The Truth About White People

1920's Democratic National Convention

1920’s Democratic National Convention


The future of life on the planet depends on bringing the 500-year rampage of the white man to a halt. For five centuries his ever more destructive weaponry has become far too common. His widespread and better systems of exploiting other humans and nature dominate the globe.

The time for replacing white supremacy with new values is now. And just as some whites played a part in ending slavery, colonialism, Jim Crow segregation, and South African apartheid, there is surely a role whites can play in restraining other whites in this era. Beneath the sound and fury generated by GOP presidential candidates, Fox News, website trolls, police unions and others, white people are becoming aware as never before of past and present racism.

I identify as white. It’s not my fault, I was born to white parents. I have been steeped in white culture all my life. Most (but not all) of my family and friends are white. Most (but not all) of my employers, teachers, co-workers, supervisors, and neighbors have been white.

On many occasions I have witnessed white people when there were no “people of color” around, so I know how white people really act. I have heard white people talk about POC’s when they knew only white people could hear.

I am not afraid to tell the truth about white people.

Slavery in the United States ended because white people ended it. The slaves did not revolt and overthrow their masters. They tried a few times, but each time they failed. Then white people realized that slavery was wrong and they fought a bloody war to put a stop to it.

Yes, the slave owners were white people. But they were defeated by other white people and the black slaves were given their freedom.

But ending slavery did not end racism, segregation and racial discrimination. So about 100 years after they ended slavery white people outlawed segregation and discrimination. More importantly, white people rejected racism.

There are some people who believe that racism is epidemic in America. Those people are full of shit. The vast majority of racism currently loose in our body politic is directed AT white people. It is socially acceptable to express racially demeaning stereotypes about white people.

Racial discrimination is illegal, but racism per se is protected by the First Amendment. Nonetheless, you can lose your job if you utter a racial epithet referring to POC’s. Even a small whiff of racism can make a person a pariah.

Once upon a time it was socially acceptable to be a racist. In some places is was required. Politicians, public officials and candidates (almost all of whom were Democrats) publicly proclaimed their membership in the KKK.

Times have changed.

A mere two degrees of separation between a politician and someone openly racist can cause a controversy. A candidate who has a supporter who has shady friends is a suspect.

David Duke is probably the most famous white racist currently alive.

David Ernest Duke (born July 1, 1950) is an American white nationalist, antisemitic conspiracy theorist, far-right politician, and former Grand Wizard of the Ku Klux Klan.[5][6] A former one-term Republican Louisiana State Representative, he was a candidate in the Democratic presidential primaries in 1988 and the Republican presidential primaries in 1992. Duke unsuccessfully ran for the Louisiana State Senate, United States Senate, United States House of Representatives, and Governor of Louisiana. Duke is a felon, having pleaded guilty to defrauding supporters by falsely claiming to have no money and being in danger of losing his home in order to solicit emergency donations; at the time, Duke was financially secure, and used the donations for recreational gambling.[7]

Duke describes himself as a “racial realist,” asserting that “all people have a basic human right to preserve their own heritage.”[8] Duke also speaks against what he describes as Jewish control of the Federal Reserve Bank, the U.S. federal government and the media. Duke supports the preservation of what he considers to be Western culture and traditionalist Christian family values, Constitutionalism, abolition of the Internal Revenue Service, voluntary racial segregation, anti-Communism and white separatism.[9][10][11] He has been accused of supporting Holocaust denial.

Nobody respectable wants to be associated with David Duke. His endorsement is seen as a liability. Nobody even wants to be associated with anyone associated with David Duke. But if white people were secretly racists, wouldn’t he be a hero?

Nobody is really sure how many white racists are left in this country because most of them are scared to admit it in public. And for good reason. David Duke and his ilk are shunned. They have virtually no power or influence. Their public appearances attract protests rather than support. Typically they need armed police officers to separate their puny numbers from large mobs of counter-protesters.

Unfortunately for Donald Trump he has a number of online supporters who are openly racist. Really odious characters who express vile and disgusting stuff. The anonymity of the internet makes them brave.

But despite the noise they make their numbers are relatively small and their influence is negligible. I suspect many of them are just progressive trolls.

They certainly are not representative of white people.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

94 Responses to The Truth About White People

  1. Myiq2xu says:

  2. Underwhelmed says:

    Å thought:

    Obama was supposed to the post racial miracle worker, the healer, the uniter. Instead, he has divided everything and everyone he can and he’s done SFA for the AA community – in fact, in every single way imaginable they are now far worse off. Salon and all the rest of them, they either did not or could not or would not or couldn’t allow themselves to see that Obama has never been anything more than a fraud, an imposter, a huge and terrible and never funny joke. They were conned, they were flim flammed, they’ve been thrown under every bus that rolled down the street.

    But since they are incapable of admitting that, there is only one solution. It’s all whitey’s fault. The unacknowledged shame and humiliation and embarrassment of being smacked in the fact with their mistake, their credulity, is an intolerable burden, no matter the skin colour. With tragically few exceptions, they must double down. They must continue to prop up their catastrophic golden calf, insisting that Obama remains perfect, the saviour — and the fault for his failure to do anything but harm lies at the feet of anyone who disagreed with them, or him, or with the wrong skin colour.

    It can never be Obama’s fault. They can’t ever be asked to share any of the culpability for his unearned rise to power and the ruin he leaves behind.

    • 49erDweet says:

      What Underwhelmed said times a Gazillion!!!!

    • lyn says:

      Excellent observation!

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Barack Obama is the most racially divisive POTUS in history. There were other presidents who were racists and/or slaveowners, but none of them divided the country as much as Obama. I blame the current rise in white nationalism on the identity politics of Obama and the Democrats. It is a easily foreseeable backlash to the perception that white people are under attack.

      MLK dreamed of a colorblind society. Obama’s identity politics is MLK’s nightmare.

      • Underwhelmed says:

        Yes. And yes, btw, to your whole post. Sorry, I was percolating the thoughts and didn’t acknowledge it. This is also the reason for the anti-feminist backlash. At some point, innocent, non-culpable men draw their red line in the sand and say — screw you, bitches. I am done with being told I’m personally responsible for every failure in your life.

        It is a non-negotiable truth that there have been injustices wrt to women and non-whites in western society. But the human urge to get payback, the need to inflict tit-for-tat, can never be anything but utterly destructive. Acknowledge, forgive, close the door on the past and move on. Unless and until we do that, the ugliness just rolls around and around and around.

    • votermom says:

      I think you are onto something.

  3. 49erDweet says:

    Two decades ago, when I labored -and I did – for the great Golden State as an old white guy, I was repeatedly discriminated against for promotion because of my gender and race – for 14 times……legally……… in order to “even things out” for women and/or minorities. So what? It wasn’t “fair” but neither is life. You just keep plugging away. Eventually I became the minority appointee – in an office where every other supervisor was a female minority. LOL. Life is fun! And guess who all the customers thought was the ‘big boss’ in the office? LOL

    • Myiq2xu says:

      When I applied at Bakersfield PD in the 80’s I finished at #5 on the hiring list. The first 4 people were POC’s.

      They hired three.

      • 49erDweet says:

        BPD had a heavy hand in those days. We hired managers for the Southwest Bksfld and Main Bksfld offices during that period. Our main appointee was a former BPD Sgt. We had to tone him down.

  4. Myiq2xu says:

  5. Myiq2xu says:

  6. 1539days says:

    Slavery is an antiquated concept (except in a few parts of the world) and is almost unimaginable by people today. At the same time, people often left their homes to never see anyone they left behind again. Even the people abducted from Africa faced being enslaved by rival groups and taken away from their homes.

    Slavery by abduction became illegal in the US 20 years after the Constitution took effect. The slaves in America before the Civil War were the descendants of slaves and their families were in this country. Life was hard, but life was hard for everyone who wasn’t rich and powerful. So, while slavery is unimaginable, so are things like indentured servitude, dying because doctors were too far away or having major life decisions made for you. I’d love to see what people will find unimaginable about the 21st century in a couple centuries.

  7. 49erDweet says:

    And most folks think California is all vineyards, mountains, beach and desert. We also have mythical creatures. According to this @LegInsurrection Tweet:

  8. Myiq2xu says:

    It would be irresponsible not to speculate.

    Too drunk to walk unassisted?
    Leaky bladder?
    Lingering problems from head injury?

  9. CNN is gonna call SC for Hillary in 3 minutes. I know because they have a little counter on the screen foreshadowing it.

  10. mothy67, says:

    So Brat was watching Fuller House(Netfix update of Full House). Two digs at Trump. If a family sitcom made fun of cankles tere’d be a backlash. She is 9 and I find it repugnant to use a kid’s show as propoganda.

  11. Myiq2xu says:

  12. 1539days says:

    Feel the Bern. Hillary won.

  13. mothy67, says:

    I forget who it is here that is from Baltimore, but I see , to quote Belinda Carlise, Heaven is a place on earth. A bar that features BACON
    Named Bad Decisions.
    I would so be banned from a BACON bar.

    • dm says:

      I am, more or less. I know exactly where that is…on the outer edges of Fells Point, which is a collection of bars, restaurants, and markets. It’s changed, of course, through the years. But still a fun place to walk around, drink, indulge in some of Bertha’s Mussels and other assorted goodies. Now we can add bacon to the list.

      • Swannie says:

        DM, you should come visit me in Ocean City!!!

        • lyn says:

          One day we all will.😉

        • dm says:

          I would welcome any opportunity to get together and make new friends. I don’t get out much, permanently disabled, can no longer drive. So, we can see if we can work something out. I’m up in Harford County and I do have a lovely pool in my backyard, so nothing like some summer fun (and marguaritas) with like minded folks.

    • Swannie says:

      I am originally from Baltimore, but that place was not there when I was still living there. I loved going to Fells Point, especially the Fells Point Festival.

  14. Dora says:

  15. Mt.Laurel says:

    Things that make your head spin.

    Working at home and have marathon of Cabot Cove’s favorite death stalker playing for background noise. I heard some familiar voices and looked up ( David Doyle and Jan Smithers ) and thought I saw Bruce Jenner as Jan’s husband (and the primary a murder suspect) in the episode running right now. I checked to make sure I was right and the IMDB listing has been updated to say that Zack, a pro football player, was played by Caitlyn Jenner.

    • 1539days says:

      IMDB is a database, so a person can only exist as one name at a time. It probably had Caitlyn Jenner (as Bruce Jenner) under the episode.

      Now I have to go Netflix that episode because I have a mad crush on Bailey Quarters.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        Yep. Over to the right of the character name it indicates the original listing was “as Bruce Jenner”. Sudden Death is the episode.

        My crushes were Andy and Venus. Gary Sandy was on an earlier episode today – with even more hair than he had on WKRP. I think they all had distinctive voices on WKRP – the kind you hear and know who it is without even needing to see the screen.

  16. mothy67, says:

    My cousin has a daughter that is in her mid twenties and she has a 7 year old daughter. Her dad and I spent nearly everyday together as kids. We spent summers in the majestic mountains of West Virginia. We slept out on our grandmother’s porch and rode our bikes through the wee hours of the morning. We built shacks and smoked cigs and pot. Like every kid in the late 70’s. I went away to college he became a plumber. He had lots of kids.
    I give his grand daughter all of my brats clothes. I spend a lot of money on girl’s clothes and my friend’s are always sending me stuff. My kid’s figure reminds me of Laura Petrie from Dick Van Dyke. She has been dancing since three and hates jeans. She wears capris all the time, but I get sent expensive kid jeans. I give it all to my cousin’s daughter’s daughter often unworn with tags. I don’t get a thank you. I could sell her stuff at a consignment shop. Today I said I’d be home between three and four. She came a half an hour ago. No call. She has a great haircut and an iPhone 6s and proceeded to tell him how tough it was to be a single mother. She has a car and her nails done. I can remember eating jelly bread for dinner and my parents walking away from the table hungry so their kids ate. She supports Sanders because single mother’s need more help. I have had two big parties for my pup. Both times she cane and apologized for no gift. I could not care less about a gift. Kids parties run a pretty penny, but once you do it the money is spent. Never a gift. I honestly need no more junk. You have no idea how much I hate stuffed animals. I have hundreds stored in vacuum bags. Stop no more dumb gifts. I have dozens of Make Your Own Bracelet.
    Anyhow my I guess second cousin is on this Sander’s kick. She thinks gov’t owes her something because she has a child. I have no cell phone. My brat does and I use hers if I need a phone. I was alarmed by how much this girl thought she was entitled to. She is still looking at becoming a medical assistant by going through one of those schools that charges 40 thousand. I fight her say got to community college costs 1500 a semester. No she wants to go to a sham school where she can take out a big loan. Then she will get a job and join OWS.
    Never will I permit my best friend, the brat aka baby girl, to get sucked into that victomhood. Face it all the grossly indebted college students act like victims. Poor me I spent 100,000 on an education I could have spent 1,000 at a book store. Really read Beloved. So freudian. Sethe feels repressed pain when Paul D or whatever his name istouches her scars. Yeah I need to spend thousands of dollars to know that in order to feel joy you have to feel pain. I like Beloved but if we wanna go feminist literature I am Jane Eyre and Keri Hume’s The Bone People. I’d even take Desdamona and Linda Loman over anything by Alice Miller or that woman who wrote Bastard Out of Carolina. Linda Loman was tough as nails. She was a housewife. A woman married to her home. Not her husband. Every word she utters in the play is about maintanence of her home. Darning socks, refrigerator belts. His death she cried for their life not fir the empty man. Seinfeld called Biff Loman the biggest loser in literature. I do not see that. I see a man facing ugly truths about himself and his family. Courage is to look at what is wrong and respond. I love Arthur Miller but I think in academia it is misread. You cannot dissect according to tadays standards. Feminists attacks are absurd. She was a house wife. Married to a house. I could argue men where also oppressed. Imagine a society that limits you to one role. No one is Ward Cleaver.
    I just hate when I read Linda Loman and Desdamonna are figures of passive aggression. To me that’s a big no. Linda was actively married to her home and Desdamonna afforded the actions in Othello. Iago says our General’s daughter is now our general or something like that. Iago is a sociopath but his plans required Desdamonna. She is essential to the story. Feminists ripping the two characters as passive aggressive is for me humorous. Both are obvious in maintaining what they wanted. I can see a feminist being angry with a depiction of a woman, but all boys that become men were raised by women. Art can express that. I have alwats like Arthur Miller. Death of a Salesman moved me in 9th grade. I had a teacher trying to force me that it was strictly political. I still get in arguments to this day—- Biff Loman is a hero. A man not willing to live a lie to be honest no matter how much it stings as opposed to a lying father and a lying mother. Linda and Willy were empty shells. Biff was hurt, tortured but he had the most integrity.
    I see the “establishment rethugs” as the elder Loman’s. Perpetual a lie and extinguish truth.

  17. Venus says:

    Must read by Peggy Noonan:


    This is a terrible feature of our age—that we are governed by protected people who don’t seem to care that much about their unprotected fellow citizens.

    And a country really can’t continue this way.

    In wise governments the top is attentive to the realities of the lives of normal people, and careful about their anxieties. That’s more or less how America used to be. There didn’t seem to be so much distance between the top and the bottom.

    Now is seems the attitude of the top half is: You’re on your own. Get with the program, little racist.

    Seriously, read the whole thing.

    • lyn says:

      Noonan speaks the truth.

    • Underwhelmed says:

      Brilliant piece, isn’t it? I’m starting to think maybe, just maybe, we really have reached the tipping point.

      • lyn says:

        I don’t know. The Trump haters are everywhere. I was googling military support for Trump and came across the SC primary results where Trump beat all the others with 35 percent of the military vote. This was at the end of the HuffPoop article:
        “Editor’s note: Donald Trump is a serial liar, rampant xenophobe, racist, misogynist, birther and bully who has repeatedly pledged to ban all Muslims — 1.6 billion members of an entire religion — from entering the U.S.”
        I recently left a FB political group because some members were obsessed with Trump hate. They couldn’t look at an article such as Noonan’s objectively because of that hate. I made a comment that the working class supported him, and the response was that Trump wasn’t working class so how could he relate to them.

  18. Melissa Harris-Perry fades to black as MSNBC seeks appeal change.

    Money Quote:

    At the same time, MSNBC has been undergoing a radical brand transplant, replacing left-leaning opinion shows with more middle-of-the-road newscasts. Progressives feel like the liberal MSNBC they loved is fading away.

    Also known as “the tell”.

    • lyn says:

      Poor baby progs.

    • Preference cascade, hopefully. The network sees the wave coming.

    • 1539days says:

      MSNBC will celebrate 20 years in the summer. Their first story was about Bill Clinton beating Bob Dole by 24 points in an NBC poll. They’ve wavered over the years, trying to be FOX Jr. around 2002. Interestingly, Mika’s show was stealth cancelled in 2000 during the big ballot battle of Bush v. Gore.

      I think news networks are in trouble and viscerally annoying talking heads make it difficult to gather a viewing base that’s not dedicated to one network.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        MSNBC got its start as an anti-Clinton network pimping the Lewinsky scandal. They caught a wave when they became the antiwar/anti-Bush network in the mid-00’s. That wave peaked in 2008 and it’s been downhill ever since.

    • Swannie says:

      Obama is going away, out with the old in with the new. MHP isn’t relevant anymore

  19. lyn says:

    It’s still fine art, eh?

    • leslie says:

      Ah, but did Rubama’s wife write policy to refuse medical services/treatment to poor black folk like Michelle Obama did?
      Asking for a friend…


  21. Old 1990 Playboy inteview with Trump. I did not know his older brother died very young of alcohol. Might explain his teetotalism. But if you read this, he was fairly nationalist even as a Democrat. Because Dems were allowed to be, back then.

    • mothy67, says:

      It’s in THe Art of the Deal. His brother drank himself to death. Trump never attacks him The book is pretty straight forward. He openly writes about his unapologetic freindship with Roy Cohn in his early years.
      One of the funniest things I have readis that Trump did not write his own books.

    • Dora says:

      I skimmed through it, but can’t find where the article calls him a democrat. If they did, they are lying.
      Trump’s official voting record released by NYC, shows he has been Repub since 1980

  22. mothy67, says:

    I am so proud!!!! My kid called from a sleepover and saidshe wanted to come home. She was not upset. Just said she wanted to come home. I told her I was proud and she didn’t have to tell me why she called but I was so happy thatcshe knows I am a phone call away if she ever feels likecshe needs me for any reason. I knew immediately when she called something bothered her. I figured tell her I am over joyed that she called. I will always be there. She’s a tough cookie. I wasn’going to push it. She asked if se could watch The Hunger Games. I thought no you are 9 but it felt like a test. I made her look up dystopian and define it in her own words. Then we watched. I was trying to explain it to her and she said you think president Snow is obama and everything is a manufactured tv show. What a brat. We got to the point where the young black girl dies. She said are you kidding me she get’s shot in the heart and keeps talking. I laughed and hugged her and then she told me the girls were looking at porn and she had to leave. I said I trust you. You have a phone, a tablet, a desktop, and a laptop do I need to be concerned. I moniter her online activities
    But I have no parental controls. I trust her but she knows I moniter. I said you want this fine I’ll get it but I will check. She is only 9. I have yet to tell her I’m gay. I think someone told her because she stopped asking why I’m not married. Which by the way I find highly offensive. My choice not some militant homosexual telling me my relationship with a child is a statement. Fuck off I represent no one. I am against queer people making babies. I believe a gay person can give love to a child but I have misgiving about being gay and making a child. My mind I cannot see how you say gay is natural and then say I want to make a baby. People take great offense to me. I don’t give a flying fuck. I’m an asshole. Who cares? Ishould be so insignificant in everyones life. Please tell me why a lesbian couple or a gay male couple gives a rats ass if I think man and woman make child. I think everyday about my brat. I believe in her. I do not need anyone telling me its okay to be a gay dad figure. She is not the product of my sperm but good god 91/2 years I’ve been subjected to her. She never stops talking. Ever. No idea how she became so long winded. God knows I do not blabber.

  23. threewickets says:

    Latest schism seems to be developing between PNAC neocons and Trump base conservatives. Would not have predicted this. Robert Kagan (and others on my feeds) are saying Hillary before Trump. WTF. Murdoch and Fox will need to decide which way they go. They rely on ratings so they will go with the polls, but who knows. Stuck between a Trump and a hard place. The political world is turning over twice daily.

    So what to do now? The Republicans’ creation will soon be let loose on the land, leaving to others the job the party failed to carry out. For this former Republican, and perhaps for others, the only choice will be to vote for Hillary Clinton. The party cannot be saved, but the country still can be.

    • The neocons are trying their damnedest to lead the GOP away from Trump. They had Rubio all groomed and ready to go for Syria and beyond!

      • mothy67, says:

        So funny Diamond & Silk heard Rubio say google Donald Trump so they googled Narco Rubio and asked for an apology to the gay communitee for his gay life style. Comments everywhere about Rubio being gay.. I Am gay but I find it so funny. He went to foam parties, dancedin briefs, got arrested in a gay park.
        I could not care less but those two black women are so funny. He said google Trump they googled Rubio and got gay stories. So funny because that was not his intent. No one can believe Lindsay Grahsm is straight. I despise him because he is an asshole. Old nast queen. Yeah that too.

    • mothy67, says:

      Formelyformer, wmcb, Hillary4texas
      I am in awe of your straight from the hip. Not to insult. I beg you do not take this the wrong way. When I was a kid I fell in love with the New York Sunday Time’s puzzle. No internet back then. I could figure out the theme but I was 11 lots of stuff was lost on me. A bitter vetch was always lost on me. No idea it was a legume. I thought as a kid it was a stunning woman in a grey suit smoking a cigarette. Eve Harrington gro w n bored. Bitter vetch I thougt was polite for bitch. I treasure your style of a near back handed compliment. Your sarcasm can be vague denying any response. I tip my hat to you.

  24. Dora says:

  25. Dora says:

  26. Dora says:

    Be aware of this. 😦


    • DandyTIger says:

      Then he’ll start actually spending money. But I think it’s a bit too late. Doubt even a full on effort like that would change the vote on Tuesday. Then it will be too late.

    • Lulu says:

      One will buck it for money. Whoever becomes the Trump network will get really rich. It will be CNN or CNBC is my guess. Again for the bucks. They are businesses. And they are all ratting each other out because no one wants to loose their job because the public stops watching them.

      • leslie says:

        When I’m home during the week, I usually have MSNBC on in the background. I guess I’m too lazy to turn off the tv after MJoe. They have Trump on almost non-stop on some days. In fact, there have been days when I actually have to check to see what station I have on. (I don’t actually watch, but I am fully aware of when Trump is on or the focus.)

    • leslie says:

      I saw some of that this morning on MTP. Not surprising, but it was noticeable.

  27. elliesmom says:

    An interesting look at the prevalence of “hate crimes” in the USA. Most hate crimes are directed at Jews, but even Jews are 5 more times likely to accidentally kill themselves than to be a victim of a hate crime.

    • This idea that we are always on the verge of Jim Crow or Hitler again in this country is just silly. Americans are pissed about immigration and and the constant “Shut up, rayciss!” ridiculousness used as a poltical weapon. But are by and large not dumb bigots. Not by a long shot.

  28. Dora says:

    Love it! 🙂

  29. DandyTIger says:

    Aaaaaand, we’re done:

Comments are closed.