Open Thread !

I put this post in the barn last night not realizing how appropriate the Mickey Mouse Club does fit the overnight political news stories. Twitter’s on fire, here’s one of my favorites:

So, I’m gonna saddle my pony and head back over there. It’s going to be a great day for political junkies😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

176 Responses to Wednesday

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Trump’s first tweet of the day ….

  2. DeniseVB says:

  3. taw46 says:

  4. Dora says:

    He was great last night. Really fired up.

    January 26, 2016: GOP Presidential candidate Donald Trump held a campaign rally in Iowa City, IA and spoke to a fired up crowd of supporters at The University of Iowa Field House. Trump was interrupted several times by protesters, but they only seemed to give Mr. Trump more energy. Trump also invited members of the Iowa Hawkeyes football and wrestling teams to come on stage after they ‘endorsed’ him for President.

  5. DeniseVB says:

    Something a little different😉

  6. Dora says:

  7. Somebody says:

    Well hello there, now I realize why I was talking to myself in the last thread, duh!

  8. Dora says:

    • Somebody says:

      I don’t know about that Iowa is pretty conservative, lots of evangelicals. I think Cruz will most likely walk away with victory there. How important the media paints Iowa will depend on the results, LOL! The truth is Iowa traditionally hasn’t been a very good indicator of the eventual nominee.

      I will qualify the Iowa statement with this, if and this is a big, fat, giant, if, but if Trump wins decisively, it looks like he’s also ahead in the other early states. So if he were to pull that off then it would make stopping the Trump train almost impossible.

    • votermom says:

      I would like Cruz to win Iowa because that would probably make Rubio drop out.
      Then the race would be Trump – Cruz.
      Either way I am good with that.

    • leslie says:

      Was this posted so that (if) when Cruz wins Iowa w the evangelical votes, he’ll look stronger?

  9. Dora says:

    I am loving the reaction. 🙂

  10. DeniseVB says:

    • taw46 says:

      “In asking the question of “what’s wrong over there?” Trump has shined a spotlight on one of Washington’s best kept secrets: namely, Fox’s role via its founder Rupert Murdoch in pushing an open borders agenda. The Trump campaign is a direct threat to Murdoch’s efforts to open America’s borders. Well-concealed from virtually all reporting on Fox’s treatment of Trump is the fact that Murdoch is the co-chair of what is arguably one of the most powerful immigration lobbying firms in country, the Partnership for a New American Economy (PNAE).”

      • Somebody says:

        Makes sense, open borders helps the rich get richer and screws what is left of the middle class.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        The only reason that I have watched Fox at all the past eight years is they were the only network that wasn’t completely in the tank for Obama. But even then I mostly only watched things like election night returns and breaking stories like the Marathon bombing.

        • taw46 says:

          It is why I watched them, too. Went there after MSM piled on Hillary. But I haven’t watched them as much last several months.

        • mothy67, says:

          I live alone. Ok not really, its a garage/apartment but I need background noise even when I’m reading. Grew up in a large family. Used to be Fox now I play classical music that I know nothing about 24/7. I stopped watching after 1st debate.

          • Somebody says:

            I’m glad I’m not the only one Tim. I don’t have it on during the day, ever have but at night that is a different story.

            My previous house backed up to a busy road. The road wasn’t there when we bought it, but progress. A quarter mile down said busy road they built a fire station, this was in Jacksonville, FL not some small town. Sooooooo, it was always noisy at night and car lights and such. I found that turning on the TV sort of took my focus off the cars, fire trucks, etc. Because the TV was a constant instead of lulls and then the rush of cars or a fire engine.

            True confession, I started off listening to the Rush Limbaugh show when it was on TV. To this day the sound of Rush Limbaugh makes me drowsy. I’ve never been able to break the TV habit, so now I put my TV on FNC with a sleep timer and night, night. Bill O’Reilly in particular will put me right to sleep, LOL! I know those are two of the biggest gas bags known to man, but I don’t listen to the content. In fact the sound isn’t up very high at all, since I no longer drown out traffic. No I can barely hear the voices, I get more of a sing song, droning kind of effect. True story, my mom listens to Fox day and night. When I visit my mom I have to stay out of the family room, because if I sit down on her couch and hear FNC it’s lights out for me…..blush.

            I think I’ll switch channels to C-span or something the next couple of nights. When Rush went off the air years ago I went through a C-span phase, perhaps it’s time to return to C-span. I also had a infommercial phase, maybe I’ll switch to one of the Spanish language channels and hopefully pick up some Spanish in the process!

          • Somebody says:

            **never have, not “ever have”** Sheesh I need to learn to proof read

          • leslie says:

            Yes. TV is background for me as well. When I worked I was always around people and listening and responding. But when I went home, it was always too quiet since I, too, live by myself. I do the same thing – turn on FNC and set the sleep timer and climb into bed. Last night, after watching “Homeland”, I did not turn on the bedroom tv and had a heckuva time getting to sleep without it on in the background. One of my dtrs also turns on the tv at night so she can get to sleep.
            Classical music or tv news is on during the daytime hours when I’m home.

  11. votermom says:

    Read this in one sitting

  12. DeniseVB says:

    Ok, I’m all caught up now. This is a good summary of the events of the last 12 hours. Sundance is a rabid Trump fan, so of course it weighs heavily in DJT’s favor😉 After reading the twitter feeds, s/he sure predicted the anti-Trump responses.

  13. DeniseVB says:

    LOL, just saw a clip of Huckabee volunteering to take Trump’s podium at the debate😀

  14. Myiq2xu says:

    Mexican jails are not 5 star hotels.

  15. Dora says:

    Wow! This could be fun! 🙂

  16. Myiq2xu says:

    Maybe it’s just a coincidence but I haven’t seen anyone who is pro-Trump say skipping the debate is bad. and I haven’t seen any anti-Trumper say it was good.

  17. Dora says:

    This is what Cruz wanted, so let’s go! How entertaining would this be?🙂

  18. Myiq2xu says:

    If I bite my tongue any harder I’ll need stitches.

    • DandyTIger says:

      I’m loving the obvious similarity between Trump and Obama and how fans on both sides don’t.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Trump supporters aren’t behaving like a religious cult.


        • 49erDweet says:

          Well………….at least most of them aren’t.

          • Somebody says:

            I was going to say, some of them are acting like a cult. It’s not nearly as bad because the media isn’t part of the cult.

        • taw46 says:

          To me, Trump supporters are firmly in the pissed off camp. Just hoping he can do a fraction of what is promised.

          • Somebody says:

            I agree with you Taw a large number of Trump supporters are pissed off at the establishment of both parties. I’d have to say if Trump could deliver on just the immigration part of his promises he’d be a successful POTUS. The problem is, if he were to get elected I’d bet you the cooperation between the GOPe and Dems would make our heads spin. They would collaborate to block Trump at every turn, heck they might even figure out their powers and reign in the executive branch which both parties have continually ceded power to.

            Cue 49er choking over my mentioning that such a thing might be possible.

          • 49erDweet says:

            Be still my heart. 🙂

          • taw46 says:

            Yes, I agree. If he were to win, they would fight him on everything. They STILL would not give a damn about the people.

          • leslie says:

            This is what is going on in Illinois right this minute. The Ds in the state legislature are working hard to stop the R governor at every turn. It has almost completely disabled any care for the poor and disabled in our state. The poor are suffering – not because we have a R governor, but because we have authentic/verifiable a$$hole$ in our legislature. Just last Friday the Lutheran Social Service which provides all manor of needed services to families, individuals adults and children, closed 30 programs and terminated over 750 employees because there is no budget and no money is forthcoming from the state. (
            People I know want to blame Gov. Rauner alone even though they acknowledge the a$$hat-i-ness of the Dems that have run the legislature FOREVER. In fact, the reason the state is in such a dismal financial existence is because the Ds have passed program after program (to win the votes of the poor and disadvantaged thereby keeping these guys in office) year after year. Then they have increased taxes and cut services along with those taxes so that nothing really is funded except the paychecks of the state “leaders” and their pet projects.
            A few years ago, all state workers were mandated to take 5 days of furlough during the year to help balance the bottom line (except of course the legislators). Can you imagine just how many state workers Illinois must have to know that if everyone took off 5 days w/out pay, they could make up many, many millions of $ and help the state budget. Not long ago, I read that Illinois has the largest number of state workers moving to nearby states. Many keep their jobs, but take their incomes to neighboring states like Iowa, Indiana, Wisconsin. Why? Lower cost of living. So it makes sense that furloughing us made a dent.
            With nothing left to tax, the state has stopped reminding vehicle owners to renew licenses and state registration stickers so that we can be ticketed and fined when we haven’t renewed. I can’t imagine how much more they will get by not sending out those reminders. (They say they are saving money, but just how much $$ does it cost to send email reminders???)
            Last December Illinois had a decrease of 16,500 + jobs. So that is another 16K+ fewer incomes to tax and quite possibly another 16K individuals and families that will require services. But the state has no budget. The Democrats led by Michael Madigan and John Cullerton continue to stop any budget unless their interests are funded and their power continues, They should be jailed and fined until they lose all pension and other benefits. Then they should add another 50 years of time to their sentences. What a bunch of crooks. All this to promote just how bad the Republican governor is. I have the same anger toward them as I have toward POTUS – maybe more.
            Oh, and Blue Cross as well as Aetna Better Health have cut their programs and their benefits to policy holders so that medical and psychiatric services are limited as are the hospital and clinics they will cover. If I were younger and did not have such ties to this area, I’d leave, too.

          • 49erDweet says:

            Interesting. Just received a quarter mil (gulp) statement for my December aortic valve installation. No, I don’t owe that, but comment was made its a good thing I’m a CA retiree, not an IL. Now I understand.

          • cynic says:

            Leslie, you did a great job explaining what’s going on in IL. People on f/b like to put the blame on the Rep. Gov. Rauner. They are so blind to the fact that Madigan/Cullerton have been there for years, and helped to create the mess. Madigan’s #2 guy was my Rep. He was there since’91, and got the job because his dad died in office, and he took over.

            He almost lost his last election, and there was an actual recount. What did the Dems do? They appointed him the Auditor General (10-yr. job) and appointed a new, fresh candidate, who happens to be a popular businessman. I don’t see Madigan going away any time soon.

  19. Myiq2xu says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      I wonder if Fox will throw Megyn under the bus to bring Trump back ? I hope not, and if they do, I hope DJT still boycotts because the possibility of ambushing him will still be there.

      • taw46 says:

        I hope the boycott stays for the same reason. But, I don’t know. FOX may lose advertising revenue if Trump is missing, so Rupert may give in, who knows.

      • foxyladi14 says:

        There have been traps and Gotchas from the beginning,
        I have not watched fox since that first debate And will never ever!! watch them again,That was a very dirty deal they tried to pull on Trump.👿

  20. taw46 says:

  21. Myiq2xu says:

  22. taw46 says:

  23. taw46 says:

    She’s just pissed that they are having to scramble to come up with new questions for the debate 😉.

  24. taw46 says:

    • lyn says:

      “Hamzeh, 23, has been charged with possessing a machine gun and a silencer. Despite indications of an attempted act of terrorism, Hamzeh is not charged with any terrorism counts.”

      • Somebody says:

        Why would he be?? I’m sure he’s just misunderstood, needs a job, is the victim of islamaphobia, nothing to see move along. Oh and let’s open our doors to hundreds of thousands more, what could possibly go wrong.

    • Somebody says:

      Damn those amish tea party members are violent!

  25. swanspirit says:

    If you think the Vile Prog overlords might have any compassion for their fellow Americans, you can forget that right now. They think if you protest and get shot by a cop,and are white, you are roadkill. And this is why Vile Progs are puke worthy , and just one of the reasons John Cole and his blog / friends are deeply disturbing, and repugnant. Roadkill.

  26. Myiq2xu says:

    • Myiq2xu says:

    • Ann says:

      That article…. O.o

      They are showing up in droves to see Donald Trump: Men and women, overwhelmingly white, frustrated with the country’s first black president, fearful that they are being displaced by minorities and immigrants, and nostalgic for the way America used to be.

      There are no words…

  27. taw46 says:

  28. Dora says:

    New Iowa Poll.

  29. taw46 says:

    • taw46 says:

      Lol, I don’t know if any of the behind the scenes stuff is true, but it sure is fun!

      “In a further challenge to Ailes’s power, Bill O’Reilly is scheduled to host Trump. Last night, Ailes directed Sean Hannity to cancel Trump’s interview. O’Reilly’s refusal to abide by a ban adds a new dynamic to the clash of egos. For O’Reilly, this is an opportunity to take back star power from Kelly. Sources say O’Reilly feels he made Kelly’s career by promoting her on his show, and he’s been furious that Kelly surpassed him in the ratings”

  30. mothy67, says:

    I officially dub myself The Greatest Gay Great Uncle in the history of the planet. Baby girl was upset and sad. There is a lot of drama with 9 year olds. Girls are tough. She was sad but she is far more mature than me. I was on my birthday binge so I did what every great gay uncle does drunken on his 49th birthday. I wrote in marker vertically on paper towels I Love You , I Believe in You, You Smell and taped them floor to ceiling. I have less than a year to grow up. I is gonna spend 49 :having some fun. 50 is the new 18.

  31. Underwhelmed says:

    Popcorn, popcorn, get your popcorn here!

  32. Dora says:

    • taw46 says:

      Dora, I don’t know if that is true. I saw that earlier this morning, but no one could provide a source.

      • mothy67, says:

        Once upon a time in a land known as 2008 I had misgivings about boycotts.
        Now I am more than open to the right using it$ tremendous buying power. They do not listen to our votes. Perhaps they will listen to the dollar. Jada Smith who has never given a performance of note turned the Oscars upside down. I think its time to flex real muscle. Did you know TPP bans use of made in the USA?

      • Dora says:

        Thanks. If it’s not true it means that I got fooled again. Sorry.

  33. lyn says:

    How things are done in redneckville.

  34. mothy67, says:

    I am in awe of how vacuous the RNC is. I got an email to sign paul ryan’s birthday card. Have they no idea he is abhored?

  35. DeniseVB says:

    There are people in those apts who won’t evacuate. (Pacifica, CA)

  36. 49erDweet says:

    I’m really surprised so many people still actually watch any kind of network “news”. It’s so filtered and slanted that it’s reliability factor is about minus 2.

  37. Dora says:

    Limbaugh scorches Fox News in debate dispute with Trump

    Rush: Network ‘acting as if they had been jilted at the altar’

  38. cynic says:

    I was listening to Rush today, and he explained how the Party/Media works. Donald is not playing by the rules, and he isn’t the Establishments candidate. After listening, it made me hope that Trump gets the nomination all the more, but I really fear for his safety.

    I saw this question posed, and now, the answer is more obvious than ever: Why Didn’t National Review Run An Issue Attacking Mitt Romney and John McCain for Not Being Real Conservatives?

  39. foxyladi14 says:

    Trump is treating Fox like ISIS.
    bombing them and taking their oil err. ratings. 😀

  40. Dora says:

    As Fox / Trump War Rages On, Rupert Murdoch Eggs Bloomberg to Join the Fray
    by Ken Meyer | 1:16 pm, January 27th, 2016 21

    • mothy67, says:

      Please do little man. He is repulsive. He hired everyone in NY to prevent his opponents from having a chance. He is gross. Soda bans. No salt on tables.

  41. cynic says:

    Klown, your opossum is now under my bird feeder. yuck. Doesn’t it know it’s a nocturnal critter?

  42. swanspirit says:

  43. DeniseVB says:

    Oh this is going to poke Spike Lee’s diversity whining. A white actor was just cast to play Michael Jackson in an upcoming “comedy”. To be fair, wasn’t MJ mostly white by the time he died ?

  44. DeniseVB says:

    No wonder Trump is pissed. More information on those “guest” debate questioners …..

  45. DeniseVB says:

    LOL, more bad news for Fox. Vote and retweet !!!

  46. taw46 says:

    Trump is still scheduled for O’Reilly show tonight. I saw some of The Five today, of course, they said this was all about Megyn. No mention of the FOX press releases.

  47. Somebody says:

    When the clips become available I hope someone posts the O’Reilly interview with Trump from tonight. Trump was scheduled a week ago and honored that. O’Reilly promised an interview about the issues, promised Trump he wouldn’t ask him to reconsider debate. Of course the debate was all O’Reilly asked about.

Comments are closed.