White House Correspondents’ Dinner 2016 Open Thread

White House Correspondent Dinner

Awwww, so cute! They’re all dressed up for it. Let’s see what the shit show will smell like this year.

This is an open thread.

About Lola-in-a-Basket

Bitch, please.
This entry was posted in #GoTrump, Barack Obama, Media Zombies. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to White House Correspondents’ Dinner 2016 Open Thread

  1. DandyTIger says:

    I’m not watching the WHCD because I already reached my quota of banging my head against the wall.

  2. Holy shit, they are still just in love with him. Just wall-to-wall Obama. #Barf

  3. SHV says:

    “The U.K.โ€™s Advertising United Standards Authority is considering regulations to respond to complaints of โ€œsexismโ€ in advertising โ€” including concerns that women in a lot of ads are basically too attractive.”

    • DeniseVB says:

      It does bug me that cosmetics ads are airbrushed and photoshopped into flawless perfection. Especially fake eyelashes for mascara ads. Oh and those drug ads with all the happy people, you bet I want what they’re on!

  4. Practically shrieking about Donald Trump. Pooh-poohing on the press.

  5. He literally dropped the mic at the end of his speech. As much as I can’t stand him, that was actually funny.

    • Jadzia says:

      The only time I really warm up to him is when he’s around kids on a one-on-one basis (i.e., not a political stop at an elementary school or anything like that). Like the picture in which some horrifically embarrassed mother’s toddler was in the Oval Office (I think it was the Oval Office?) having a Category 5 tantrum at his feet and he just had this “Well, whaddya gonna do?” look on his face. That was pretty much the one and only time I ever liked him.

  6. CiscoKid says:

    You created, promoted, nurtured and carried the water of this POS.
    You drink deeply of his water and are his toilet paper.
    But it’s been over for a long time.
    You’ve lost any credibility and trust you may of had by the American people, the Silent Majority you have disrespected, ignored, and insulted for so long.
    Yikes! I’d better go, my cocktail is getting warm
    Thanks for listening, r/off, see ‘ya later.

  7. Dora says:

    I didn’t watch any of it. I can’t stand the thought of seeing Obama up there pretending to be funny. I’d rather watch this little guy.

    Deep Sea Researchers Capture Footage of Otherworldly Jellyfish

  8. Jadzia says:

    That moment when you realize that you’ve bored the shit out of a thread that ISN’T EVEN FRESH ANYMORE. I am not doing great today.

    Here’s a non-political question I will throw out. If you had a lot of lifestyle changes to make, which one would you make first? Here are the choices:
    (a) A regular bedtime and wakeup time;
    (b) Getting dressed every day;
    (c) Enrolling in a nutritional program;
    (d) Joining a gym (note: I LOVE THE GYM but stopped until the dissertation was done);
    (e) Enrolling in a French class; or
    (f) Finding some kind of activity, ANY KIND OF ACTIVITY, that would involve meeting people and making friends.

    • Lulu says:

      (a) A regular bedtime and wakeup time;
      It is very hard to do ANYTHING if you are not rested. Then the nutrition and eating well. When you feel GOOD physically all the rest will fall into place. And do not be so hard on yourself. You accomplish a lot and should be very proud of yourself. You have children, work, so many responsibilities and it is more than OK to have mediocre or bad days because everyone does. Do ONE thing on your list until it becomes habit then add another. Do not set an overly aggressive timeline. Go with the flow and do not worry you will get there. .

      • Jadzia says:

        You’re probably right. I suspect that getting enough sleep would VASTLY improve my outlook on life.

        • votermom says:

          I agree with the bedtime. Lack of sleep cause anxiety and/ or depression.
          Although getting dressed in every day is intriguing – I did not realize you were a nudist, Jadzia.๐Ÿ˜‰

    • CiscoKid says:

      (A) With a good nights sleep, straight thru, no tossing and turning.

    • DeniseVB says:

      LOL, you boring? Never! I just caught up with the last thread, you’re amazing.

    • leslie says:

      Those are all great ideas. I’d combine a & b. For the same reasons Lulu and votermom gave. I’d also add something I heard of when I was a very unhappy Stay at Home mom. I was listening to the radio one morning and heard a psychologist suggest to put on perfume/cologne in the morning, as a way to feel special instead of like a drudge. I immediately mocked the idea. About a week later, I tried the cologne-in-the-morning idea and have been doing it ever since. It’s my own personal aroma therapy and it does help me to feel better and feel like I am worthy of wearing my favorite cologne even though I have no where to go. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      I hope things brighten up for you soon. ๐Ÿ’•

    • votermom says:

      Jadzia, this is what I started doing not so long ago that I feel has been very helpful – every morning, as soon as I remember, I say, sincerely, “thank you, God, for this day.”
      It helps set the day on a positive mood.

      • Jadzia says:

        That is true. We’re not promised anything.

        • votermom says:

          Jadzia, just remember that in a few years you will be cheerfully looking back on these days – either because they were pretty happy in retrospect or because you are so relieved that they are over.๐Ÿ™‚

          Also, enjoy the kids being young. It really is over all at once.

    • jeffhas says:


      D (ANY excercise is the fountain of youth)

      F,E (one will follow the other or vice versa)



      You have self awareness…. That is worth more then anything else on your list.

    • (g) sex with supermodels.

      • This is a lifestyle change I have been thinking about for a long time.

        • Jadzia says:

          I’ll put that one on the list. The little boy of my only friend in France is BFFs (the 9-year-old version) with Natalia Vodianova’s little boy, so that’s only 2 degrees of separation.(*)

          (*)How weird it must be to be a 3rd grader walking down the street and Boom! There’s a big picture of your MOM in her underwear on the side of a bus or something.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    Good question ….

    • votermom says:

      I read that “and leave our CARS alone”

      • DeniseVB says:

        Hey vm ! How’s hubby? Did you make the pick up?

        • votermom says:

          Yes, we made the trip! Hubby was feeling ok enough to ride so we left around an hour & a half behind schedule.
          So we set off, on the turnpike where there’s a service station every 30 to 50 miles, right? I was required to stop at each one, while poor hubby dashed into the facilities.
          Luckily by noon he was feeling normal, and he did most of the lifting of the daughter’s stuff and most of the driving the way home – which is good because I was getting sooo sleepy. I managed to stave off a headache with coffee and Motrin.I asked hubby if he wanted to stop overnight after getting the kid but he just wanted to get home.

  10. Hmmm, you’d think instead of zombie Sailor Moon and zombie Tuxedo Mask, they’d invite the lesbian lovers zombie Sailor Uranus and zombie Sailor Neptune…

Comments are closed.