*Saturday Spoiler* Open Thread: Star Wars Edition

Do Not click on this 45 minute video if you haven’t seen the movie, I’ve seen it twice and found this interesting as only we fellow SW nerdz do. All the rest of you, this is another Open Thread…leading up to Valentine’s Day!❀ you all❀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

160 Responses to *Saturday Spoiler* Open Thread: Star Wars Edition

  1. DeniseVB says:

    And then there were 6 ….

    • dm says:

      Good morning! I was reading the last thread discussion on the campaign tactics by Cruz and how they were telling people who voted for Huckabee, Santorum, Carson that they were wasting their vote. I still like Cruz in spite of his campaign’s moves, but I honestly would have to agree. While people have to vote their convictions, the reality was that none of the above mentioned were/are going to win. Not sure how Carson is still hanging in there, guess he still has money left and feels SC might still yield some results but basically he has been out of the running IMO since 1 month prior to Iowa. While he remains one of the most likable and honest candidates, he is as they say not electable. Which is a shame, I have an enormous amount of respect for him.

      • leslie says:

        dm~ That was what I came here to write. But you said it so much better than I would have.
        I really like Carly and Carson and Huckabee. And Huck actually spoke truth to power – in a completely non-religious way IYKWIM. I just hope that whoever is elected has enough integrity and intelligence to name Carson to the cabinet. But I suppose that is something a D wouldn’t have the stones to do.

      • 1539days says:

        Carson has a low burn rate. He doesn’t run ads and tends to rely on media appearances to get exposure to voters. He isn’t getting the kind of donations that will put him above 10% in any other contest. He can stay in the race for a while, maybe to spite Cruz. There was a rumor that Huckabee stayed in the 2008 contest past his expiration date just to keep Romney from getting the nomination after negative campaigning against him.

      • foxyladi14 says:

        He will be a great SG. πŸ˜€

      • DeniseVB says:

        Jim Gilmore officially dropped out. Also, Jim Webb posted this to his FB page…..

    • 1539days says:

      I think this is the first time all the GOP candidates will be on one stage.

  2. Myiq2xu says:

  3. Dora says:

    Fox News’ Andrea Tantaros told to quit her job because she is a Trump supporter. Scumbags are terrified of The Donald, as well they should be!
    by Thomas Madison


    • 1539days says:

      She was told to quit her job by National Review writers who apparently sunk to the level of twitter trolling to attack Tantaros. Then again, I’m called a stupid asshole for not supporting Trump.

      • DeniseVB says:

        As long as you’re not supporting Hillary, I’ll never think of you as a stupid assholeπŸ™‚

        I still have a few of her rabid supporters on my timeline, I don’t think badly of them, just feel sorry for them mostly. I get the Sanders supporters who may just switch to Trump if Hillary “wins”. It’s not an election, it’s a revolution !

  4. Dora says:

    Many wealthy donors becoming frustrated.

    Politico: Trump Freezes Establishment Mega-Donors in Place


  5. leslie says:

    I just found out the Westminster Dog Show begins tomorrow…
    Here is a link to the scheduled coverage… http://www.westminsterkennelclub.org/2016/show/tv.html

    Enjoy!!! πŸ™‚

  6. DeniseVB says:

    I guess Michelle and the girls made it to Aspen safely. I know they always try to make it a secret (security reasons, ha!), but their cover always gets blown for shutting down the airport and a pissed off traveler tweets about itπŸ˜›

    BO’s spending the weekend on the golf course in SoCal after picking up bags of money from his Hollyweird pals.

    Separate luxury vacations across the country a mere 40 days after their return from Hawaii. Must be nice.

  7. leslie says:

    BTW This is the real “Saturday Spoiler”

    • piper says:

      Don’t feel too bad – it’s f************ cold up here too.

      • leslie says:

        Piper, I thought of you (and cynic) immediately! It can’t be any better up there. (or where cynic lives, either)

        • Somebody says:

          Everybody stay warm and safe…..it’s cold! The wind is strong and bitter, I feel the bite of it down here in Florida. Our temps are mild, I can’t imagine that wind combined with such bitter cold. I don’t think I’d get out from under my covers.

      • 1539days says:

        It’s going to drop to about -20F tomorrow morning where I am.

    • elliesmom says:

      21 and sunny in beautiful RI. So glad we moved south.πŸ˜‰

    • DeniseVB says:

      Winter has arrived in Virginia too! Usually Florida house hunting on Zillow keeps me warmπŸ™‚

      • lildoggy4u says:

        Denise, for Florida, we’re cold too. Upper 40’s at night. I’ve been using gloves for the last week to walk my dog at night. Of course, the Canadians are all wearing bathing suits.

        • 1539days says:

          40 degrees for me is a light jacket and a hat if it’s windy. It’s interesting how much people adapt to their surroundings.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I saw you guys got chilly. It was 60 in Ft Lauderdale and 65 in Denver one day. My son’s FL friends wanted to go spend the “winter” in Denver with him.

          • Jadzia says:

            I was waltzing around town to walk the dog in a T-shirt and jeans while everybody else was in hats and scarves and coats. I’m like the Robin Scherbatsky of Tours out here. Cross your fingers that I get a job someplace with SEASONS.

  8. leslie says:

    And here’s a little something to honor our economic recovery…

  9. leslie says:

    I’m done for this morning…. It’s cold sitting here at my PC. I’m gonna clean my apartment to warm up. . . πŸ˜‰

  10. piper says:

    I find it fascinating how many people can point out all the dirty tricks that Cruz and his campaign are carrying out but are in denial about what the other GOP candidates and their campaign staff are doing. I have no problem with people supporting their candidate of choice but let’s wake up and be realistic about all the various campaigns and their tactics otherwise we have 2008 rehash.

    • Somebody says:

      Every campaign is going to try and find an edge, we all know that. I think the issue with Cruz is that he touts his values/evangelical cred and people see it as hypocritical. Beyond that actually telling voters during the voting process that a candidate dropped out is a new low, but the caucuses are well known for dirty tricks. I remember reading about a Nevada caucus where the Obama people brought in a buffet and then offered to share with the Hillary people. Once everyone was on the Obama side of the room with the buffet they called for head counts.

      The gloves are coming off in all the campaigns…….if there were ever any gloves on. Even Mr. Nice Guy Kasich digs at his opponents while complaining about their tactics. Politics as they say is a contact sport. Cruz is in the same spot many republicans have been in before when courting the evangelical vote by touting their values, etc. It happens time and time again, then anything that doesn’t fit the Christian stereotype is magnified…….what happened to turn the other cheek, do unto others as you would have them do unto you……on and on it’s an unrealistic standard, but it happens in every republican election.

      As the field narrows then the candidates will be forced to focus more on issues. That’s just how the political ball bounces.

    • 1539days says:

      The reality is that some tactics are in a moral gray area. One of the worst was SC in 2000. McCain had everything but the kitchen sink thrown at him, including the Black love child rumor. McCain ran a very ethical 2008 campaign, but he also condemned ads from PACs who supported him because the Obama campaign demanded he do it. It may not be fair to do some of these tricks, but not doing them means you will lose, either in the nomination or the general election.

      If you want fair, go find a Ferris wheel.

      • Somebody says:

        Pretty much and I agree with you 1539 about the love child in 2000 being especially dirty. I’ve seen some whisper campaigns against Rubio this go around that I find despicable. I’ve said they are despicable and actually defended Rubio……and everybody knows I’m not a Rubio fan girl by any stretch of the imagination.

      • DeniseVB says:

        One of my favorite time sucks is browsing through old political campaign and editorial cartoons. Not much has changed ….. from 1948

    • Myiq2xu says:

      All the candidates are dirty, low-down cheats!

      Except mine.

  11. DeniseVB says:

    I didn’t realize our state had a giant headed Presidents problem. Surprised they haven’t been scooped up by DC to plant along the National Mall……just decaying on a farm in these here parts…


    Here’s the original park near Williamsburg that went belly up.

  12. DeniseVB says:

    Sweet story for Valentine’s Day about a sweet boy who bought a flower for every girl in his high school….. http://www.fox9.com/news/89950438-story

  13. DeniseVB says:


  14. foxyladi14 says:

    Great post Denise. Thanks. ❀

  15. foxyladi14 says:

    Some people are reporting voting problems, With the machines changing their votes.
    Recheck before you hit the final button. Or ask for a paper Ballot. πŸ˜€

  16. foxyladi14 says:

    WOW!!!! πŸ˜†

  17. piper says:

    I know that POLITICS is a blood sport, however, I’m a bit tired of all the shenanigans from all sides including Trump’s. So I will keep repeating this – you’re entitled to your opinions and I’m entitled to mine and let’s agree to disagree without all the rancor.
    My vote will still go to my dog who is running uncontested in my home!!!!!!!!! We’ll be watching the Westminster Dog Show and cheering for another bichon winner like J.R. in 2001.

  18. piper says:

    Dear Mr. Klown,
    I think you should visit other sites like Uppity Woman, River Daughter, etc. and write a thread on their choices. I find their comments very interesting.

    • DeniseVB says:

      The comments on that NPR thread are hilarious. ANOTHER GOVERNMENT LAND GRAB !!!!!!1!!

      • taw46 says:

        I read those, funny. So, why are they taking so much land. Just look at the maps of the West, the federal government owns most of it. And even if they allow ranchers water rights and grazing rights, over time, they restrict those or take them away.

        I lived in Arizona for 10 yrs, we would drive all over the state. Much protected land, and yes it was all gorgeous. But except for the popular parks, we were lucky to see one or two cars all afternoon. What happened to the Forest Service and the mixed-use land? Seems now the BLM stops ranchers, any drilling, mining, etc. They keep it up, private citizens won’t have much land left to own.

        • swanspirit says:

          Use and sale of those lands can be changed later, once the government has ownership and control.

          • taw46 says:

            Yes, that is what I mean, that is why they are doing it. Drive all the ranchers out, do not permit any use of the land, except what the BLM bureaucracy decrees.

        • 1539days says:

          Apparently, the Bureau of Land Management was created to take care of land that states didn’t want to pay the upkeep on. As expected, the BLM expanded, took more land, then decided that they needed to manage federal land by regulating surrounding land. Their useless federal land was more important than the productive land ranchers tried to maintain next door.

        • 49erDweet says:

          And anyway, someone working on an upper floor of a federal building within three blocks of the WH is much, much smarter and better at making day-to-day decisions about a huge desert ranch just west of Las Vegas, than a yokel rancher living out there.

          • lizzy says:

            How many fingers do dirty Harry Reid and his son have in this pie? Don’t forget, if Obama doesn’t dp sp,e function he might; have to pay for his own golf vacay!

  19. lyn says:

    DandyTIger’s long-lost pussy:

  20. foxyladi14 says:

    I am amazed that she can say that.
    After the way they trashed SP. :facepalm:

  21. Myiq2xu says:

  22. foxyladi14 says:

    Drip that water tonight.
    Don’t let the pipes freeze. 😯

  23. Myiq2xu says:

  24. Dora says:

    Tonight’s your chance Jeb. πŸ™‚

    β€œI could drop my pants,” he said in an interview. β€œMoon the whole crowd. Everybody would be aghast, except the press guys would never notice.”


  25. Underwhelmed says:

    Apparently Justice Scalia has died. Hmmm …

    • lyn says:

      That sucks.

    • 49erDweet says:

      A tragedy on many fronts.

    • taw46 says:

      Just saw that, sad for his family and friends.

      • lyn says:

        … and for our country. 😦

        • taw46 says:

          Yes, absolutely. I was just trying to think of his family first, but my second thought was, we are so screwed.

        • Jadzia says:

          Wow. I am truly shocked. He was so bombastic I guess I thought he would never die. He was a giant and I learned so much from reading his work, especially A Matter of Interpretation.

          • Jadzia says:

            I actually quote him AT LEAST once a semester, when I am explaining to my students what legislative history is and why it’s a bad idea to rely on it. (Scalia said that using legislative history to interpret the meaning of a statute was like going to a cocktail party and looking for your friends in a sea of people. Or something like that.)

            Law nerd OFF.

          • taw46 says:

            From all I read about him, he was a brilliant man.

          • 1539days says:

            Jadzia, any insight as to why the legal community is so left of center?

          • Jadzia says:

            I have no idea. That said, I do know PLENTY of conservative lawyers (including one who was on the ground in Florida in 2000 and is Cruz’s BFF and ain’t that a thing). The thing is, conservative lawyers tend to do corporate/transactional work–the moneymaking but low-profile kind of stuff. The litigators who love to see their faces on TV and the professors who make medium money for zero work tend to be the lefties. Interestingly, having worked for both kinds, I strongly preferred the conservatives, none of whom ever discriminated against me for having kids (not the case with the Dems, sadly).

    • 1539days says:

      We’re boned. Obama will choose his successor.

      • Jadzia says:

        With 54 Republican senators? Surely they can drag this thing out for 11 months.

        • 1539days says:

          They can drag this thing out for 6 months. However, if there’s only 8 Justices when the session opens in October, the media will pound the GOP over it until Election Day. Remember, 1/3 of the Senate is also running for reelection. I’d like them to reject about 10 nominees, but Ted Cruz and Rand Paul are the only Senators who do stuff like that.

      • taw46 says:

        If we had any republicans with a backbone, they could block his choice like the Dems blocked Bork. But sadly, we know that will never happen.

        • Jadzia says:

          If you dare go over to Lawyers Guns and Money (I don’t know if I recommend it, those folks are DANCING on the man’s grave before the body is even cold, it’s really disgusting), there are some links in the comments to various Republican sources saying that the chance of a confirmation before the next election is somewhere between zero percent and a snowball’s chance in hell. I am just way too goddamned exhausted to paste the links, it’s after midnight here and I worked my ass off today. (But got another section of the thesis done, so yay me.)

      • 49erDweet says:

        ….and the gutless establishment opposition in the Senate will rollover for him. Breathlessly.

    • DeniseVB says:

      CBS interrupted Pebble Beach to announce Scalia’s passing, even mentioning he was a conservative voice, blah, blah, blah……….I went into shock. Sad for his passing, sad for his family and our country now😦 I thought Ginsberg would be the first to bail out or pass away. Obama golfs on…..

    • leslie says:

      I saw this sad news hours ago but could find no confirmation. Then was caught up in condo building business until I came back here. I was hoping it was a prank tweet. I’m sad to learn it was not.

  26. 1539days says:

    I guess I’m watching the debate tonight. CBS is going to use this as an opportunity to pull out the “litmus test on abortion” trope.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I hope they’re all prepared for that. Safe, legal and rare is the best response (h/t Hillary who has dropped the “rare” recently). One can be personally pro-life and still respect choice. As I do, the first trimester. I’d also like to know if abortion is so wonderful as a routine procedure, why isn’t it an outpatient procedure at ALL hospitals ?

      Pre Roe v. Wade, it was, only it was called a D & C. You just never hear about that anymore.

      • 1539days says:

        That doesn’t fly among Republicans. Mario Cuomo used BS like that all the time, but then his personal pro-life stance only came out when he vetoes the death penalty every year in NY. The candidates have to stick to the “strict constructionist” term that means not upholding laws just because Congress cooked them up.

        • 1539days says:

          To clarify, I do know Cuomo was a Democrat. But “safe, legal and rare” equal pro-abortion in a GOP primary contest.

          • DeniseVB says:

            The “rare” part would defund PP. Probably why Hill and her Dems don’t use it on the stump. Hell, I left the Catholic Church during the 60’s anti birth control and save baby before mommy years,and I was a bleeding heart lib in those days. So,

            I guess we’ll see just how out of touch our GOP candidates are tonight. Don’t pander, what’s in your heart ?

  27. DandyTIger says:

    Low and nasty, but I did laugh.

  28. taw46 says:

    Orrin Hatch says they will not approve any Obama nominee. Says that should fall to the next President, even if it is a democrat.

Comments are closed.