Hooray For Taylor Swift!

Taylor Swift had a pretty darn good night last night, despite missing a note on the opening number:

On his recent Tidal-released album The Life of Pablo, Kanye West took a left-field shot at Taylor Swift. “For all my Southside niggas that know me best / I feel like me and Taylor might still have sex / Why? I made that bitch famous / God damn / I made that bitch famous,” he raps on the track “Famous.”

The incident West was referring to was, of course, the 2009 MTV Video Music Awards, where a Hennessy’d-up West stormed the stage, snatched the microphone from Swift, and proclaimed that Beyoncé should’ve won instead, forever immortalizing the words “I’mma let you finish, but…”
Swift addressed the lyrics while accepting the 2016 Grammy Award for Album of the Year—an award that she won [Blasphemous libel deleted].

“As the first woman to win Album of the Year at the Grammys twice, I wanna say to all the young women out there: there are going to be people along the way who will try to undercut your success, or take credit for your accomplishments or your fame, but if you just focus on the work and you don’t let those people sidetrack you, someday when you get where you’re going, you’ll look around and you’ll know that it was you and the people who love you that put you there, and that will be the greatest feeling in the world,” said Swift.

Tay won THREE Grammy’s yesterday: Album of the Year for 1989, Pop Vocal Album for 1989 and Best Music Video for “Bad Blood” from 1989. Not a bad haul. That brings her Grammy Award total to TEN.

Taylor Swift has received 247 awards from 535 nominations. She is the recipient of 10 Grammy Awards, 19 American Music Awards, 22 Billboard Music Awards, 11 Country Music Association Awards, 8 Academy of Country Music Awards, 10 People’s Choice Awards, and 25 Teen Choice Awards. She is also a seven-time winner of the Nashville Songwriters Association International Award for Songwriter/Artist of the Year. As a songwriter, she has been honored by the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Swift holds five records in the Guinness World Records book.

I’m just guessing but I bet she wins a few more of them things before she is done.

Meanwhile, Kanye West won nothing last night.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Taylor Swift and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

153 Responses to Hooray For Taylor Swift!

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    I hate her hair like that. It seems to keep getting shorter and shorter. I liked it best when it was long and curly.

  2. Myiq2xu says:

    This years “In Memoriam” seemed a lot longer than usual:

  3. Myiq2xu says:

    Lotta haters out there hate hate hate hate hatin’ on Tay.

    WORST: Album of the Year Goes to Taylor Swift
    The incredible performance, the leading number of nominations, the best album of the 2015 — all of it gave us false hope despite the inevitable. We were prepared for Alabama Shakes to sneak in because of vote splitting, but we weren’t prepared for someone who already won this thing to reprise her role in one of those Steely Dan-sized upsets. This year was hardly a blank space, but the tone-deaf voters wrote her name anyway. — D.W.

    Makes me want to fire up the Klown Kar and go see them in person.

  4. Jadzia says:

    I LOVED her dress until I realized it was basically a tube top. The colors are gorgeous, though.

    I finished Chapter 5! 55 percent down, 45 percent to go.

  5. Dora says:

    I wasn’t watching, but she looks beautiful in the picture. She is so thin. I’m jealous. 🙂

    I’ve always liked Gary too.

    LIKE A BOSS! Actor Gary Sinise shocks The Grammys by remembering our soldiers!


  6. leslie says:

    Watching MJoe. They are talking with Anand Giridharadas from the NYT. Once seen cannot be unseen. What the hell happened? He just said he puts wax in his hair. He really should wax that mop off his head. OMG… I don’t even know what they are talking about, his appearance is so distracting.

    • leslie says:

      I don’t know if this will work, but I’m going to try this url anyway…

      • DeniseVB says:

        Reminds me of the brown sugar version of Milo Yiannopoulos🙂

      • cynic says:

        The first time I ever saw him on MJoe, all I did was stare at the hair. It’s the same way with David Brock.

        This a.m., however, I was knitting, so I only listened to what he was saying. I was agreeing with him, and made me think of things that I hadn’t thought of before. After you posted, I went back and listened again. He may be absolutely right. This election year may be the start of something new. The big money going to JEB and Hillary isn’t working.

        • leslie says:

          I haven’t had the time to go back to listen. Babysitting took it all out of me today.Gbaby #2 is an accomplished 2yo. I’m exhausted right now. I’ll have to take a listen after I have dinner. You have given me the motivation to hear him…really listen. I’ll just have to ignore the visuals. 😉

    • 49erDweet says:

      The story, then, is always about him. Practicing narcissalism, not journalism.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Taylor’s gracious speech has been taken over by Hillary’s barking on my newsfeeds. It’s going to be another glorious day in the land of political fire and brimstone 😛

  8. DeniseVB says:

    Well, that didn’t long, the Twitchy round up of Barking Hillary …. she needs to fire that speechwriter

  9. Dora says:

  10. DandyTIger says:

    Interesting article about Dem dogma:

    In my younger days, the Democratic party seemed always to be grappling with its identity, arguing over who they were and what they stood for all through the 1970s, the 1980s, and into the 1990s. What Democrats had to turn away from, reformers of all stripes said in those days, was the supposedly obsolete legacy of the New Deal, with its fixation on working-class people. What had to be embraced, the party’s reformers agreed, was the emerging post-industrial economy and in particular the winners of this new order: the highly educated professionals who populated its clean and innovative knowledge industries.

    The figure that brought triumphant closure to that last internecine war was President Bill Clinton, who installed a new kind of Democratic administration in Washington. Rather than paying homage to the politics of Franklin Roosevelt, Clinton passed trade deals that defied and even injured the labor movement, once his party’s leading constituency; he signed off on a measure that basically ended the federal welfare program; and he performed singular favors for the financial industry, the New Deal’s great nemesis.

  11. taw46 says:

    Meanwhile, our betters continue to ignore us.

    Jeff Sessions: “Ninety-two percent of GOP voters oppose this immigration growth, Pew reports. A microscopic 7 percent of GOP voters say they’d like to see more immigration. And yet party elites continue pushing for more—with no recognition of, let alone concern for, its impact on workers… How can it be possible that the demands of 92 percent of our electorate are not merely ignored, but sabotaged?”


  12. lyn says:

  13. Dora says:

    OMG! He needs help. Maybe they both do.

    Glenn Beck Tells Voters Ted Cruz Will Get America Through the Rapture, Might be Jesus


  14. Dora says:

    This is so great! 🙂

  15. taw46 says:

    This is funny, CNN had already announced one for tomorrow with Cruz-Rubio-Carson (the Trump-Bush-Kasich one on Thursday). Now, it is Trump two nights.

  16. votermom says:

  17. Dora says:

    Warning: For mature audiences only.

    EXCLUSIVE: ‘He put on my frilly nightie, and danced around playing his sax.’ Former Miss Arkansas says Bill Clinton was so-so in bed and confided Hillary was into sex with women. Now she fears Hillary vendetta and sleeps with loaded semi-automatic


  18. Myiq2xu says:

  19. Myiq2xu says:

  20. Ann says:

    Soooooo lookie what happens when you click jebbush.com

    I am rotf (sorry if this is old news)

    • DeniseVB says:

      It’s old news that never gets old🙂

    • Somebody says:

      Jeb has had the Jeb.org site forever, I honestly doubt he ever had any desire to have another site.

      Speaking of, little known factoid…….Jeb was in trouble for using private email long before Hillary was. Florida has sunshine laws, but Jeb skirted them. He preferred to use his private email over his official email.

  21. DeniseVB says:

    Crazy weather. Yesterday 28 degrees and 2 inches of snow. Today 60 degrees and a tropical monsoon nor’easter blew through. #VirginiaIsForWeatherLovers 😀

  22. Somebody says:

    Completely OT, but I have to share. Sooooo you all know my youngest is a cancer survivor. There is a local support group for survivors of childhood cancer, they have quarterly meetings that usually features a guest speaker. The evening usually includes dinner, the speaker, followed by Q&A depending on the speaker. There are usually about 15-20 there, but sometimes depending on the speaker it can go as high as 40-50.

    Next month the guest speaker is Peyton Manning!!! I was like OMG, my daughter says….who is that and why would I care to hear what he has to say…..facepalm. She doesn’t want to go, she doesn’t want to have dinner and a conversation with Peyton Manning. She says she doesn’t care anything about football. I said I’m sure he’s going to talk about overcoming adversity, she says….oh OK mom, I think I already did that.

    Sheesh, I hope she changes her mind. I’m not even a Peyton Manning fan but if I were her I wouldn’t pass this opportunity up. Unfortunately parents aren’t allowed, it’s only for the kids or young adults and at that it’s only for those 13 and older. Some events are limited to 16 and older because they deal with “adult” topics.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Very Cool! My Wife worked with the U.S.O. and got to meet Peyton and Eli in arranging for their appearance at an event in Louisiana. She also got to meet Steven Tyler when she was working with the U.S.O. in Dubai.

      • Somebody says:

        My other daughter is at a convention this week and Steven Tyler is the entertainment! He actually has a cousin in this area, super guy, very successful in the construction industry. The cousin had a large family; whenever Aerosmith came here each of his kids would get to invite a friend to join the family backstage.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Thanks for sharing S’body, you made my day ! And Peyton❤

    • 1539days says:

      Can you pass for a teenager?

      • Somebody says:

        Well most people can’t believe my 31 year old is actually my biological child, BUT I’m 54 no I can’t pass for a teenager.

  23. taw46 says:

    “I also think Scalia had a great sense of humor and a quick mind. So my hypothesis is that in his final seconds of life, realizing he would not survive, he thought it would be hilarious to put a pillow over his head and make it look like a political murder.”

  24. lyn says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Just got some current Super Tuesday Virginia numbers, Trump +14 over second place Rubio. Open state, so I don’t think I’ll vote for The Bern afterall. Plus our Gov’s former Clinton Cabana Boy McAuliffe, so this state could be a blowout for her. Sigh.

  25. Dora says:

    This is how it’s always done. You may have noticed that Trump never goes to the studio for an interview; they go – with all their equipment – to interview him in his building. 🙂

  26. Underwhelmed says:

    The depravity of the industrial liberal media complex … it really does blow my mind …


    • taw46 says:

      I would not have known any of that, but for that site. They control the news by censorship, distortion, deciding what and how much we get to learn about what is going on in our country (and the world). If you read local and international sites, you get a glimmer of what is going on. But most people do not, either because they are too busy, not interested, or don’t believe the elites would lie to us. I just have to walk away from it sometimes, it is too much to deal with.

      And I get upset we are not told the truth about refugee resettlement in this country. Again, most people do not have a clue. This is one site, and it is amazing what she has been able to pull together, just think what the real numbers must be. If you read here, you can see people are making money off of this, with no regard for the actual citizens who live here. As always, follow the money. Not only are we not allowed a discussion about this, we are not even allowed to know about it.


  27. Venus says:

    Love these 2 guys — especially when the older guy tells Trump “I’m not gonna lie, when you first came in I was a little iffy.”

  28. Dora says:

  29. 49erDweet says:

    I note with interest that young iyeb! is now reported to be considering taking mommy out on the campaign trail with him. Boooosh league!

    • taw46 says:

      Wimp. Be your own man, Jeb.

    • Somebody says:

      I didn’t think the optics of his mom joining him in NH were very good, she’s quite frail these days. At least it’s not icy and snowy in SC or Nevada, I honestly worried about her slipping in NH.

      I’ve no doubt she loves her son and wants to support him, but maybe a better use of her talent would be taped segments or commercials.

  30. Somebody says:

    Hey all you twitter users, Jeb tweeted out a picture of a handgun with the tag line “America”. Apparently people are having a field day with his tweet, so go get you some!

  31. Dora says:

  32. Underwhelmed says:

    Waiting for Obama to condemn this disgusting attack … waiting … waiting … oh, look! It’s the next ice age!


  33. Underwhelmed says:

    And another one! When I think that this guy is getting support to run America … I don’t know whether to laugh or cry.


  34. Venus says:

    Ok, if you need a laugh click this:

    • taw46 says:

      I have read other stories like that over the last year or so in Europe. Yet they let some of the Muslims preach hatred in UK for years and do nothing. Europe needs a Trump to smash that PC or there is no hope for them. Maybe it is already too late.

Comments are closed.