He’s Even Worse than We Imagined


There is a new article by Jeffery Goldberg in The Atlantic titled “The Obama Doctrine.” It’s chock full of jaw-dropping stuff.

At the outset of the Syrian uprising, in early 2011, Power argued that the rebels, drawn from the ranks of ordinary citizens, deserved America’s enthusiastic support. Others noted that the rebels were farmers and doctors and carpenters, comparing these revolutionaries to the men who won America’s war for independence.

Obama flipped this plea on its head. “When you have a professional army,” he once told me, “that is well armed and sponsored by two large states”—Iran and Russia—“who have huge stakes in this, and they are fighting against a farmer, a carpenter, an engineer who started out as protesters and suddenly now see themselves in the midst of a civil conflict …” He paused. “The notion that we could have—in a clean way that didn’t commit U.S. military forces—changed the equation on the ground there was never true.” The message Obama telegraphed in speeches and interviews was clear: He would not end up like the second President Bush—a president who became tragically overextended in the Middle East, whose decisions filled the wards of Walter Reed with grievously wounded soldiers, who was helpless to stop the obliteration of his reputation, even when he recalibrated his policies in his second term. Obama would say privately that the first task of an American president in the post-Bush international arena was “Don’t do stupid shit.”

Obama’s reticence frustrated Power and others on his national-security team who had a preference for action. Hillary Clinton, when she was Obama’s secretary of state, argued for an early and assertive response to Assad’s violence. In 2014, after she left office, Clinton told me that “the failure to help build up a credible fighting force of the people who were the originators of the protests against Assad … left a big vacuum, which the jihadists have now filled.” When The Atlantic published this statement, and also published Clinton’s assessment that “great nations need organizing principles, and ‘Don’t do stupid stuff’ is not an organizing principle,” Obama became “rip-shit angry,” according to one of his senior advisers. The president did not understand how “Don’t do stupid shit” could be considered a controversial slogan. Ben Rhodes recalls that “the questions we were asking in the White House were ‘Who exactly is in the stupid-shit caucus? Who is pro–stupid shit?’ ” The Iraq invasion, Obama believed, should have taught Democratic interventionists like Clinton, who had voted for its authorization, the dangers of doing stupid shit. (Clinton quickly apologized to Obama for her comments, and a Clinton spokesman announced that the two would “hug it out” on Martha’s Vineyard when they crossed paths there later.)

I can’t tell you what I think of it because I’m still reading it. But it’s 4:15 am and I need to get some sleep.

This is yuge.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

161 Responses to He’s Even Worse than We Imagined

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    Remember the flap over the bust of Winston Churchill?

    Obama, in whose Cabinet Kerry serves faithfully, but with some exasperation, is himself given to vaulting oratory, but not usually of the martial sort associated with Churchill. Obama believes that the Manichaeanism, and eloquently rendered bellicosity, commonly associated with Churchill were justified by Hitler’s rise, and were at times defensible in the struggle against the Soviet Union. But he also thinks rhetoric should be weaponized sparingly, if at all, in today’s more ambiguous and complicated international arena. The president believes that Churchillian rhetoric and, more to the point, Churchillian habits of thought, helped bring his predecessor, George W. Bush, to ruinous war in Iraq.

    • votermom says:

      Obama blames Churchill for Bush?

    • taw46 says:

      I am trying to read this, but site keeps dropping out on my iPad. I did get as far as the Churchill to blame for Bush, smh.

    • 49erDweet says:

      This assumes O actually has “thoughts” in his head. Not willing to grant that unproven, diaphanous point.

      • mcnorman says:

        Yeah, me too. If there is any shit anywhere, it is in his head.

        • Mt.Laurel says:

          I thought the only thoughts going through his head were:
          I am not suppose to eat the dog
          I am not suppose to eat the dog

          Oh – who is that strange looking woman the call Michelle? Why does she keep photo bombing my selfies?

          I am not suppose to eat the dog
          I am not suppose to eat the dog

          Oh – look shiny stuff. I want.
          I have a phone and a pen. I want more. Hillary got that nifty button. I want one.

          I am not suppose to eat the dog

          It’s Bushes fault

          I am not suppose to eat the dog

          what is this fuss again over that bust. It did not look anything like me so I sent it back to be fixed. still has not been returned. I had tons of photons in that ipod with my speeches they should have been able to fix my bust.

          I am not suppose to eat the dog

          I wonder if I can eat the dog when I am kicked out of office
          I wonder of I have to take that woman Michelle with me
          If so I better be able to at least eat the dog.

  2. taw46 says:

    MJ having the vapors over this today.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Am I missing something in the “Death to America” translation? 😉

      • taw46 says:

        Minor detail that all on MJ overlook.

      • Lulu says:

        Islam hates everything. I’m not sure what they like. Nothing from what I can tell. It is a giant personality disorder. Mohamed was either clinically depressed or just a chronic bitcher and moaner lazy butt. He tried everything and nothing made him happy. Then he croaked.

    • leslie says:

      It’s interesting to see/hear the Hair’s on Fire in person (via teevee). I thought Mika was going to have a heart attack when Gov Scott of FL wouldn’t directly answer her question r/t “Islam hatred”. It’s also amazing that she can name-call the governor. When her job is contingent on being PC/non-PC, let’s see her be “brave” (as opposed to the “coward” she called the governor) when she might suffer the “slings and arrows” of political life.
      They have seriously been given their marching orders to take down Trump from on high. Haven’t they?

      • taw46 says:

        That is what it sounded like to me this morning. Trump is Islamaphobic! /s

        • Lulu says:

          How can he be both Hitler and Islamaphobic? Oh, that’s right. They don’t know any history and that Hitler and the Muslims were buds over the Jewish “problem”.

        • Dora says:

          I guess they don’t know that it was Hitler who suggested changing the name of Persia to Iran. The word Iran means Arian.

        • 49erDweet says:

          Trump is Every Evil Thing Imagined to folks who have no real world experience and rely on the theories of others to run stuff like gummint and social welfare programs.

      • cynic says:

        I rarely watch tv these days. Seven yrs. ago, I had FOX on most of the day. Now, I can’t stand it. Did I change, or did they?

        I’ve had enough of MJoe as well, and very seldom watch it. Oh, I might turn it on for a few minutes, like I did this a.m., but quickly turned it off, and am enjoying a nice quiet day.

        • taw46 says:

          Smart. I have no where else to go, tired of them all now. On the plus side, I watch less political news on TV than I did in the past.

        • leslie says:

          I do my PT exercises 1st thing in the a.m. and need something to boil my blood and give me the energy to get out of bed and move. MJ does it. I cannot tolerate FOX in the morning and rarely if ever, watch it during the day. I’ve started to watch Fox Business News and think it may be my go-to network for news.
          The beauty of this election season is that I’m now catching up on tv series at night that I never had a chance to watch due to my work hours (Major Crimes, NCIS, etc.)
          Enjoy your day…❤

          • DeniseVB says:

            I started weaning myself off Fox and Friends when Hasselbeck joined the curvy couch. I thought it was a mistake not to give Alisyn Camerota that gig. She left Fox and now on CNN’s morning news and has gone full liberal.

          • taw46 says:

            Yes, Denise, what is with her? I liked her when she was on FOX. I guess none of them have any principles, will do whatever for the money.

          • cynic says:

            How are you making out with your back? Didn’t you get an MRI? Are you still going to the acupuncturist?

          • leslie says:

            The MRI showed the same as before, so that’s at least more positive than negative. But the back is still not good. I went to acupuncture yesterday. It helps, but I’m still in pain about 80% of the time. I have to make an appt with a neurosurgeon at Rush to review the MRI and then decide about surgery. (Unfortunately, the surgeon I had initially decided on doesn’t accept Medicare.) I’ll likely do it as the quality of my life has decreased noticeably. Lifting the gbaby isn’t very helpful, but it is therapeutic in so many other ways.
            Thanks for asking about it.

          • elliesmom says:

            I battled with back pain for over a year, and then finally opted for the surgery. No regrets here.❤

          • 49erDweet says:

            My honey’s having major back surgery in 2 weeks to grind away two large segments of a vertebrae and undo a spinal fusion she had at age 14. Hoping to quit squishing her spinal cord and alleviate PAIN.

          • lyn says:

            I started taking turmeric for my neck pain, and the pain is gone. http://www.sourcenaturals.com/products/GP2369

          • cynic says:

            Lyn, I’ve been making myself mugs of this hot beverage 2-3x day. In a large mug, take a nice sized wedge of lemon, squeeze it and throw it in the mug. Add a pc. of ginger, a couple of shakes of turmeric and cinnamon, about 1 tbl. apple cider vinegar, a small amt. (less than 1/2 t.) honey, and boiling water.

            If I get hunger pains, I drink a mug of this, and I’m no longer hungry. This drink helped me to lose 30#.

            You’ll need to keep the spoon in your mug because the spices don’t dissolve well. I stir before every sip.

        • 49erDweet says:

          Stopped watching TV news almost 8 years ago for some vague reason. The dogs finally like me again. TiVo is good. TV News is bad.

    • Ann says:

      Can’t disagree with Donald on this one.

  3. taw46 says:

  4. mothy67, says:

    Email from life long friend who is a bernout
    Mexicans are rapists and murderers

    I am reporting you to thought police and going to hide in my safe place

    You know what I meant I was referring to what Trump has said.

    You mean I took your words out of context and distorted them?

    Fuck off

    • Lulu says:

      No sense of humor. None. And we’ll be happy to send the Mexican nationals rapists, child pervs and murderers to her house who are in the Texas prison system. All hundred thousand of them. To be nice we’ll keep the DUI, armed robbers and burglars.

  5. jeffhas says:

    Is it me or is this article just a slobbering love affair in the guise of War and Peace? Too long to be judged as anything less then epic, yet still just another (thinly veiled) Obama a**-lick manifesto for all his supporters to cheer. He plays 11th Dimensional Chess dontcha know?

    I’m so pi**ed I wasted valuable sleeping time on an ejaculationary novel meant to cement his *brilliant* legacy.

    f*ck me.

  6. leslie says:

    Here’s a guy who is worse than anybody thought:
    Anyone who needs peace and quiet isn’t gonna ride the CTA elevated system. It’s the noisiest transportation on record. And if people do try to talk on the phone, they must scream to be heard over the sound of the trains. Really, it’s terrible.
    OTOH, I don’t blame him. 😉

    • Jadzia says:

      Although I left Chicago before cell phones were in wide use (1995), I would think that a cell phone jammer would be a valuable service on the Metra.

  7. mothy67, says:

    Cranky pants has “strip” throat so she is staying home today. She had the sleep over huge air mattress in the living room because she is 9 and is milking a sore throat. I said it was best to give it a day anyhow. I’m laying on the air mattress talking to her about germs. I said not all germs are bad. Being to clean can be unhealthy. She laughed and said I can’t see that being a problem. She is very athletic and some times she stinks. She thinks its funny. It’s dance. Ballarinas look so perfect but my god they smell. I bribe her with computer time to wear deodarent.

  8. Myiq2xu says:

  9. leslie says:

    Leaving now. See y’all later (if I can see anything at all……)

  10. Myiq2xu says:

    Classic Obamaism:

    “Having said that,” he continued, “I also believe that the world is a tough, complicated, messy, mean place, and full of hardship and tragedy. And in order to advance both our security interests and those ideals and values that we care about, we’ve got to be hardheaded at the same time as we’re bighearted, and pick and choose our spots, and recognize that there are going to be times where the best that we can do is to shine a spotlight on something that’s terrible, but not believe that we can automatically solve it. There are going to be times where our security interests conflict with our concerns about human rights. There are going to be times where we can do something about innocent people being killed, but there are going to be times where we can’t.”

    Barack likes his bread buttered on both sides.

  11. Jadzia says:

    If all that is true, I’m team Hillary on this one. “Don’t do stupid shit”? Really? Say what you like about Dubya, but I don’t think he was getting up in the morning saying, “Yeeha! Let’s do some stupid shit today!” (Okay, it SEEMED like he was doing that, but I don’t think that was the intention.)

  12. votermom says:

  13. Dora says:

    Cruz Fails To Provide FEC With Financial Documents

    Presidential candidate Ted Cruz has failed to provide basic financial documents to the federal agency charged with enforcing the campaign finance laws.


  14. DeniseVB says:

    Poor little snowflake reporter. If this is how it happened why doesn’t she press charges against Corey? There were dozens of cameras around him at that time.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Something tells me there’s more to the story.🙂

      • taw46 says:

        Really, where are the photos and videos of this? Not even one, with all the cameras around?

      • DeniseVB says:

        Breitbart is a pretty Trump friendly place and Malkin seems to be a bit melodramatic in her tweet. I’ve been following Corey’s timeline and no mentions about the incident. And not one other reporter has come forward as a witness, just the WaPo guy? Her boyfriend?

    • taw46 says:

      HateTwitter now calling it an assault on her. Soon it will be Trump himself who slugged her and kicked her to the ground.

  15. Myiq2xu says:


    The story of Obama’s encounter with the Middle East follows an arc of disenchantment. In his first extended spree of fame, as a presidential candidate in 2008, Obama often spoke with hope about the region. In Berlin that summer, in a speech to 200,000 adoring Germans, he said, “This is the moment we must help answer the call for a new dawn in the Middle East.”

    The next year, as president, he gave a speech in Cairo meant to reset U.S. relations with the world’s Muslims. He spoke about Muslims in his own family, and his childhood years in Indonesia, and confessed America’s sins even as he criticized those in the Muslim world who demonized the U.S. What drew the most attention, though, was his promise to address the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, which was then thought to be the central animating concern of Arab Muslims. His sympathy for the Palestinians moved the audience, but complicated his relations with Benjamin Netanyahu, the Israeli prime minister—especially because Obama had also decided to bypass Jerusalem on his first presidential visit to the Middle East.

    When I asked Obama recently what he had hoped to accomplish with his Cairo reset speech, he said that he had been trying—unsuccessfully, he acknowledged—to persuade Muslims to more closely examine the roots of their unhappiness.

    “My argument was this: Let’s all stop pretending that the cause of the Middle East’s problems is Israel,” he told me. “We want to work to help achieve statehood and dignity for the Palestinians, but I was hoping that my speech could trigger a discussion, could create space for Muslims to address the real problems they are confronting—problems of governance, and the fact that some currents of Islam have not gone through a reformation that would help people adapt their religious doctrines to modernity. My thought was, I would communicate that the U.S. is not standing in the way of this progress, that we would help, in whatever way possible, to advance the goals of a practical, successful Arab agenda that provided a better life for ordinary people.”

    By the sheer force of his personality he would bring peace to the region!

  16. Myiq2xu says:

    This is why he won the NPP:

    Through the first flush of the Arab Spring, in 2011, Obama continued to speak optimistically about the Middle East’s future, coming as close as he ever would to embracing the so-called freedom agenda of George W. Bush, which was characterized in part by the belief that democratic values could be implanted in the Middle East. He equated protesters in Tunisia and Tahrir Square with Rosa Parks and the “patriots of Boston.”

    “After decades of accepting the world as it is in the region, we have a chance to pursue the world as it should be,” he said in a speech at the time. “The United States supports a set of universal rights. And these rights include free speech, the freedom of peaceful assembly, the freedom of religion, equality for men and women under the rule of law, and the right to choose your own leaders … Our support for these principles is not a secondary interest.”

    But over the next three years, as the Arab Spring gave up its early promise, and brutality and dysfunction overwhelmed the Middle East, the president grew disillusioned. Some of his deepest disappointments concern Middle Eastern leaders themselves. Benjamin Netanyahu is in his own category: Obama has long believed that Netanyahu could bring about a two-state solution that would protect Israel’s status as a Jewish-majority democracy, but is too fearful and politically paralyzed to do so. Obama has also not had much patience for Netanyahu and other Middle Eastern leaders who question his understanding of the region. In one of Netanyahu’s meetings with the president, the Israeli prime minister launched into something of a lecture about the dangers of the brutal region in which he lives, and Obama felt that Netanyahu was behaving in a condescending fashion, and was also avoiding the subject at hand: peace negotiations. Finally, the president interrupted the prime minister: “Bibi, you have to understand something,” he said. “I’m the African American son of a single mother, and I live here, in this house. I live in the White House. I managed to get elected president of the United States. You think I don’t understand what you’re talking about, but I do.” Other leaders also frustrate him immensely. Early on, Obama saw Recep Tayyip Erdoğan, the president of Turkey, as the sort of moderate Muslim leader who would bridge the divide between East and West—but Obama now considers him a failure and an authoritarian, one who refuses to use his enormous army to bring stability to Syria. And on the sidelines of a nato summit in Wales in 2014, Obama pulled aside King Abdullah II of Jordan. Obama said he had heard that Abdullah had complained to friends in the U.S. Congress about his leadership, and told the king that if he had complaints, he should raise them directly. The king denied that he had spoken ill of him.

    I bet Lara Logan would disgree about those wonderful patriots in Tahir Square.

  17. DeniseVB says:

    Trump-Hitler comparisons as only Ann Coulter can notice😀


  18. Myiq2xu says:

    This makes me want to break stuff and scream:

    But what sealed Obama’s fatalistic view was the failure of his administration’s intervention in Libya, in 2011. That intervention was meant to prevent the country’s then-dictator, Muammar Qaddafi, from slaughtering the people of Benghazi, as he was threatening to do. Obama did not want to join the fight; he was counseled by Joe Biden and his first-term secretary of defense Robert Gates, among others, to steer clear. But a strong faction within the national-security team—Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and Susan Rice, who was then the ambassador to the United Nations, along with Samantha Power, Ben Rhodes, and Antony Blinken, who was then Biden’s national-security adviser—lobbied hard to protect Benghazi, and prevailed. (Biden, who is acerbic about Clinton’s foreign-policy judgment, has said privately, “Hillary just wants to be Golda Meir.”) American bombs fell, the people of Benghazi were spared from what may or may not have been a massacre, and Qaddafi was captured and executed.

    But Obama says today of the intervention, “It didn’t work.” The U.S., he believes, planned the Libya operation carefully—and yet the country is still a disaster.

    Why, given what seems to be the president’s natural reticence toward getting militarily ensnarled where American national security is not directly at stake, did he accept the recommendation of his more activist advisers to intervene?

    “The social order in Libya has broken down,” Obama said, explaining his thinking at the time. “You have massive protests against Qaddafi. You’ve got tribal divisions inside of Libya. Benghazi is a focal point for the opposition regime. And Qaddafi is marching his army toward Benghazi, and he has said, ‘We will kill them like rats.’

    “Now, option one would be to do nothing, and there were some in my administration who said, as tragic as the Libyan situation may be, it’s not our problem. The way I looked at it was that it would be our problem if, in fact, complete chaos and civil war broke out in Libya. But this is not so at the core of U.S. interests that it makes sense for us to unilaterally strike against the Qaddafi regime. At that point, you’ve got Europe and a number of Gulf countries who despise Qaddafi, or are concerned on a humanitarian basis, who are calling for action. But what has been a habit over the last several decades in these circumstances is people pushing us to act but then showing an unwillingness to put any skin in the game.”

    “Free riders?,” I interjected.

    “Free riders,” he said, and continued. “So what I said at that point was, we should act as part of an international coalition. But because this is not at the core of our interests, we need to get a UN mandate; we need Europeans and Gulf countries to be actively involved in the coalition; we will apply the military capabilities that are unique to us, but we expect others to carry their weight. And we worked with our defense teams to ensure that we could execute a strategy without putting boots on the ground and without a long-term military commitment in Libya.

    “So we actually executed this plan as well as I could have expected: We got a UN mandate, we built a coalition, it cost us $1 billion—which, when it comes to military operations, is very cheap. We averted large-scale civilian casualties, we prevented what almost surely would have been a prolonged and bloody civil conflict. And despite all that, Libya is a mess.”

    Mess is the president’s diplomatic term; privately, he calls Libya a “shit show,” in part because it’s subsequently become an isis haven—one that he has already targeted with air strikes. It became a shit show, Obama believes, for reasons that had less to do with American incompetence than with the passivity of America’s allies and with the obdurate power of tribalism.

    “When I go back and I ask myself what went wrong,” Obama said, “there’s room for criticism, because I had more faith in the Europeans, given Libya’s proximity, being invested in the follow-up,” he said. He noted that Nicolas Sarkozy, the French president, lost his job the following year. And he said that British Prime Minister David Cameron soon stopped paying attention, becoming “distracted by a range of other things.” Of France, he said, “Sarkozy wanted to trumpet the flights he was taking in the air campaign, despite the fact that we had wiped out all the air defenses and essentially set up the entire infrastructure” for the intervention. This sort of bragging was fine, Obama said, because it allowed the U.S. to “purchase France’s involvement in a way that made it less expensive for us and less risky for us.” In other words, giving France extra credit in exchange for less risk and cost to the United States was a useful trade-off—except that “from the perspective of a lot of the folks in the foreign-policy establishment, well, that was terrible. If we’re going to do something, obviously we’ve got to be up front, and nobody else is sharing in the spotlight.”

    Obama also blamed internal Libyan dynamics. “The degree of tribal division in Libya was greater than our analysts had expected. And our ability to have any kind of structure there that we could interact with and start training and start providing resources broke down very quickly.”

    Four men died and Hillary lied.

  19. DeniseVB says:

    I’m sending myiq on a cruise after the election in November (wink, wink)…..actually this sounds like a fun time, too bad I don’t like anyone at NR right now.


    • taw46 says:

      There was a time I would have jumped at a chance to be on that cruise. Last 8 or 9 months changed all that, sad to say.

    • Somebody says:

      Is it too rude to wish for a rogue wave? Not a Poseidon Adventure type wave, but a good sized, wet your pants rogue wave that breaks a bunch of stuff.

  20. Dora says:

    So, he bought her. And she allowed herself to be sold. Politics is a disgusting sport.🙂

    • Lulu says:

      Negligent homicide? And conspiracy? RICO? Criminal RICO. Clean out the VA with a mafia style prosecution.

    • taw46 says:

      Just an all around disgusting story. Corrupt government.

    • leslie says:

      I am heartbroken and enraged at the same time. I know several psychiatrists who were wooed from hospitals nation- wide to work at Hines VA because of the waiting time (2013 – 2015). And they went because the issues of good treatment were so important to them. I know that some of those docs were so appalled by what they found and their horror had not subsided the last time I saw them (last summer).
      I don’t know of that social worker. But she gets no sympathy from me. She is a black mark on my profession.

  21. DeniseVB says:

    And so it continues …. it’s showing up more and more in my timeline because I follow too many Cruz supporters😉

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I’m not defending what happened, but my outrage meter barely registers. He grabbed her arm. He didn’t punch her in the face.

      He should apologize.

      • Lulu says:

        He really should. Humbly and sincerely. Then ban her from being in the proximity of the campaign since she is so delicate she might get hurt and needs to be protected from the rough and tumble of politics and apparently cannot follow verbal instructions.

    • lyn says:

    • leslie says:

      I heard this response on the radio driving home from the MD today. I nearly ran off the road I was so aggravated. I was also going to post it when I got home. Thanks for saving me that. 🙂

  22. Myiq2xu says:

    • Myiq2xu says:

      “Rubio won his home state! He’s a contender now!” #SaidNoOneEver

      • swanspirit says:

        I think Rubio is being paid to stay in, or he is addicted to what little adulation he is still receiving, or both. If he is in that much denial, that he still thinks he has some chance, he is delusional.

  23. taw46 says:

  24. Propertius says:

    “one of the few foreign leaders Obama respects, Angela Merkel, the German chancellor”
    That, unfortunately, explains a lot.

Comments are closed.