Thursday Morning Music Open Thread

The duo is called 2Cellos. Their names are Luka Sulic and Stjepan Hauser. They are from one of those Bohunk countries in East-Central Europe. Not sure if they are the oily variety.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Thursday Morning Music Open Thread

  1. DeniseVB says:

    That’s one way to get young people interested in classical music, hotties in leather🙂

    Like when they cast Nick Jonas as Marius in Les Miz for an international simulcast in movie theaters one year, young chicks sopped up the tickets. He wasn’t awful, but horribly miscast.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Now here’s Eddie Redmayne showing you how it’s done.

      • leslie says:


        • DeniseVB says:

          Probably unfair to compare a concert to a theatrical version, but the movie made them sing in their own voices in one take without audio gimmicks to make them sound “better”. Les Miz purists hated that they cast Russell Crowe as Javert, but I thought he was pretty fabulous, who knew he could sing while acting and committing suicide😉

          • leslie says:

            I felt the same way about Russell Crowe. While people were urging him to jump before his time (lol), I was falling in love with his performance. But I really fell hard for Eddie Redmayne. There’s been no turning back for me. He is wonderful in whatever he does. (swoon) His transformation in “The Danish Girl” was beautifully convincing. And then there is Alicia Vikander. She was amazing. I’d give her the Oscar today – yesterday, even. (I know, I’m digressing.)

    • leslie says:

      Thank you Denise… You are so generous. Jonas probably shouldn’t have been cast in the chorus, let alone cast as a main character. It’s to laugh when he was singing with the men in the café.
      ( I think I should go back to bed, I’m not being very nice this morning.)

      • DeniseVB says:

        The theater I attended was packed with young girls, sigh, marketing😉

        I think the first online “activism” I ever took part in was to get the producers to cast Michael Crawford as the Phantom for the movie. Nah, they went with a Hollywood hottie Gerard Butler. Crawford IS the Phantom, even though they wanted their cast to be young. Phantom was an old, miserable and disfigured fart anyhow…..MC grew into the part that was made for him. It’s why I always give young people original broadway soundtrack versions before they hip-hop-rap them to extinction.

        • leslie says:

          Can you believe it – I’ve still yet to see “Phantom”. I ought to be ashamed.😦

          • DeniseVB says:

            When they cast Butler, I was on the Boycott The Movie faction in honor of Crawford. Dumbest mistake of my life missing the movie on the dolby sound big screen. I realized that when I finally saw it on HBO. It was pretty fabulous.

        • leslie says:

          Gerard Butler is a hottie. I had no idea he was in Phantom. I’ll have to check it out.

    • leslie says:

      Now you’ve done it, Denise! I’ll be listening to the soundtrack the rest of the day.
      This is one of my favorite scenes from this or any other movie. Samantha Barks was perfect. (I thought).

  2. helenk3 says:

    the best alternative to gitmo that i have seen

    • DeniseVB says:

      Love Terrell ! I think he’s the Michael Ramierz of memes😀

      I love all the critters, but I think the rattlesnake is one species I wouldn’t miss.

    • elliesmom says:

      The rattlesnake refuge is already a source of major controversy in the towns around Quabbin Reservoir. The towns that were submerged to build the reservoir don’t have much to say anymore.😉 This whole project has a bit of “Jurassic Park” about it. They plan to put radio transmitters on the snakes they move out to the island so they can track them and make sure none of the snakes leave the island. Of course, no one will be able to track the babies that are born there. There are baffle dams connecting the island to the mainland, and rattlesnakes can swim. Timber rattlesnakes are endangered. The snakes that would be introduced to the island are not native to Quabbin. They would be moved there from other parts of the state. In the late 1930’s four towns were submerged and all of the people in them forced to move to provide a water supply for the city of Boston. There is still a lot of resentment about being asked to solve problems for other parts of the state. Asking them to take the Gitmo detainees might be a bridge too far. lol

  3. leslie says:

    I don’t know why, but when I woke up this morning, I thought of these (piano) guys. I saw them last summer at Ravinia and they were wonderful. No one wanted them to stop. No. One. . . . Choosing only one is too difficult for me. So, I decided to let you pick one for yourself. 😉

  4. Myiq2xu says:

    Matt Taibbi:

    “A thousand ridiculous accidents needed to happen in the unlikeliest of sequences for it to be possible, but absent a dramatic turn of events – an early primary catastrophe, Mike Bloomberg ego-crashing the race, etc. – this boorish, monosyllabic TV tyrant with the attention span of an Xbox-playing 11-year-old really is set to lay waste to the most impenetrable oligarchy the Western world ever devised.”

    “It turns out we let our electoral process devolve into something so fake and dysfunctional that any half-bright con man with the stones to try it could walk right through the front door and tear it to shreds on the first go.”

    “And Trump is no half-bright con man, either. He’s way better than average.”

    Speaking of half-bright con men, what is Obama doing today?

  5. helenk3 says:

    beyonce can have security.
    islamic black nationalist will provide security if cops don’t
    that should make the audience feel so secure, but only if they are black, this is part of the faraghan (kill whitey) group

    • leslie says:

      I have several friends (white) who are huuuge Beyoncé fans. I doubt they’ll attend any concert here with black nationalists providing “protection”. Even though they pretty much value what I think, they look at me as if I were an old fogey when it comes to Bey. And perhaps I am, but even my own “kids” (late 30’s – early 40’s) can’t stand her any more.

    • DeniseVB says:

      When I first read about the kill whitey protection Beyonce was offered I thought it was the stupidest thing I ever heard of. It’s not about protecting her royal butt, but the concertgoers’ as well. SS would even let her BFF, Michelle Obama, attend that.

  6. driguana says:

    Love the 2 Cellos…just posted them at Fifthwall Radio…and in case you haven’t joined us yet, please do…

    • leslie says:

      That’s a great FB page. I’m not on FB, but I can still appreciate what I see… I just can’t *like* it. 😉

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Sigh, well at least he didn’t call me a stupid idiot. Trying to engage the GOPe supporters whenever I’m in a teflon mood for “I’m rubber, you’re glue…” convos.

  8. Dora says:

    I love this concerto. He does a pretty good job too.

  9. mothy67, says:

    I tried to post twice about a NY Times writer tweeting about taking Trump out with a bullet. Does not post. Is the a word taboo?

  10. AFVet says:

    Watch girlfriend run over Jihadi.

  11. swanspirit says:

    NOW Mitt fights back, and on twitter,and against Donald Trump??? With a stupid Shakespearean quote?? Mitt Milquetoast strikes again, lobbing marshmallows into the fray.

Comments are closed.