RIP Nancy Reagan

Nancy Reagan in 1949

Born July 6, 1921. Died March 6, 2016.
RIP with Ronnie.

Btw, Denise recommends her memoir:

My Turn” The Memoirs of Nancy Reagan” is a good, dishy, breezy read about life in the White House. She wrote it 3 years after leaving.

Open Thread.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

131 Responses to RIP Nancy Reagan

  1. swanspirit says:

    I liked the idea that she consulted an Astrologer.

  2. As the years have passed, and both lionizing and criticizing of Nancy have faded, one thing remains in my mind: Ronnie was her world, her joy, her center of absolute loyalty – completely unapologetically. And he treasured her as if still disbelieving he’d been granted such a gift as she.

    After all the politics and public image-making have been picked to death, pro and con, that for me stuck – and was a fine example for a nation to see.

    • Somebody says:

      I agree with you, when all was said and done their love and unshakable devotion to each other left the most lasting impression.

  3. Somebody says:

    This is really interesting, according to WP Cruz’s strong numbers in LA actually came from absentee ballots.

    The debate nor Romney would have impacted absentee ballots.

  4. DeniseVB says:

    Johnny Carson was a big fan and friend of the Reagans.

  5. Dora says:

  6. Dora says:

    OMG! Please stay safe Donald.


    Foreign diplomats voicing alarm to U.S. officials about Trump

    • Somebody says:

      There is no there, there Dora. It’s a bunch of rumors. Actually it’s just a hit piece on Trump thinly veiled as “some” diplomats are concerned according to “some” US government officials, none of which agree to be named. They do point to some of the previous statements given, but those are old news……..guess Reuters is big on recycling.

      It sounds like cocktail party group think. All the pearl clutching and concern over Trump’s supposed racism and anti-immigrant views. I wonder do these elitist assholes have the same concerns over other countries that control their borders??? Do they ponder the impact of Mexico’s strict immigration policies? How about Australia’s? Bueller, Bueller?

    • DeniseVB says:

      Putin likes him😉

    • Constance says:

      This is what I don’t get. Who the hell cares what a bunch of foreign countries leaders and foreign people think of Trump or anything else?

    • taw46 says:

      “While world ‘leaders’ are ready to say, “Pass the champagne and caviar” at their next state dinner, the masses they were elected to serve are going jobless in the worst world economy in the past 80 years.

      The Donald is giving world order the shakedown?

      That’s the best news to come out of the 2016 presidential election race, bar none.”

      • DeniseVB says:

        We give billions away every year to countries who hate us, why should they want that gravy train to end? And Mexico better shut up, that wall is getting taller and pricier😉

  7. Dora says:

  8. Myiq2xu says:

    This is the only Nancy Reagan joke I know. As you can tell, it’s really old.

    Ronald Reagan and OJ Simpson go golfing. Afterwards they are in the locker room showering and changing. Then Reagan notices something about the size of OJ’s male anatomy.

    “Oh, my, I guess what they say about you black guys is true. You really are bigger.”

    OJ laughs and says “Since you’re the president I’m going to let you in on a little secret. Any guy can have a huge one like this. All you have to do is every night before you go to bed you hold it in one hand and slap it as hard as you can 4-5 times with the other hand. In a month, you’ll gain several inches.”

    That night, back in the White House, Ronnie is getting ready for bed when he remembers what OJ told him. Seeing that Nancy is already asleep he turns out the lights, then pulls out “little Ron” and slaps it hard 4 or 5 times.

    Just then he hears Nancy’s voice in the dark. “OJ? Is that you?”

  9. DeniseVB says:

    Whew, I’m safe. Not sure I want Hillary dealing with this, afterall Benghazi was such a great executive decision of no balls policies.

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Nice tribute to Nancy from editorial cartoonist Ramirez :

  11. Dora says:

    So stop running already!!

  12. taw46 says:

    My cousin was able to attend the Trump rally in Concord NC today. She said the place was full and it was so much fun. Some protesters, but they were not as bad as at other events. She ended up sitting next to someone she went to school with years ago. The lady works with the R party. The lady did make the comment that his people are hard to work with, but did not go into detail.

    • Dora says:

      I’m so glad your cousin was able to go to the rally. I hope she wasn’t too uncomfortable in the crowd. I was watching on live stream and it was great. But they are all great to me. 🙂

  13. Dora says:

    This speaks volumes.

  14. Myiq2xu says:

    This was gonna be my post this morning, but I overslept again. It’s by RD:

    Let’s take a news article about Hillary on today’s front page of The Washington Post. Here’s the headline and the blurb:

    Clinton used private server to write 104 emails later deemed classified
    The finding is the first accounting of her personal role in placing information now considered sensitive into insecure messages during her State Department tenure.

    Do I need to read any further? I am assuming that the truth is in the headline. The emails were later deemed classified. That means, at the time they were written, they weren’t classified. I don’t know why they were classified later or what the subjects of the emails were. I have to ask myself, if she wrote emails on her gmail account and not her private server, and those emails were later classified, would we consider this a legitmate news story?

    There were 104 emails. I’m sure that if there was something earth shatteringly critical and dangerous for the enemy to know, you would have put that in the headline. But this article looks like just another hit on Clinton. Now, I have to ask myself whose water you are carrying? Are those persons using The Washington Post because they know you are compliant? Is that compliancy the result of genuine study or previous bias? You may consider this an unfair characterization of the Hillary pieces you run routinely. I might agree with you but I don’t find this kind of coverage for any other candidate. At this point, it’s just boring but it still serves the purpose of undermining her credibility. I don’t trust your motives. What’s in it for me, an average American, if you take down the one person I can safely rely on to not blow up the world while you let other lesser candidates bogart your main headlines?

    This is one of the reasons why I don’t read your paper. It’s dishonest even when it’s reporting the truth. And if you’re dishonest about Hillary, who or what else are you not being honest about?

    This is why it is a waste of time to argue with some people.

    • swanspirit says:

      RD is being deliberately obtuse.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      The emails were later deemed classified. That means, at the time they were written, they weren’t classified.

      WRONG. The emails were official communications that were “classified at birth”.

      I don’t know why they were classified later or what the subjects of the emails were. I have to ask myself, if she wrote emails on her gmail account and not her private server, and those emails were later classified, would we consider this a legitmate news story?

      YES – Hillary broke the law. She committed serious felonies. People are charged and convicted for far less. Like General Petraeus for example.

      There were 104 emails. I’m sure that if there was something earth shatteringly critical and dangerous for the enemy to know, you would have put that in the headline.

      WRONG AGAIN. The contents of the released emails have been redacted because they are CLASSIFIED.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Back in the day, when computers were the size of a 10×12 room, I was a GS-2 punch card operator. I needed a top secret clearance because everything I touched was classified, even though I was just punching in series of numbers on the cards and tapes, which were collected at the end of the day and driven up to the Pentagon from the Norfolk Naval Base in an armored car.

        One year, at Christmas, I added an extra card with Merry Christmas punched on it. Boy, did I get in trouble, you’d think it was the code to launch another Enola Gay. I got called on the carpet by the neck vein popping command CO and yelled at about something, something National Security. I guess it was a BFD back then. I didn’t get fired, it really is hard to get fired by the fed. What Hillary did was so much worse.

    • John Denney says:

      My understanding is that some communications are not classified initially, but could later be declared top secret, and everyone knows this.

      So, logically, if any of one’s communications could later be declared top secret, shouldn’t they ALL be kept secure?

      Otherwise, one could just as well say, “it wasn’t top secret when I gave it to our enemies.”

  15. swanspirit says:

    My son hung up the phone on Ronald Reagan. Many years ago, when Shawn was about 11 years old, we were visiting his paternal grandparents, the phone rang and Shawn grabbed it. He listened for a minute, and then said ” knock it off Tommy, quit playing games, ” or something to that effect, and hung up the phone. A few minutes later, the phone rang again, and this time his grandmother answered. It was someone in the Reagan administration, explaining that the person who had called was indeed the President, and he was researching his family tree, and trying to locate relatives. My son thought it was one of his friends, playing tricks. So, my son hung up on Ronald Reagan.
    We never did establish whether there was any relation, or if so how distant. Maybe I should check that out.

  16. Myiq2xu says:

  17. taw46 says:

  18. DeniseVB says:

    I haven’t read the article, I’m afraid to.

  19. Myiq2xu says:

    New Anti-trump Ad:

    Why do these Anti-Trump ads make me want to vote for him?

  20. Dora says:

  21. nerdle says:

    I was only a baby/child during the Reagan era, so I don’t have much to say about it other then I hope she’s at peace. I do, however, find it revolting how all these ghouls are trashing her just after her death. Karma exists and I’ve seen it firsthand.

    As an aside, I love TCH but that countdown for when Obama is out has me white knuckling it. 10 months cannot come fast enough.

    • votermom says:

      The End is Nigh!!!!😀

      • mothy67, says:

        Did you get credit for the music keyboard I got through Amazon? I noticed todsy when I bought ep 12 of TWD that I clicked on one of the books ,but then saw when I searched i negated the book purchase and it took me to my home page. I went back and used your search bar at the bottom of the page and bought it. I bought the keyboard late last week.
        Speaking of TWD can Morgan just get bitten

        • votermom says:

          Oh I see it! Thanks!!!

          • mothy67, says:

            The keyboard? I went through a shop thingy under a book? It is brat’s Easter present . Arrives tomoorow. Odds on me waiting until Easter none. Odds of me wrapping it up and torturing her for two hours and giving it to her tomorrow very high.

  22. Dora says:

    Wow! Politics sure can get folks upset.

    Democrats Smash Democrat Candidate in Face with Beer Bottle – Staple His Forehead

    Blue on Blue Violence–

    Democrat candidate Robert Zwolinski was attacked by supporters of Democrat Cynthia Soto this weekend.
    The Soto supporters smashed a bottle over his head and put a staple in his forehead.

  23. Mt.Laurel says:

    In other news: Micheal Bloomberg has announced he will not run for President this year. Because if he ran Trump and/or Cruz might win.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Every few years Bloomie looks into running for POTUS. Then he finds out how unpopular he really is and decides not to run.

  24. Dora says:

  25. DeniseVB says:

    Flipped on the tv and there’s Bernie talking to Bret. I guess Hillary’s up next on this “forum” ? Not agreeing with everything he says, but I like him better than Hillary. Too bad the DNC and Super Delegates are going to bern him.

  26. taw46 says:

    All we need, a screwed up ballot for voters in Ohio. Haven’t we seen this before in Florida?

  27. Somebody says:

    Dana Perino said today on “The Five” that absentee ballots in Florida are coming in 5 to 1 for Rubio. That is pretty amazing given how all the polls have looked for the past couple of months. It’s a really high ratio, similar to the really high ratio of absentee ballots that went for Cruz in LA. Typically the absentee ballots are similar in nature to the voting day results with notable exceptions, like areas with a large military population.

    • DeniseVB says:

      The polls need to have polls to poll why they poll poorly. Votes and Polls are like from different universes. I understand the margin of era, but when there’s a 25 point difference between a poll and an actually vote result, polls are more annoying than ever.😛

    • taw46 says:

      Somebody, see my comment below.

  28. taw46 says:

    I read it the other way, that Trump won absentee ballots in Louisiana, that early returns on primary day showed him way ahead of Cruz because of the absentees. Then, when the votes for that day came in, the late deciders went for Cruz. And, they did not release any of those until polls closed.

    So, why is Florida releasing results now? Is that true?

    • taw46 says:

      Meant to nest under Somebody’s comment.

    • Somebody says:

      I don’t know how Dana Perino is privy to election results in Florida. Excuse me while I adjust my tinfoil hat.

      • taw46 says:

        Here, read this. It is from a Monmouth poll with a small sample, FL hasn’t released any voting numbers.

        • lyn says:

          A Trump guy is saying that the Monmouth poll uses real small samples and that Trump has a great ground game in Florida.

          • taw46 says:

            I don’t doubt that Trump has been hurt by the barrage of attacks the last 2 or 3 weeks. And if he wins FL, probably not by as much as polls have shown for months. But, I am also a Floridian and many people here do NOT like Rubio. I don’t believe he suddenly is winning in a landslide against Trump. We shall see.

          • lyn says:

            I agree, and the GOPe continues to pound Trump into the ground.

          • Somebody says:

            Well they started early voting earlier in south Florida than they did in other parts of the state, so that may be part of the skew. At least it started earlier than it did in my county.

            Interesting that Trump is leading Marco by double digits in central Florida. Usually elections are won or lost in this state along the I-4 corridor in central Florida. According to the polling data Trump is leading Rubio by double digits in the central part of the state. I’m quite frankly surprised by that.

            I also find it odd that Rubio would be within 4 points in the northern part of the state. The northern part of the state I would think would be Trump’s strongest area, especially the panhandle. Although if Cruz is going to play hard here, he’ll be pounding it in northern Florida and the panhandle. Lots of military, much more conservative than south Florida and lots of evangelicals. The results in south Florida that show Rubio leading Trump by 11% are not surprising.

            I hope Trump has a good ground game because it’s all about the base. You have to get out the vote. If you don’t get out the vote then south Florida is so populated it will overwhelm anemic results in the rest of the state. To overcome south Florida you have to have strong turn out in northern Florida AND take a majority in the central part of the state. That’s why central Florida is usually ground zero. The dynamics shown in that poll present an atypical profile for Florida. It looks like north Florida might be the battle ground in this election.

            Maybe it’s just where I live, but I’ve yet to be contacted by anyone in the Trump campaign and I’ve only seen one sign on an SUV. To be fair, I haven’t been contacted by any of the campaigns, except Ted Cruz’s super pac keeps calling me.

            Another little trick that is always, always pulled in Florida elections has to do with polls closing an hour later in the western part of the panhandle. If word gets out that a candidate is leading by a large margin people get discouraged and go home without voting. That’s a tactic that is quite often used, so it’s important to stress to voters in that area to stay in line and vote no matter what they’re hearing.

          • taw46 says:

            Somebody, you really know your Florida politics! I was also surprised to see Trump leading in the I-4 corridor, thought sure that would be Rubio, maybe Cruz. I don’t watch too much TV, but I understand Trump is getting pounded with negative ads. Don’t understand why they aren’t fighting back. The 15th will be interesting to watch.

      • taw46 says:

        I just get so frustrated with those pundits, especially the ones on FOX who keep pushing Rubio.

      • mothy67, says:

        Dana perino was fine on The Five then she went all bushand was nearly in tears. I have not watched Fox news in months. They did not try to rationally dissuade from Trump they went Alinsky. Making fun of his supporters. Always calling us uneducated. Alinsky . I detested Hillary and bush from day one. How smart are these recondite pundits to say the uneducated like Trump because they are racist. They see it through the lens of academia not day to day. All bullshit manufactured noise.
        America is so racist? Phil Donahue is worth 23.5 million. He paved the way for oprah. She is worth 3.2 billion dollars. American women embraced her. She is repulsive to me I just never liked her. In her later years she was commanding 250 million a year. Merv Griffith with Jeopady never came close she went all out obama.
        There was an episode of ORca where she volunteered her corporate jet to onothing and meeeechelle to go to Africa and they said we couldn’t do something like that.
        Try finding that on youtube.

        • taw46 says:

          I rarely watch FOX anymore. Occasionally Greta, sometimes Hannity. That is what I have hated so much this cycle, how they ridicule and insult the voters. Ugly.

  29. Mt.Laurel says:


    Thanks for the recommendation on the memoir for Nancy. II have been looking for a more breezy bio that would be relaxing and entertaining. Downloaded a sample and read it at lunch and I think this fits the bill nicely.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I highly recommend all FLOTUS memoirs. It’s like when History meets People magazine without the political filters. Recommend for all political nerds😀

  30. DeniseVB says:

    Hmmm? Wassup with Fox and Bret? I totally enjoyed these likable Bernie and Hillary “candidates” you dragged out tonight. I feel a disturbance in the Force.

  31. Myiq2xu says:

    No, it proves that Republicans aren’t as gullible as Democrats.

  32. taw46 says:

    At Secretive Meeting, Tech CEOs And Top Republicans Commiserate, Plot To Stop Trump

    • Somebody says:

      Well isn’t that special the oligarchs and their lead puppets have met and decided what shall be, to hell with the people.

  33. This probably won’t make me popular, but I can’t give a single fuck about Nancy Reagan. She had a good life, and she wasn’t going to live forever.

  34. Myiq2xu says:

  35. threewickets says:

    Silicon Valley (Cook, Page, Musk) and Wall Street (Bloomberg) are going full attack mode on Trump. American establishment elite is flipping out.

  36. mothy67, says:

    I found out my dad is unable to cover his meds. He was hiding it. He is proud.
    I went to the bank got, some money and left it for him. Wrote Dad no piano classes, no tae kwon do no, hundred other classes are as important to my little girl than her Pap. She loves you. I love you. You teach her what it means to fight. Come on.
    We have been eviscerated financially over the last 9 years. My nephew can file and file. We are not giving up. My dad has only Social Security. He worked as a produce manager for fifty years. We always had Blue Cross and Blue Shield. He didn’t contribute to a savings account because every dollar was needed in real time. My mom got a degree. She was a 10th grade prego. They have Social Security, my mom’s retirement. They are not rich. No matter how many times a useless prick gets arrested is in jail beats women he can refile and there is nothing you can do. He has so many dropped charges for abuse. He is absolute trash.
    The attorney bills are yuuuge. He represents himself. Never gonna happen that he currupts this balanced child. I have more money to put into the fight as my mom. My dad has COPD he wants to be there for his great grand daughter by paying 50 for her belt. I love my dad so much because with COPD he took a job to protect a little girl.
    1983 my dad did not like his gay son. So what i see this man who is profound. I resent the gay nazi’s telling me how to feel.
    If I were Trump I’d run tongue in cheek ads. Upbeat doing a mix of Glenn Beck.
    Do an ad with cruz/rubio asking why the children of foreign parents get to excel while you labor away hoping for a state school. How did the sons of a preacher man and a bartender go Ivy Leaugue? WTF?

    • leslie says:

      How did the sons of a preacher man and a bartender go Ivy Leaugue?

      The same way the son of a Kenyan philanderer and a teenaged girl in school did.

  37. mothy67, says:

    I worded my last post poorly.
    My Dad takes a lot of meds. He is James Dean era. Lots of court costs. I should have said my dad was trying to work at 174 to pay for baby brat’s court stuff and be the one to buy her tae kwon do belts. I found a pill cutter. He was trying to save money for the kid by cutting his meds up.
    So stupid.
    I left him a note saying baby girl needs you more than money. Not exact, but close. There is no money I would not spend to keep my dad alive. He is sublime. Many years ago he could not speak to his gay son(me). I could never be an SJW. I see no reason to propel my strife upon the world. Hypocrit yes as I love literature.

  38. Dora says:

  39. votermom says:

    I put up a new thread to tide us over until Klown wakes up.

  40. AFVet says:

    They’re back together again.

Comments are closed.