MONDAY!#&*$!!!!

Only 51 more Mondays to until the next New Year's binge.


Please tell me I get to punch someone in the face today.

Open thread.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

128 Responses to MONDAY!#&*$!!!!

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Good morning to you sunshine ❤

  2. foxyladi14 says:

    Happy Monday mornin’ dear friends.
    If anyone wants to be my friend on FB.
    be sure to leave a message and let me know who you are. 😀

  3. Lulu says:

    That is kind of how I looked when I heard it raining when I woke up. We were going to get a bunch of stuff done in the yard, everything was ready (plants, sharpened and oiled tools and gadgets, new garden clogs!) and then it is raining. It looks like tornado clouds now. NOAA said 10% chance of rain today those assholes.

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      My goal for the week is to transplant my garden from potting cups to in the ground. I probably should mow the lawn near the end of the week. And spray some more weeds.

      • Lulu says:

        I had weeded, put out Preet, had the border beds “purged” of old ratty plants and stuff that had died in the street flooding last year, gave away daylillies, got annuals locally, ordered and received perennials online, already planted hostas, had hubby here to help (with large sharp tool things, yikes!), a big pile of mulch, etc. And it rains. And there are birds everywhere twerping and hopping around like fools! Grrrhhh. My schedule is screwed.

      • 49erDweet says:

        Ya might wanna hold off on the weeds. It’s still drizzling over my way with more coming. They’re just gonna grow taller.

    • leslie says:

      LOL !!! 😀
      I feel the same about NOAA !!!
      👿

  4. Myiq2xu™ says:

    That little girl in the picture up top looks like 2 year old Katie.

    • blowme0bama says:

      We ALL are. The working people get to fund it and be called some particularized form of “asshole” if we complain.

    • leslie says:

      Maybe it’s my bleeding heart librul mindedness, but I am not opposed to having reduced fares for working people who qualify. And if I were among the working poor (I actually did qualify for the reduced fare for seniors while I was working) I’d be able to look for work that could be further away from home if I had this benefit.
      I realize there are people gaming the system everywhere, but there are those who honestly need that reduced fare to make even having a job worthwhile.

      • DandyTIger says:

        As long as the ones who don’t quite meet the qualification agree with their fares going up. And they don’t just go up balancing the reduction for others, they go up to pay for the many government employees and studies that are somehow needed to make these things work. And in some cases, most agree for whatever hikes are needed for these things, seeing the need to help. Just better to not have smoke and mirrors and promise free stuff without showing how it’s paid for.

        • mothy67 says:

          The more I think about it the more I could get behind a fare for the working poor. To me it makes more sense than a lot of programs. As I said I gave metrocards to dishwashers. It was not a nice gesture it made business sense. I’d say only those with jobs, but its hard to find a job if you can’t get there.
          I’d also be fine with increasing food stamps if there were restrictions on what one can purchase. And give a crockpot and I cookbook to applicants. I see people all the time in grocery store buying junk. A big part of it is I don’t think they know how to plan meals. A can of Hunts spaghetti sauce, pasta, 1/2 lb of ground meatand a bag of salad is less than 8 dollars. Grilled cheese and tomato soup is cheap. Chili, beef stew. Frozen pizza is always on sale. From my vista it seems that there is no longer a stigma to collecting welfare and its not short term. My kid is vegan so she packs a lunch, but I have zero problem with free lunch. Just think meeechelle is an ass. A half eaten govt approved lunch does no kid any good. A tad bit of common sense could go a long way.

      • leslie says:

        At one time, seniors and disabled rode free. Then the rules changed so that seniors with proven limited income and disabled with the same proven income rode free. Then the charges increased to half-fare for disabled and seniors (such as I who were employed and earned above the income level). It didn’t bother me – even though it took a chunk of $ even at half fare. Now, I still have to pay the senior fare because I am not on public aid. But thank goodness for that!

      • Myiq2xu™ says:

        The cold hearted Republican answer is that if you subsidize poverty you will get more poverty. We essentially pay people to live in ghettos by subsiding their rent, food, utilities, healthcare and transportation. We take away their incentive to better themselves, thus creating a cycle of welfare dependency.

        • Myiq2xu™ says:

          What would happen to all our inner-city ghettos and barrios if we quit paying poor people to live there?

        • leslie says:

          The reduced fare card actually offers incentive to work or to continue to work. I knew of people (clients) who were able to work and felt so much better and stronger when they could afford to get to work and home. The program was administered (at one time) through the Regional Transit Auth. In some workplaces the pre-tax transit checks were automatically cut from the employees pay and then the employee could use the check only on Metra or the CTA/PACE systems for monthly transportation cards. I suppose there might have been some fraud, but less than one might think. Very small companies were most likely unable to enlist this benefit, but workers could still qualify for monthly reduced fare cards in person at the RTA.
          The system in Chicago has changed somewhat since I dropped out of the transit program at work – but then I also “dropped out of work” when I retired. 😉
          As it is, now that I am retired, and over the magical age of 65, I qualify for the seniors’ reduced fare benefit. Yay me!!!

        • mothy67 says:

          My issue is that so many of these programs penalize a person for being married. I know a young woman that is 25 works as a house cleaner. Her sons birth certificate reads father unknown. She lives with the baby’s father. Gets rent and utility subsidies. Kid is in first now but she got free day care and like a 4,000 return on her taxes. She bought a 60′ TV. I want a new tv. Walmart has the best prices so I buy gift cards to myself. It’s like layaway. When I get to 250 I’ll add a little more. Wallyworld has 50″ screens for under 400.
          A 4,000 dollar return is a lot of money. It’s tax free. I happen to be very conservative when it comes to family. The government provides an incentive to not be wed. Father can leave at any time. It’s perhaps too easy to walk away. I personally think the best place for a child is with a mother and father, unless of course its not. I wish my imp had Ozzie and Harriett. I have made a concerted effort to minimize any negative impact. I feel she is doing well. I sense this attitude from young parents that they want to have it all. Right now. Concept of sacrifice seems lost. Softball is borough not school. Didn’t stop a woman from going to school board and saying 190 dollars was racist. Her kid is white but she lives with a black guy. Noone makes money.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Bleeding heart is in my DNA too 🙂 Maybe it’s just every week there’s something more they want, want, want. Got their 15/hr recently, now give me cheap rides, what next, we pay their cable bills? I know we’re already giving them cell phones and iPads. My taxes are already subsidizing their beer and ciggie luxuries simply by watching them being bought (separately) along side their WIC/food stamp purchases and that’s just not NYC.

        I really don’t know how the working poor can survive the city, it’s barely affordable to visit.

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      I’m not a cold blooded Republican or a bleeding heart librul, but I have a problem with the “demand” concept here.

      • leslie says:

        I don’t really like it either. But when you’re dealing with public systems/agencies, the “Please sir, May I have more”, doesn’t get you anywhere.

  5. mothy67 says:

    Don’t students already get metrocards?

    • leslie says:

      They do in Chicago, but they can only use their student cards during specific hours and only on specific days – i.e. those students who have Saturday classes can’t use their student passes for those classes. And they aren’t eligible for student fares during the summers unless they are enrolled as part of their tuition or school fees. So even then, it isn’t a universal guarantee of lowered fares all the time. (Unless it has changed in the past 10 months.)

    • mothy67 says:

      It’s 116.50 for unlimited 30 day pass. It’s faster thsn a taxi. One person thats cheap, but if you are a family of 5 thats almost 600/month. I lived in Washington Heights and wirjed in Tribeca. My always broke roommate would follow me to subway I’d enter and hand her my card as at 1 am I took a cab home. I always gave the dishwashers a card. Far cheaper than calling a temp agency last minute. I think a lot of low paying jobs do that.

  6. DeniseVB says:

    This is a Virginia conservative blog, pretty much Anybody but Trump most of the time, but this was a good post about how screwed up the political system is now …. in both parties…..

    • taw46 says:

      One of my cousins is a Republican and has always voted. But she never paid any attention to politics. This year she has, supported Trump from the beginning of his campaign. She is now disgusted with the GOP and asked me yesterday, why do I even vote? I am sure quite a few people feel that way now, seeing what is going on with both parties.

  7. taw46 says:

    • leslie says:

      Michelle is a b***h. HAs been since way before s/he was headed to Springfield, IL and then DC. I’d have been more surprised if she actually had invited them to dine.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Michelle doesn’t seem to have friends in DC at all. While reading the First Lady memoirs, it’s amazing how many of their childhood through college friends were such important parts of their lives. Kept them grounded in a sea of chaos. Laura Bush still takes an annual National Parks hiking vacation with her college pals. I’m taking a long break between NancyR and Rosalyn Carter 🙂

        • leslie says:

          From the above link:

          “Michelle and Barack have stated they won’t be returning to their old stomping grounds in Chicago but intend to stay on in Washington while Sasha finishes her high school years at Sidwell Friends School.”

          Never have I been this happy to have read an article all the way through…
          Thanks, taw. ❤

          • DeniseVB says:

            Curbed DC is already househunting for the Obama family … wonder if they’ll sell the Chicago home then? Though I keep hearing they really don’t own it????

          • leslie says:

            I don’t care which house they choose. they have done nothing to deserve those extravagant digs. But as long as they stay away from here, I’m happy.

      • dm says:

        Was that “s/he” a typo or intentional??? No matter…the way I interpreted it gave me a good chuckle.

    • mothy67 says:

      The only thing that makes me like Hillary is that moooochelle dislikes her.

  8. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Did anybody check her for bruises?

  9. AFVet says:

    Feel good tissue alert.

  10. Dora says:

  11. votermom says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Those were the most ridiculous list of demands I’ve ever seen since The Chalkening. Good for OSU.

      • leslie says:

        Maybe they should get jobs and leave school so they can shop at their nearest Whole Foods to get their organically grown foods that ensure sustainability – or whatever.

        I loved that the VP raised the issue of safety for the university employees. It’s interesting that “safe space” doesn’t compute with the students when they aren’t the ones seeking safe spaces away from feeling threatened.

        • DeniseVB says:

          These snowflakes seem to be such a minority at these universities (100 out of thousands who must be attending OSU ?) why are they even allowed to disrupt and agitate much less gain media attention. Just looked it up, OSU’s enrollment was over 65k last fall. Seems to be some people aren’t ready for college.

          • leslie says:

            They should attend community college for starters so they can “figure it out” first.

          • Myiq2xu™ says:

            They should be kicked out of school until they spend 10 years groveling in some minimum wage job. Then they might appreciate college.

          • 49erDweet says:

            Yeah, to me their behavior is “proof beyond a reasonable doubt” they are nowhere near ready for college, and thus sent back home to mummy and popsy.

  12. mothy67 says:

    I have a funny about really old ladies and the bus. I don’t drive so I tend to make frequent stops at the grocery store. I was leaving one day and a woman was walking at a snails pace towards the bus. She was in her 80’s or never heard of sun screen. I offered to help she said fine but we are not having sex. She told me she rarely puts out. I was in love. I took the bus with her and helped her home. I live two blocks from supermarket. Been years. My dad is such a good guy he picks up my lady friends waits in the car while they shop and takes them home. He won’t take a penny. Hag had a bunch of friends in her building. Four of us shop for 10 people. I get drunk and play poker with them. They fight like mad over coupons. It is so much fun. I won’t take any money from them either. They are so funny they argue over a 50 cent coupon but try and give me 20 dollars. What’s really cool is that my brat gets to know them. They were most generous at Christmas. I think it would be wonderful if kids could help out seniors, but sadly there is no way to monitor it. . If I were scum I could rob these women. FYI two of them still got paper checks for Social Security whopping ten minutes to set up Direct Deposit. I had to yell at them. They gave me all their info. Never do that again. When I was a kid the nuns did most of that stuff. Gone. 1984 when I was a senior my mom was in nursing school and my little bro(guy in pic with monster at Pirates opener) was in kindergatren, back thenbit was a half a day. Local church people walked the kids to the church and entertained them until someone could pick em up. Donations were welcome. No charge. Today it seems to me the government has taken over so much of charity and they do it at a huge inefficient manner. I believe in gratitude and giving back. Pup and I go to the pound and walk dogs. I want her to be aware of her fortunes. I believe in my brat. No way in hell I want her boarding the pity train. Nope. I feel it is within my purview to insist she help me clear off the neighbors car on a snowy morning or walk dogs that sit in small cages for 23 hrs a day. I do not think the government has any right to order volunteer work. Michelle said barack will make you. Fuck off.
    I grew up very poor as of this date I have yet to decapitate an infant. I think there is something fundamentally wrong with progressives and their fixation on money. Lack of Air Jordans does not justify murder or robbery. Government treats young parents like they are incapable of tieng shoes.
    My best friend when I was a kid was named Eggy. He had down syndrome and died at 25. We were in the hospital together and stayed friends. He was just Eggy. Not a disease. He was so pure of thought. I consider it a miracle that he was my bud. He had fits usually out of frustration, but when he was happy and laughed it was infectious. I have watched the “elitist” educators trying to pound square pegs into round holes. Does not work. Eggy did not need to be fixed. He was special in that he brought joy. A woman I knew in college went to all the right schools, got her Phd and was in charge at Stanford. Perhaps the worst person I have ever met. She has no soul. Humanity is academic. Save borderline/sociopaths I think everything is muddled. I sure as hell don’t believe 7 year olds belong on high octane drugs.

    • taw46 says:

      I love the story of you and your lady friends. And have respect for how you are raising that wonderful little girl.

      • mothy67 says:

        Thank you. It is sooooo much fun. Random moment. Can I help you? I am not sleeping with you. I’d say a minute later and I would have missed her but she was soooo slow I could have been there an hour later.

        • taw46 says:

          I hope when I am in my 80’s and shuffling along, I run into someone like you, lol! You must be the highlight of her day.

  13. Dora says:

  14. Myiq2xu™ says:

    #ProfilesInCourage:

    • lyn says:

      What an elite sheeple!

    • DandyTIger says:

      Wonder where he’s going to donate the profits? Haha, just kidding. The greedy little bitch will pocket it all of course.

    • leslie says:

      Profiles in Courage . . .
      Bwahahahahaha!

    • DeniseVB says:

      I can afford it if I can get two of you as roomies and kick in about 13K/month each for rent 😛

      Keith’s an idiot, he may not be able to afford it with his dismal career fail, just using Trump as an excuse. 2007 was the height of his MSNBC show, even if he paid the original price in cash, the HOA and taxes are probably killing him.

      • leslie says:

        ^this^ is more likely the truth. He knew it was a Trump building when he bought.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        This was exactly what I was thinking. He probably should have sold the condo a couple years ago but did not want to admit that upkeep was beyond his new pay grade. Now he thinks he can pretend that dumping it on the market is a brave and bold action.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Bazinga ! I found out the cheapest part of living in Manhattan was the purchase price. That looks like a lovely building and location. If it’s a Trump property, it’s a solid investment because, quality.

      • taw46 says:

        Did you see Trump’s comment in the article? He said the price of the apartments would probably go up, once people found out Keith was leaving. Heh, heh.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Trump’s been running since June 2015, Keefer NOW decides he has a problem with him? I smell a scam, too bad the WSJ wanted to go “protest” route. Sigh.

  15. Dora says:

    The fix is in. 😦

    • lyn says:

    • taw46 says:

      This is 2008 all over again. Don’t know if I can take it a second time.

      • lyn says:

        Yep. It is easier knowing that both parties are corrupt beyond redemption, but it is harder to see that our democracy belongs to the rich, and we voters are their pawns.

        • taw46 says:

          In some ways it is harder this go around. I thought their party was the honest one. I trust NO ONE now. Sad. (Well, to be honest, there were very few left that I trusted, lol).

          • 49erDweet says:

            Yeah, it sucks. Being a Repub in CA for past two decades has been rough. To find out the party in the rest of the country is just the same has me reaching for an axe. Chop EVERYTHING down.

  16. Myiq2xu™ says:

    I went to the wrong middle school.

    • CiscoKid says:

      I could ues a little “trauma”. On second thought at my age it probably would kill me.

    • DandyTIger says:

      I’m going to need to see some proof of this.

    • mothy67 says:

      Ugh. I am loathe to have to reconsider my perceptions about children and sex. One cannot stop the barrage of info out there. There is so much exposure . I don’t even say damn around my kid. Her friends parents drop f bombs. I don’t believe in “bad” words but I want her to understand respect. Sadly she knows how babies are made. Hell yes it makes me uncomfortable. I’m not going to watch Last Tango in Paris with her, but she saw Twilight at a friends house. I’m not going to let my hang ups get in her way. I hope to provide parameters. That being said a 16 year old boy getting naked pics I find wrong but he was 16 not 12. The guy should be punished. No job ever again with kids. I jail. But a 16 year old boy getting a dirty picture is not the end of the world. Every 16 year old looks at porn. This guy was wrong but a little perspective.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Didn’t know that was another word for engorgement. Good to learn these things.

  17. lyn says:

    • leslie says:

      I heard someone on talkies radio today screaming about the Trump “sh*t show” and the ignorant Trump followers. I mean he was screaming. I wonder how he’d be talking if it were his candidate that was being cheated…..
      We all know how that would turn out. . . Buncha jerks.

      • lyn says:

        Yep. The Creepy Cruz Corruption is the current shit show.

      • taw46 says:

        As long as it turns out the way they want, they don’t care. And that is why things will not change if Trump is not elected.

        Or, if Trump is passed over and then the party screws Cruz, maybe then they will care about the ethics, the voters, the country.

        • leslie says:

          You know, I was thinking the same thing. As soon as the GOPe screws over Cruz, this cheating and rule of party and not the people will make all the difference. Of course, it’ll be too late. Again

    • DandyTIger says:

      I’m so ready for the pirate party. 🙂

  18. lyn says:

  19. lyn says:

  20. DandyTIger says:

    What to do if you have a tattoo of an ex:

  21. Dora says:

  22. CiscoKid says:

    This is what the propaganda corp never, ever shows. The size of the Trump supporters attending his rallies. Dishonest and corrupt media.
    Locally I watched a so called political “news” report.
    Camera takes a long shot of a Bernie rallie, showing a good size crowd, same for Hillary.
    Now cameras do a split-screen of Trump and Cruz , showing barely from the chest to top of their heads. It’s this kind of bs that is causing a loss of newspaper sales and subscriptions and loss of TV viewers.
    Propaganda corp, we have your number, your not fooling us any more.
    Any power you thought you had to shape our opinions and views is going, going, GONE.

Comments are closed.