The Conservative Intelligentsia Think You’re Stupid

This is what we look like to them

This is what we look like to them

That’s okay, they think I’m stupid too.

Dear GOP: Calling your own base a bunch of stupid hicks seems like a bad idea

Ben’s link dump this morning contained this feculent little bolus. A sample:

Lewis’ essential argument is that the current crisis is decades in the making, the unintended consequence of a series of understandable decisions made decades ago to help address the challenges the movement faced in the 1980s and 90s. The first was the decision to court Southern evangelicals. Lewis is himself a Southern (West Virginia) evangelical, so here he criticizes his own when he notes that evangelicals have long shied away from engagement with the less-devout world. This has meant they as a group tend to lack intellectual curiosity and rigor. Bringing a decidedly unintellectual group into the movement, Lewis contends, encouraged the movement itself to move away from its strength, its use of argument to explain America’s challenges and propose real solutions that solve them.

“Unintellectual”! May God save us all from the scourge of unintellectualism! It’s almost like these rubes don’t appreciate the unparalleled record of cultural and policy triumphs the GOP has accrued over the past two decades!

So…yeah. They really do think we’re stupid. Their Delphic prophecies and magisterial command of political philosophy flies right over our thick ape-like craniums. Their brilliance is wasted on us, and they would like nothing better than to trade us in for a smarter (or at least more pliable, and certainly less white and male) base. Alas, they need our votes for the foreseeable future, so they must bottle up their contempt as best they can and lie to us through fake smiles. But the bitterness and contempt is seeping through the facade, as it always does.

Calling your own base a bunch of stupid hicks is not good strategy (not to mention petty and rude) if you want them to vote for you or your preferred candidates. Mainly because the so-called “intellectuals” who have been driving GOP policy for the past two decades have done a spectacularly shitty job of it. If I’m forced to choose between the lumpenproles and the think-tank eggheads, I’ll throw my lot in with the peasants. They’re a lot smarter than the sneering elites give them credit for, and they don’t sit around all day inhaling their own ass-waft.

If the GOP brain-trust was arguing from a baseline of stellar success and policy wins, it’d be different. But the post-Reagan era has been an utter catastrophe in terms of actual conservative policy, and on all fronts: cultural, economic, foreign-policy, tax policy, you name it. The arrogance of these pissants is pretty rich, given their two-decade run of fecklessness and failure.

I don’t know about you, but I’m sick and tired of these so-called elites (SCE’s) looking down their noses at me and calling me stupid. That had a lot to do with why I left the Democrat party, and I’ll be damned if I’ll put up with it now that I’m an independent.

First and foremost it is undemocratic. It’s “We the People” not “We the Smart People”. It never fails that the first thing these SCE’s do when they get together is to try to manipulate the rest of us. When that fails (and it usually does) they try to get around us and impose their will by other means.

After failing to talk people out of supporting Donald Trump the “conservative intelligentsia” threw a collective fit and DEMANDED that we reject Trump. If (when) he wins anyway, they will either try to steal the nomination from him, run a third-party campaign against him and/or try to sabotage his campaign and allow Hillary to win.

These are the same people who decided that Sarah Palin was an ignorant rube and helped the left tear her down.

The SCE and the GOPe are not identical, but there is a lot of overlap.

Fuck them all and the elephant they rode in on.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

100 Responses to The Conservative Intelligentsia Think You’re Stupid

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    I will be really glad when this election is over. Unless Hillary wins.

  2. taw46 says:

    Yesterday, I unfollowed quite a few of these SCEs. For months they have insulted people, mainly those who want to vote for Trump. I am sick of it, 24/7 for months.

  3. Myiq2xu says:


    I have no idea what he is talking about. It wasn’t me. I may be a “troll” but I don’t do shit like that.

  4. nerdle says:

    This election is something else. I was completely invested in ’08 but all the shitshow that went down between the DNC, Obama, and Hillary left me drained.

    Now it’s 2016 and I have no one that I’m backing yet. I’m just enjoying watching this fight between junk yard dogs. Hillary is imploding. Trump is knocking over the GOPs lunch. Oh, it’s all delicious. I love it.

    • lyn says:

      I feel the same, but I like Trump. If Trump isn’t the nominee, I’ll vote third party or write-in Sarah Palin. I’ve had it with both parties and their quest to stay in power at all costs.

      • nerdle says:

        I may vote for Trump, too. I’m not too crazy about everything he says or does, but the necks of both parties need to be cut.

        Obama set a really low bar, and I don’t think Trump could be any worse.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I’ll stick to the R column, having a Bernie or Hillary win would be too much more awful Obama-like. I do have a good feeling it will be Trump all the way. That’s why Iowa will be a good omen if DJT can transfer that rally enthusiasm to actual voters turning out. Of course the nay-sayers are hoping nobody votes for PT Barnum, they just go to his shows because they’re fun😉

        It’s fun looking back at 2012 ….,_2012

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I don’t mind the candidates duking it out. It’s the follower-on-follower action that turns me off.

  5. Dora says:

    Good thread. Great rant. I think a lot of people are sick and tired of the elites. And the democrats. Republicans too, for that matter. All politicans!

    • Myiq2xu says:

      If I had joined the GOP when I left the Democrats, I would have just been trading one group of elites telling me what to do and think for another group of elites telling me what to do and think. Neither group is interested in listening to me tell them what I think and what I want.

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Mainly because the so-called “intellectuals” who have been driving GOP policy for the past two decades have done a spectacularly shitty job of it.

    Nailed it ! And the GOPe thinks we’re stupid ?

  7. Dora says:

    I don’t tweet, so I can’t vote, but I think he should be at the debate. It will sure make things interesting. 🙂

    Should I do the #GOPdebate?

    A video posted by Donald J. Trump (@realdonaldtrump) on

  8. Myiq2xu says:

  9. Myiq2xu says:

  10. Myiq2xu says:

    • 1539days says:

      You could say the same thing about unions, and it would make just as little sense. Trump just doesn’t want to list the kickbacks he got from Democrats.

  11. Myiq2xu says:


  12. Myiq2xu says:

  13. Dora says:

    Another endorsement!

  14. Myiq2xu says:

    • 1539days says:

      I have to admit, this part is funny as hell. The only person who can beat Trump in the next few weeks is Ted Cruz. Instead of supporting him, the GOPe is trying to kneecap Cruz. This means they will have to go to plan C when Trump wins NH and Iowa. Rubio and Bush are fighting each other like crazy, so who’s left?

      If you don’t like the GOPe, it looks like your vote should be for Cruz.

  15. Propertius says:

    First and foremost it is undemocratic. It’s “We the People” not “We the Smart People”.

    First of all, thank you for adopting Fowler’s convention (putting the period outside the quote when it’s not actually a part of the quoted text).

    Second, while I agree with you about the elitist BS in both legacy parties, I have to admit that this has been a problem since the founding of the Republic, John Adams, after all, objected to enfranchising people who didn’t own property because he thought only men of property responsible enough to have the vote:

    But let us first suppose, that the whole community of every age, rank, sex, and condition, has a right to vote. This community, is assembled—a motion is made and carried by a majority of one voice. The minority will not agree to this. Whence arises the right of the majority to govern, and the obligation of the minority to obey? from necessity, you will say, because there can be no other rule. But why exclude women? You will say, because their delicacy renders them unfit for practice and experience, in the great business of life, and the hardy enterprises of war, as well as the arduous cares of state. Besides, their attention is so much engaged with the necessary nurture of their children, that nature has made them fittest for domestic cares. And children have not judgment or will of their own. True. But will not these reasons apply to others? Is it not equally true, that men in general in every society, who are wholly destitute of property, are also too little acquainted with public affairs to form a right judgment, and too dependent upon other men to have a will of their own? If this is a fact, if you give to every man, who has no property, a vote, will you not make a fine encouraging provision for corruption by your fundamental law? Such is the frailty of the human heart, that very few men, who have no property, have any judgment of their own. They talk and vote as they are directed by some man of property, who has attached their minds to his interest…
    Depend upon it, sir, it is dangerous to open so fruitful a source of controversy and altercation, as would be opened by attempting to alter the qualifications of voters. There will be no end of it. New claims will arise. Women will demand a vote. Lads from 12 to 21 will think their rights not enough attended to, and every man, who has not a farthing, will demand an equal voice with any other in all acts of state. It tends to confound and destroy all distinctions, and prostrate all ranks, to one common level.

    Some things never change.

    • 1539days says:

      I tend to think of “the tyranny of factions” from the Federalist Papers.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I lean towards the responsible peeps, you know those who actually file income taxes every year v. the woe is me, gimme crowd. Somewhere along this thought line I figured out our government was rewarding failure and punishing success. Sad.

  16. Dora says:

    Why the heck is he so obsessed with New York?

    Brody File Video Exclusive: Cruz Tells Iowa Pastors, “New York Journalists” Will Not Decide This Race

  17. Underwhelmed says:

    You could not shout this loud enough from the highest tower in the land. Burn in hell, all you frigging self-appointed, self-anointed elitists. You are scum sucking corruptocrats and since you refuse to do your job, then you must be wiped off the political map forever. Or for long enough. Because all of this has happened before, and will happen again. But I’d love to see for myself these arrogant twats get their come uppance.

  18. Myiq2xu says:

    Here is one difference between me and John Cole:

    When I got to the supermarket a little while ago the parking lot was pretty full. Near the front was a car that was taking up two spaces. Seated inside were two black males in their 20’s. You could tell by the angle of the car they had come in the wrong way and hooked around to pull in.

    I stopped behind them and honked. They just sat there. Then another space opened up nearby so I pulled into it. When I got out of my car and walked into the store, as I passed their car I asked them “Did you guys really need two spaces?”

    They didn’t say anything. They just sat there looking surprised that an old fat white guy have the nerve to call them on their bullshit. When I came back out of the store they were gone.

    As you may remember, John Cole feels justified in screaming at an old white woman. I’d bet anything he wouldn’t dare say shit to those two guys today.

  19. Myiq2xu says:

  20. lurker says:

    From the old interview of DJT, I posted earlier. I guess the dem party left him too.

    But if the grass ever did look greener, which political party do you think you’d be more comfortable with?
    Well, if I ever ran for office, I’d do better as a Democrat than as a Republican-and that’s not because I’d be more Republican-and that’s not because I’d be more liberal, because I’m conservative. But the working guy would elect me. He likes me. When I walk down the street, those cabbies start yelling out their windows

  21. helenk3 says:

    Chris Christi really screwed up his response to the flooding in south NJ, He does not want to meet my youngest grand daughter, she would smack him across the head for being stupid. She was stuck at work for 2 days due to the flooding, her friend’s brand new truck was under water. And Christi’s comment “you want me to come down there with a mop”, went over like a lead balloon.

  22. DeniseVB says:

    For fans of the movie “The Blind Side”, this is fun…….go Panthers, no Broncos, no Panthers, nevermind, loved the movie anyhow!

    Fans of both the movie and athlete want a follow up movie, didn’t realize this is Michael’s second Super Bowl !

  23. leslie says:

    Just took a peek at twitter and saw this. Is there such a thing as conflict of interest? or is it only when the judge is involved in activities outside the court?

  24. mothy67, says:

    I had gone soft on common core math until today. The instructions are so warped. School of 444 students has for every 5 boys 7 girls how many boys. I had 2 girls in tears unable to comprehend the question. The instructions made it so confusing. I made up a dummy question and explained what I was doing. 32 years since I’ve had a math class but I still remember ratios. Instructions were so out there. Two straight A girl’s calling themselves stupid because it was not comprehensible. I said if you have 12 students. How many are boys. Took them a minute to divide 444 by 12 and multiply by 5. I look over all her homework everynight. This was a big jump. She is 9. Loves math but had never been taught about ratios. Common Core math in my opinion can be quite challenging in a good way but the frustration can be crippling to a young kept ringing all night . I would think you’d introduce ratios before a word problem. They were laughing about how easy it was once it clicked.

  25. DandyTIger says:

    It’s my life and I’ll do what I want. It’s my mind and I’ll think what I want…

  26. Dora says:

  27. mothy67, says:

    Damn it. Now I want to go to NH again.

  28. DeniseVB says:

    Early morning post put in the TCH barn, Happy Open Thread😀

  29. leslie says:

    I’ve been back and forth between here and home…I need to go to bed. See you all sometime tomorrow.

Comments are closed.