Nixon Goes to China

This is the day Tricky Dick actually arrived in China, back in 1972.

Just thought I’d use that for the blog post.

Or read about it in Nixon And Mao by Margaret McMillan if you are really interested.🙂

It’s also Erma Bombeck’s birthday – check out my mini-bio on her at

Open thread!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

111 Responses to Nixon Goes to China

  1. votermom says:

  2. Dora says:

    Class picture 1947. A lot of good people grew up in Queens. 🙂

    PS 13 in Queens and Antonin Scalia

  3. These kids today. I yellya, if they were’t so mother-effing stupid. BLM upset; calls public library’s non-discrimination policy “white supremacy.”

    I freakin’ HOPE they make fighting the librarian their spring project. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE. I want that on video. On the national news.

  4. leslie says:

    Will be gone today. but I thought this plus a call for decreased violence from local (Chicago) Black leaders was something to share.

  5. votermom says:

    I watched a movie in Netflix yesterday that was pretty good for an Indy / low budget film.
    It’s Extracted (2912) and it’s similar in some ways to Inception.
    I picked it because the lead is the actor who plays the police captain in Grimm.

  6. lyn says:

    Too cute.

  7. Dora says:

    Great pictures, especially the one of the law clerks lined up in front of the SC.

    Photos of the Week: 2/13-2/19

  8. Dora says:

    You’ve got to love Bill Mitchell. 🙂

  9. Dora says:

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Here are the Nixons visiting The Great Wall of Trump during their trip to China😉

  11. Myiq2xu says:

  12. Myiq2xu says:

  13. Myiq2xu says:

    • lyn says:

      RT worthy! A few weeks ago a Chicago newspaper published his badly written screed on why he wasn’t voting for Trump and called Trump a racist and other things.

      • leslie says:

        It seems his writing skills are about the same as his acting skills and his thinking skills, as well. I’d watch Blue Bloods even if he weren’t on the show.

  14. Dora says:

    More scary news from Europe.

    Norwegian government: We will abandon international law if Sweden collapses

    Norway is ready to abandon the Geneva Convention if Sweden collapses. The border will be closed by force, and Swedish refugees will be rejected without the possibility to seek asylum. “We are prepared for the worst,” says Prime Minister Erna Solberg.

  15. lyn says:

    Maybe this is why WMCB is staying away: too many Trumpsters here.

    • 1539days says:

      But the few non Trumpsters have so much fun here.
      Indifference 2016!

      • elliesmom says:

        I’d say I’m indifferent to him. I don’t think he’d be the worst president we’ve ever had, but other than sticking my finger in the Republican Party’s eye, I don’t have a compelling reason to vote for him. At least not yet, but my mind is open. Similarly, I’m willing to stick my finger in the eye of the Democratic Party, too. But I think Bernie has more potential for being a really bad president.

        • Underwhelmed says:

          Bernie should be giving all sane people nightmares. This man has no idea, none at all. Look at his employment history. It’s a joke, and not in a good way. Bernie has the potential to make Obama look good.

    • elliesmom says:

      She stopped commenting here long before the Republican field narrowed down to a place where Trump was the only candidate some of the folks here think they can support. Other than Dora, maybe, did anyone here who is cheering for Trump start the campaign season in his corner? Does anyone here, except maybe Dora, not agree with WCMB that Trump can be an ass at times? Like in any group that’s been together for a long time, people come and go and sometimes they come back. I miss WCMB, and I’d love to have her wit and charm around, but I’d be surprised if we chased her away.

      • Dora says:

        I do agree about Trump. I’ve been watching him make an ass of himself for over 30 years. Nevertheless, as soon as he announced that day in Trump Tower that he was running for president, I was on board.

        Actually before that day I had no idea who I was going to vote for. I was even considering sitting it out rather than vote for Hillary or Jeb. And then along came Trump. 🙂

        • lyn says:

          Well said, Dora.❤

        • mothy67, says:

          Illegal immigration is my key issue. Only Donald addresses that.

        • Jeffhas says:

          Let’s face it, even if you Loooove Trump, he can say tons of cringe-worthy stuff – and overall he can come off like an A** with the best of them.

          …. But ‘the wall’ entangled with “not sending their best and brightest – rapists, murders”…. Followed by ‘we’re going to suspend Muslin immigration for a bit’…. Followed by ‘LOW ENERGY JEB’…. And who can forget “we’re going to repeal and replace Obamacare – but everyone will get covered”…. I mean if he just does the wall and repeal O’Care – oh who am I kidding, IF HE JUST BUILDS THE WALL, it will have been enough to justify a vote for him in my book.

          So, I don’t feel like I’m a Trumpster, but he is my top choice right now, and I am THRILLED when Day’s tosses in those comments, because it just keeps everything down to earth. I would love to hear that from WCMB – I could be swayed possibly – but really I just like to be ‘checked’ every once in while to make sure I’m not allowing myself to absorbed by the Borg IYKWIMAITTYD.


  16. Myiq2xu says:

    WMCB is alive!

  17. elliesmom says:

    Totally off topic, but today I got a short video from a friend. I’d share it, but the permissions on the file won’t let me. She’s in Uganda. She collected up some modern treadle sewing machines and had them shipped to Africa where she’s teaching women how to use them so they can start their own cottage businesses. I’m not religious as all here know, but this is a church mission I supported. This is what “women helping other women” truly means. It puts women helping women get an abortion to shame. I really wish I could share the video because the delight the Ugandan women have when they sew their first seam is tear-worthy. Laura has earned her place in heaven if such a place exists. Madeline, this is what you meant, right?

  18. Dora says:

    Well, what do you know? It looks like Sen. Schumer (who I absolutely can’t stand) is not going to allow Marco to get away with it.

    Schumer says Rubio ‘molded’ pathway to citizenship bill, predicts Senate takeover

    • Somebody says:

      It’s true Rubio can say whatever, but his actions speak louder than his words. It’s not just illegals, Rubio has pushed and pushed for more visas for foreign workers.

      That issue, doing the chamber and silicon valley’s bidding to try and massively increase the legal, cheap foreign labor through increasing visa programs…..THAT is where Trump can get both Rubio and Cruz.

      Rubio hasn’t even tried to walk back his position on H1Bs, even with what Disney did in his own state…….nope he doesn’t care. He only cares what his donors want, he’ll treat the rest of America just like he’s treated his Florida constituents.

      Cruz initially supported massive increases and then tried to walk his position back a bit, most recently introducing a minimum wage of $100,000 there abouts for H1B. So if a company insisted they couldn’t find a US citizen then it must be a hard to fill slot and deserving of six figures. I’m not sure how I feel about that and it didn’t go anywhere, it was a dog and pony show by Cruz to shore up a vulnerability. So now he can point to his valiant effort if anyone points out his support……because since he got there he’s supported importing foreign labor, until he was running for POTUS and realized that might hurt him because we the people are sick of that kind of crap.

  19. votermom says:

  20. mothy67, says:

    What was Michonne thinking????????

Comments are closed.