it’s not his TURN, he hasn’t PROVEN himself as a loyal soldier. So, how has that worked out since Eisenhower? Got the cute kid Kennedy, sadly, Johnson inherited the throne after an assassination, then, finally, Ike’s VP, Tricky Dick led to resigning, then Ford, then led to the first hopey/change Prez, Carter. Malaise gave us Reagan, then Bush 1. (and taking a breath) Perow gave us Clinton, another young is better than the old fuddy-duddy, then Bush 2 (Bar and Poppy didn’t like no-personality Jeb! way back then), then the Bam! How is that working out? Y’know, in this politically correct stupid acension rule of politics?

      Trump/Cruz 2016 !

  5. Dora says:

    Anyone like dolls? I admit that this doll maker is a brilliant artist, but I don’t care very much for his products. In fact, just looking at them gives me the creeps.

    Story about the dollmaker here:

    • DeniseVB says:

      What’s creepy are the the expressions on the dolls’ faces, almost like he was replicating deceased children. Just ewwwww.

    • cynic says:

      Creepy indeed. Saw that yesterday, and really stared at the pictures. He does a great job, but that’s the problem. Seeing him holding that head in his hand, I was just like, eew. Now I’ll be dreaming this.

    • swanspirit says:

      My mother had doll collection, and my mom left it to her when she died. I kept two, but the rest went to my daughter. Those dolls are interesting, very realistic, a teensy bit creepy,but not too much, after looking at so many dolls growing up. His sculpting is good, but I hate it when the faces all look alike. My favorites are far dolls with a lot of variations in the facial features and poses.

  6. votermom says:

  7. cynic says:

    Klown, I’ve been meaning to ask you for a couple of weeks now, what is the benefit to we the taxpayers, to have El Chapo extradited, charged, and jailed in our prison? Isn’t that going to be costly? He’s already escaped a couple of times. Won’t it be costly to we the taxpayers to have him rot in our prison, and to prevent that from happening here?

  8. foxyladi14 says:

    good question Cynic. 🙂

  9. taw46 says:

    Please Europe, do something.

  10. Dora says:

    I am glad he did this interview. This is something that needed to be cleared up for his pro-life supporters.

    Donald Trump: ‘I Am Pro-Life’ as America Slides Toward ‘Culture of Death’

  11. helenk3 says:

    got my first piece of Hillary mail today.
    wrote return to sender and remember Benghazi on the envelope

  12. Dora says:

    Hillary Speech Disrupted by Coughing Attack in Iowa

    • DeniseVB says:

      She should try some hot tea and honey before her speeches, this isn’t the first time it’s happened.

      • leslie says:

        I wonder what she was “on” during the 11 hour Benghazi hearing. She coughed once briefly, took a sip of water and continued. Just what did she do during that extended bathroom break?
        Asking for a friend.

  13. Dora says:

  14. Underwhelmed says:

    Just in time to smear Republicans and influence the federal election. Oh, I am so very very very surprised. Not.

    • lizzy says:

      Why is Nixon a smear on Republicans? He was forced out of office with the cooperation of the Republican Party. Obama is still lying and mocking in the Oval Office and Democrats are unwilling to confront his malfeasance, dereliction of duty and corruption.

      • Underwhelmed says:

        Because the message will be: See, you can’t elect a Republican, he’ll be be corrupt and do terrible things because that’s what Republican DNA is made of. Obama’s wonderful, nobody’s impeached him, he’s pure as the driven snow. You must elect a Democrat.

  15. Lildoggy4u says:

    PC Alrert:
    The front page of my paper today has a story about a gang of kids arrested for battery and theft. Ages 4-10. Accompanying the article, a pic of a blonde haired, blue eyed boy in handcuffs (not the perp, just photo for story).
    Kids are from an AA neighborhood and school well known for crime.

  16. Dora says:

    I just watched Donald Trump win the Iowa caucus: Inside the one rally that sealed the deal

    When Chuck Grassley spoke at a Trump rally, the calculus changed. There hasn’t been this much energy since Obama 08

    • lyn says:

      Oh, no, Trump gets the Obama comparison and Trump’s followers are a cult. LOL. Trump is not Obama: Obama was only the bench warmer. Good post.

  17. Myiq2xu says:

    I❤ Ace:

    Here's Why I Am So Absolutely Opposed to Marco Rubio

    The Establishment has a gameplan. The gameplan is to manage their voters and leave them with little choice but to accept the agenda they've set for us.

    Here is what they are hoping: "Sure, the base will squawk and make big noises and rant on the internet, and sure, Rush Limbaugh will hit us, but if we just remain absolutely implacable, unwilling to budge an inch, eventually they will get over their temper tantrum and accept that We Always Win So There's No Use Resisting."

    Now, obviously, amnesty is a major part of the Establishment's platform. In their 2012 post-mortem, the consultants, who are super-smart and know everything, made amnesty a central plank to winning in 2016.

    The same as they'd previously thought it was the key to winning in 2006, 2008, 2010, etc…

    Now, if we all squawk, and make noise, and have our tantrum, but then, in the end, dutifully support an Amensty Super-Hawk like Marco Rubio, precisely as the Establishment always planned for us to do, do you think they'll take that as a repudiation, and a sign that they must reform?

    Or do you think, rather, they'll take that as a sign that they calculated the political math perfectly, and they knew our numbers to three decimal places, and they did everything right, and have successfully Managed their stupid, three-toothed inbred voters yet again?

    Of course it's the latter.

    They could not possibly take the nomination of Marco Rubio any other way. They would take it as total and complete vindication — and they'd be right to do so, because it would in fact be total and complete vindication.

    That's why, for me, Rubio cannot be permitted to win. For me — you don't have to agree; we're all different, and we all have different priorities — the Establishment cannot be permitted to walk out of this with a big W.

    Even if I lose the election, an even worse outcome would be if I lose, and they win.

    Again, you don't have to agree. We're Americans, we're permitted to think differently from each other.

    But my priority is reforming the GOP into an institution which actually serves voters and not just the Chamber of Commerce and a dozen deep-pocketed, socially-liberal mega-donors, but a party that, when working class people tell them Disney is abusing the H-1B program to hire foreign workers and fire American ones, actually gives a shit, and does not just run over to Disney and ask for a campaign donation.

    So for me, it has to be Cruz, or Trump. I'd prefer Cruz, as I keep saying. I'll take Trump, though, because, while he's kind of stupid and temperamentally unsuited for the job, he would nevertheless also serve as a repudiation of the Establishment's Corporate Client "Conservatism."

    The GOP is nakedly now a "clientist" party the same as the Democrat Party. They just have different clients.

    And those clients aren't us.

    Some things the GOP does I don't mind, per se, but I object to the GOP making them a priority, while they give us Fake Votes and Failure Theater on our priorities. I'm sure the right to export oil crude is useful. I just don't think it's worth selling out every other agenda item to get.

    A long time ago, the Washington Post described conservative voters as "poor, uneducated, and easily led."

    I am beginning to fear they were right. If we once again snap our salutes and act like the hierarchy-loving drones the Washington Post had us pegged as — if we once again give in to the Boehner-McConnell Axis of K Street — then what the hell are we, except "uneducated and easily led?"

    We are Americans, damn it. We are supposed to be unruly. We are supposed to be rebellious.

    God did not make us to stand patiently in queues and politely clap for our leaders no matter how distant, corrupt, and dismissive.

    That's why he made Canadians.

    It is time to actually revolt. Not just talk about it — actually do it. Actually let them know that we do have our limits, and those limits were passed sometime in 2015.

    On the other hand — if this is all just squawking and we all just want to be Managed by the Ruling Class into doing what they've decided is Best for us — then by all means, vote for Marco Rubio.

    Just let them know that at the end of the day, all you want to do is bark a little. Then, having barked your little stupid puppy heart out, you'll roll over and show them your belly, yet again.

    Shall we permit them to manage and wrangle us, or will we finally take over the farm and start managing and wrangling them?

    Choose wisely. Nothing at all depends on it, except everything.

    This argument applies equally to GOPe squishes like Jeb and Christie.

  18. swanspirit says:

    Some people just do storms differently..

  19. Myiq2xu says:

  20. Myiq2xu says:

    This is NOT a spoof:

  21. Myiq2xu says:


  22. Myiq2xu says:

  23. Dora says:

  24. Dora says:

    This is a great ad! 🙂

Comments are closed.