A Billionaire Man Of The People?


Victor Davis Hanson:

No matter how successful, how wealthy, or how well-educated, every presidential candidate poses — sometimes accurately, sometimes through exaggeration — as a modern version of salt-of-the-earth Abraham Lincoln, the rail-splitter born in a log cabin. Apparently, populist America always wants a man-of-the-people candidate who can relate to everyday folks — and who doesn’t think he or she is any better than the rest of us. But a log-cabin upbringing has little significance when most 21st-century candidates and their spouses are far wealthier and far more privileged than 99 percent of the country.


All of which brings us to the flamboyant Donald Trump, who so far has turned the log-cabin motif on its head. Unlike this year’s other presidential candidates, not even a fabulist such as Trump can claim that he is an up-from-the bootstraps, self-made man whose dad was a bartender or mailman.

Trump may have inherited more than $40 million from his real-estate-magnate father, but he has made no apologies. Instead, Trump inflates his net worth to more than $10 billion. He brags about his moneymaking and his “tremendous” and “fantastic” real-estate holdings and various companies. Far from being ashamed of his opulent upbringing, Trump wallows in it.

Trump’s logo has been emblazoned on everything from skyscrapers and golf courses to ties and vodka. His crass message is something like, “I was born rich and then got even richer — and now I want to make you as rich as I am.”

So how does Trump pull off his populist act without sounding like a pampered rich kid? Certainly not in patrician fashion like Franklin D. Roosevelt or John F. Kennedy. Instead, Trump boasts that money is the only measuring stick of successful people — apparently, presidents included. Rich guys are “winners”; the rest are “losers.” Trump’s accent is Brooklynese, not Fifth Avenue.

His vocabulary is street-crude. His behavior is uncouth. His finger-pointing rants and attacks turn debates into brawls. He is certainly no fussy, windsurfing multimillionaire like John Kerry. Trump tells voters that he knows politicians are corrupt because as a New York businessman, he knew how to corrupt all of them.

Trump is not a banker, techie, or Wall Street investor, but a wheeler-dealer builder who talks more like a New York cabbie or street hustler.

For the first time in recent memory, a candidate is neither trying to convince us that he grew up poor, nor that he is an elegant aristocrat who feels a sense of noblesse oblige.

When you look at the classic American archetypes like the Frontiersman, the Cowboy, the rags-to-riches Self-Made Bazillionaire, they all have a quality of roughness – crude, uncouth, and lacking in refinement. They are not displaced aristocrats, they are just common folk of heroic stature.

Yes, Donald Trump was born filthy rich. But he doesn’t act like it. He comes across like a street kid who, with luck and hard work, made it big. But he doesn’t put on airs. He’s still Donnie from the block.

The conventional wisdom (among the pseudo-elites) is that he is a con-man and his supporters are his marks. The keep insisting that when people finally learn the TRUTH about Donald Trump they will abandon him. So they tell us how terrible he is and how stupid we are for supporting him.

When that doesn’t work they tell us again. And again. And again.

Mitt Romney gave a “major” speech today. The topic? What a bad person Donald Trump is. He didn’t have anything new, just the same old, same old.

They just don’t get it.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

168 Responses to A Billionaire Man Of The People?

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    What is really funny is they keep saying that they have a whole bunch of secret dirt on Trump and they are just waiting until he is the nominee to dump it on us.

    Donald Trump has been tabloid fodder for 40 years. He has been divorced several times. The man has no secrets left.

  2. Dora says:

  3. Myiq2xu says:

    One of my other favorites is “He’s lying about his net worth. He’s not really worth $10 billion!”

    Does it really matter how many billions he is worth?

  4. 49erDweet says:

    Mittens unwittingly accelerated the departure of millions from the GOP today. Thanks, Milt! You stink, too! Dumb!

    • votermom says:

      Been seeing a lot of Cruz supporters saying today that if Trump is the nominee, Mitt just convinced them to vote for him rather than stay home.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Debate should be interesting tonight since the Trump speech pretty much knocked everything off Megyn’s table. Also, Trump will not attack unless fired on first. I hope the boys behave tonight. Kasich may be the new DJT ally on the stage, since positions in the Trump cabinet look like a viable goal. Cruz could be a serious VP pick, as well as a lifetime appointment at SCOTUS. Rubio has won one state, Somalia, so hope he puts his Shecky act to rest tonight.

        Then again, if the Rubio screamer is there tonight, I may turn it off.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          Trump knows what he’s getting into. If he can’t handle being grilled by MK he shouldn’t be POTUS.

          If it gets too one-sided DT should consider walking out.

        • lyn says:

          The Bobbsey Boys need each other to attack The Donald. Will Le Petit Con have to guts to tell his small penis joke in front of Trump? I doubt it.

  5. Dora says:

  6. Myiq2xu says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Next up, Bob Dole? Or did he endorse Trump? McCain was worse than Romney as a candidate especially his staffs handling of Sarah.

  7. westcoaster says:

    Palin weighs in: “Don’t take the bait, Mr. Trump. It’s not about you. It’s about us. And we’ve got your back.”
    “Your speech was so silly and contradictory it confirmed the reasons Trump received tens of thousands more votes than you did in your own home state that you governed.”

  8. votermom says:

    Trump already deporting two protesters from his rally. LOL

  9. taw46 says:

    Trump just called Mitt a choke artist, heh heh.

    • taw46 says:

      I think he has said it about 6 times now, haha.

      • votermom says:

        Choke artist + Mitt, get on your knees = gutter!😀

        • taw46 says:

          Yes, all the GOPe on Twitter are highly offended, I tell you, HIGHLY, about the “on your knees” remark. It is bj, not begging, doncha know. The vulgarian, as they run out screaming and pulling their hair. Lol.

          • votermom says:

            Mitt deserves it after implying that Trump had no right to have sex while McCain was in prison camp.

          • elliesmom says:

            I always get a kick out of people who hear something that can be taken two ways. They put the most salacious connotation on it themselves, and then accuse the person who said it of being vulgar. The person speaking can deny it’s what they meant, but the person hearing what they want to believe the person said can’t deny it’s the way they think.

  10. Myself and hubs both literally cracked the hell up at the ‘He’d have gotten on his knees” line about Mitt. LOUD GUFFAWS.

  11. DeniseVB says:

    The protesters are annoying as hell for this Maine rally. Trump’s getting a lot of practice using his “not too mean, not too nice” voice today. Heh.

  12. DeniseVB says:

    Kinda monitoring the cpac feeds today, this was funny. McCain has a primary challenger and her peeps are pumped:

  13. lyn says:

    Why are the GOP female governors endorsing the small penis guy?

  14. lyn says:

    For Mittens

  15. DeniseVB says:

    Oh look, one of the NRO guys is making a funny at cpac. Wonder if they have cardboard Hillary there too?

  16. helenk3 says:

    i will never be a trump fan. I good conscience I could not vote for him.
    from the first, every time i see or hear him, the old coasters song Charlie Brown is my first thought. now i will be very catty and say although his wife is a very attractive woman, she had really cold eyes.
    this will be my only comment on trump during the election process. I want to remain friends will all of you and I will respect your right to choose who to vote for.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      This is a place where people can agreeably disagree. That is the only real litmus test for admission. Everyone who comes here is given the presumption of good character.

    • taw46 says:

      For me this is not about Trump, anymore than 2008 was about Hillary. It is about a corrupt system that ignores We The People. It is about a system that rips off the country and her citizens. A peaceful revolution as someone called it. And yes, willing to accept Trump as President, if it overthrows that corrupt system.

    • taw46 says:

      Helen, the reason I like it here is because people do not attack one another, they are not vicious or mean. They all respect each other and their opinions.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        I would hate to see a place where people behaved in real life like they do online.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Probably why I skipped CPAC. Looking at the panels and speakers (other than the candidates) I just saw a flurry of the NRO, Redstate and other HateTwitter crowd. As of last Monday they still had tickets available and these things sellout months in advance.

          I haven’t even tuned into Cspan today, though Donald is scheduled to speak tomorrow, I have a bad feeling about the reception he’ll receive, he’s going into a snake pit.

    • Somebody says:

      Helen, your vote is yours and nobody here is going to “unfriend” you for your opinion or beliefs regarding Trump. There are Cruz supporters here too and probably other candidates.

      I am very interested in your opinion of this piling on from the establishment and media. Especially since your not a Trump supporter how do you see this? Do you find it as unbelievable or offensive as most of us do?

      • helenk3 says:

        I do not trust the “old Guard Republicans any more than I trust the dems. Most have been too long at the fair. I still believe ‘ Country before Party Always”. One of the reasons that I like Cruz is that the “old Guard Republicans” do not like him. that and his flilabuster against obamacare. We do need a good DC cleanout.
        my biggest fear is that trump is an agent being used to cause the republicans to be in disarray and for Hillary to slide right on in. Rubio is the kid that the grown ups tell what to do and he just follows orders. Carson is not the right person at this time. Christi is lucky he does not get lynched by the people of south Jersey. Kasicik is a nice man but not a strong man. Jeb was never in the running. Cruz is the strongest of the bunch in my opinion

      • helenk3 says:

        we do not seem to have “freedom of the press” anymore. they gave up that right when it became ok for the powers to be started giving them their talking points.
        The establishment republicans see trump as a white backtrack who would not be controlled. In one way that would be a good thing. but trump will always put he and his ego first. That is not good for the country

    • lyn says:

      All of the above.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I live in Maryland and have never been party affiliated so unless they open the primaries this year, I will not vote until the general election and well – Maryland tends to circle D big time because of the DC and Baltimore metro areas so my vote is usually washed away in a sea of koolaid.

      I have not figured out who I will vote for at this stage. Just know it would not be any Clinton or Sanders or Rubio (or Bush but I have always suspected that GW was working tp burst that over inflated balloon from the other side of the street behind the scenes). I like Carson but think he would be better serving in another capacity.

      But I am enjoying this cycle more than the last two. Trump had started out a couple times previously and backed out. They thought he would do the same this time. I think he was testing the waters and waiting for the best opportunity.

    • dm says:

      I too am a Cruz supporter, although I don’t honestly see him winning. But I am open to Trump, which was what I tried to say on NoQuarter the other day – to a most unappreciative group. Okay…I don’t post much anywhere, that’s fine. But the kind of reception I got there was quite similar to one I received on a Hillary blog. People here are not locked into any one candidate, and my comments are received with vitriol. I’m not one to go on and on about it. But your posts are always interesting, you post great links, and I for one, will always welcome another perspective – especially one given so respectfully.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Mhy opinion of Cruz has gone down in recent weeks but I would still vote for him. I just expect Trump to lock it up before I get to vote.

        If Trump wins fair and square but they steal the nomination and give it to someone else then I will not ever vote for a GOP candidate again.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I will support any R- candidate that wins fair and square, but this GOPe cycle stinks like the Dems of 2008, when HRC was leading and being accused of standing in the way of a messiah, black history and all that sh*t.

      • I’d still rather have Cruz as president before Trump (despite my getting pissed at him of late). I just don’t see it happening.

        Trump is nowhere near my ideal candidate. Not even close. I see him as a useful tool to break the moribund, out-of-touch GOP establishment.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          At first I didn’t take Trump seriously. Then I took him seriously but figured he would eventually flame out. At some point I came to the conclusion that he was probably gonna win the whole enchilada.

          That’s when I started to relax and enjoy the show.

          • lyn says:

            I think Trump was surprised at his reception early on. At one rally, he said he didn’t expect to do well until the mid-primaries.

      • 1539days says:

        If it’s Trump vs. Hillary, I’m reminded about that “pull the trigger” line Klown uses.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      Helen we will always love you. ❤

    • DeniseVB says:

      There’s lots of other stuff we can talk about, I always enjoy your news posts and photos of beautiful things. I think most of us are just thrilled there’s finally a candidate who’s smacking the crap out of the PC rules, the establishment, the media, the donor class with joy and no remorse. It’s fun to watch.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Other than the candidates the people here agree on most stuff. We all want the same basic things – freedom, equality, prosperity, peace, etc.

    • votermom says:

      I agree about Melania’ s eyes. She looks like she could cut you if you crossed her. These Eastern European women…😉

      • Myiq2xu says:

        There is something special about being with a beautiful woman who might kill you. The danger adds spice to the relationship.

        It’s kinda like owning a pet dragon.

      • DeniseVB says:

        After watching Melania and Greta last night, I bet Donald sleeps with one eye open, LOL, “no, we never fight”. Greta was shocked “never?” Mel’s eyes “never”.

      • Jadzia says:

        She seems so different from his first two wives. That said, it’s powerful stuff to have an immigrant (even one with shark eyes) get up and say hey, how about we obey the immigration law?

        I guess my immigration experience has made me a real hawk on this issue. I came here as a guest and I can’t imagine just saying screw your rules.

        • votermom says:

          As an immigrant, I totally agree with you, Jadzia.

          Btw, that book you recommended, is it sad?

          • Jadzia says:

            Well, it’s about an Indian man in the UP and his process of dying, but I actually do not think it is sad.

          • Jadzia says:

            I am actually nose-deep in the same author’s collection of (very long) novellas, Brown Dog, which involves a protagonist who is basically the same person (exact same voice) as the main character of the other book, but the story is much funnier (if you read it, the bar-fight scene had me pretty much rolling on the floor) and so far there’s no protracted death, so maybe that one would be better!

    • No problem, Helen. I fully understand why some can’t vote for him. Hang around.

  17. DeniseVB says:

    More cpac fun with the NRO team😉

  18. Dora says:


  19. Dora says:

  20. foxyladi14 says:

    respond to Mitt. 😀

  21. foxyladi14 says:


  22. swanspirit says:

    Mitt Romney is the past, Trump is the future.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Like Hillary, Mitt’s past his expiration date. Didn’t Mitt say last spring he wasn’t running in ’16 because voters wanted a “new car smell” ? Well that’s not Hills or the Bern. MR’s DJT is a poopy head speech today was a bummer. I know he was on Team Jeb! I must have missed who he was endorsing.

  23. mothy67, says:

    My favorite thing about progressives is the futile attempts to paint anyone that disagrees as stupid. I misquote but I’d never want to be a part of a club that would have me. Progressives send their kids to expensive schools run by Quakers. They are just as fucked up as poor people. They belttle the common folk relentlessly. The powers that be despise joe average. I have found FOX news to be an insult. Trying to berate me into acceptingwhat they confer is best.
    I saw a true miracle. My dad had given up on life because he got fired from a job he only took to fight for his great grand daughter. He was ashen. His will to live had evaporated. I said to my little girl ask pap to take you swimming. He came back to life because he found out he is needed. He is now at the gym. Last night for spelling my dad said a word my brat typed it. They did homework for two hours. My father is a poor guy. He says worsh. Where at. Subject verb agreement is lost on him. Smoked unfilterd Pall Malls for decades. He often walked to work because we had no car. He only has Social Security as taking care of his spawn meant more than retirement. He was born in 1942 he took a job ushering railroad workers for 8 dollars an hour so he could protect a kid. I look at my dad and see him with brat and I am overwhelmed.I resent the idiots that think poverty equals stupidity. I have seen people cry over a painting but would disregard my dad over poor grammer.
    I am most offended by pandering. It’s like you are screaming in my face I am stupid. Who is this Reince Penis guy that takes every oppurtunity to insult me. The GOPe has gone full on offensive. Why not wonder why Trump resonates. I am pro life and I fully support traditional marriage. I understand common law and that nola precedent stuff. Abortion and gay marrige are not going away. There is no right to privacy in the Constitution butits now a part of legal landscape. I don’t care can we just be rational. How often is a woman raped but doesn’t know until 3rd trimester? I think a gay couple deserves every tax benefit a straight couple gets. Yet I think best place for a kid is with a mom and dad. I am a gay man thats been raising a child. I get extremes there are times when thingschave to be done differently. My nephew knocks out his girlfreinds front teeth when she doe not obey. Yeah sure I’m gonna let him raise a kid.j

  24. Everyone go read this. Ace utterly nails it – again.

  25. Myiq2xu says:

    I❤ Ace:

    Why do no major GOP officials or high partisans have any kind of moral authority and popularity sufficient to denounce Trump?

    The answer is simple: Because rather than incorporating outsiders into their movement — coopting them, forging tactical alliances with give-and-take – the Establishment has instead pursued a strategy of simply squelching such persons and closing them off from any position of influence completely.

    Let's look at the Freedom Caucus. A group of 40 Representatives which has a lot of credibility with Trump voters (I assume) due to their outsider view of politics and (generally) anti-amnesty agenda.

    Sure would be a good thing if Paul Ryan could call upon them now to urge voters to abandon Trump.

    But Ryan can't do that. Because the establishment has spent years making fun of them, calling them stupid and crazy, etc. Freezing them out of all positions of power. Hell, Boehner actually had a plan to strip them of what few committee postings they had. (He didn't go through with it.)

    Instead of co-opting this force, they instead ran liberal SJW exclusion/ostracism games on them.

    Not to mention the constant denigration of Limabaugh and Levin as the "Entertainment Wing." Hey, maybe that's why they're not exactly rushing to bail your asses out of this one, guys.

    Is this a Big Tent party, or is this a party an exclusive little cocktail party for a certain breed of government-friendly, liberal-assumption-conceding, Upwardly Mobile Middle Class Professional (or Aspriational) Country-Club types?

    And yeah, let me once again renew my observation that the same people saying that Trump is the New Hitler are still unwilling to even consider rallying behind Cruz, because Cruz is Not Quite Our Class, Dear.

    He's Annoying and Loves Jesus, so, obviously, he won't do.

    If you spend four years disappointing members of your would-be coalition, promising the heavens and delivering.. the Ex-Im Bank, then another two years actively pounding them down into nothing, you're going to learn, at a time most inconvenient to you, that it really would have been far better to seek accommodation with a somewhat different (but still very similar) bunch of people, instead of fighting to keep All the Toys for All the Time.

    As Princess Leia wisely observed, the tighter you clench your fist, the more systems will slip through your fingers.

    You share power with people who you need as allies. You do not seek to deny them every single bit of influence in the decision-making apparatus but then demand they rush to your aid when you've found you've shriveled the party into a pale, sickly thing, bent and stupid from inbreeding.

    A herd that is genetically monoculture is easily wiped out by a change in climate. Herds that survive tough times are genetically diverse.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      The Democrat’s problem is that they are a coalition of separate identity groups. That’s good if you happen to be one of the favored groups. That’s not so good if you happen to be in a disfavored group, like working class white male heterosexuals.

    • angienc says:

      The problem I have with Ace is that he’s become a full one Cruz supporter — which means he’s blinded to the fact that Cruz is too much of an idealogue to ever win a GE.

      That’s just the truth — Cruz is as much an idealogue as Obama — and we’ve had 7+ years of a guy who can’t even get along with his own party running things.

      Cruz is a dud and the ONLY reason he’s still around is because of Trump. IF the GOPe was ever successful in getting Trump out it would take them less than 24 hours to destroy Cruz.

      But Ace, as all Cruz supporters, are too obtuse to realize that Cruz could never withstand the attacks that Trump has.

      It’s Trump or GOPe — always has been. The only thing that changes is the “face” of GOPe.

  26. jennifer lyn says:

    I vote mothy for king or prez. whichever works for me. and helen my one shout out to you is close your eyes and listen to these people speak. eyes shut closed. my speech com. prof. once told me to do this it is like a truth serum. listen with your eyes closed and then perhaps more truth will come to you. I thought Trump was a pretender until I heard him at the first debate. I had to close my eyes. And then I knew. People can change, can adapt, can grow and can surprise the heck out of you. Trump has done all of those things and unlike pretenders clinging to what was he is right now the leader we need. in my humble opinion.

  27. Dora says:

    After watching his speech today, I told Hubby – not for the first time – that Trump talks to the people as if he is in a room full of friends. It really does feel that way to me. Then I read this. 🙂

    Trump Makes You Feel You’re Part Of An Exclusive Club

    Donald Trump just finished up a speech in Maine, just hours after Mitt Romney attacked him in his much-anticipated Salt Lake City talk.

    Frankly, I was captivated.


  28. mothy67, says:

    My kid becomes devastated if you ask about race. She cries and thinks its rude to ask. Never has she ever heard a word even slightly dismissive. I honestly lack the energy to hate any group. My cousin Johnnie uses the n word all the time. He has two black daughters. I disagree with his world view and how emotes but I do not believe he is racist. I think he says what he feels. We grew up together. I am just as rude. I simply have a larger vocabulary. N word C word F word. I find it funny when people almost die hearing a few letters strung together. I don’t nor have felt the need to call anyone a c word. I think extreme reaction to a word is dumb, but I respect others so I write c word.
    I call my brat awful names. I tell her its because she is insignificant and I cab’t recall her name. She tends to babble endlessly. Never stops talking one day we were in the grocery store i called her pup. I always call her pup. This woman lost her mind on me telling me I was offensive ruining her self image blah blah blah. I make a point of letting sunset know I believe in her. I support her. I readily admit she gets on my nerves. I tell her she annoys me. I think I am doing a decent job. . Pup never hesitates to voice her opinion. Much to my chagrin. Last night we were looking for her library books to return. I found a brand new copy of Catcher in the Rye in her room. I love the book but Holden Caulfied was fucked up. She can read it in a few years. Ideally we could chat. Maybe not. Nine is too young for Salinger. Love or hate the book it is laden with contoversy and sexuality. You don’t give it to a kid. Why would someone do that. Put it in her room? I hate minecraft but kids are obsessed. I would prefer it did not exist but I’m not going to bar it. Every hour she reads i give 30 minutes online. I love books. I cannot force her to be me. I would never want her to be like me. The written word was an escape for me. I ran away to books. My brat being content here and nowis preferable to her becoming a cat lady. She hopefully will alwayscengage in reading. My absolute prayer is that I give her that. I read aloud every page of every Harry Potter book. What an amazing journey. I think those books are brilliant. They captivate children’s minds and friendship is integral. Hermione was my kids first hero. I love the story of Jane Eyre but its the last thing I’d want for my not my kid kid. Considered by many to be the first feminist book written. Happy I had to read it but it is misery. I have grown rather fond of the peals of laughter from the pup. I don’t think she yet grasps hate. Her dads an asshole that calls her stupid and hits her but she seems to pity him. I am academy award olympic gold nobel pize winning idiot but I laugh at everything. She seems to take stuff in stride. Please God never let her be mattress girl.

  29. lyn says:

    Can’t wait for the pathetic GOPe to wheel out Nancy Reagan to denounce Trump.

    • DeniseVB says:

      How does he do it ? Less than 24 hours ago he decided to make a pit stop, on his way to Detroit, in Maine for a rally, there was an overflow of 1k standing outside. Did you watch AFVet’s video on DJT’s plane and pilot? That pilot should be sainted, and his respect and loyalty to his boss was admirable. (I finally watched it during Mitt’s speech today, posted downstairs).

      In other news, Obama flew to Milwaukee today, gave an hour speech, flew back to DC. We paid for that.

  30. lyn says:

    Romney is looking into blocking Trump at the convention. https://twitter.com/JayS2629/status/705529952725135361

    • 1539days says:

      Just to avoid pissing everyone off, here’s a scenario I was considering. The GOP is hoping for a “second ballot” if Trump gets below 50% of the delegates. On a second ballot, the delegates are released from their pledged candidate. Who says they’ll all abandon Trump? What if the delegates see their chance for change and 60% vote for Trump? Do tehy just disband the party?

      Apparently the Republicans didn’t nominate Lincoln in 1864. He ran anyway and the Republicans finally gave up and supported him.That must be the “party of Lincoln” Rubio is talking about.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Who died and made Mitt king? He is a failed candidate. One, whom as I recall, the GOPe did not want either? Suddenly he is their quarterback?

      Is GW too busy, does not want to bother, wants to avoid crying Mitt & Jeb, liked making Mitt take all the negative hits as it gives him the giggles, too busy on the ranch, Laura made him promise to minimize politicking because she is tired of these losers hanging about?

      Because that is who should be front and center – and pulling the party together around the candidates with the best chance and with the support of the voting public. The past GOP (e/not e) winner of a presidential race. Not the guy who came in second in what was basically a two horse race.

  31. jennifer lyn says:

    Romney is a wussy. He and Rubot can play who has the bigger ego in a corner while Trump and his millions of followers whup up on the enemy (which just might be them).

  32. lyn says:

    • taw46 says:

      Dumbing down.

    • SHV says:

      No surprise. In 2012, when David Coleman became president of the SAT company, he said his major priority was Social Justice for the SAT. That has included making the test easier, dumbing down the vocabulary section and eliminating the essay. Prior to taking over the SAT, Colman was known as the architect of Common Core.

      • 1539days says:

        The SAT is a product sold to colleges. As long as colleges accept that the garbage in the SAT is worth something to them, they can unfortunately do anything they want with it. In my day, schools were starting to accept the ACT, which may or may not be any better. I used to brag about my SAT score, but the internet has too many people who scored 1600 (or 2400, I guess there’s a new scale now).

  33. taw46 says:

    I think tonight’s debate will be a repeat of the last one, Crubio piling on. With much help from the FOX team.

  34. Myiq2xu says:

  35. DeniseVB says:

    How many people usually go to CPAC? How many are players and how many are lookie lou’s?

    It’s a ComiCon for political nerds and open to everyone who loves hanging out with fellow polinerds, like a giant party. The players are the draw, we, the unwashed, pay for it. So yes, most of us are nobodys, registering doesn’t require exposing our twitter handles or blogs or FB info.

  36. DandyTIger says:

    What would be clever of the GOPe would be to change Rubio’s programming and make him sacrifice for the party. He goes nuclear attack, even including physical attack. All to get under Trump’s skin and hope he overreacts. And physical if that doesn’t work. Draw a foul. Whatever. Wouldn’t be shocked.

  37. Myiq2xu says:

  38. DandyTIger says:

    My favorite part of Romney’s attacks where that Trump is not a business success. Um, Trump has one building worth more than the Romney’s. Romney really is a loser.

  39. DandyTIger says:

    It’s time to break up the parties. Let’s start with the GOP.

  40. taw46 says:

    Chris Matthews quoted someone (didn’t catch who), “whenever you hear about a ‘Stop X’ campaign, bet on X?”

  41. Myiq2xu says:

    Trumka is a piece of shit Democrat shill.

  42. Myiq2xu says:

  43. Myiq2xu says:

    I mowed for the first time this year and sprayed 4 gallons of Roundup around my yard.

    I am tired and sore.

    Can somebody post a debate thread?

    I need some fucking beer.

  44. But…..but….everything is fine inside the bubble!

  45. Rod Dreher is hit and miss, but this is a good piece on the blindness of the GOP to the working class, and the rise of Trump:


  46. DeniseVB says:

    1988 Oprah, oh look …🙂

  47. leslie says:

    I was gone all afternoon. I just finished reading the comments from today. You all are awesome and smart and funny and earnest and wonderful!! I’m gonna have dinner and try watching the debate, but am uncertain just how much I’ll be able to tolerate .
    And, doesn’t it feel like old home week with the return of our wandering crew? *waves* to everyone.

  48. Dora says:

  49. votermom says:

    There is a debate thread up for when the debate starts.

Comments are closed.