What A Dick!

Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO)

Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO)

I don’t mean that as a compliment.

Colorado senator defends state’s delegate process from Trump attacks

Colorado Republican Sen. Cory Gardner defended his state’s delegate selection process late Monday, while criticizing GOP presidential front-runner Donald Trump’s “temper tantrum” over the weekend results.

Gardner fired off a series of tweets in which he called the state party’s convention “fair and well run” before needling Trump, suggesting the businessman’s inability to navigate the delegate process in the Colorado raises questions about his ability to handle issues such as the national budget and foreign affairs.

“Spoke to dozens of Trump supporters this weekend, listened to his surrogate speak twice, not 1 person complained abt process until he lost,” Gardner tweeted, adding in another message that Sen. Ted Cruz attended the GOP convention while Trump sent a surrogate.

“Elections are won by those who show up,” Gardner added.

I am not going to bore you with a discussion of the esoteric details of the Colorado State GOP’s delegate selection process. Unlike a large number of people who are suddenly claiming expertise on the subject, I was wholly ignorant before and I am not terribly interested now.

Millions of people in this country are under the mistaken impression that we hold elections in this country so that the voters can choose our leaders. What a crock of shit.

The reason that we hold elections is to keep up the pretense that we are still a democratic republic. The Powers That Be allow us the illusion of self-governance, but when the voters screw it up then it is the prerogative of the elites to take over and fix things.

We “low information voters” obviously don’t know what is good for us. We were supposed to elect Jeb Bush or Marco Rubio. The media said so. The illusion of choice was there to fool us into thinking it really made any difference which one we picked. Then the “winner” between Jeb and Marco would face Hillary in the fall. As if there was really any difference there either.

Then along came Donald Trump and Bernie Sanders. They were not supposed to win. They were supposed to be comedy relief. It’s like Dancing With The Stars – not every “star” is really a contender. Some people are there just to be good losers. Then the field narrows to the real contenders.

Donald Trump was supposed to be this year’s Geraldo Rivera. For you American Idol fans, Trump was supposed to be William Hung.

Cory Gardner got elected to Congress in 2010, defeating an incumbent Democrat. He was elected to the Senate in 2014, defeating another incumbent Democrat. He probably thinks he owes his success to the GOP establishment.

2010 and 2014 were both GOP wave elections, but the prevailing sentiment in both years was both anti-Democrat and anti-GOP establishment. Those sentiments are the driving force behind Donald Trump’s current success.

Meanwhile, establishmentarian dicks like Gardner sneer at Trump and his supporters. They think that is the can successfully manipulate “The Rules” to prevent Trump from winning the nomination that the vast majority of Trump’s supporters will meekly fall in line and vote for whomever they select instead.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

152 Responses to What A Dick!

  1. votermom says:

    I love a good rant.

  2. elliesmom says:

    I’d like to believe “they have nowhere else to go” has reached its expiration date, but I’m not entirely sure it’s true. There are too many people out there who will buy whatever positive spin the media puts on the Not Trump candidate the establishment chooses. Some people who were solidly in Hillary’s camp in 2008 bought into “Obama won fair and square”, and while others thought the DNC had played dirty, “the Republicans are so much worse” was the argument that won the day. If the “NotTrump” folks succeed, they will quickly become the “AnybodyButInsertDemocratHere” people.

    While I am solidly in the NotHillary camp when the Republicans are offering a decidedly ant-establishment candidate, if I’m faced with choosing between two candidates from the Uni-Party, I’d probably vote for Hillary to get seeing a woman elected president off my bucket list. Whether Hillary Clinton or Paul Ryan sits in the oval office won’t make much difference in the future for my grandson, but her there might make a difference for my granddaughter. I’m determined to vote “for” someone instead of “against” someone this time so I’ll be grasping at straws in the voting booth.

    • lyn says:

      I probably will hold my nose and vote for Hillary too if Trump is not the nominee.

          • Jadzia says:

            If I were voting, that would be me four. Interesting that Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump are (and correct me if I’m misremembering) the only presidential candidates I can recall who both have HUGE “ANYBODY BUT [fill in the blank]” campaigns against them(*). For a long time it was only Hillary Clinton who had this dubious “honor” even though hate her if you want, there are plenty of other politicians out there who have done awful things. Indeed, it was the fact that Trump drew the same kind of organized hate that Hillary always had that made me look at him a little bit closer.

            (*)I guess Sarah Palin probably also fits in this category, come to think of it, but she is also a lady politician and the fact that this kind of organized “anybody but YOU” campaign was for a long time only targeted at a woman was kind of my point.

      • leslie says:

        Not I. I will write in a name before I vote for Hillary or Whoever else is running if the NotTrump train is successful. Or I won’t vote at all.

        • AFVet says:

          Her election would guarantee another 4 years of Obama’s policies if not worse.
          Haven’t we had enough of this already ?

        • lyn says:

          Yeah, I feel the same way about Hillary. I need to find out the rules for write-ins in Orygun, because I wouldn’t want my Trump write-in to go to the non-Trump GOP nominee. In the end, I’ll vote third party for the rest of my life.

          • elliesmom says:

            The write in votes in Oregon do not go to the party of the person who is written in, but the write ins are not tallied separately. So a vote for Trump if he’s not the nominee and a vote for Mickey Mouse are both counted as “write-ins”, and the total is just tallied as “x number of write ins”. I hope that helps.

          • lyn says:

            That does help. Thank you, em!

      • AFVet says:

        So you would vote for a known crook that is under investigation by the FBI, and would bring her husband back into the WH who had the balls to piss on the Oval Office and was impeached by the house, although never convicted by the senate.

        You would put this liar, Hillary back in the WH after Benghazi ???
        You need to read her history.

        So sorry, I would never vote for that bitch.

        • mothy67 says:

          I’m writing inTrump. #Neverryan #Never GOPe

        • elliesmom says:

          I get the anger toward Hillary. I really do. But voting in someone from the Republican establishment wouldn’t change what happens policy-wise. Everything the Democrats have done in the last 8 years has been aided and abetted by the Republicans. Including ObamaCare. So from my perspective whether the President is honest or not makes no difference if the end result is the same. And I know Hillary’s history as well as you do. I worked for her in 2008, and I knew her history then, too. Benghazi is an issue for me, but it won’t make me vote for a Republican just because he’s not her. Presidents and their administration have messed in places they shouldn’t be and have gotten caught before. Bay of Pigs? Iran-Contra?

          I think the missing point here is that I am neither a Republican or a Democrat, and I have never been either one. Party affiliation is never a selling or a disqualifying issue for me. I also absolutely not concerned about the marital fidelity about anyone except the fella I married. Show me a husband who cheats and doesn’t lie about it. So Bill’s lies aren’t particularly interesting to me, either. I’d probably vote for Bill again f he could run. Life was good during his administration, and he provided a lot of entertainment. I don’t do “protest” votes. Write-in votes don’t even get counted unless another candidate benefits from them. So, yes, if the Republicans offer up the same old same old, I will vote for Hillary Clinton, and I offer no apologies for it.

          • Anthony says:

            Great comment and perfectly reasoned. I’ve thought about choosing between Hillary and a non Trump Republican, and I thought I’d wait and see how Hillary presents herself if she wins the nomination. If her GE platform is her own and not a promise to “preserve and expand upon Obama’s stupendous accomplishments”, I will consider her more seriously than I can now. Otherwise, my alternate plan is to just go day drinking

          • jeffhas says:

            Day Drinking is my new candidate of choice.

          • lyn says:

            Yep. Hillary is going to have to be her own woman for me to consider her. I don’t like her Obama love.

          • Jadzia says:

            I also love that apparently now we’re blaming Hillary Clinton (who would not be my first choice at this point, let’s just get that out of the way) for her husband’s wandering penis. What?

          • Jadzia says:

            I agree with you, Anthony. It would be hard (okay, impossible) to vote for somebody who promised another Four Glorious Years of Obama’s policies.

        • Jadzia says:

          And I would never call a woman candidate a “bitch” regardless of how I felt about her positions. Not Hillary Clinton, not Nancy Pelosi, not Sarah Palin, nobody.

      • fuckit says:

        My winky is so small I have to sit down to pee pee.

    • Jadzia says:

      I agree with you. If all else is relatively equal (as was the case in ’08), I would happily vote for somebody whose presence in the office would be a first for women–and I did, voting for Hillary in the primary and McCain/Palin in the general. I don’t think anybody would fault African-Americans for being proud and happy about Obama’s election (although he sure didn’t turn out to be much of a president and I’m in no way saying that that should be the only criterion for a person’s vote), it WAS historic. Also historic (in terms of a historical echo) was that once again, women were told to sit down and wait their turn, kind of like when voting rights were being handed out after the Civil War.

      I do wonder whether my old (public and lily-white) law school will cancel classes for a day so that the Whole Law School Community Can Come Together and Celebrate this election by watching Hillary’s inauguration, the way it did in 2008. My prediction is that a historic moment for women is not going to be seen as quite as important and that all of a sudden it’s going to be “Well, it’s the person that counts!” It is interesting to me that the gross term “vagina voters” has become widespread, yet there is no equivalent term for folks who voted for Obama solely because of his race.

      • elliesmom says:

        I was 13 when my dad insisted I watch the Republican convention with him so I would see Margaret Chase Smith be put in nomination for president. My dad was the chairman of the local Democratic Party, and he recognized this was a first his party had let pass them by. i know Hillary Clinton is not a perfect candidate for POTUS. I’m disgusted enough to vote for the Republican instead if he represents something important, too. But I’m not going to vote for a vanilla Republican because Hillary is guilty of things a lot of men we’ve elected are guilty of, too. I don’t expect the first woman POTUS to be June Cleaver. Show me a Republican who won’t be a continuation of the last 8 years, and that will get my attention. And forget about the Supreme Court. The last Republican made John Roberts Chief Justice.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    Lots of hemming and hawing on the twit feed this morning about Colorado. Like, well d’oh, CO said there wouldn’t be an election 8 months ago, this was our plan stupid. Then there was the problem that Trump’s CO delegates can’t go to the convention ? While every state runs their elections differently, which is confusing to begin with. They all should be Virginia, enter polling place, ask for GOP or Dem ballot, vote, leave. Guess that’s what makes us so purpley, the battle of redneck southeastern VA vs. establishment NOVA.

    • Propertius says:


      The reason why we don’t have a Presidential primary in Colorado anymore is that the (at the time) Republican majority in our legislature did away with it in 2002 “to save the taxpayers money”. The actual reason is somewhat different: the Republicans were facing significant challenges from the Libertarian Party in many predominately-Republican districts (Colorado Springs/El Paso County, in particular). By requiring parties to hold both precinct-level caucuses and country and statewide conventions in order to remain on the ballot, Republicans hoped to bankrupt the Libertarians (caucuses and conventions are paid for by the parties, primary elections are paid for by state and county governments).

      Like it or not, political parties are private organizations and can conduct their internal affairs pretty much any way they want. State delegate slates are selected by the folks who physically show up at the state convention – if your campaign organization isn’t up to the task of insuring that your county delegates actually do so, then you’re going to lose. This is the price Trump pays for not having an organization on the ground. A lot of people at precinct caucuses propose themselves for precinct delegates without giving much thought as to whether they’re really going to make it to the county assembly. Similarly, a lot of folks at county assemblies propose themselves for state delegates without considering whether they want to drive a couple of hundred miles on a nice weekend to sit in a crowded room and be yelled at by politicians for 5 or 6 hours. When it’s crunch time, most delegates would just blow it off – which is why most campaigns know who their delegates are and hound them mercilessly in the days leading up to the state convention, set up car pools, etc.=. If they don’t show up, you don’t get the votes and somebody else walks away with the state delegation. Like I said, this is the price Trump pays for not having a state organization with people who know the process. This is the way it has worked (or not) here since the 2004 election cycle.

      Would I rather have a state primary? Of course I would (I missed caucus this year because of an out of town business trip).

      • Myiq2xu™ says:

        Perhaps Trump knew all of that but decided that the payoff just wasn’t worth the time and money. Let’s suppose that Trump could have reasonably won 50% of the delegates if he really tried to fight the rigged system. How much would that have cost him?

        Would that time and money produce a better return elsewhere?

        • AFVet says:

          Very possibly.
          Trump is a calculator.
          The Cruz was on Beck this morning telling us that Trump doesn’t have the ground game Cruz has.
          OK, but I see a lot of real people out there for Trump.
          So where does the “ground game” stop and the people come into play ?

          • lyn says:

            These Creepy Cruz and GOPe liars need to define ground game. To me their ground game is taking Trump out on every corner and ignoring the voters.

          • taw46 says:

            Yes, the voters are going Why the f**k do we need a ground game for AFTER the election? We already voted! {Colorado excluded}.

        • mothy67 says:

          Look at all the media attention. People are pissed off. Seems he saved hundred of millions in ads.

          • taw46 says:

            True. And the people who did not wake up and see it in 2008, now see how these private clubs can make whatever rules they want, all legal, to manipulate who is chosen as the nominee.

          • taw46 says:

            I will never forget the 2008 Democratic primary. Seeing how unfair caucuses could be (locking people out, taking away the registration books). That Texas had a caucus AND a primary. That some districts votes counted more/received more delegates because they were a minority district. Just some of the lovely little rules the Dems had, all legal, but not right. (as Klown said).

  4. DeniseVB says:

    We got this in the mail too. Aholes.

  5. DandyTIger says:

    The sad part is the GOPe are fine if the Trump (and/or Cruz) voters don’t vote in November. Hillary is one of them too. And frankly, Dems winning a lot of seats in the House and Senate might wash away some of those tea party congressman that are nothing but trouble.

    But the one thing the establishment can’t conceive of is if the anti-establishment feelings continue and grow. And maybe they’re right, maybe she sheeple will be bored with the drama, be OK with Hillary and a Dem congress, and move on. And then blindly fight the fight as if votes matter in four years. But maybe they’re not right. Maybe Americans are waking up.

    • DandyTIger says:

      If our votes don’t matter, do their laws matter?

    • elliesmom says:

      From what I’m seeing, the people who were upset by the establishment in 2008 are for the most part perfectly OK with the Democrats doing a lot of the same things in 2016 because this time they’re doing it for the candidate they support. Our little enclave here is still angry, but most of the people who were with us then are OK with the superdelegates doing whatever it takes to get Hillary the nomination this time. They might pay lip service to their anger in 2008, but they aren’t angry enough to still punish the Democratic Party. Most of them weren’t angry enough in 2008.

      If the Republicans choose an establishment candidate, and he wins in 2016, then I think a lot of the anger will dissipate. “At least the Republican won”. Electing Obama at least kept that awful Sarah Palin out of the VP slot satisfied a lot of Democrats who preferred Hillary. If the Republican establishment chooses their own candidate, and he loses, and loses badly, that might be enough to keep the anger building. But I still stick by my observation that most of Trump’s supporters are not die-hard Republicans, and where that anger gets directed is anybody’s guess.

  6. taw46 says:

    Rand Paul was on MJ today. Talked about how Rule 40b was put in place in 2012 to exclude his father. So votes for him did not count, because he did not win 8 states. Now they are talking about Kasich’s votes counting. And if they go beyond first ballot, letting Rubio votes count. Rule 40b means nothing this go around. (Probably a given that the Rules Committee will change it before the convention).


  7. jennifer lyn says:

    The only reason bad men/people rule is because good people do nothing. If we are the good people we must take action–what do you suggest? Can’t say what I want to do to them all. It’s worse than we could ever have imagined…way worse.

  8. DeniseVB says:

    A lot of people don’t realize fast food places are franchised and considered small businesses so this is how $15/hr min wage will affect them. First article in a long time from NRO that I agree with……

    • elliesmom says:

      In the area where I lived in MA, all banks had ATM machines. All of the major grocery stores had self-checkouts. One even had a hand scanner so you could scan your groceries and bag them as you shopped. When you got to the checkout, you just plugged the scanner into a slot and it calculated your bill. Checkout took seconds.. Home Depot, BJ’s, Sam’s Club, etc. all had self-checkout. Our Mickey D’s had kiosks. Even one of the doctor’s offices had a kiosk receptionist part-time. Other than the ATM at the bank, nothing is automated here in RI. One grocery store has “carousel bagging” so the checkout can be managed by the cashier without a bagger, but that’s as automated as it gets. The difference in minimum wage is $.40 an hour. I don’t know if that’s a factor or not.

    • Dora says:

      Maybe they will have to go back to serving horse meat.

  9. Myiq2xu™ says:

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      This reminds me of when Obama supporters said that Hillary agreed that Florida and Michigan wouldn’t count. Who gives a fuck what Hillary agreed to?

      What about the voters in those two states? Did they agree?

      • taw46 says:

        No, I did not agree, my 2008 vote did not count. And I will never forget Chris Matthews being fine with it, because Florida “broke the rules”. This hypocrite who always talks about the Dem party being for the people, didn’t give a damn about those voters.

  10. Dora says:

  11. DandyTIger says:

    And while all this cheating and disenfranchising is happening, Europe is burning. What’s amazing is the establishment of our parties, and of European parties, are all fine with that. It’s just the peasants suffering after all. Swapping one set of peasants for another is of no consequence I guess.

    • taw46 says:

      This is insane, what has been happening for a long time in Europe. And the media doesn’t report it. Oh, they will when an attack happens, but just to show all the flowers and candles and everyone crying. Then we get the obligatory Islamaphobic stories. Then nothing. I fear you are right, they don’t care who the peasants are, as long as we all are peasants.

    • Jadzia says:

      So our traveling companions in Rome were some old friends who… well, let’s just say they have NO idea of my political views and I grit my teeth and have another drink a LOT. Anyway, Mr. Old Friend, who lived in Italy something like 30 years ago and loves him some unlimited numbers of “refugees” in the USA, at one point remarked that Italy seemed a lot more Middle Eastern than he remembered it. Me in my head: “REALLY? YOU DON’T SAY.”

      I gritted my teeth and had another drink.

  12. votermom says:

  13. Dora says:

  14. DeniseVB says:

    Tanya Harding in a spoof clip with Melissa Rauch …. warning: salty words

  15. Myiq2xu™ says:

    I am really disgusted with a lot of people right now. I can understand opposing Donald Trump. But a principled person would say “I oppose Trump, but we have to beat him fair and square.”

    Too many people are turning out to not have principles.

    • lyn says:


      • Myiq2xu™ says:

        It’s like getting piously lectured for years on abstinence and sexual morality by your preacher and then finding out he and his wife are hosting swinger parties.

        Then when you call him out on it he says “Hey, it’s legal!”

    • taw46 says:

      I could have accepted it if he lost fair and square. But “fair and square” went away a long time ago, it has turned into an all out assault on him and his voters. 2008 all over again.

      • Myiq2xu™ says:

        The assault on his supporters is beyond the pale.

        • Myiq2xu™ says:

          On just about any blog or news site (except this one) if you make any comment that seems to be the least bit supportive of Trump you will be called names and personally attacked.

          • taw46 says:

            I know. Same with Twitter. And by people I admired as fair and intelligent, who could make their point without being insulting. And their humor was great, not mean in any way. All gone now. Just don’t understand this, they have driven so many people away. Do they really think everyone will forgive and forget? Read them again?

          • Myiq2xu™ says:

            I have started unfollowing people before they cross the line and make me block them.

          • DeniseVB says:

            Yeah, PTSD from 2008. Little difference between the Obots and NeverTrumps. I went from Edwards to Team Hillary because her supporters were nicer to me🙂

          • elliesmom says:

            I have a very dear lesbian friend who goes off the rails if I say anything positive about Donald Trump. I personally don’t think Trump gives a shit one way or the other about LGBT issues. Which at this point is my position. She is married and someone baked her a lovely cake. She has a good job and has had spousal benefits even before she was legally able to marry. She’s in the process of adopting a child, and she is more than welcome in her neighborhood. I honestly don’t know what else she wants. So I sat her down and said, “I’m not a single issue voter, and if I was, my issue wouldn’t be your issue. We can agree not to talk about Donald Trump, but if you bring him up, you can’t expect me to remain silent when what you say isn’t true.” It’s killing her, but it worked.

          • Myiq2xu™ says:

            I miss the good old days when we talked politics and religion f2f and you could disagree with someone, argue about it for hours (over beers) and then part as friends. Most of the time you would go back the next night and do it again.

          • Myiq2xu™ says:

          • AniEm says:

            The media frequently alleges that Trump has a problem with women, but I think male jealousy of Trump is astronomical and a significant factor in the glut of Trump-hostility.

          • elliesmom says:

            The women I know who have a problem with Trump have a problem with any Republican. male or female.

          • Jadzia says:

            myiq, I miss that too! Back in college, I was really politically active and very left wing. And the majority of my friends were Republicans, some of them quite conservative. We argued and argued and stayed great friends; some of them remain friends to this day. (And I actually have not mentioned to them that my politics have changed because it KILLS ME to admit that they might have had a point about some things. Ha ha.)

            I don’t think that Kids Today (please pass the Werther’s) have those same kinds of experiences. Which is a shame. It certainly did me some good to learn that not everybody in the world thought the same way that I did. It certainly did me some good to learn that people with whom I disagreed could be not only just as smart as I was but also good people.

  16. DeniseVB says:

    So, didn’t PayPal pull out of NC because of the new potty bill to keep penises out of the ladies room or something? These countries don’t seem to bother them ….

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      It will be interesting to see if Pay Pal actually moves that supposed expansion elsewhere or if they just used the legislation as an excuse to pull out of an agreement that was no longer financially feasible.

  17. Dora says:

    I didn’t realize that Donald Trump was a fan of Ayn Rand. It does make sense that he would model himself on Howard Roark. I’m impressed.

    Trump Talks Ayn Rand In Lengthy Media Interview

    Lost in the more contentious conflict that is Trump vs Cruz, was a far more interesting discussion between GOP front runner Donald Trump and USA Today columnist Kirsten Powers that had the New York billionaire explaining his affinity for a specific character from Rand’s, The Fountainhead.


  18. Myiq2xu™ says:

  19. mothy67 says:

    I only respond to facebook posts that attack Trump. I do not initiate anything. I get attacked all the time. I have been called a racist repeatedly. Never an argument of substance. I have a nasty tongue but I refrain from personal attacks. Not so much the other side. I have been called a self hating queer. Widely insulted for living in my parents basement. I live in a garage because I am trying to right by a little girl. It takes 3 of us. My parents live on small savings and social security. I pay for the extras. Over a grand a month. Means more to me that brat has access than what a stranger says on facebook.

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      In most of the world it is considered normal for unmarried adult kids to live with their parents. Only in America is it considered abnormal for extended families to live together.

      • mothy67 says:

        It is economics. I could get an apartment. Seems senseless to me. My parents are her great grandparents. They are stable wonderful people but they are old. I am old enough to be some of her frirnds parents parent. My dad has an oxygen tank but he coaches softball. Yhe kids love Coach Pap. I make damn sure my brat is not the sad child being raised by grandparents. Every town has that poor child. My kid is not the object of pity. Not on my watch. Every Saturday night I have to do battle with my shark infested floors as the girl’s build a living room fort/ship for sleepover. She finished therapy. I wasn’t taking any chances. She never had behaviorar problems, but her parents never made her a priority. I wanted to make sure she didn’t have a festering sore. Therapist gave her a clean bill of health. I paid cash because I didn’t want a record. I also have to be here because my parents are backwards when it comes to sex. I was 18 at Purdue playing srlf hypnosis tapes as I went to bed. I am a heterosexusl male over and over again. I was so filled with shame, but I’m a fighter by nature. Sex in my family for me was like being the cockroach in Kafka’s Metamorphosis. My mom and my sister were both 15. Pup got in the car and declared her childhood dead because Arianna spilled the beans about sex in graphic detail. Her sexuality will not be defined by an ignorant neglected child nor my repressive parents. Thankfully she is mature. I had hoped for a few years but at least she let me know. Her BFF’s mother lost it when I told her. I had informed the school I think they should have informed the parents. Little girl was graphic. Talked about servicing a man’s cock. Just no at 9. No no no. How do you deal with that. You want to avoid shame but emphasize responsibility. Its everyshere for kids today. Love my parents but they were hatched in the 40’s and are old school Catholic. I think I navigated it fairly well. Me thinks that conversation is never easy. I made a choice to endure my brat. That comes with sacrifice. I could be living in the adult amusement park known as Manhattan. I elected to stick around for a kid. My choice. What is funny is that I live in the garage, but I own the house.

        • votermom says:

          When kid the older was in kinder, she said when she grew up she would build a little house in our yard and live there.
          I remind her of that now and she laughs.
          I say “you promised!”

      • Jadzia says:

        Or the parents can be like my in-laws, who conveniently have an apartment in Paris (purchased back when the area was a bad neighborhood) where a series of the young unmarrieds in the family have lived. : )

  20. helenk3 says:

    sometimes it does not pay to be “too smart by a half”

    Lawyer Tries To Sue Insurance Company To Make Money Off Them. But The Outcome? Gold
    By Anonymous User
    A lawyer purchased a box of very rare and expensive cigars, then insured them against, among other things, fire.

    Within a month, having smoked his entire stockpile of these great cigars and without yet having made even his first premium payment on the policy, the lawyer filed a claim against the insurance company.

    In his claim, the lawyer stated the cigars were lost “in a series of small fires.” The insurance company refused to pay, citing the obvious reason, that the man had consumed the cigars in the normal fashion. The lawyer sued… and won.

    In delivering the ruling, the judge agreed with the insurance company that the claim was frivolous. The judge stated nevertheless, that the lawyer held a policy from the company in which it had warranted that the cigars were insurable and also guaranteed that it would insure them against fire, without defining what is considered to be unacceptable fire, and was obligated to pay the claim.

    Rather than endure a lengthy and costly appeal process, the insurance company accepted the ruling and paid $15,000 to the lawyer for his cigars lost in the “fires.”

    But after the lawyer cashed the check, the insurance company had him arrested on 24 counts of arson!

    With his own insurance claim and testimony from the previous case being used against him, the lawyer was convicted of intentionally burning his insured property and was sentenced to 24 months in jail and a $24,000 fine. This is a true story and was the First Place winner in the recent Criminal Lawyers Award Contest!

    Serves him right, wouldn’t you say? SHARE if you enjoyed this story!
    Share on Facebook

  21. Dora says:

  22. Dora says:

    ***Horse Race LiveWire*** Ryan: I Don’t Want, Won’t Accept Nomination; Jeb!, Top GOPers to Skip Convention


    • taw46 says:

      From that article:

      “2:40: Zuckerberg takes veiled shot at Trump, criticizes “fearful voices calling for building walls.”
      “I hear fearful voices calling for building walls and distancing people they label as others, for blocking free expression, for slowing immigration, reducing trade and, in some cases around the world, even cutting access to the internet,” he reportedly said.”

      This from the man who bought 4 houses surrounding his and put up a massive fence.

  23. lyn says:

    Trump is attacking the RNC and the last two GOP presidential candidates at his Rome, NY, rally. LOL.

  24. DandyTIger says:

    As screwed up as this process is, with all the corruption, and the likelihood that the voters will is going to be ignored, it’s still the best election ever. The more obvious the disdain for the voters the media and parties are, the better in the long run.

  25. Dora says:

    • Venus says:

      My dad — a lifelong Republican (that’s 60+ years voting Republican, including for Ford in ’76) — who started out the primary season between Walker and Cruz told me today:

      I like Trump. He’s not a pure “conservative” but he’s conservative enough for me and he talks about the things I care about. I hope he gets the nomination. And if he doesn’t, then good luck, because I’m not voting for any of those other fuckers ever again.

      Good job, GOPe — when you lose a guy like my dad, you have well and truly shit the bed.

      • DandyTIger says:

        I’m seeing the same thing on the R side of my family. Not really that enamored with Trump, but turned off by Cruz and the establishment over the last month. They’re feeling like the GOPe needs to be taken down a notch. None of them are saying they’ll vote for the Dem at this point, but not voting for the GOP nominee if it isn’t Trump.

  26. mothy67 says:

    I threw out my futon. Went back in the house to get two more bags of garbage. Came back out metal futon gone. I wonder how much those people make . I guess the nust drive on trash day picking us stuff recyclables are every other Tuesday but my bin is always empty . Pretty crafty. I.m glad they take my cans and bottles. I hVe to pay trash company that turns around and cashes it in.I guess they are tresspassing. I don’ tcare. I am curious as to what they make. Has to be at least two people.

    • elliesmom says:

      At our old house the night before the recycling was picked up was “free night”. You could find lots of good stuff.

      • Myiq2xu™ says:

        Merced used to have a spring clean-up program where you could leave stuff by the curb and the city would pick it up and haul it away. We called it “Curb shopping”.

  27. votermom says:

    Just watched last night’s ep of Damien. I like this show. Too bad the ratings are so low.

  28. Venus says:

  29. taw46 says:

    Just watched the Trump family on Anderson Cooper townhall tonight. Great family, especially Ivanka. Two people in the audience who were undecided changed after listening to he and his family, will now vote for Trump.

  30. lyn says:


  31. Jadzia says:

    I’m back from Rome and need a vacation to recover from my vacation. Finished chapter 9, section 1 on the train. 8 GLORIOUS WRITING DAYS TO GO.

  32. Venus says:

  33. Venus says:

    Paul Manafort explains what is going on with delegates — it’s not that rules aren’t know; it is Cruz/CO (and other places) are abusing rules to cut people out. Cruz isn’t winning “delegates” — he’s winning bodies for a 2nd ballot plan.
    This guy is smooth as butter.

    • Venus says:

      Sorry guys, wrong link. I do love the snark by Conservative Pundit though.

      This is the video I meant to post of Paul Manafort (Trump’s delegate manager — who got Ford the nomination in 76 and Reagan in ’80)

  34. Dora says:

    Photo from last night’s interview. A beautiful family.

  35. Dora says:

    I think I’ll spend the day cleaning out the attic. 🙂

    A family had a stroke of luck when they discovered a dusty old painting in their attic ­ it could be worth $136 million.


  36. dailypuma says:

    This article makes a good case, but leaves out one critical piece of information. Donald Trump has been purposely having a lower overhead for his campaign specifically so he can ridicule the standard political practice of hiring advisors and consultants for the entire campaign. Now it has somewhat backfired.

Comments are closed.