Don’t Hug Your Pug

guard dog

Some times we need to put aside partisan politics and discuss really important stuff.

Dogs really don’t like to be hugged

Dogs might be man’s best friend, but that doesn’t mean they’re into cuddling. According to a new study from the University of British Columbia, they despise being hugged by humans.

A hug can be perceived by dogs as a trap or a cage, according to scientists.

The university’s animal psychologists analyzed 250 photographs of pups being embraced by their owners, and found that 80 percent of the animals looked stressed, anxious and visibly uncomfortable, the Telegraph reports.

Dr. Stanley Coren, the scientist responsible for the study, says part of the problem is that dogs are born runners.

“Depriving a dog of [the ability to run] by immobilizing him with a hug can increase his stress level and, if the dog’s anxiety becomes significantly intense, he may bite,” Coren told Psychology Today.

“A hug might be a normal social greeting for humans, but it isn’t for a dog,” said Claire Matthews, senior canine behaviorist at Battersea Dogs & Cats Home in London.

“When you hug a dog it usually shows signs of stress because [you’re invading] their personal space,” she told the Telegraph. “A person putting two arms around the neck of a dog can be interpreted as being intimidating, and means that it can’t move away from the situation it is uncomfortable with.”

As much as a dog might feel like part of the family, don’t treat him like a child.

Yeah. Don’t hug-rape your dog. No means no. Just because he buries his nose in your crotch that doesn’t mean you can reciprocate.

I recommend getting affirmative consent before you pet your pets.

In writing.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

173 Responses to Don’t Hug Your Pug

  1. votermom says:

    There was a thing where they said when a dog looks you in the eye he’s hugging you. Except when he’s being aggressive, I guess.

    • Ann says:

      My hubby would like to have a huggy-dog. My last dog allowed hugs (90# attack machine (men only, he was my dog and very protective), except for family). He was an all around wonderful dog.

      This little 15# dog we have now? Not-so-much with the wonderful.

      Originally, I wanted this dog but he quickly became Hubby’s pooch. IMO dog’s choose their owners or “favorite people”. Doesn’t help that I am Alpha and this dog has little dog syndrome in spades, and really wants to be Alpha in our home pack. Not happening.

      Hubby would LOVE to hug Max. Ain’t happenin’. It has turned into a game over the years where now when Hubby yells out, “SNUGGLES!!”, Max comes directly to me and sits under my feet until Hubby approaches, then Max takes off while Hubby chases him around the house. SMH Max would play the “snuggles” game all day.

      Well, at least he comes when he’s called. And Max does too.

    • Jadzia says:

      My dog insists on hugging people. It’s a slightly dominant behavior that drives me nuts.

      • elliesmom says:

        Ellie is a dead-ringer for the dog being held by the guy at the counter. She stands on her hind legs and puts her front legs around my neck and lays her head on my shoulder. It would be almost suicidal for me not to put my arms around her and hug her back. She tried to do it to Elliesdad, but he’s not too steady on his feet sometimes, and the two of them toppled over. She hasn’t tried to do it again and doesn’t try to hug anyone else, fortunately. She understands the command “Off!” if she tries to jump on people, but it doesn’t apply to hugging mom. In the long run it’s just easier to give her a quick hug and gently push her away. When I don’t feel well, she likes to “spoon”. If she’s the back spoon, it includes a paw around my neck. While I think it’s a good idea for people to understand gestures don’t always mean the same thing to dogs as they do to people, not all dogs are the same. Nor are people.

        • taw46 says:

          Oh, I love that sweet doggie picture posted. So I would love, love Ellie. And all my dogs liked hugs and kisses from me. But I do respect other dogs and will only pet them if the owner gives permission. Even though I secretly want to hug them all 😊.

        • Somebody says:

          I agree not all dogs are the same EM. My dog loves hugs, kisses, being held like a baby and spooning and snuggling. I have a mini long haired dachshund that doesn’t understand she’s a dog, she pretty much thinks she’s my child, LOL!

          BTW, how is your daughter doing EM?

          • DeniseVB says:

            I had two mini LH doxies ! Best dogs ever. If you didn’t constantly snuggly-wuggly them (beds, sofa, recliners) they would shred your ankles😀 They both lived til their mid-teens and they are sorely missed. Not enough to get two more though, their end-of-life care was very difficult, more so for me for not letting go soon enough. Now I have LH doxie granddogs, sweet enough for a granny fix now and then.

          • elliesmom says:

            My daughter is doing fine. Her surgery was laparoscopic so she’s healing quickly. Her jewelry is being featured in a drag queen wedding expo this weekend so she’s back at work. I’m hoping to feel well enough to go see the fashion show. She makes tiaras for period weddings that are quite spectacular. It will be interesting to see how they work on a different kind of queen. Her clientele expanded quite a bit after she let this same group feature her jewelry in their last extravaganza so she was hoping to be up to finishing the pieces they requested. She does a lot of custom wedding ring sets already. But the guys are most excited about the tiaras.🙂

        • foxyladi14 says:

          Amen em. 😀

      • votermom says:

        Hugging or humping?🙂

  2. Dora says:

    I’m feeling sad this morning after learning about this. Nikola Tesla attended this church during his years as a NYC resident. There was a plaque outside with his name. The church was beautiful inside. The magnificent icons can never be replaced. I hope they find out what caused it and I hope it’s not . . . you know. 😦

    Historic church up in flames after Easter celebration

  3. DeniseVB says:

    Speaking of hugs, I saw this in Scott Adams timeline🙂

  4. votermom says:

    And follow up on twitchy

    • DeniseVB says:

      If the Obamas want to protect their girls’s privacy, why issue an official press release? That just begs for public opinion, Iowahawk stated his and Bam! Of course we’re happy for Malia, as we would be for anybody’s child, but the Obamas’ always make us go Huh?

      After slogging through a couple of years of “college visits” all over the country for First Daughter, I guess we were caught by surprise she settled on Harvard. Were her dreams of the very competitive top film schools squashed somehow? Was Harvard her “safety” school after all? The Obamas are staying in DC for a few more years so Second Daughter can finish h.s. Why didn’t Malia pick a fine DC/MD/VA university? Most of those don’t encourage “gap years” and she could certainly get the college experience started this fall?

      I’m spending way too much time on this, but Iowahawk is right about hypocrisy, what sticks in my craw are the Michelle trips around the world lecturing girls on the importance of higher education (so they can be smarter than the boys!), but never mind my precious snowflake taking a one year “vacation” before she starts. How many girls have that luxury? Boom, hypocrisy.

      • Lulu says:

        Oy! Do I have gap year stories about kids that grew up with my kids. Not good at all. You got to keep them BUSY at that age and out of trouble. You DO NOT give an 18 year old the “privilege” to fuck off for a year. She is either lazy as all get out or wants to get into some “mess”.

        • DeniseVB says:

          My son went to a private boys’ military high school in Virginia with a 13th grade. Mostly that was for boys who excelled at sports but still too stupid to enter regular college to play for them. The strict discipline at this school sure got those GPA’s up🙂 I never heard it referred to as a gap year. Prep year, maybe.

        • Somebody says:

          Harvard has strongly suggested a gap year in their literature for over a decade that I know of. They were suggesting a gap year back when my older kids were in high school (class of 2002 and 2004).

  5. Myiq2xu™ says:

  6. Myiq2xu™ says:

    • votermom says:

      Says the rag that started #NeverTrump

    • DeniseVB says:

      I haven’t followed Jammie in a long time. He kinda turned creepy establishment in line with the other goofballs on twitter right. If they spent as much time promoting their favorite candidates as they did bashing Trump and his supporters, maybe we’d have a different ballgame right now?

      Like the Romney “Toughy McToughFace” persona that came out attacking Trump. Where was that Mitt in 2012?

    • Anthony says:

      Jonah better watch it. I was a good friend of his brother before he fell passed (fell or something off roof of his building). In the time I knew him, his bro (not naming him) shared a lot of stories about growing up with Jonah and Lucienne. It sounded like a plot from an old Vincent Price movie.

      • DandyTIger says:

        Given that pundits/reporters are so biased these days, it would be smart for candidates to do full opposition research on them as well.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I think Trump does that, he never seems to forget a reporter who writes unfairly about him ….. oh say over the past 40+ years😉 He’s great at press conferences with rapid responses and not afraid to say it’s a stupid question, I won’t answer that. He usually proves how unprepared the media actually is with meat and potato questions.

  7. Dora says:

    The Mysterious Case of Ted Cruz PAC’s $1/2 Million ‘Donation’ to Help Carly Fiorina

    • DeniseVB says:

      Blackmail ? First the donation (for her endorsement?) then VP pick. Weren’t the tabloids hinting he had an affair with one of her staffers? /Tinfoil Monday.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      My first thought was why in the world would Miss Golden Parachute need to be bailed out by anyone. Unless she has blown through all her money – it should the the other way round.

      • jeffhas says:

        Oh noes – like any good politician at the trough, she doesn’t use her own money, that’s the ‘campaign’s’ money… She doesn’t want to pay it back, she’d rather sell out to the highest bidder.

        I suspect Donald may do the same (hence his ‘loans to the campaign), but depending on how he handles it, it could backfire and he might lose the respect of his supporters – so I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt for now, I mean he has laid it out there as ‘self-funding’, which is more then any other candidate was willing to do

    • taw46 says:

      It is true.

      If you have not seen this site, Ann Cocoran tries to expose what is going on, because the government hides as much as it can. Lots of information on her site.

    • CiscoKid says:

      I truly believe that if Trump doesn’t win the Presidency, the end of America as we know it and as it was in the past will come to an end.
      The continued importing of illegal aliens, mixed with islamic terrorist, will tear this country apart.
      Hillary and Bernie will continue this destruction of America.
      Obama, Hillary, Bernie and the Democratic party have made their intentions very clear.
      Now I have friends an relatives that live in Indiana, Hammond in particular. I’m going to phone each and everyone and as for a Trump vote tomorrow.
      It will only be 8 votes, IF they do
      But at least I’m going to try, that’s all this old man can do.

      • taw46 says:

        I agree with you. Last chance here, and I don’t even know if this will work. Hope so.

        • CiscoKid says:

          Gonna try. I’ll see what happens.

          • taw46 says:

            Sorry, I wasn’t clear. I meant I don’t know if electing Trump works, but at least there is a chance he will change things, we know others won’t.

            As for you trying to get those votes in Indiana, I think that is great. Good luck!

        • votermom says:

          Agreed. This is the Hail Mary election.

        • CiscoKid says:

          Yes. Trump will have a monumental task in front of him.
          I think he can change some things, maybe not all.
          But at least he can put the brakes on and stop this freefall.

      • Dora says:

        The globalists know that too. That’s why they are trying to stop him.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I just heard a Hillary sound bite saying she doesn’t want Trump to ruin Obama’s legacy. Really? She’s running on Obama’s past 8 years? Is that her winning strategy?

        • CiscoKid says:

          Again, Hillary makes it very clear that she will continue the demise of America by furthering Obama’s agenda.

        • Anthony says:

          I heard that too, and was wondering “WTF happened to the person who ran AGAINST his policies in 2008?”

          When I point out the 180 she did on her platform to current HRC supporters, they say “Well, the world has changed since then…” to which I reply “Yes, it HAS changed, because of Obama’s policies. Promising to continue and expand upon those policies only ensures that things will get a lot worse, so I can’t support her this time around”, which completely mind-fucks them into a protracted silence and then grumbling about the evil Trump.

          • taw46 says:

            Same here, heard that remark today, SMH. When I point out to family members her 180 from 2008, they say, no, she is the same as she was then. There is no talking to them, they don’t believe it.

        • swanspirit says:

          I heard that sound bite too. It literally turned my stomach.

        • foxyladi14 says:

          What a legacy. Pure failure. 👿

      • Anthony says:

        I visited Hammond with my bf years ago (its where he grew up), and it was still a lovely little town. Most of his family moved to Highland and Munster since he left there, but I totally enjoyed Hammond, especially the beach

  8. DeniseVB says:

    Meanwhile, over in the Dem Circus tent…..nobody forcing him to drop out ? Hmmm.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    And boom, just like that, we’re back in the gOpE circus tent……..

    • lyn says:

      I guess Rubio won’t be Trump’s VP pick. What conniving SOBs!

      • DeniseVB says:

        Nah, Rubio’s too ambitious to be a “heartbeat” away. I wouldn’t trust the little latinobama.😉

      • DandyTIger says:

        Trump hints that Rubio is a serious contender. But I don’t think Trump needs him for FL. He’s got FL. It’s OH, PA, etc. that he wants to be sure about.

        • DandyTIger says:

          Though we’re already 19T in debt, I’m not sure we could afford the grocery bills if Kasich were the VP.

        • Somebody says:

          Personally I don’t think you can trust Rubio as far as you can throw him and I have other concerns should he be the VP pick. I don’t think Trump needs him to win FL, but he would help with party unity, youth and Hispanic vote. He would also serve as a nice counter to Julian Castro, who most likely will be Hillary’s VP pick.

  10. leslie says:

    OT ~ I wanted to thank everyone for your support r/t my dd’s recent changes in her life and to share something from yesterday. I drove back to her place and took my iPad along to share your generous responses with her. She started crying almost from the beginning and said how touched and humbled she was by your support. (She also loved the lemon pie!)

    An update… She has two interviews this morning before she takes care of any health, dental, and vision issues this afternoon, before her insurance is canceled. She is contesting her “separation” today and is meeting with the atty tomorrow. She said she won’t return to Intel, but since they did not give her a chance for an exit interview, she has some things she wants to “share” with them. Contesting their decision to “let her go” will do that. She rec’d some significant info from ppl still w the company to help with her challenge. I read some of their messages. Powerful stuff. It seems she had done such significant work in the first 4 months of this year, that the division she was in had more than tripled their business. (She was in line for major commissions this year. Some suggest the company is saving big bucks by letting her go and not paying her commissions.)
    BTW: Her new condo looks even better than when she bought it. It was especially fun to go shopping with her yesterday for shower curtains, rugs, and other little items for her place. Life does, indeed go on. We just need to focus on breathing and staying in the moment in order to be grounded.

    • votermom says:

      I will keep praying. I hope her lawyer kicks their butts!

    • lyn says:

      ❤ Happy to hear your daughter plans to fight. She deserves the exit interview and her commissions.

    • Somebody says:

      Fingers crossed for DD’s interviews today!!! Glad her condo is coming together nicely!!

      (((HUGS))) to you both……..and have some lemon pie!!!

    • DeniseVB says:

      As I always told my kids, that which doth not kill you makes you stronger. Though I don’t agree with the way her company handled this (no severance package?), these kinds of experiences will make your dd a stronger and more successful person.

      Thanks for your update !

      • leslie says:

        There is a severance package. But it ” conveniently” omits any mention of her stock options or the commissions they owe her or her sabbatical pay owed to her. She will not sign anything until those are included in writing in the package.
        Thanks to YOU! DD is s strong woman. she has a world of opportunities waiting. But she will not be cheated out of what she earned in the past 16 years with that company. right?

        • Underwhelmed says:

          It’s crap like this that makes me feel homicidal. All prayers for your daughter’s victory. These scum must pay.

          • leslie says:

            Thanks Underwhelmed. I’ve got my fingers crossed, too.

          • leslie says:

            I just had a call from DD #1 and she sounded pretty good. Optimistic even. She is consulting with her atty and said he is providing good suggestions and steps to take at this time.

  11. Dora says:

    If you enjoyed the photos in the Daily Mail, here are a bunch more. Some good ones, but whoever was holding the camera didn’t have very good aim. 🙂

    Behind the scenes on the White House Correspondents’ Dinner red carpet

    • taw46 says:

      “China is refusing to trade with (buy) Boeing if the company does not move. Why? It’s not about putting Chinese people to work, it’s about China importing their research and development, Boeing’s production secrets, into their country so they can learn, steal and begin to manufacture their own airliners.

      This is just how China works.”

    • taw46 says:

      This is an article from November 2008, about China hacks into many NASA centers. Has been happening for years. This shocked me when I read this years ago. It is long, but well-worth the read. I would be willing to bet it is much worse today.

  12. lyn says:

    The GOPe continues to dig its grave.

    • Somebody says:

      I am getting so sick of this shit. Honestly WTF is wrong with these people?? They are so tone deaf and seem hell bent on tearing the republican party apart.

      • taw46 says:

        Yeah, AZ the other day and now this crap. Insanity. Or, that is some powerful money/control they do not want to let go of, right?

    • leslie says:

      Sounds like Dems 2008 2.0 I hated it then and I hate it now. It makes NO DIFFERENCE whether it is Dems or Reps. If they hold primaries only for the purpose of endorsing their “chosen ones”, then there is really no point to those elections.
      I’m going to get my hair cut. Please, someone, fix this hot mess before I return. (Not referring to my hair.)

    • Lulu says:

      They left off fried shrimp. Gotta be jumbo from the Gulf. It is NOW shrimp season!

      • votermom says:

        And now that I look at it, NO BACON!!!!!
        What kind of sick food pyramid doesn’t have a daily strip of bacon on it?!!

      • taw46 says:

        Add shrimp, and I’m all in. By the way, Key West pinks are the best I ever had.

      • Somebody says:

        Yes it is!! We just had our annual shrimp festival and blessing of the fleet, here in our sleepy little town. The estimates for attendance are 120,000, based on traffic I’d say they’re about right. If any of you are ever in the north Florida area the 1st weekend in May you might consider attending……Bubba Gump would LOVE it, you can eat shrimp all sorts of ways including shrimp pie and shrimp ice cream! Tons of arts and crafts too.

        • taw46 says:

          I never had shrimp ice cream, how is it? Or shrimp pie.

          • Somebody says:

            I’m afraid I can’t answer about the ice cream. I’ve never been brave enough to try it, although I know people that have and they said it was good. The shrimp pie is like a pot pie, it has a creamy filling with a touch of sherry and it is GOOD!

        • DeniseVB says:

          The Blessing of the Fleet was being advertised up the road in Darien, GA when we made a pit stop there on the way to FL one year. I was so sorry we missed by a few days, it sounded like a fun time and buckets of food fun🙂

      • DeniseVB says:

        Texas’ gonna need a bigger pyramid🙂

  13. Dora says:

  14. taw46 says:

    Oops, Cruz about to lose the argument that he is the only one who can beat Hillary.

  15. Dora says:

    Obamacare’s November surprise

    Many consumers will see large rate increases for the first time Nov. 1 ­ a week before they go to the polls.

  16. Dora says:

    Rafael Cruz: “I Implore Every Member of the Body of Christ to Vote According to the Word of God” (VIDEO)

    • CiscoKid says:

      Man! That is truly scary.
      “According to the word of God”
      Nothing short of s-c-a-r-y.

  17. DandyTIger says:

  18. votermom says:

    Btw Mothy, this ep is not up on amazon yet. I actually asked them, and they just said “within 24 to 48 hours of being aired.” The Amazon rep did promise to email me when it goes up.

  19. Anthony says:

    Something is happening in Indiana that Lyin’ Ted is going to hate lol

  20. lyn says:

    Being rude is OK.

    • taw46 says:

      “Are you Canadian?” LOL, LOL!

    • DandyTIger says:

      Sounds like Cruz spent 7 minutes spewing his anti Trump lies. And of course not a fair debate between him and a random guy on the street. Basically he was a bully, and used that time for his talking points. But still funny.

  21. Dora says:


  22. Myiq2xu™ says:

  23. Somebody says:

    Scam alert, mostly for any young ones you know. I just got a call on my cell phone about student loan debt……..never had a student loan, nor does anyone in my family so there is no reason to call me about student loans. The recorded message said I may qualify for loan reduction based on a new bill just passed by congress then it prompted me to push a button if my debt was over $7,000.

    Like I said no reason for my phone to be tied to student debt. I’ve had my cell number since 1991 and it was a brand new number when I got it, so that’s not it either. Clearly this is some kind of identity theft scam or loan shark scam or something.

    I just hope young people already saddled with student loans don’t fall for this, the last thing they need is to become the victim of an identity thief, sheesh.

    • SHV says:

      I estimate that ~80% of my cell phone call are “scam” robo calls. Credit card debt relief, pay day loans, etc. etc. The worst was from LA; “The IRS has issued a warrant for your arrest at your home, you need to call this phone number immediately.”

  24. taw46 says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      True story😉 I head someone say these are not immigrants, they’re colonists wanting to take back their country. I think it was Lulu who brought this up the other day. These “immigrants” hate us. So yes, an invasion of sorts, just like those from the mid-East wanting to spread the joy of Islam throughout the land. Crazy times, huh?

      • taw46 says:

        Well, that certainly seems to be the plan, to take part of our country. Although “polite society” doesn’t talk about it. La Raza, Reconquista, Aztlan, MEChA, all tied together. Julian Castro’s mother was one of the founders of National Council of La Raza. There is plenty out there, just have to look for it. Won’t see it in MSM.

        This article is from 2006. Read it, and you feel like it was written last week.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Good luck to Hillary who’s rumored to be choosing a “Castro” as a running mate. The Dems seem to be doubling down on stupid this year.

  25. Dora says:

    The 28 pages.

  26. swanspirit says:

    Just heard a bit of Donald Trump’s rally in Indiana. He mentioned Carly falling off the stage . He said , ” Did you see Carly fell off the stage, and Ted didn’t even help her. He just kept on talking. Even I would have helped her.”
    Cruz is such a creep. Donald is a gentleman. And funny.

    • taw46 says:

      I wondered if he would bring it up. Because Cruz did not help her! To be fair, neither did anyone standing around the stage. It was strange. Trump would have helped.

  27. foxyladi14 says:

    love the graphic I am sharing. 😀

  28. AFVet says:

    Here’s the kind of attitude we need in a leader to take this Country back from the doldrums the liberals have put us in.

    • CiscoKid says:

      To paraphrase the line, “fill your hand you sob”
      Into, “fill those ballot boxes”.
      We know for who, get it done.

  29. Myiq2xu™ says:

  30. lyn says:

    Greta posted a longer version of the Carly fall.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Ouch. Hope she’s OK. I don’t want them as nominees, but don’t like to see that either.

      • leslie says:

        I’m sorry to see that. Cruz just lost a few more points for me. He should have helped her back up. And it shouldn’t have meant a thing if she had said she didn’t need help.
        Even Heidi tried to help her.

        • taw46 says:

          To be fair, I don’t think he saw her fall. But Heidi did, and if he didn’t see it, she should have told him. But Heidi went back to waving! And one of them should have walked off with her, just to make sure she was ok.

          • leslie says:

            You’re right. I thought Heidi reached out to her. My guess is that Carly waved Heidi off. but they BOTH should have helped her up as well as helped her off the stage. Neither looked very humane there. BTW can you imagine a FLOTUS named Heidi. I just think goatherds and yodeling.

          • taw46 says:

            Haha on the goatherds and yodeling!

    • taw46 says:

      One of the comments on youtube:

      “Lyin Ted and Lyin on the Floor Fiorina”

      • lyn says:

        That’s so sick it’s funny. I do hope she wasn’t hurt, but her quick exit makes me wonder.

        • taw46 says:

          Well, it happened yesterday, so I am sure she is OK. When I saw it last night, I couldn’t believe no one helped her. Heidi did look down, then went on waving to the crowd. I think she got up right after she fell, still, everyone’s behavior was strange, including those standing around.

  31. mothy67 says:

    Crud is doing a solo at spring concert tomorrow night. Limited number of seats. I was more than willing to give mine up. Love my brat but an hour of other peoples children is not my thing. Well pup is doing Back to December. The very first song I ever bought her. First song she ever owned. I’ll be there. But FUCK I abhor those things.

  32. DeniseVB says:

    Again, speaking of hugs, this guy needs one😉 I remember when Beck was on the top of his game, taking his Fox audience base to his new online adventure. At one time, he had more paid subscribers than Oprah had viewers on her new network, OWN.

  33. lurker says:

    Did this really happen?

  34. Dora says:

    Someone told me that this website isn’t reliable, but we can hope, right?

    Cruz Preparing To Suspend Campaign This Week?

Comments are closed.