Hump Day Open Thread

The two men sat and talked for hours because neither one would pick up the check.

The two men sat and talked for hours because neither one would pick up the check.

I got nuttin’


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Hump Day Open Thread

  1. votermom says:

    I’m trying to finish my review of Thomas Jefferson & the Tripoli Pirates.
    I really like it.

  2. lyn says:

    More than 50,000 people are listening to a live stream call from the Oregon refuge standoff:

    • Venus says:

      You actually can make vodka from any starch- or sugar-rich plant matter (such as sorghum, corn, rye or wheat).
      In fact, most vodkas produced today aren’t from potatoes. Grey Goose and Ketel One (both popular “luxury” vodkas) are made from wheat.

  3. 1539days says:

    There are only a few people who will find this amusing.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Trump is living rent free in Beck’s head. 😉

      • Anthony says:

        Beck always amuses me. If he could only understand that everyone is allowed their own opinion and be respectful of that, he would probably lose the little relevance he has. He’s a mess lmao.

  4. Venus says:

    Finally someone writes the truth about Iowa:

    Donald Trump pulled off in Iowa was nothing short of miraculous.

    The last time a secular, loud, brash New Yorker who was leading in all the national polls faced Iowa Republican voters — former New York Mayor Rudy Giuliani in 2008 — he got truly schlonged. Mr. Giuliani came in sixth place with only 4 percent of the vote.

    Donald Trump came in second place with an astonishing 24 percent of the vote. He was just 3.3 percentage points behind Sen. Ted Cruz of Texas, who won the race by shamelessly pandering to the state’s huge evangelical population, which has determined the outcome of every Republican caucus there since at least 2000.

    If Rudy Giuliani had done as well in Iowa as Trump did, the media would have declared him the winner and he very likely would rushed through New Hampshire and South Carolina on waves of positive press and his ultimate gambit of winning it all in Florida very likely could have worked. In other words, if Mr. Giuliani had done as well as Mr. Trump did in Iowa, we quite possibly would be referring to him now as former President Giuliani.
    But the media hatred for Mr. Trump is so unrestrained that even a stellar accomplishment like he had in Iowa was dismissed as a shattering loss.

    Full article here (it’s worth the read):

  5. nerdle says:

    It’s the third day into the Lunar New Year and it has been very uneventful for me. Which is a good thing. Old superstitions say that what happens in the first few days could influence your entire year. Very auspicious.

    I used to laugh at my mom and dad about these beliefs. Now I am them. My siblings can’t believe it and neither can I. They all say I sound like some old Vietnamese lady.

  6. Dora says:

    Two more deputies. Very sad. 😦

    2 deputies, suspect killed after shooting at Maryland Panera

    • dm says:

      That happened like 5 miles away from me. The county deputies spend most of their time giving out tickets and busting up underage parties. Shocking and disturbing things like this are happening pretty much everywhere. Very sad and odd that this was a 67 year old guy who did this? Maybe he was hoping for suicide by cop…

  7. Dora says:

  8. mothy67, says:

    . Four people tonight told me I reminded them of House. I had never seen an episode until tonight. I had no tv when I lived in New York so although I knew what the show was i had never watched it. The guy is awful, confess I am an asshole but I am not that bad. I am apalled. My sister watched it because she said it reminded her of me. I cannot be that awful.

    • Dora says:

      I can’t comment because I never watched it. Judging by your description, I don’t think I ever will. It doesn’t sound very interesting. 🙂

    • elliesmom says:

      As the show goes on, you do actually get to like House more. He’s an asshole, but he’s a brilliant asshole. You get to see how much pain he lives with everyday, how it came about, and what lengths he’s willing to go to to relieve the pain. I don’t know if you’re House, but I think if you keep watching, you’ll grow to like the show.I don’t watch a lot of TV, but House was something I watched every week. The show’s finale is a classic.

      • leslie says:

        I agree, em. I didn’t get to see House when it was a weekly show because of my work hours. But now, I get to see the reruns and between that and a couple of others, I can understand how tv can be addicting. House, although tiresome at times, does become a more sympathetic character. Now, it is one of 2 or 3 programs I look for late “after hours”.

        • elliesmom says:

          I didn’t watch the first season when it was on, but my kids were convinced I’d love it. They both called me when a first season marathon was scheduled a couple of weeks before season 2 started. To shut them up I DVR’d it. I put it on while I was doing laundry, and all of the laundry got done that week.

      • mothy67, says:

        I am on episode 6 0f the first season and I’m already liking it. I am not House as I am not brilliant but I have always been disheveled with a high level of sarcasm. I was insulted that my sister told me she watched it because she thought of me. We missed being Irish twins by two months. I was aghast when I saw it and she had made a point of watching it because of me. Pale blued eyed physically defective slob with a proclivity for mind altering substances and a dependency on sarcasm.
        I am flattered my sister can see me in such a light.
        The stories are ridiculous but the casting is fascinating. You have this old bitter guy dealing with these young beautiful idealistic interns and teaching them without going Dead Poets Society. DPS has its place but a little too pat for my taste. The absurd medical cases serve to further the story and characters. There are like 177 episodes on Netflix. I can see the Robert Sean Leonard character being his anchor. He can never go to far into his misanthropy because he does have a friend. I oddly want to listen to CSN’s Southern Cross after binge watching 6 episodes.

    • votermom says:

      Elliesmom and Leslie are right, House is a funny show, and Dr. House is actually a sympathetic character.

    • blowme0bama says:

      House is quirky interesting for a few episodes. The schtick wears pretty quickly, though.

  9. Dora says:

    Some wonderful photographs of last night’s rally.

    10,000+ Attend Trump Rally in South Carolina – Pictures From Clemson – With South Carolina Polling Preview…

  10. DeniseVB says:

    NRO’s gone full dictator on Trump now. Like 8 years of Obama was fun?

    • Somebody says:

      Rich Lowry has mental issues, seriously he needs to seek help.

      Perhaps there is some money threatened somewhere. His wife works for the biggest PR firm in the world Edelson or something like that. I wonder if her firm is working for one of the other candidates?? I know her firm has gotten yuuuge government contracts, maybe that’s it??

      All I know is he is completely unhinged. There is absolutely no excuse for the kind of coverage NR has been doing, none. Where has this concerted outrage been over Obama?

      Nope there seems to be something very personal behind all of this and I’m willing to bet if the surface was sufficiently scratched we could find a money trail. If not then Lowry needs to get on some kind of medication and above all he need to be relieved of his duties at NR.

    • Anthony says:

      Fear and an advanced case of untreated butthurt causes them to say the strangest things…

    • Dora says:

      A possibility? Hasn’t he noticed that we are living under one now?

    • Somebody says:

      Well lookie, lookie here another Trump will be a dictator article

      I’m sensing a right wing journolist group. I’m not sure who is in the group, but I’m sure picking up on their daily talking points. Gosh I wonder if some of the shows on Fox tonight will continue with the theme de jour?

      • leslie says:

        A little while ago, I don’t remember the actual date, there were articles about the MSM and the GOPe orchestrating a smear campaign designed to stop Trump at any cost. This is just the beginning. If I can find the links, I will post them. I recall posting something about it in the comments here at the time.

    • votermom says:

      Of course they are. Rubio is the teacher’s pet of the GOP class of 2016

      • leslie says:

        This way, if the smears don’t do Trump in, the brokered convention will be designed to.

        • leslie says:

          These are not as recent as I have seen, but I need to leave so here is some reading material…

          “A longtime member of the Republican Party’s Rules Committee said the deck is already stacked in favor of the establishment’s bought-and-paid-for milquetoast candidates rather than the common-sense conservatives that voters are so desperately searching for.
          Curly Haugland, a Republican National Committee member from North Dakota, said the way the rules are written, a candidate doesn’t have to win the primaries to win the nomination. He just has to win the vote of the delegates at the convention – a process that could take place behind closed doors, especially if no one has a clear majority.”

          and from

          “GOP power brokers …preparing for 11th hour floor fight to defeat Donald Trump”

      • blowme0bama says:

        Excellent characterization. That’s exactly how he strikes me. Add a healthy dose of disingenuity.

      • cynic says:

        Rubio is the GOPe’s version of Obama. We know that Soros was the big bucks behind him. Who do you think rules the GOPe?

        It’s funny watching the people like Lowery publishing such over-the-top articles. It’s like their hair is on fire and they’re losing control. Let’s throw more gas on it. Instead of convincing us, we laugh at how pathetic they are. It must be sad for them to realize that we can no longer be duped. Time to mock them. We’ve learned the Alinsky way.

  11. votermom says:

    I really liked this one

  12. DeniseVB says:

    This is interesting about Super Delegates. Between the DNC’s creative math and the RNC hating on the frontrunner, why do we f**king vote any more? Super Delegates, Brokered Conventions?,_2016

    • dm says:

      Just scanning the list, I can tell you exactly how half Maryland’s will go – Clinton. People I have corresponded with countless times begging them to try, just try to have a thought that was independent of whatever it was Obama wanted…

  13. Dora says:

    Here he comes Denise. 🙂

  14. votermom says:

    New open thread for today.

Comments are closed.