Why I Don’t Watch Debates


How many undecided voters in New Hampshire watched the debate last night? How many of the people who watched the debate last night already knew who they were going to vote for?

How many minds were changed last night?

I used to watch this stuff religiously. Then I lost my religion. Debates and other political events are performances. They are all about perception, opinion, and spin. Unlike the football game we will be watching today, there are no rules setting forth how debates are won or lost. There is no official score. There is lots of instant replay however.

The conventional wisdom/media narrative is that Marco Rubio lost the debate last night. But the reality is that he is no more or less qualified to be POTUS than he was yesterday.

On Tuesday there will be some votes cast. A relatively minuscule number of votes in an otherwise inconsequential state. The bloviating gasbags will tell us what it all means. Then the media’s attention will shift to South Carolina and Nevada for a couple weeks.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

132 Responses to Why I Don’t Watch Debates

  1. westcoaster says:

    SNL was actually funny tonight…I’m voting for Larry David.

  2. Dora says:

    I thought it was the best debate so far. I loved the zinger that Trump threw out to Cruz at the end (didn’t everybody), but I’m glad to see that the Conservative Treehouse gave special mention to the candidates’ entrance on to the stage. I agree that this was the classiest moment.

    The Classiest Debate Moment That No-One Noticed – Never Leave A Good Man Down…

    Few people will talk about this, and fewer will even want to acknowledge it, but what Donald Trump did before the debate even began shows the measure of a real man’s worth.


    • Somebody says:

      Actually I didn’t like the zinger Trump threw out at the end Dora. I just didn’t think it was necessary. I told my husband right then I thought it was a mistake, he had a good night and he should have ended on a positive note. He should have looked into the camera and tried to “close the deal” with the voters.

      All in all I thought Trump had a pretty good night last night. I’ve not always been of that opinion even though so many have insisted he’s won all the debates. To me, quite often he’s been like a fish out of water at the debates, so too has Ben Carson. I suppose it’s because they aren’t career politicians so they don’t have their talking points down, like say Marco does……hahaha. Anyway I thought he had a pretty good night and that the jab at the end was unnecessary.

    • mothy67, says:

      Conservative Treehouse scares me. He yells at people if they go off topic or post something without a link. I also am very uncomfortable with posting of the Lord’s Prayer. I grew up very Catholic went to Catholic school I was an alter boy but it was personal. Cruz completely lost me when he went holy roller. I found it personally offensive almost mocking. I am infused with my religious upbringing and things like the Lord’s Prayer are sacred to me. I am gay and that has never been easy for me. I totally understand a young kid being fine with an orientation but I have to be allowed my own experience. Many times I have fallen to me knees and begged for guidance. Perhaps I was just talking to myself. I wont know til I kick the bucket but the concept of god is life sustaining. I grew up on it but my best friend never had it. We see a lot of things differently but we could not be friends for 30 plus years if we were too different. One day in 1980 something I was drunk at 2 am. I walked out of the WaWa on Locust Street in Philly to gunfire. Being an asshole I ran towards it. I found a woman who had been shot in the head. I was a kid knew nothing but TV. I placed one hand on the whole in her throat and the other on her cheek where the bullet exited. Two am I was holding a woman on the street that had been shot in the head. Police arrived and they picked us up took us to Hahnamann hospital. I rode with her in the back of a Paddy wagon. We knew not what her injuries were and I had my hands on her wounds. I remember it all like I was under water. Hours later I walked into my roommates bedroom covered in blood and said I cannot sleep alone right now. I need you. I had been strong for hours with a bleeding woman but I was so tired and I felt my head was being crushed. I went to my friendstripped down and went to sleep. So funny she was my atheist friend named Christina. I believed in her. I was so abysmally sad. I do not recommend playing gunshot triage. Not fun. Anyhow I needed herso much freak show did not bat an eye. I was covered in blood I said I need you. I strive to feel the beauty of life asking a friend for help at anytime is a validation of the sublime. MaryAnn lived. Bullet when in her neck and out through her cheekbone. She lost part of her tongue and face bone. She is alive. A grandmother. I feel weird talking to her. She gets on this whole you saved my life bullshit. I did nothing but stop her from bleeding to death. Who doesn’t apply pressure to bullet holes when they find random women.
      My point was faith. I believed in my friend. I didn’t exercise my friendship until 7 am but I never could have been there if not for my asshole friends. She kept trying to talk through her blood oozing mouth. I can’t die. I have three children. Over and over blood pouring out. I am the last person you want when bleeding to death. Lighten up she lived.

    • lyn says:

      What was the zinger?

    • foxyladi14 says:

      Awesome display of men’s characters. 😀

  3. mothy67, says:

    If you have never done it I highly recommend conference call reunions. Somehow facebook got in the way. I always know what’s going on with my college friends but somewhere along the way we just stopped talking. We all got drunk on the phone. So frigging amazing to deal with assholes. I constantly have to be polite. I honestly feel so bored with most of the people I know. Nice people that lead nice lives. A fourth glass of wine is a walk on the wild side. One mother from school gets so upset if someone says fuck. Seriously how do you navigate life if four letters upset you. Getting drunk on a conference call was so fun. I sometimes yell baby girls name at the top of my lungs. It’s not punitive little miss sunshine never days anything wrong. I just yell it to let her know I’m thinking about her. One woman was mortified. I have never raised my voice to her. Sure I yell her name like a mad person but the extent of my discipline is taking away her kindle and leavingvher with just a phone and a laptop. I’m cruel.

  4. Dora says:

    “‘Astonishing’: CNN rips into Ted Cruz for ‘categorically false’ characterization of Iowa controversy”


  5. Dora says:

  6. Somebody says:

    Klown, I understand your sentiment about debates and generally speaking they don’t mean anything. However every now and then something happens that changes the dynamic and we may well have had one of those moments last night with the Christie/Rubio exchange.

    Throughout the years all the debates fade away, but a few specific events we remember. “There you go again”, from Reagan, George H.W. Bush looking at his watch, Al Gore’s noises and approaching W, Lazio approaching Hillary. There are others, but you get my point.

    Last night Chris Christie skewered Marco Rubio and laid him bare for the world to see he has no substance. That very well could have changed some minds, we may have seen the end of marcomentum.

    Apparently there is a name for what happened last night…..marcolepsy.

    • Somebody says:

      Need more coffee…..another memorable debate moment….. the Candy Crowley thing in 2012. These are sentinel moments that do change the trajectory of elections.

      • mothy67, says:

        Can they still? 2008 2012 the main stream media held some power. Not so much any more. Audiances were abused.. i have a sister that is abused. Her story is text book. Media has been abusing viewers for years. If you are a rat prick bastard and want to own a woman you start off with subtle abuse. You get a little power then you increase it.YOu destroy self image and create a victim. Never will I let my baby be abused in that manner. My sister did it, the sureas fuck are doing it in Cologne. The media does it all the time it is nothing but propoganda and insults to any one that disagrees. Media is an abusive lover.

        Hate Trump all you want but for too long it was Fox or MSNBC they were both abusive. They owned. No more no matter what happens Meygyn Kelley has no integrity. She might get great ratings but she Has zero worth. There iis this new thing they discovered called aging. Seems to happen to everyone. I used to like Kelley but now I see her as garbage. She was sacrificial lamb to go after Donald.I obnoxious lets have the pretty girl do the dirty work

      • Somebody says:

        Slowly these are coming to me…..Rick Perry’s forgetful moment.

        Kind of funny it took me so long to remember that one, LMAO!

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Once upon a time you had to sit thru debates live to see those gems. Now thanks to the internet I can watch them anytime I want without having to waste hours on blah blah blather.

      • Somebody says:

        Yes Tim they still can. However Klown has a point that you don’t have to sit and watch them live. I still say that moment with Christie – Rubio will live on, whether someone watched it live or their friends are sharing clips with them, or maybe just talking about it.

        Time will tell how much impact it has, but I think we’ll see that in fact the debates can still have an impact. Precisely because you never know when one of “those moments” will happen.

        • mothy67, says:

          That is my point. I will not suffer thtough another bogus debate. Should you or someone else that I respect post a clip I’ll watch but I am never giving up three hours of myvlife to watch dumb assed media clowns attempting to define the landscape.

        • mothy67, says:

          I will not be controlled nor have I ever. Illegal immigration has profound effects some tool on tv is not going to shame me into denying reality. I do not want to be the progressive cool kid. I think progressives are dumb. In my exoerience they seem to think nice thoughts change the world. Nope. I have two friends that went to Smith. They are straight men hating lesbians that love Islam. Everything is straight white men are evil. Sadly that is now college.
          I love straight white men. My dad was one so were my grandfathers. My four brothers as well. We now have this culture that is denying its own history or at best belittling it. So gross. I can choose to look back on my life and remember my coat of many colors my momma made for me. Whoops that was Dolly not me but I can feel sad and surrender to a not perfect youth or I can move on. Harping on pain gets you no where. You wallow. I constantly play Poor Poor Pitiful Me to my baby. You are only poor if you choose to be(Dolly). My kid was bereft. I suppose I could have raised her as a victim. I love hervtoo much. Maybe it sucks that she has no real parents. Playing pity party would have gotten her no where. Instead she has a great gay uncle that encourages her. I tell her all the time I believe in you.
          I have no stomach for the Democratic Party. They want victims and to blame everything on someone else. The last thing I would ever want is for her to be dependent. The dims whole concept with planned parenthood is that women need government to take care of them.

          • Somebody says:

            True story, I had a coat of many colors. No I didn’t grow up poor, in fact my mother was appalled when I came home from Grandma’s with it. My mother cringed any time I wore it and yes I was teased some, but it was the early 70’s and style was funky anyway, plus I had a great story to go with it and Dolly’s song helped too. I think my mom probably burned it when I outgrew it.

            It was actually more of a jacket of many colors. My grandmother made it for me, from scraps she saved from various outfits I had, as well as from maternity outfits my mom wore and my father’s fatigues from when I was born.

            I also have a quilt of many colors that has all of those scraps and scraps from the rest of my childhood, my early years of marriage and my first two children, also lovingly made by my grandmother. My siblings all have similar quilts, but they’ve since tossed them as they didn’t hold meaning to them I suppose. I cherish my quit, although it’s long since worn. I now keep it in a space bag, but pull it out every now and then. In fact I pulled it out just before Christmas and shared it and the stories behind each square with my grandbabies and again with my youngest daughter……baby girl is named after my grandmother.

            I used to spend every summer with my grandmother, in fact I helped her make my jacket of many colors. She loved that song, it spoke to her. She grew up dirt poor, but she wasn’t ashamed of that it made her all the more grateful of what she accomplished in life.

          • mothy67, says:

            I have no shame about being raised poor. We always had books and worked hard. I’d so rather be poor then and deal. Today everything is owed. I was always aware that we were poor but it didn’t define me. We had no phone, no tv no washer or dryer. We had spaghetti four times a week. I was unscathed but as I look back I think it was different for my sister. I had a paper route, set bowling pins, worked bingo, picked corn, cleaned banks, washed dishes. I took pride in taking care of myself. My sister was not allowed. We are a year apart. As soon as she could she latched on to a boy. She functions with abusive men. I can’t figure it out. We do not speak because she is baby girl’s grandmother. She might have found it fine to be beaten in the head and raise her son to witness it but I will never allow my brat to be subjected to abuse. A no brainer.

      • foxyladi14 says:

        Dat’s me too Klown, I DVR them and whiz past the commercials. 😆

    • Myiq2xu says:

      This is where Reagan won the election:

  7. Dora says:

    I have to disagree Somebody. I loved the smack down.

    In case anyone missed it and doesn’t know what we are referring to, here it is: 🙂

    • 1539days says:

      Trump won’t let got of that BS. Carson was at 8% before the caucuses and he got 9% of the total after them. Not a lot of theft I could see.

      • Dora says:

        It’s not really about percentages, but rather about lies, theft and knowingly claiming a victory using someone else’s votes. I just have a feeling that if it had been Trump lying about Cruz dropping out and giving him his endorsement, your opinion would be quite different.

        • 1539days says:

          Ben Carson didn’t own “his” votes. Frankly, if Donald Trump had a real campaign organization in Iowa and could have pulled off such a thing, I’d have some respect for min instead of being tired of his whining. I wrote on my blog 4 years ago that one of the things Mitt Romney had going for him was his ability to get dirty.

          • elliesmom says:

            When did Mitt Romney get dirty? I just never saw that side of him either when he was governor of MA or when he was running for POTUS.

          • Somebody says:

            I wondered the same thing. If I was going to describe Mitt Romney dirty would never enter the equation.

        • Anthony says:

          “I just have a feeling that if it had been Trump lying about Cruz dropping out and giving him his endorsement, your opinion would be quite different.”

          And here I thought I was just imagining that……

    • Somebody says:

      I have no doubt you loved it Dora, LOL!

      I thought Dr. Carson did a very good job with regard to what happened in Iowa. I thought he handled it as only he could. I think he got the better of Cruz in that exchange. I think that is where it all should have been left, but that’s just me and my opinion.

    • lyn says:

      THAT was the zinger, eh?! Meh. Has Cruz fired anybody for the misinformation?

  8. Myiq2xu says:

  9. Myiq2xu says:

    Judging by Twitter, Rubio fans are not happy this morning.

    • 1539days says:

      Christie certainly didn’t win NH for himself last night. He’s still going to be 5th. Cruz is in bad shape if he keeps having off nights. Luckily, debates don’t matter.

  10. Myiq2xu says:

  11. Myiq2xu says:

  12. Myiq2xu says:

    Redstate hates Trump.

  13. mothy67, says:

    Dandy Tiger
    Did you go to CMU.
    I got a call my brat is leading a robotics thing. I am an asshole because I did not realize how big it was. Shaypup won a place. Sheis head engineer on a robotics program from CMU. Not MIT or Stanford but top 5 engineering schools. She is 9 I have to go to CMU to chat. CMU she is 9.
    I hate all people I call my brat well brat I also call her shaypup. I am mean. WtF? This woman lost her shit on me and called social services because I called her shaypup. I was referring to a female as a dog. I am somehow racist because I call my best friend pup. I always call her pup. I’m not denying her gender. Or oppressing her. For reals this asshole me is so offensive to women. I would never abandon my life to raise a brat. . I’d never provide swim lessons tae kwon do, acting, voice, flute, piano, ballet, hip hop, jazz gymnastics. I live for my monster. I call her pup and some women that has no kids attacks me for being sexist. I think in feel good world pup may not work. Suck my big toe. I love my brat and I will call her pup. I am not demeaning her. I always say brat. I nourished her. I am so offended that some crazed bitch thinks I am a patriotical woman oppressor.
    I fucking found hercin a day care center basically alone. It smelled like shit. I never let her go back.

    She was thrown away. I stepped up. She has a blue belt in tae kwon do, plays the flute, sax an piano, has taken ballet , jazz, hip hopsince age 3. She is head engineer at a CMU robotics program.
    I love my not kid kid. How dare someone vilify me as a misognist because I call her pup. Funny pup is the nicest thing I call her. Reprehensible vile urchin. Stinky. Gross. Aberration. Fungus. I have been so much more offensive than pup.

  14. Myiq2xu says:

  15. Myiq2xu says:

  16. Myiq2xu says:

    Starting early is a mistake I made in my younger days. You don’t want to pass out before the opening kick-off.

  17. DandyTIger says:

    Debates don’t mean anything except when they do. No, really, they never mean anything except to the pundits/narrative makers. But if you watch those people too closely, it’s sort of like being driven in a car by a chimpanzee. You have no idea where you’re going, and neither do they. My favorite part is listening to people who’s candidate didn’t do very well.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      My favorite part is listening to people who’s candidate didn’t do very well.

      Ah, yes – the Baghdad Bob award candidates. “Marco hit a home run tonight! A home run!”

      Ben Carson meant to do that!

  18. DeniseVB says:

    Ouch. When you’ve lost Salon ….

  19. elliesmom says:

    We’ve had a wild couple of days here. Our “dusting” turned into 8″ of heavy, wet snow. Lots of tree limbs down everywhere, including in our yard. Power lines down and major roads blocked by trees. I was trying to psyche myself up to attempt to clear the drive way when I looked out and saw my neighbor was doing it for me. I went out and thanked him, but it didn’t seem enough. So I baked him some cookies Martha would be proud of and took them over. It turns out he lives alone, and it’s been awhile since he’s had homemade cookies. We “signed” a contract. Snowblowing services for home-baked goods. I might just throw in an invitation to dinner. He and Elliesdad need to connect, too.

    This morning it looks like a fairyland here. National Grid says everyone in town has power back. We didn’t lose our power, but around here it means you lose everything- electricity, heat, and water. Frankly, the Republican debate didn’t even cross my mind. The storm stretched as far north as NH so my guess is a lot of people in NH didn’t pay much attention, either.

  20. votermom says:

  21. Dora says:

    Oh my! This needs to be repeated.

  22. Somebody says:

    Let’s talk about the super bowl, who is pulling for the Broncos, who is pulling for the Panthers??? Be honest, who is only watching for the commercials???

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I’ll be cheering for the Broncos cuz I like Peyton Manning and want to see him retire with another ring. Nothing against Carolina. If it was the Pats v. Carolina I’d be rooting for the Panthers.

      • Somebody says:

        You and me both if it was the Pats! I feel as you do about Manning and I don’t like Cam Newton……it’s an Alabama/Auburn thing. I do think it would be cool for the Panthers to get their first super bowl win though. My daughter lives in the Charlotte area and she and her friends are all in for the Panthers, so I kind of feel like I should be in the Panther camp, but my heart isn’t.

        I guess I’m hoping for a good, clean game and really good commercials!!

        Are you having anyone over for the game or are you going to your son’s?

        • Myiq2xu says:

          Going to my son’s. I’m hoping for an exciting game. Blow-outs suck. so do low-scoring games. I’d like to see a 35-37 game, with a Hail Mary TD catch as time runs out.

          • Somebody says:

            Not asking for much, eh? Are you taking anything to your son’s food wise? BTW if you’re going over there we expect some fresh Lily pictures.

    • Ann says:

      Same. Not a “fan” of either team, but I am a Peyton Manning fan and would love to see him go out on top.

      • dm says:

        Not really big into football, but I go along to get along. Sausage, peppers, onions in the crock pot and cheesecake in the oven…this is a moveable feast, going to a friends. Guess I would have to pull for the old guy…everybody wants to go out on top!

      • Somebody says:

        See they had to go and dis on Bama in that clip. Truth is I’ve never liked either of them for that reason. Peyton got the better of a rebuilding Alabama team, but his daddy cried like a baby when Alabama defeated Ole Miss. The Scam Newton scars are more recent, plus he played for Auburn……so that tips the scales toward Manning, plus he’s on his way out and Newton most likely has many years to go.

        Still I don’t particularly like either of them so I’m watching for the sport of the game and the commercials.

    • leslie says:

      I’m for the Broncos and their old QB. I’ve liked Peyton Manning forever. Last evening at my dil’s b’day celebration, everyone was for Denver. That was a surprise. So, at the end of the day, we’ll all either be happy or we’ll all be sad. I usually watch for the commercials, though.😉

    • lyn says:

      I downloaded the CBS Sports app on the amazon Fire TV Stick yesterday, and we’ll be watching for the first time in years. Go, Broncos! When we lived in Denver in 1986, I wish we would have gone to one game; it had snowed and many seats were free.

    • elliesmom says:

      Is there a football game today?😉

  23. DeniseVB says:

    Fans of Curb Your Enthusiasm will “get” this. Especially the “Susie” character. Funny stuff.

  24. Myiq2xu says:

    Yesterday was Ronnie’s 150th birthday.

    • Somebody says:

      Does anyone know who the woman standing next to Reagan is? She looks like Joan Cusak to me.

      • cynic says:

        She does look like Joan in that picture. Could it possibly be Peggy Noonan? I was trying to look at pictures of her and Ronnie together, and the color/style of hair is similar. The smile/mouth thing is throwing me off.

    • 1539days says:

      Yes. Ronnie was a Reconstruction baby.

  25. Dora says:

    Taken during a commercial break during last night’s debate.

    I wonder what was so funny. 🙂

  26. DeniseVB says:

    It’s only rumored Beyonce’s going to sing her new anti-police song, just released yesterday, during the Super Bowl half time show. Surely she’s had rehearsals at the venue by now? What a dope, though it is creating a lot of buzz for her and the Super Bowl.

    • Somebody says:

      I certainly hope she doesn’t perform an anti-police song. Who in the hell does this entitled bitch think keeps her safe??

      If she does, I hope it is a jump the shark moment for that entire hip hop, gangster rap bullshit culture. All they do is glorify crime and abuse and foment anger. They are not role models in any way, shape or form. I cringe whenever Michelle Obama refers to Beyonce as a role model for her daughters, my god have you seen how she dresses and behaves??? A role model for what??? To be a high class hooker for some gang banger?? Beyonce, JayZ and the rest of them can exit stage left with the O’s.

      • Somebody says:

        Not off my soap box yet……there have been other similar female artist in the past, but we saw them for what they were and never mistook them as role models.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Sing it Sister ! The sad part of the Obama celebrity fawning is that the Obamas don’t realize they need those celebs more than the celebs need them. I remember Michelle answering a stupid Q: if she couldn’t be FLOTUS who would she rather be? She answered Beyonce. I laughed at that because MO has no clue how hard Bey works her natural gifts and talent to be that successful, especially using MO to squeeze into those high profile WH events. Just more proof how shallow Michelle is.

      • The only thing that’s being jumped here, Somebody, is the SEC for the NFL. This is elementary, my dear Watson. Look at the constituency.

    • lyn says:

      That’s a song? SMH.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Janet did it better in 1989. 😉

      • leslie says:

        More like a rant to a beat with bumping, grinding, twerking and flashing the bird. I’d like to break off those fingers she flashed at the camera and . . .
        Welcome to obama’s ‘merica

        • DeniseVB says:

          It appears she’s also blaming police for the NOLA drownings after Katrina when it was indeed the failure of a Dem Mayor and Governor for their poor evacuation procedures and other dismal preparations I defended after Katrina. It took years to wake up to those facts.

          • helenk3 says:

            there was a t0 car train there that would have taken at least 1000 people out of New Orleans. no one used it as the politicians did not tell the people it was available. along with the not used school busses that would have saved lives

  27. DeniseVB says:

    Be sure to click on the CC to see the lyrics. This is fun …..

  28. helenk3 says:


    one of the best articles i have read in a long time

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Scott Adams:

      Christie had his best debate night, especially his Linguistic Kill Shot about Rubio being a robot who can’t stop repeating canned modules of policy. Rubio responded by repeating canned modules of policy. People noticed.

      Christie’s kill shot was a fresh field and it fit what we have been thinking about Rubio but never put into words. It also throws Rubio off his game because it will force him to adjust. Now the press and the public are looking for his robotic repetition.

      The funny part is that all candidates repeat their memorized modules all the time. But something about Rubio’s game makes the robot accusation fit him better than it would the rest of the field. I think people see Rubio as a manufactured candidate designed by the GOP establishment.

      Chris Christie turned Rubio’s “electability” into “He’s a robot programmed by the elites.” That is some Master Persuader genius right there. And that means one of two things. Either…

      1. Christie figured out Trump’s Linguistic Kill Shot designs and launched one of his own, perfectly engineered, as Trump would.


      2. The Linguistic Kill Shot came from Trump. It has his fingerprints all over it.

      There is a non-zero chance that the Christie kill shot was designed by the Trump campaign. Trump was on his best behavior at the debate, as a strategy, but Trump needed to put a cap in Rubio’s ass to slow his rise. Trump and Christie seemed a bit chummy last night. How hard would it be for the Trump campaign to pass along that kill shot?

      In the 2D world, all of the candidates are flinging random insults and some of them stick. In the 3D world, you don’t see well-engineered Linguistic Kill Shots emerge from someone who doesn’t normally use them.

      I see Trump’s fingerprints.

    • 1539days says:

      That’s ridiculous. Obviously Marco runs on water. That’s why he drinks it so often.

  29. Myiq2xu says:

    Will someone please do a Super Bowl post? It could be about the players, the teams, the commercials, the halftime show, and/or the food. Anything that is Super Bowl connected/themed.


  30. DeniseVB says:

    New Thread up ! Thanks Lola, let the party begin and the Super Bowl too! (Happy Birthday!)

Comments are closed.