Superbowl Sunday, It’s Mah Birthday! (Open Thread)

The Superbowl is 50 and I’m now officially 45. A quarterback just slightly younger than me is hoping to end his career on a high, while an up-and-comer half my age is hoping to take him out. Should be storybook either way.

I think it’s going to be a bloodbath, personally, but I hold out hope that the good guys will win. Mostly there’s a collective national sigh of relief that the Pats aren’t in it this year (with apologies to PMM).

Beyonce is apparently taking the halftime lead with a muddled moaner about her mother’s Quadroon pedigree and police brutality. In the video above she parades in plenty of lingerie and drowns a police car. (h/t DeniseVB) Who knows what’s going to happen on the FB field with her show….

Note that this is the year they stopped using Roman numerals and started using regular numbers. I guess that’s how dumbed down America truly is now….

So, who’s your team? This is an open thread….

About Lola-in-a-Basket

Bitch, please.
This entry was posted in Drone Wars and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

98 Responses to Superbowl Sunday, It’s Mah Birthday! (Open Thread)

  1. I’ma step aside for a minute and get the chili started. Hubby got me roses. It’s the least I can do….


  2. 49erDweet says:

    Happy b’day, L@L. I think the Panthers D is gonna make it a long day for that poor old man-ning. But I could be wrong, so that’s why they play the game.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    Gee Lola, the whole country will be celebrating your birthday today😀 Have a happy one !

  4. DeniseVB says:

    Beyonce’s last Super Bowl appearance….

  5. elliesmom says:

    Happy Birthday, Lola!

  6. DandyTIger says:

    Happy Bday! I’m going for Denver this time. Neither is my team, but I’m liking them better for several reasons. Hope it will be fun. Pizza, beer, and snacks are on the menu.

  7. leslie says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY Lola!!! ❤
    Hope the game is not a bloodbath, that the good guys win, your chili is delicious and this is your best birthday so far. Enjoy it all.

  8. votermom says:

    Happy Birthday!!!!

  9. DeniseVB says:

    Things older than Lola …. Super Bowl III with Broadway Joe (hubba, hubba, amirite ladies?)

  10. DandyTIger says:

    Best Super Bowl ad ever.

  11. DeniseVB says:

    dd and her munchkins on ice🙂

  12. taw46 says:

    🎶 Happy Birthday, Lola! 🎶

    I’m not into football, but I watch for the good friends, good food, and good commercials. I have lots of family in the Carolinas, so guess I will pull for the Panthers.

  13. Dora says:

    Hey everybody – I absolutely can’t stand football. Just hearing about it bores me and watching it even for a few minutes makes my eyes glaze over. But I know this game is a big one for fans, so I want to tell you all to enjoy your night. Have a few adult beverages and cheer raucously. If you made any bets, I hope you win. I’ll find out in the morning who won. Tonight I’ll be watching a movie, if I can find one.🙂

    • Somebody says:

      Dora, sorry you don’t like football. Since I know you like politics or at least have an interest in it might I suggest “Our brand is crisis” with Sandra Bullock and Billy Bob Thorton. It just came our on DVD I believe.

      • Dora says:

        Hubby has a crush on Sandra Bullock, so I know he will want to see that one. I’m not too crazy about Billy Bob though, so I’ll have to give it some consideration. 🙂 Thanks.

        • Somebody says:

          Billy Bob plays a good James Carville, just saying. The movie is good except the very end where they deviated from reality and went full on bleeding heart. Once the election in the movie is over and they leave the hotel, stop watching the last 5-10 minutes should have been on the cutting room floor.
          Don’t let the ending part deter you from an otherwise entertaining movie. I honestly think you would enjoy it.

        • 1539days says:

          Billy Bob was good enough for Angelina Jolie.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I can’t stand it more every year when sports celebrities collide with my gossip rags, or my politics newsies collide with Sports Center. Millionaires whining. Thanks Obama😉

  14. Thanks to everyone for the birthday wishes. It’s been a good one so far. Just a lazy day around the house with the hubby doing my traditional house-cleaning and weekly cooking. About to make some cocktails when this game starts!

  15. driguana says:

    Happy Birthday, Lola. Have a wonderful day!

  16. piper says:

    Happy Birthday Lola and keep writing your awesome threads.

  17. helenk3 says:


    It is also my oldest grand daughter’s birthday. She turned 35 today. She is older than me( since I am only 21 and look like LInda Darnell) but she she looks damn good

  18. DandyTIger says:

    Pre game stuff was cool. My hero Fred “fingers” Biletnikoff was amongst the group honored. So cool. The Jerry Rice of his time. He could catch anything.

  19. 49erDweet says:

    Let the record show it’s almost sunset and they STILL haven’t started.

  20. mothy67, says:


    You will be happy to know I have abolished the entire aging process. I was forced into it. I chatted on the phone last night for hours drinking copiously the whole time. If you’ve never done it I highly recommend. So much fun. I have one friend that is very sick. Rather then offer cliches we all got on the phone and acted like complete idiots. I have not enjoyed myself so much in decades. Just laughter. I was called and called others an idiot or asshole hundreds of times. You really cannot pull shit on people you lived with from 19 to 26 especially if everyone is an asshole. You get called on shit. We laughed about hiding empty wine bottles in the neighbors recycling bin. Everbody does it. My one friend has the c word and chemo has left her near heaven’s door. Instead of being all serious we just got stupid drunk. What else to do. A drunken evening with friends beats pity glances. I am going to make an effort to not rely on facebook to cherish my friends. Its so easy to just post something bland on special days. Friends are the best. I never got into that competition thing. I am far too self centered and lazy to ever care about such noise. I am way to self absorbed to foster envy. I was so fortunate to spend my youth with some of the worst people on the planet. Not Jeffrey Dahmer evil but we did all laugh about the woman that shared a meatloaf sandwhich him. I forget the year something around 1988. We had all been in Center City waiting on a train and there was a newspaper with Jeffrey Dahmer. Obviously cannibalism is not funny but it was at the moment. My friends and I were very much like IT’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia. . Just pure and simple idiots. My one friend is winning all kinds of film awards. I stopped her suicides all the time. It became a regular thing. I have unplugged exhaust and forced my fingers down her throat. My response to her was always you are boring. True story she was going to Temple London. Her mom shut off all her funds the night before. She went suicidal. I am nothing if not blunt. I said you want to die go ahead do it or fucking live or die. I am bored. Her dad had covered her education. Airfare was the only issue. I said do it go to London live it up if you want to die then go ahead. Last minute we raced to the airport. Wrong airport we went to the county airport. We raced to Philadelphia International missed her flight had to go with a different airline. She went to London met a boy moved to Sydney. The plane she would have been on for return flight went down over Lockerbie Scotland. She boinked Dog the Bounty Hunters son. She frigging wins awards at Sundance. I can call her anyname I like. I will gratitously call her a bitch and I have dropped the c bomb. Who is Hillary Clinton or Lena Dunham to tell me what I think of women. Fuck off. Lena Dunham offends me. She proposes to speak for women. Gag ugly whore. I shoved my fingers down a girls throat to keep her alive. Not gonna play Lena Dunhams men are bad game.i think she is evil and ugly.

  21. DeniseVB says:

    GaGa nailed it🙂

  22. DeniseVB says:

    Super Bowl isnt’ complete without the WH tweet….be sure to read the comments😉

  23. leslie says:

    So far the halftime show has been fun. I survived Bey nicely. They are doing the review of previous halftime shows.i liked it. It was surprising. 😀

  24. 49erDweet says:

    Heard that POTUS was angry with NorKorea for their space shot. THAT must keep Kimmie awake for 2 – 3 seconds at night.

  25. leslie says:

    Enough for today. Downton Abbey starts now.
    Everyone enjoy the rest of the game!

  26. 1539days says:

    I just found out there’s a new Legends of Tomorrow airing 4 days early after the SuperBowl. Could someone give me a 10 minute warning?

  27. So Obama wrote down the team he thought was going to win for Gwen whatserface. I so fucking hope he wrote down Carolina. I thought he did at the time. It has been just awesome watching Denver smear Cam’s face in it here these last couple minutes. Choke, bitch.

    • SHV says:

      Wife and MIL are yelling and crying with Broncos win and Cam getting beat to shit!!!

      • After watching his cheesin’ and dabbin’ all season, it was extremely gratifying! I’m not a Broncos fan, and I hate that Peyton Manning hagiography because he’s such a mediocre player. I was definitely ABCN this year, because I hate that arrogant piece of shit. He just got put down by Denver’s defense. Those guys are AMAZING.

        • SHV says:

          “After watching his cheesin’ and dabbin’ all season,”
          I don’t know why the NFL is pushing drug usage, allowing all of the “Dabbing”.
          Urban Dictionary:
          ” To press a piece of cannabis extract known as Butane Hash Oil against a heated surface of an oil rig pipe and inhale the smoke. These extracts have up to 90% THC levels. It is the newest growing trend for cannabis connoisseurs and Colorado currently has the largest following to date.
          Hey man, I got some dabs. Can I borrow your torch?
          He’s dabbing some BHO. ”

          The bet arm in front of the face is mimicking the reflex cough from inhaling BHO vapor.

          NFL supports drug use!!

  28. 1539days says:

    How long is this post-game show?

  29. westcoaster says:

    OT: Here’s from last night’s SNL showing Jon Rudnitsky pantomiming Dirty Dancing:

  30. DeniseVB says:

    Classy🙂 And g’night all !

    • SHV says:

      Cam’s post-game interview wasn’t classy….sulking and petulant..low class

      • leslie says:

        He probably read social media where he was taken to task for his lame ass play and lack of commitment to today’s game. I switched back to the game after Downton Abbey and there was about 10 minutes to go. I saw Newton pull away from trying to recover his own fumble. Sure he might have gotten bruised, but he would have looked like this game mattered to him. And he would have the entire off season to baby his wounds. Not a leader unless things are going his way. I guess they don’t pay him enough.

  31. Ted Cruz is nuts. Sexist and nuts. No two ways about this one.

    PETERBOROUGH, N.H.—Ted Cruz on Sunday said he opposes requiring women to register for a potential draft, breaking with Marco Rubio, Jeb Bush and Chris Christie, all of whom indicated support for opening up the Selective Service to women during Saturday night’s debate.

    “I have to admit, as I was sitting there listening to that conversation, my reaction was, ‘Are you guys nuts?’” Cruz said Sunday, speaking at a town hall here. “Listen, we have had enough with political correctness, especially in the military. Political correctness is dangerous. And the idea that we would draft our daughters to forcibly bring them into the military and put them in close combat, I think is wrong, it is immoral, and if I am president, we ain’t doing it.”

  32. mothy67, says:

    What if state run colleges offered different tuition based on majors. The taxpayers fund the schools so I see no reason why something can’t be expected. A nurse or a teacher a paramedic are all needed. The community sees a benefit. Not saying deny a student the chance to study what they want. Your choice but realize it comes with debt. I am still stunned by that woman during OWS era going on about her debt for a degree in sociology from NYU. NYC has CUNY.
    The big problem is the student loans the more money available the more schools will charge. Public Universities need to get out the real estate business. Dorm life can exceed tuition. My nephew went to California University of PA. His room was a suite. 6 thousand a semester. My brother paid cash. Almost 50 grand for 4 years. 5 boys in his suite that is 30 thousand a semester. I was like I’ll be him a house. Flip it ehen he graduates. The rents are obscene. Artificially inflated by the easy cash of a student loan. The maintenance, support staff must commute a huge distance because nothing is touchable. Instead of throwing the baby out with the bath water as Sander’s espouses why not tackle the insane cost of housing. Sander’s has a point about education costs. They are through the roof. Public schools have an obligation to the taxpayer. Not a for profit business. They should not be robbing children by having them go deeply in debt to have housing. My dream is for the brat to go to Purdue. Not Harvard, Yale or CMU. I want the basics. CMU is a great school. Rugrat is part of a program CMU is doing. She gets on my last nerve but I think due to six years of ballet she is very focused. She is head engineer on a project. This was not a kiddie excercise. She interviewed twice. My SIL is head of HR for a very big pharma company so they had mock interviews. She was one of few girls that got the job. It is a job. She has binders and flow charts. I assume it is some sort of pilot program. It’s Hummingbird Robotics. Not cheap and not feel good stuff. The kids doing it earned their place. She needs to go to CMU and meet with some folks because I think they were impressed she was such a pro.
    I love her so much. She came home with her glasses broken and told me she did it. A few hours later phone rang. Boys mother calling to say she would replace the glasses. Her son had broken them. School is so small. We all know each other and have since pre school. He has autism but has been mainstreamed. I was so against it at first. He was all over the place, but as the years went by I stopped seeing autism and instead just another kid with a huge personality. He is very sensitive. He just acts out. Five years in the same class. She was willing to take blame for her 300 dollar glasses. I knew she was lying when she told me. I am oft mystified by how I can read her. I am not her real parent but I held that little thing through so much. Years. I guess that is what parents do. I can see a cold coming on the day before she sneezes and I always see a lie. Granted she is a dreadful liar. Her jaw gets tight but I can also tell the difference between a good lie and a bad lie. I was so proud. She would lie and say she broke her glasses before she got Conner in trouble. I knew she was untruthful so I had a blast yelling glasses don’t grow on trees missy. I even said we may not eat next month because I have to buy glasses. She knows I am over the top and just laughs me off. I threaten her with beatings all the time. I inspire no fear not even a flinch instead I get can I buy this app. I swear apps are some form of god’s punishment. I hear can I buy this app that app I am like shut up and brush your teeth. I go to war over oral hygiene. How hard is it to brush your damned teeth. She fights me all the time. Like Crest is arsenic. I was eating smoke house almonds. Which are better than sex when my molar fell apart in my mouth. It completely collapsed. So gross. So much pain. So much money. I had to have an oral surgeon remove it. I am not yelling brush your teeth because I am an ogre. I know how much it can hurt.

    I did look through my SIL’s laptop to see if I could find anything on River Daughter. She is a pharma person my SIL is HR for a huge pharma company. I would give her a good reference. I think she is interesting. I don’t think she has ever applied. I skirted the law by avoiding actual employee records but looked at all applications filed online.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      They should not give out student loans for crap majors. If you want a degree in 15th Century biracial lesbian studies that’s your business, but pay your own way upfront with cash. Save the student loans for people who want real jobs.

      • mothy67, says:

        My point exactly. When Bewitched was on the air you could study whatever and get a job. Times have changed a useless degree is that useless.

  33. Dora says:

    I hope you all enjoyed the game last night. Thanks for the opinions on what movie to watch, but we got out an old movie that Hubby recorded some time ago and was on our waiting list. It’s called “The Four Feathers” and starred Beau Bridges and Jane Seymour. I found it very entertaining. Hubby did also, which surprised me a bit. It seemed like more of a woman’s movie, if you know what I mean.

    The next time I’m in the library I will look through their DVD collection for ‘Our Brand”. Since it looks like I will be snowed in again for the next several days, I am going to need some more entertainment. Drats!

    • mothy67, says:

      I was clearing out really old stuff and I found a VCR with The Thornbirds inside. I loved that mini series. Rachel Ward never hit stardom in the US. Perhaps because she was Maggie Cleary. If I were to ever completely lose what is left of my mind and decide to opt for a new gender. I would only wear dresses that were ashes of rose. That line has stuck with me for over thirty years. Ashes of rose.

      • Dora says:

        I loved The Thornbirds. Richard Chamberlain was great in that role. Now I feel like watching it all again. 🙂

        • mothy67, says:

          I was a kid and my mom was a member of the Doubleday Book Club. You had to send back an envelope if you did not want the book of the month. My mom of course forgot so The Thornbirds arrived. First adult book I ever read. Did it one night. Of course I loved the mini series as it brought to life Australia. I can’t analyze it because I was influenced by it when I was so young. I don’t even want to deconstruct it. I have such fond memories of those pages coming to life. It was so exotic. Drogheda. Poor Stuey going and dying. The casting was dead on. Barbara Stanwyk was evil incarnate. Rachel Ward is still married to Bryan Brown(Luke O’Neill).

Comments are closed.