Happy Easter, Welcome Spring Open Thread

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Happy Easter, Welcome Spring Open Thread

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Just adding a little Easter spirit to the blog with a pretty springy photo. It’s much easier than battling the National Cherry Blossom Festival traffic and crowds too. Enjoy.

    • Dora says:

      This is a beautiful time of the year. Thanks for the pictures.

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      This is supposedly the best time to visit DC – not too hot, not too cold, all the flowers are blooming.

      The crime, the crowds and the corruption are there all year round.

      • Somebody says:

        I’ve had the good fortune of visiting DC during this time of year. The blossoms are absolutely beautiful and they are everywhere! Nobody mentions the falling blossoms. Oh my goodness they’re like pink snow and as they fall there are “drifts” of them.

        • DeniseVB says:

          On the downside, spring school trips from all over the world invade the District. I always appreciate those groups who wear the matching shirts with their school name and hometown clearly visible. It’s as much fun as bird watching ! Sometimes it’s in a foreign language so I have to ask them.

          Bonus is being at the WW2 memorial when an Honor Flight arrives. My eyes never stop watering watching the veterans enjoy their memorial. Damn allergies😉

          • DeniseVB says:

            I remember when our ahole President barricaded these memorials.

          • Somebody says:

            You’re not kidding about the school trips. When we were there, OMG. The worst were the brats that visited Mt. Vernon the same day we did. We couldn’t see anything because they would just jump in front of us. My daughter barely had any hair, she was a couple of months out of treatment. The little shits kept pointing and laughing at her, then the final straw was when they rushed the gift shop and my daughter got knocked down and nearly trampled.

            I put myself out there to protect my daughter, created space then helped my daughter up and made sure she was OK. Then I went immediately to the teachers to complain. The teachers were standing in the hallway chatting, they let the hoard of brats loose into the gift shop. When I approached them about the students behavior they basically told me to go to hell, kids will be kids.

            Lucky for me an employee that had witnessed the episode with my daughter went to get her supervisor. They were coming to talk to me and to check on my daughter. They approached from an office or something behind the where the teachers were in the hallway. They overheard what the teachers said to me and that was the end of the field trip!! They were asked to leave.

            We’d still like to go back to Mt. Vernon one day, but we’d like to figure out the best time to go when there won’t be any school groups there.

            By the by, everybody should put DC and all the sites in the metro DC area on your bucket list.

          • DeniseVB says:

            What an awful experience, glad they got thrown out. If I were the shop manager, I’d call their school and report the behavior, maybe even put the school on a year’s suspension from ever stepping foot in the shop!

            I used to be a field trip volunteer for my kids’ school’s spring trips. I had the reputation of being “The Mean Mom” because I expected a certain public behavior with my charges. Most fun trips, Special Greg’s classes, those kids were happy to be anywhere and I got hugged a lot😉

      • DeniseVB says:

        Sept/Oct is awesome too. Actually anytime in the 40’s temps is great to visit DC and NYC, great walking weather for great walking cities. Which is year round on average. I do still keep Chicago on my summer list…..and if we were to ever have a TCH meetup, that would be my pick.😉

      • 49erDweet says:

        I think the nuts are now in bloom there, too. But come to think of it that’s pretty much all year.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      Lovely, thanks Denise. ❤

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Methinks the festival has been taken over by the LGBT and Code Pink warriors? (I had to look twice at the giant “blossom” ballons😉 )

  3. Dora says:

  4. Myiq2xu™ says:

  5. lyn says:

    Sometimes a FB comment takes off.

  6. AFVet says:

    This is awesome.
    World’s largest virtual Hallelujah Choir.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    No doubt a Trump administration would be better than this one. No doubt at all.

  8. leslie says:

    Happy Easter, THC.❤
    The pictures are so beautiful ! Except, of course from Pakistan. How terrible.
    I hope you all had or will have a good Easter. We're having a late-ish dinner to go with NCAA tourney. Plus, dd#1 is showing her apartment late in the afternoon. She bought a condo overlooking Soldier Field and the lake and needs to sublet her current place. I'm getting dinner ready for my girls but took a break to say hello.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    I love when I find back to back episodes of Fixer Upper ! These guys make me want to move to Waco, TX ! (on HGTV now <3)

    • 1539days says:

      I always wonder who prints those giant house posters

      • swanspirit says:

        I want them to come and work on my house!!! They must get people who do billboards to do those big posters , that is my theory, anyway.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I’m guessin’ their giant sponsors/producers. It’s a nice effect to bumper numerous commercials which they show from beginning to end.

    • 49erDweet says:

      LOL! We keep talking about having them come do a show in Salinas, CA! LOL!

    • leslie says:

      I talked about the Gaines family at Easter Dinner last night. I had Fixer Upper on all afternoon. I actually watched some of the “shotgun” house that the couple got for free, it had to move. Golly, that couple had nerves of steel to even think of getting that house. And what the Gaines did was nothing short of amazing. I so look forward to Tuesday tv now. And I owe it all to you guys here at TCH. 😀

  10. Dora says:

  11. Dora says:

  12. Underwhelmed says:

    When Obama talks about wanting to fundamentally transform your country, this is exactly what he had in mind. That Trump wants to undo this, and that people are attacking him for that, says more than I can bear.


  13. jennifer lyn says:

    It makes me upset too. It is like what it right is wrong, what is up is down, and insanity is the new sanity. Except, of course, for us non-kool aid drinkers. I pray for Trump, I stump for Trump, I want Trump.

  14. Dora says:

  15. Dora says:

    Back in the old days.

  16. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Ivanka had a baby boy.

  17. Myiq2xu™ says:

    • Anthony says:

      LOVE THIS!!! Linzer tarts never looked so good! Will be making them to send as gifts next easter😀

  18. piper says:

    The media in all of its influence is running the race.
    No one knows the truth behind the National Enquirer story nor who set it up – all conjecture until someone owns up – perhaps Marco’s team initially ‘wrote’ the story then decided against it but Mr. Pecker, owner, of the tabloid, is a long term friend of Trump and chose to use to gain favor and help out his good buddy. Whatever……….
    Perhaps people can research the GQ cover / spread of Melania – it seems a certain person asked GQ to do the nude photo shoot with a caption “Sex at 30,000 feet Melania Knauss earning her air miles” He also had no outrage when GQ re-ran the nude photo spread a few weeks ago with the reference to the “Future First Lady? Personally I don’t care about her pictures nor am I voting for her as president.

    I will be voting next week for someone who is no longer in the race but it’s MY vote for a proven leader who has won 3 times in a blue state.

    Time for a break!!!!!!!

  19. Dora says:

    They arrived last night.


Comments are closed.