Friday Pop Quiz!

It’s a good thing I’m not a teacher because I would so torture my class with unexpected quizzes and stuff.

This is from chinasmack
which says:

What takes an elementary school student just seconds to do; takes a high school student several minutes; takes a college student half and hour and up; and takes a Ph.D a lifetime… After I shared this problem with my class and saw so many academic tyrants spend half the day trying to figure it out, I snickered sinisterly inside.

Can you solve this is 20 seconds?

Open thread!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

136 Responses to Friday Pop Quiz!

  1. jeffhas says:

    YAY! I’m not an academic tyrant!!!! I got it right away!

    That never happens, I’m almost always twisted on damn questions like this!

    Thank you – maybe I’m not Stu Pid after all.

  2. DandyTIger says:

    So easy. 87. You just need a flexy brain.🙂

    • swanspirit says:

      Yep, being occasionally LizDexic helps too.

    • taw46 says:

      My brain is flexy.

    • elliesmom says:

      There’s one I used to give my high school students. It’s a kiddie drawing of a school bus. Both ends of the bus look remarkably the same. The question is “Which direction is the bus going in?” Little kids get it right away. There’s a door on the bus near one end of the drawing so that’s the front of the bus. Drove the bigger kids crazy.

  3. DandyTIger says:

    Hillary doing paid trolling against Bernie.

    A Super PAC headed by a longtime Clinton operative is spending $1 million to hire online trolls to “correct” Bernie Sanders’ supporters on social media.

    Correct The Record (CTR), which is operated by Clinton attack dog and new owner of Blue Nation Review David Brock, launched a new initiative this week called “Barrier Breakers 2016” for the purpose of debating supporters of Senator Bernie Sanders — or “Bernie Bros,” as they’re referred to in Correct the Record’s press official release — on Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, and other social media platforms.

    The “Barrier Breakers” will also publicly thank Hillary Clinton’s superdelegates and fans for supporting her campaign. The paid trolls are professional communicators, coming from public relations and media backgrounds.

    • Somebody says:

      Oh my what an interesting way to woo people over to your side, by trolling them. WCPGW?

  4. Dora says:


  5. lyn says:

    87 and I didn’t peek.

  6. Dora says:

    Boris is in trouble again. He’s not only being accused of racism, but “dog whistle racism”! My God, that is shocking!

    It seems like the Brits can’t tolerate the truth any more than the Americans can. (Sigh)

    Boris Johnson branded ‘racist’ and likened to the right-wing Tea Party after his attack on the ‘part Kenyan’ Barack Obama

    Mayor of London mentioned Obama’s African ancestry as he criticised the decision to remove Winston Churchill bust from the Oval Office. Johnson suggested Obama got rid of the statue because of his ‘ancestral dislike of the British empire’

  7. DeniseVB says:

    LOL, so all those years I spent in h.s. remedial math I had the problems upside down ? /snork

  8. Dora says:

    Bad scene. Going on now.

  9. votermom says:

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Media so busy covering NeverTrump I have to get my news from TMZ ….. percocet killed Prince😦

    • Somebody says:


    • foxyladi14 says:

      Sad about Prince. RIP. ❤

    • swanspirit says:

      The article says Trump rally in Maryland marked by fervent protests. Their patchouli was stronger than their protests. They were limited to one little grassy area, and surrounded by State Police with dogs.
      Inside , the Secret Service ejected a bunch of kids wearing Mexican flags before they could let out a peep, and before Donald ever arrived. They marched them out right in front of me, and the kids looked like they didn’t know what hit them. They were mumbling something about “I didn’t do nuffin” , but they were quietly and quickly ejected.
      Fervent protests ? More like pungent protests.
      The media are SUCH liars.

    • Somebody says:

      I don’t think handing out lists at your rallies with your preferred delegates is cheating. It’s just smart politics. Unfortunately for Cruz not many ppl show up at his rallies, LOL!

      I wish the Trump campaign would do the same thing. Hand out lists to everyone, including those in the overflow line.

      • Anthony says:

        “I wish the Trump campaign would do the same thing”

        Thats exactly the kind of politicking he’s running against. He can well afford to buy all the delegates he needs to win, but he’s running to stop ‘dirty hustling’ and has garnered enough support that I think he’ll get well past the finish line without resorting to cheating

  11. Dora says:

    OMG! She will do or say anything! How could any white person vote for this woman?

    Hillary Clinton says racism is in the DNA of white people.

    She told a mostly black audience on Wednesday that racial bias is something that has been part of our “DNA going back probably millennia.”

    • AFVet says:

      I think desperation is setting in.

      • Anthony says:

        Yes, the sharks are circling closer now

      • CiscoKid says:

        Hillary should be a little happier today.
        I’m sure everyone here has read over at DRUDGE that the Gov’r in VA. has restored the voting rights to 200,000 ex-felons.
        With with the addition of illegals and felons voting for Hillary she could win.

    • DandyTIger says:

      So a trait of behavior is in the DNA? Interesting idea.

      • SHV says:

        The SJWs have made the word racist/ism so broad that it can mean anything that the collective says it means. That said, I think that “Us/Them” is “hard wired” into human behavior. The Japanese society probably the most extreme modern example of this. IIRC, 97.5% of citizens of Japan are “genetic” Japanese.

        • Propertius says:

          The Japanese society probably the most extreme modern example of this.

          The Japanese verb “chigau” has two meanings: to be different, and to be wrong.
          Let’s just say that diversity is not as valued there as it is here. Or, as the Japanese proverb says, “deru kugi wa utareru” (“the nail that sticks up gets hammered down”).

          • Myiq2xu™ says:

            The primary difference between Eastern and Western religion/philosophy is that the latter tends to emphasize the individual where the former emphasizes the whole.

      • swanspirit says:

        Must be that fog of science that is confusing her. She does seem to have fog following her wherever she goes.

      • DeniseVB says:

        LOL. I read a “study” recently that “proved” if you’re a moody SOB, you probably have 2% Neanderthal DNA. I swear, true story😉

      • John Denney says:

        “Homophobia is in my genes, so I can’t be blamed; it’s perfectly natural.”
        Said no one ever. Maybe. Coming soon?

        “I believe in karma. That means I can do whatever I want to you and it’s ok because you deserve it.” – Dogbert in the Dilbert comic strip.

  12. Myiq2xu™ says:

    What is the next number?

    3-3-5-4-4-3-5-5- ?


    • Somebody says:

      Fine I’ll play my guess is 3

      • leslie says:

        That’s what I got. But it wasn’t based on math but on rhythm. Is it correct?

        • lyn says:

          It’s the sequence of the numbers.

        • Somebody says:

          Well apparently that is wrong because I said 3 already, so you two put on your dunce caps and come drool in the corner with me! I was looking at the pattern also Leslie, but apparently that isn’t how it is solved……it’s Friday, I’ll make margaritas so we’ll have a reason to drool!!

          • Somebody says:

            Lyn it’s not the sequence I thought it was 335……435…..535, but Klown said no. So come on over here and have a margarita!

          • Somebody says:

            I think it’s part of one of Klown’s ex-girlfriend’s phone numbers, LOL!

          • lyn says:

            I’m LOL at my reading comprehension.

          • Somebody says:

            So you already started on the pitcher of margaritas BEFORE you answered Lyn?

          • lyn says:

            It would be Not Your Father’s Root Beer, but we drank the last bottle last night.

          • leslie says:

            I’ll see your margaritas and bring the salt.😉
            I saw what Klown said, but chose to say it anyway,\Did we find out what the correct response is? (Just got home from childcare and wanted to get back to you. (I don’t know why, but my iPad won’t allow me to reply in the little respond box to the right. It freezes and I have to restart when I try to reply.)

    • CiscoKid says:

      d, all the above.

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      My bad. I left out a number. The correct sequence is:

      3-3-5-4-4-3-5-5- ?

      Hint: This is not a math problem.

      Hint #2: The sequence would be different in Mexico.

    • Somebody says:

      OK this is pissing me off……soooooo 3, 3, up two = 5, 4, 3, up two and double 5, 5, now up two again = 7?

      • DandyTIger says:

        Think numbers of letters in a word instead of numerical sequence.

        • Myiq2xu™ says:

          I dropped this question on an AP Calculus class I was subbing in. They were going nuts trying to figure it out. Nobody got it.

          • mothy67 says:

            Without the clues I never would have gotten it. I broke out pen and paper.

          • Somebody says:

            You left out a number??? You left out a number?? I got so pissed trying to figure it out and I come back and find out you left out a number??? I even asked my son, who btw is a computer engineer and a math wizard and he agreed with my patterns……OMG!

            Never do math with a Klown!!!!!

            Good for you Tim! See your daughter is going to be fine getting through common core math she has you there to guide her.

      • leslie says:

        I responded to this “new information” as well. (see immediately above your comment)Klown owes us many, many margaritas. heh

        • Somebody says:

          Well Leslie the two of us are only able to pop on and off during nap times and what not, so we miss things. I wish I could say I enjoyed a margarita last night, but I actually fell asleep in my recliner sometime shortly after 7pm…..blush. I woke up around 10pm when my dog decided she needed to go outside to do some business.

          BTW you are 100% correct that based on the information given our answers were indeed correct. Once again we’ve learned the lesson……never do math with a Clown!

          • leslie says:

            You and I had the same schedule last night! I just don’t have the dog that needs to go outside. lol. In fact, I was so wiped yesterday, I fell asleep while reading to calamity at her nap time. Fortunately she fell asleep as well. Have a great weekend. 😉

      • Somebody says:

        I have no idea where this is going to nest, but this is in response to my “formula” answer. I posted this at the same time Klown was posting his ooops left out a number and THEN……THEN he had the nerve to edit his original comment……thereby making all of us look like total morons……..OK that probably wasn’t a really difficult task, but not fair Klown has an edit button and we don’t.

        Meh, I guess that is just his white Klown privilege seeing as how this is his blog, LMAO!

  13. Myiq2xu™ says:


  14. blowme0bama says:

    For Earth Day I plan to burn a tractor tire in my yard, call 3 separate orders for bread sticks from the Pizza Hut next door then call in for a carry out order of wings at one across town, put a gallon of drano down the various drains in my house, and hair spray my cat and two dogs.

  15. Dora says:

    John Coleman is a brave man who has been fighting for years against this crap. He still is.


    Get politics out of climate debate: Opposing view

    The Paris climate agreement is all about empowering the U.N. and has nothing to do with the climate.

  16. Myiq2xu™ says:

  17. Myiq2xu™ says:

  18. DeniseVB says:

    Head’s up Book Horde….Mindy Kaling’s “Why Not Me” memoir thing..Obama sent his aide to woo her to WH events, I think he had a crush on her. Color me shocked. And I thought I was reading mental bubblegum from a B-List Hollywood star. So weird, cool she had a brief affair with that aide.

    • Jadzia says:

      My favorite TV memoir is “Confessions of a Prairie Bitch,” by the lady who played Nellie Olesen. It is absolutely hilarious when it’s not tragic. And this is coming from somebody who really didn’t like LHOP at all (well, I loved the books hated the TV show).

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        I picked that up for my nook a couple years ago when is was $1.99 for the day. I never liked the books or the TV show (Mom loved both). I had heard it was a excellent read. And it was. There is enough humor to balance the tragedy and it seems old Nellie is one tough cookie.

        • Jadzia says:

          It’s hard to believe she ended up so NORMAL (and funny!) after getting such a weird and tough start in life. Apparently they lurrrrve her in France–if she ever comes over here again I’m totally going to see her.

      • blowme0bama says:

        Heh… I bet it is. Sounds funny.

    • votermom says:

      Wait what? Is that how Obama gets Hollywooders to the WH – by sending them frivolous? I didn’t think they needed that much inducement.😀

      Denise, you can do a guest book review fir bookstore any time.😉

  19. Dora says:

  20. Myiq2xu™ says:

    I just got yelled at by Donald Trump. It startled the bejeebus out of me.

    I walk in from going to the used bookstore. According to the weatherman it was supposed to “drizzle” today. I had the wipers going and kept swerving to avoid puddles full of “drizzle.”

    So I walk in the door and the phone is ringing. I walked over and saw it was an unknown name so I let the answering machine pick up. Suddenly Donald Trump’s voice came booming from the answering machine.


    He told me I have until May something to register as a Republican if I want to vote for him in the California primary.

    Way ahead of you, Donnie.

    • elliesmom says:

      We got a robocall from our town clerk today telling us where to vote on Tuesday, what we need to bring, and which of the primaries we are eligible to vote in. It must be a racist state because we need a photo id. RI is a semi-open primary. If you’re registered in a party, it’s the only ballot you can use, but if you’re unaffiliated, you can choose either one. But that registers you as a member of that party. You can fill out a form that opts you out again, though. Trump is expected to win easily. RI is in the “every little bit helps” column, and none of the candidates are bothering to campaign here or even to run ads. In the general, we’ll get some of the ads that run in the Boston market. I’m not sure Hillary and Bernie have even polled the state.

    • lyn says:

      I’m yelling at Hillary in writing when I respond to her fundraising letter.

    • Somebody says:

      Wait what???? You did it?? You actually registered as a republican Klown? Wow, I’m impressed. I didn’t think you would switch. Thank you, thank you, thank you for doing so, but I know that was a really big step you’re pissed at the dems, but it’s not like you are suddenly in love with the republicans.

      My husband re-registered here in Florida too, something I thought I’d never see.

      I guess it is kind of exciting for California to play such a pivotal roll, something the state isn’t used to. Trump is going to need every vote he can get on June 7th.

      I’m curious though that the Trump campaign called your house. First of all, I thought he had no ground game and second how did they know you would be receptive to switching? Egads, I hope they haven’t set about blanketly calling every democrat in CA.

  21. mothy67 says:

    What is more pwerful than God, more evil than the devil, poor people have it, rich people want it and if you eat it you die?

  22. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Dogs just want to have fun.

  23. Dora says:

    UK Reporter to President Obama: Why is UK Exit “Any of Your Business”?…

    A bold BBC reporter confronted President Obama and Prime Minister David Cameron over Obama’s trip to England to support Cameron in his attempts to block Britain from exiting the European Union.

  24. votermom says:

  25. Dora says:

    Cruz supporters and talking heads were drooling over this. Now it’s they who look like fools.

Comments are closed.