Oscar Open Thread

I’m not watching, because Zombies. But y’all have fun with #OscarSoWhite. May the odds be ever on your favor for those in Venus’ Oscar Pool!

Maggie Smith The Bird

About Lola-in-a-Basket

Bitch, please.
This entry was posted in clusterfucks, Grievance Industry, Open Thread, Oscars 2016. Bookmark the permalink.

109 Responses to Oscar Open Thread

  1. I’m just gonna put this out there: Ivanka Trump will be 35 this October, old enough to be VP. I really like her.

  2. leslie says:

    I’m going to watch #OscarsSoWhite … Downton Abbey is in reruns this weekend. I guess even PBS doesn’t want to compete with the Oscars.😀

    • lyn says:

      I was hoping for the last DA episode tonight. I’ll have the Oscars on, but I won’t be glued to the screen.

    • Right? March 6th for the Series Finale on DA. I haven’t actually completed the last episode yet (fell asleep mid-episode) so I’m fine with it. But I’m not missing #TWD for nothing. Glad they decided to compete with Oscars.

  3. Kevin Hart is both short and annoying as fuck. That is all.

  4. It’s hilarious to watch them try to counter #OscarSoWhite with a 90% black red carpet / pre-show crew & Chris Rock as host. I betcha there will be homages to tons of black movies and actors throughout, too.

  5. DeniseVB says:

    LOL !

  6. Myiq2xu says:

    The opening monologue was pretty good.

  7. Myiq2xu says:

    Charlize is rocking the sideboob.

  8. dm says:

    I entered the pool not having seen one movie…I went with Mad Max every opportunity, cause hey, cool yeah? Also, I had the major hots for the original Mad Max, you know, when he was really good looking and not nearly so creepy.

  9. Myiq2xu says:

  10. smangala says:

    I’m watching the zombies too on the walking dead🙂

  11. Myiq2xu says:

    Damn, I missed one.

  12. Myiq2xu says:

    That girl scout cookie thing went over like a pregnant pole vaulter.

  13. Swannie says:

    The gowns are amazing this year, more hits than misses, and some are just breathtaking.

  14. FormerlyFormer says:

    Sorry to interrupt the Oscar thread, but just had a wild and crazy thought cross my mind (because almost any sort of exploding head scenario seems at least remotely possible now):

    What if Trump picked Jim Webb for VP? There would not be enough popcorn in all the world. Probably never happen, but the very idea made me LOL.

    • I think that’s a loser. I like Jim, but Trump needs someone much more special. Jim is good for a couple of exploding heads, and that’s about it.

      • FormerlyFormer says:

        Yeah, probably so. But as the clown says, it’s always irresponsible not to speculate.🙂

      • Somebody says:

        Trump has said he’s going to pick an insider for VP, someone that can help him work with Congress. I don’t think Webb played well with the others. I have no earthly idea who the VP pick will be, but apparently it will be an “insider”. I just hope it’s not too much of an insider……like say a Mitch McConnell……ROFLMAO as if that would ever happen. Point being sure pick somebody that knows their way around, but don’t pick a crap weasel, don’t pick some establishment shill.

        • lyn says:

          Maybe it would be Sessions. He’s still the junior senator from Alabama.

          • Somebody says:

            Sessions definitely knows his way around Congress. Picking Session should appease the conservative wing of the party, but not the establishment. I think Sessions would be a great pick, but if you take Sessions out of the Senate who is going to sponsor bills???

    • DeniseVB says:

      The Unity Ticket🙂

  15. DeniseVB says:

    #OscarsSoZZZzzz. Can’t stay awa

  16. Myiq2xu says:

    It all comes down to Best Picture. There won’t be any tie.

  17. Myiq2xu says:

    Correction: if the Best Picture is something other than Spotlight or The Revenant, I will tie with Leslie, and she will win the tie breaker.

  18. DandyTIger says:

    Yeah, apparently I’m not good at the Hollywood game.🙂

  19. leslie says:

    I’d like to thank the academy and Netflix for making this possible.😉

  20. DandyTIger says:

    Random silliness:

  21. leslie says:

    Thank you, Venus. It was fun.

  22. Dora says:

    I didn’t see any of the movies and I didn’t watch the show, but I’m glad that Leonardo DiCaprio won his Oscar. He is a fine actor and IMO he deserved an award since “Aviator”. That’s my 2 cents worth. 🙂

  23. votermom says:

  24. mothy67, says:

    Thoughts on who will endorse Trump today?
    Marshmallow Romney just makes the GOPe look really sad. Why don’t politicians check their expiration dates. Like Skelator telling a vet to shut up. Bill Clinton looks like an angry ghost. Eat a fucking bacon cheese burger dude. Shame all these legends take a bullet for the parties.
    I am too young for Chappa Quidditch or whatever but I grew up on Kennedy mythology. My grandmother had a pic of JFK at the foot of her stairs. I bought it all until 2008. I never knew about a sexually adventurous daughter was lobotomized to spare the family name. Most disgusting thing I ever read. I liked Bill until recently. He was an inspiration. Now he’s an old nasty man. The mask has slipped. Hillary writes in Living History about how she was denied HS prez by a boy. How about you have the personality of toe cheese. The more you see her the less you like.

    • elliesmom says:

      My mom was completely uninterested in politics, but when Ted Kennedy came up for re-election after Mary Jo drowned, she took a black marker to the Kennedy yard sign my dad had put on our lawn and wrote “Murderer” across it. The sign came down, and it was never spoken of.

  25. Dora says:

  26. Jadzia says:

    I can’t even with the Bernie Sanders contingent anymore. (Yes, this is because I was stupid enough to read the comments at LGM again.) It is IMPOSSIBLE to have any kind of conversation in which one takes any position other than “Yes, Bernie is a god among men” without a dogpile taking place. I am at the point at which I am completely turned off, and it is 100% because of his supporters. No offense to anybody here who plans to vote in a Democratic primary, because everybody here is impeccably behaved. Well, maybe not impeccably behaved, but at least we’re not assholes.

    • mothy67, says:

      I’m an asshole.

    • mothy67, says:

      Jadzia in the Morning sounds like an O’Neal play. I love reading Jadzia in the morning. I often start my day reading backwards and many times at 6 am you’re all there is.

      • elliesmom says:

        After a post has been up for while, I read the comments backwards, too. It can be very funny sometimes. Like this morning.😉

        • mothy67, says:

          I got up at 4 am. . Wlking Dead was boring so I follwed a few things from drudge. In comments I kept seeing a guy they responded to everything with “ARe you masturbating or something?”. He used different names on different sites and seemed to be going after Hillary. No argument just that statement. I found it so funny. Really sophmoruc humor but it negates the entire argument above it. Just so stupid it mirrors the unsupportable defense of cankles.

      • Jadzia says:

        You’re on the East Coast, right? There’s 6 hours between us.

  27. votermom says:

    Btw, I’d like to congratulate myself for doing so well on the Oscar pool considering that they were mostly random guesses.😉

  28. DeniseVB says:

    Congratulations leslie !!!!

  29. mothy67, says:

    Oh Lordy I just found out I am a miserable misogynist on facebook. Seems the only reason I can have for not supporting Hillary is because she has a vagina.
    My response “Are you masturbating”

  30. mothy67, says:

    How do I post a video here from my cloud?

  31. mothy67, says:

    My brat is so funny before school she was working on apower point demonstration for her September birthday. I am under entertainment. How rude.

  32. lyn says:

    Did “I need a break” break wordpress?

Comments are closed.