Caturday Open Thread

Caturday001Some kind of voting thing going on somewheres.

Open thread.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

150 Responses to Caturday Open Thread

  1. votermom says:

    College kid is home for spring break! Of course still snoozing … probably won’t be up until the crack of noon.

  2. leslie says:

    So, I’m leaving soon for the birthday party of our little 2 y/o. (Now calling her “Calamity” to her face.)❤
    There will be a houseful of 2 year olds probably grabbing everything that's not nailed down saying,
    "No, mine!!"
    or the latest . . .
    "I said NO!!"
    This should be a riot. No, really, a riot.😉

  3. lyn says:

  4. Myiq2xu says:

    Who said it?

    “Any time you hear someone talking about a brokered convention, it is the Washington establishment in a fevered frenzy. They’re really frustrated because all of their chosen candidates, all of the golden children, the voters keep rejecting. And so they’ve seized on this master plan, we go to a brokered convention and the D.C. power brokers will drop someone in who is exactly to the liking of the Washington establishment. If that would happen we will have a manifest revolt on our hands all across this country.”

  5. lyn says:

    “Mr. Romney has limited appeal among the white working class that makes up Trump’s base.” No shit.

    • leslie says:

      I feel betrayed and bamboozled regardless of how many people Romney’s words affect.

      • lyn says:


      • cynic says:

        sigh, and now I need to find someone to remove my Romney/Ryan bumper sticker from my car. I have this overwhelming feeling (sadness? disappointment?) that has just put me in this funk for the past two days.

        • DeniseVB says:

          My funk comes in waves. I just don’t understand the Trump hate, when all that toxic effort can be put to better use convincing me which other candidate is a better choice for me.

          • lyn says:

            I don’t understand the Trump hate either, and they are obsessed with Trump and his stupid supporters.

          • cynic says:

            I’ve been spending quite a bit of time researching what’s going on in Europe. It’s frightening, but the way the papers report it, they’re telling the stories of the women/children refugees, and making you sympathetic. I look at the pictures of crowds, and see only a few women and children. The rest look like men between the ages of 18-30. In a couple of years, the #1 boys names will be a version of the spelling of Mohammed. Europe is changing before our very eyes.

            Guess that’s why I’m on the Trump train. Even my support these days has me in a funk. After the Romney thing, who can we actually trust? I have to say that I was disgusted after watching the debate.

            I purposely spent my day yesterday without the tv or radio. I knitted, did laundry, and cleaned out drawers. Today, I haul a whole trunk load of stuff to Goodwill.

          • foxyladi14 says:

            indeed Denise 🙂

        • votermom says:

          When I think of it, I am amazed and grateful that top two candidates are Trump and Cruz. Could ANYONE have predicted this a year ago?

          • leslie says:

            CPAC just announced the winner of the straw poll….. Cruz @40, Rubio @30, Trump @15. (Per cent, maybe?) Trump didn’t appear/speak. Interesting.

          • lyn says:

            I’m glad Rubio will be out, and let Trump and Cruz duke it out. Cruz is too self-righteous for me, and I won’t vote for him unless it’s Trump/Cruz. It’s still Trump or bust, baby.

    • DeniseVB says:

      The only person Mitt hurt was himself. What a shame.

      • lyn says:

        Romney is a sell out, coward and stooge. It’s nice to know a multimillionaire is a puppet of billionaires.

  6. leslie says:

    Author Pat Conroy died.😦
    I loved his writing. Didn’t you?

    • DeniseVB says:

      I really related to The Great Santini growing up with a crazy USMC dad. RIP Pat.

      • leslie says:

        I felt the same about The Great Santini. And for the same reason. Then my bro turned out nearly the same . . .sad.

    • votermom says:

      I saw that. Cancer, right?
      I hate cancer.

      • leslie says:

        Pancreatic cancer. I’ve lost 2 very close friends and a grandfather to it. It is the worst.

        • Mt.Laurel says:

          Talking my mother into coming to live with me when she was 87 and could no longer manage on her own ended up being the best move I ever made.

          Lost three brothers to pancreatic during the past two years. Oddly enough, the first one diagnosed was the last one to pass away. The first to pass lived only one month after diagnosis. All before I lost Mom at 93 late last year. In the end, with her dementia I never told her about the third brother. She had enough ghosts haunting her nights at that point.

    • helenk3 says:

      i loved his books. one of my favorites was The Water Is Wide. Along with The Great Santini.

    • leslie says:

      He’s gonna be in Chicago next Friday 6:00. I can’t be there; I don’t get out of babysitting until close to 5:30 on Fridays. It’s too far a drive with limited “seating” at the UIC Pavilion, for me to even attempt. (Just announced yesterday.)
      I can only wonder at how safe a place it will be for him and his supporters. #BLM people are numerous and angry and dangerous here.

      • DeniseVB says:

        The media is really being stupid covering his rallies. They seem to think Trump is violating the protesters’ free speech rights and calling his supporters violent. Such whiny babies, and clueless too.

        • swanspirit says:

          They probably can’t resist the ratings.

        • Lulu says:

          The media will not acknowledge that the venues of Trump are hired, as in he PAID for them, so he “owns” them while he is the renter. They are usually in public buildings but they are “leased”. The “protesters” are essentially trespassing not mention disrupting a legal assembly. Would the media let us go into their leased offices and raise hell, shout them down during telecasts? How about during a movie we paid to see? And the Secret Service is who is throwing them out because they are deemed dangerous and threatening. This applies to all candidates not just Trump.

  7. Dora says:

    According to this article Cruz wants to sink Rubio in Florida so that he can compete with Trump in a 2 man race.

  8. leslie says:

    Buh, Bye.
    BBL . . . I hope

    • leslie says:

      Gotta go, but want to respond to this by saying, the anti-Trump ads here in Chicago are disgusting and I think they will have a huge impact on who tries to attend/infiltrate the Trump rally next Friday. The Demon-crat (first time I’ve ever used/said this) party is dangerously strong here just as is the BLM movement. I fear for the safety of the candidate and the people who attend. The UIC Pavilion is on the near West side and close to the SouthSide. But actually, skin color doesn’t matter. It’s the ideology and the anger here against anything NOT democrat. There will be much media coverage of this, and the people won’t benefit. The ideologues will.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        I would not be surprised to find out that Trump was secretly paying those people to protest at his rallies.

        • piper says:


        • DeniseVB says:

          They protest poorly though, Trump protesters would be the best protesters, like a Broadway revue of Les Miz😉 I do keep asking the twitmedia to find out “who” is protesting and “how much” they’re being paid. So it would be simple to find out.

    • Dora says:

  9. Myiq2xu says:

  10. DeniseVB says:

    True story.

  11. Venus says:

    OK I bought my godson his birthday present using the Amazon portal!!

  12. DeniseVB says:

  13. DeniseVB says:

    Love watching backstage rehearsal stuff.

  14. DeniseVB says:

    Lucky for Hillary it’s not Megyn. Bret’s such a sweetie pussycat.

    • lyn says:

      And they don’t do this for the four GOP candidates?!

      • DeniseVB says:

        Trump’s having a presser tonight (9pm E). Actually, that’s my favorite format for him. Donald being Donald with an international media gaggle. He’s in control and no pesky pundits poking him with gotchas.

    • AFVet says:

      I’d like to see Carly interview the B.
      Now wouldn’t that be tasty ?

  15. taw46 says:

    “Conservatives are upset at the fact that Trump’s speeches aren’t full of words like “constitutionalism” and “constitutional principles.” But the average voter is not going to understand how “constitutional principles” are going to stop the invasion of people here illegally, many of whom are indeed criminals, and none of whom are screened in any way, shape or fashion. What they will understand is “I’m going to build a wall and Mexico is going to pay for it.” Republicans finally have a candidate who is a fighter and a salesman. Trump has already expanded the Republican ranks. Yet a formidable coalition of Republicans have set out to destroy him in a way that will take down the party if it continues, and possibly the country as well. In the next weeks and months the right way to beat Trump, if that is your agenda, is to show that you can fight the Democrats and win Republican primary votes better than he can.”

    • lyn says:

      No one likes gang rapists.

    • 1539days says:

      So he’s saying that Trump is dumbing it down for his dumb audience.

      • taw46 says:

        No. If you read the article, it it his take on why the attacks on Trump are backfiring on the attackers. I don’t think Horowitz supports Trump.

      • Underwhelmed says:

        Oh, give it a rest. You can choose not to support Trump without resorting to snide and nasty backhanded swipes.

        • 1539days says:

          I will when I stop seeing stuff about Cruz being a creepy liar and Marco being a drug addict. We all like to mock the opposition.

          • DandyTIger says:

            Good point. But come on, Cruz is creepy.🙂

          • lyn says:

            And something is making Marco a nervous Nellie.

          • Ann says:

            Hubby and I snowbird in Florida. My hairdresser is a huge Cruz supporter (we talk politics a lot). I did say something to her about, “But he’s so creepy”, and she did agree. Then SHE mentioned Grandpa Munster, and I laughed. (I just can’t get the theme to the Munsters out of my head when I see Ted Cruz.)

          • Venus says:

            You’re not mocking the opposition; you’re mocking the opposition’s supporters, because you’re a mean person who needs to give yourself a false sense of superiority

        • lyn says:

          I’ve read that Trump is using the general language that Obama did. Who cares about an 11-point plan to blah, blah, blah?! Yeah, I also don’t get people who belittle a candidate’s supporters. That’s the problem with the elites is that they feel superior to the voters.

          • taw46 says:

            Many people work long hours (including their commute). Then they have kids to take care of, some have elderly parents. They do their best to understand the issues and make their decisions. Then they get insulted by media and campaign consultants, who get PAID to do nothing but politics all day long.

          • Lulu says:

            This is also the year that voters don’t care what anyone else thinks. “Oh my goodness Krauthammer and 1539days is going to be angry and nasty to me!” is not happening. 2008 cured me of that. Don’t care. The sneering butthurt makes me laugh.

  16. AFVet says:

    Growing tired of politics and the politicians.
    Saturday Night in my house was Lawrence Welk night.
    How about a little ragtime piano ?

  17. piper says:

    Today, I’m going to forgo all the Sturm und Drang in this election and take the train down to chicago for a bit of fun then return later to my comfy bed and exciting dark read, The Sandman by Lars Kepler, a Swedish author.
    Waving Hello to all who comment here.

  18. taw46 says:

  19. taw46 says:

  20. piper says:

    Hopefully this blog will NOT become Trump central as. I’ve enjoyed coming here and reading the informative and interesting comments, and don’t want to drop the Hole from my favs.

    • votermom says:

      Some sites have become toxic with primary flame wars. I think we will stay mellow.
      Love Trump, hate Trump, we’ve all been through too much together to let it divide us.

    • Underwhelmed says:

      So, this place only works for you if not too many people end up supporting Trump? What’s the permissible percentage?

    • DandyTIger says:

      The thing to enjoy here is the revolution happening in the GOP. And hopefully will happen sooner or later with the Dems. Trump represents a backlash of the peasants to the elite, donor class. Cruz represents a little of the same. Rubio, Bush, etc. are all part of the Romney establishment. Trump in the end is not many people’s cup of tea, even those voting for him. That’s not the point.

      • Ann says:


      • leslie says:

        Me three. I tried to explain this to my dtr and dil this afternoon. They cannot/choose not to understand, but they have no difficulty saying they support Sanders. When I asked them why? They basically said the D establishment has let them down. I asked them to think about Trump’s followers in the same vein as their own outlook and give them the same respect they give each other. It’s gonna be a long spring.
        I still don’t know who will get my primary vote. I just know who won’t get it.

    • lyn says:

      We slobbering Trump supporters go to Denise’s site as an alternative. Yeah, I’ve dropped the Trump-hater sites from my favs, sadly. If everyone would let this play out, we wouldn’t be discussing Trump as much, but the GOPe and media keep messing things up.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Also, I think we’re all past being anyone central. It’s take it to the man, popcorn central if anything.🙂

    • Myiq2xu says:

      (Comment turned into a new post)

  21. Dora says:

  22. DeniseVB says:

    Hmmmm, if Trump paid his protesters ….. they’d be like ….

  23. taw46 says:

  24. taw46 says:

    Very early returns show Cruz leading in both Kansas and Maine caucuses.

  25. Myiq2xu says:

    Al Neenyo dropped by to visit so my mom gave me a shopping list and sent me to the store. I am unloading her groceries in a hurry because some big dark clouds are closing in. Then my mom says “You do realize you bought “homo milk” don’t you?”

    I almost started to protest that she said she doesn’t like low fat then I felt the tugging on my leg and told her “This is California and we don’t discriminate.”

    People wonder where I get my sense of humor. It’s in my genes.

Comments are closed.