Silly Lily Open Thread


Michael Connelly has written 27 novels, most of them starring Detective Harry Bosch. During the past month I have read 21 of them and I am just starting the 22nd. I have cleaned out every bookstore in town. In less than 24 hours I will be undergoing cold-turkey withdrawal.

Lily plays with her brothers' action figures instead of dollies.

Lily plays with her brothers’ action figures instead of dollies.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

117 Responses to Silly Lily Open Thread

  1. Dora says:

    Such cute pictures!

    I hope you don’t tell Lili how many people here think she is beautiful. It would surely go to her head. But she is. 🙂

  2. Dora says:

    I’m kind of glad that it’s drizzling and chilly on Long Island today. I have an excuse. 🙂

    • Lulu says:

      They must not have read about Zika mosquitoes. Putting bug repellent on certain unmentionables is not very comfortable and would kill the mood if you know what I mean.

  3. Lulu says:

    I am a big fan of Lily’s hairstyles. She has her “look” down. Fabulous!

  4. Dora says:

    Enjoy the race, with or without your hat. 🙂

    Kentucky Derby Hats

    • Somebody says:

      Oh darn, I should have picked up some big hats and let the girls decorate them. Maybe I’ll do it anyway, sounds like fun!

      Lily is as adorable as ever…….clearly those pictures weren’t taken in her room so whose stuff was she getting into?

      • DeniseVB says:

        “Mommmm, Lily’s touching my stuff !!!” I remember that well😉 Miss Lil is a cutie pie, she’ll get away with it, at least with grandpa.

        • AFVet says:

          I see a tomboy in the making.
          Nothing wrong with that.

          • Mt.Laurel says:

            My Barbie preferred to socialize with Roy Rogers and Dick Tracy. They were far more interesting than Ken plus one had horses and the other had a neat car. When I realized it drove a couple of my older brothers batty – made my day. When they whined, my father said it served them right for using my stuffed animals for target practice with their bows & arrows.

      • votermom says:

        I love seeing the stickers on the furniture – that was us when the kids were little. Stickers everywhere.

    • Constance says:

      I don’t know, I think hats are required for a full Kentucky Derby experience!

    • CiscoKid says:

      Don’t forget the Mint Juleps.
      It wouldn’t be Derby Day without one or two…three…

  5. elliesmom says:

    Lily is adorable, and she knows something about “action figures”. It’s what boys call their dolls.

  6. mothy67 says:

    My house is constructed entirely of glass ergo I would never say reading 21 books in a month is addictive behavior. I am forever and a day quitting smoking. I can go days cold turkey, but then I have one and its a whole pack. I don’t enjoy having a drink. I like to get drunk.
    I recently reread Don Quixote. It’s like Seinfeld. Absurd idiots.
    And yes Lily is da bomb.

    • CiscoKid says:

      You have an interesting writing style mothy, kinda reminds me of Charles Bukowski, my fave author and poet.
      About getting drunk instead of just drinking kinda sums it up for me, at times, not always, just sometimes.
      “That’s the problem with drinking, if something bad happens you drink in an attempt to forget; if something good happens you drink in order to celebrate; and if nothing happens you drink to make something happen”. C.Bukowski

      • mothy67 says:

        Well thank you. Been decades since I read Bukowski. I went through phases in my youth. Beat poets, Holocaust writers, African American women., post WW II nihilists. 20 years old and I was obsessed with oppression. I sought it out. One thing a kid does is force you to emphasize the good. You have to find levity. I was a lit major and a snob. Harry Potter was a kick in the teeth. What a joyous adventure to take with a kid. We are reading Jane Eyre together. God is it bleak. It’s taking us months. It’s a root canal.
        My absolute fav book is Of Human Bondage but Don Quixote is so funny. It’s a sitcom.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    I try to take a break from politics, then something sucks me back in. This is a fun watch and I’m sure made by a Milo fan since it also features his nemesis, Ben Shapiro !

  8. mothy67 says:

    I wish some sunlight was shined upon dimocrat policies. I got arrested for being hit by an ambulance. Lucky me I was outside Bellview. I was arrested on a floor for the criminally insane. . Because, I assume, I was drunk all I had were a bunch of bruises. The doctor said I might be suicidal. I was sentenced to 30 day rehab and 9 months in out patient. I lived in a house with 8 people out of prison. One kid refused to ever shower. He smelled so bad. He had been tossed around in prison as a boy toy. He was making himself as ugly as he could. I was forced to take welfare to cover daily treatment but I didn’t get food stamps or housing allowance. They took all my cash. 7 am a van picks you up you go to treatment center NA meeting then group then AA meeting then group. 273 dollars per personper day. The counselors had ertificates from community colleges. . I had to live thru 2 suicides there. One guy was HIV positive and very angry. I was living with people that had done hard time. I knew first day I had to command respect. I did and at 150 lbs I got it. They had ten houses of men forbidden to date, guys out of prison. Not rocket science to think what will happen to the weak guys. I tried to address it. Counselor said we do not make judgements about homosexuality.I said this is not gay its rape. Nothing done. Smelly guy got free and took a hot shota week later.

  9. taw46 says:

    “Trump also took sharp aim at Democratic Sen. Elizabeth Warren, the liberal darling who’s been the subject of vice-presidential chatter in recent weeks, with whom Trump’s opened up a feud over social media in recent days.

    In front of a crowd of thousands on Friday night, Trump unveiled a new nickname for the Massachusetts senator: “Goofus.”

    Clinton’s “got this goofy friend Elizabeth Warren, she’s on a Twitter rant, she’s a goofus,” he said.

    “This woman, she’s a basketcase. By the way, she’s done nothing in the United States. She’s done nothing.”

  10. lyn says:

    Some never heard the fat lady sing.

  11. taw46 says:

    Sharia Law in Austria.

    “And her distress had turned to anger when police had told her that she should change her hair colour and should not have been travelling alone after 8pm on public transport.

    She said: “At first I was scared, but now I’m more angry than anything. After the attack they told me that women shouldn’t be alone on the streets after 8pm. And they also gave me other advice, telling me I should dye my hair dark and also not dress in such a provocative way. Indirectly that means I was partly to blame for what happened to me. That is a massive insult.”

    • DeniseVB says:

      When I see articles like this I want to scream “Send in the U.S. Slut Walking Team !!” “Free The Nipples!” and “Dancing Vaginas!” , wouldn’t that be an awesome Stoning event?😉

      • taw46 says:

        It is a good thing that European designers now have burkas in their clothing lines. The European women can remain stylish as they lose (give-up) their freedoms.

  12. DeniseVB says:

    *NSFW* But funny, not the #BLM guy, but the Dice guy.

  13. taw46 says:

    • leslie says:

      This is a really good article/missive and the comments are equally stimulating. Thanks, vm.

  14. Dora says:

    Oh Wow!!

    • Somebody says:

      I’m not sure I like this idea, in fact I don’t think I do. First it’s not a good idea for politicians from another country to ever get involved, whether it’s in US politics or some other country……..just stay out of other country’s politics. Second having this man appear will feed into the Trump racist meme, IMHO. The media and the D’s, I repeat myself, will have a field day with this. By the time this man gets here he will have been built up as a cross between, Satan and Hitler and probably a few others.

      • CiscoKid says:

        Best that Trump avoids him like the plague.

      • Dora says:

        I think you may be right. Geert Wilder is very popular in NYC and each time he comes he is well received and draws large crowds. But there is a big difference between taking part in a demonstration and attending a presidential convention. Maybe the planners will think better of this decision. I hope so.

        • jeffhas says:

          It just says he’s traveling to the convention – it doesn’t say he’s speaking. I’m not sure they can stop him from traveling… If he wants to speak maybe he should find another venue.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Well, if I’m going to be forever a bigoted racist, may as well shore up my support for the real ones. Oh, wait, then this is my other option😉

  15. CiscoKid says:

    Creator, 26-1, I bet 1 cold beer

  16. WMCB says:

    Wow. The Left eats their own. I’d feel sorry for her if she weren’t herself also partly responsible for creating the nasty mobs now turning on her. Hillary had one path to redemption – spending 8 years vocally resisiting Obama and trying to pull the Democratic party back to the semi-sanity of its earlier years. Instead, she threw in her lot with Alinsky tactic progs, full steam ahead. Oh, well, sucks to be you.

  17. lyn says:

  18. Myiq2xu™ says:

  19. Myiq2xu™ says:

  20. WMCB says:

    As to that dumb third party run idea….

  21. taw46 says:

  22. DeniseVB says:

    Hubby just won his Kentucky Derby Trifecta bet !!! Bad news, I wouldn’t let him bet more than $10 bucks, he won about $185. Can you imagine if I wasn’t bitch-wife-of-purple-virginia and let him bet $100 ? Ya’know, sometimes showing your lady balls is a loser situation. Crap.

  23. mothy67 says:

    I just took a YouGov survey. The questions were impossible to.answer. I am a cheap date. I fill out college surveys all the time on Amazon Mechanical Turk. The bias is blatent. One question is on every survey. Do you think its fair that one race dominates a is such an awkward question. Choices range from strongly disagee to strongly agree. It doesn’t even make sense. Do I strongly disagree or agree with what I think? Wait what

  24. Dora says:

  25. WMCB says:

  26. lyn says:

    Predictably, the news that Mr. Trump will soon be getting intelligence briefings has driven his critics to gloating on social media about what a security risk the likely GOP nominee is, based on his tendency to speak freely on almost any subject. It’s clear that few of Mr. Trump’s social media critics have any experience with intelligence briefings or secrecy rules themselves.

    More seriously, Mr. Trump’s political opponents have joined the fray, deriding him as a security risk. Senator Chris Murphy, a Connecticut Democrat, denounced Mr. Trump as having “no moral or ethical grounding,” adding, “he wouldn’t think twice of taking classified information and putting it out in the public realm if he thought it served his political purposes.”

    • elliesmom says:

      Which bathroom do you think he’ll put his classified information server in?

      • lyn says:

        ROFLMAO! The intelligence briefing could scare the crap out of Trump, and a bathroom would be the best place to be.

      • CiscoKid says:

        A uni-sex one, you know to be trendy.
        Wait till he sees how f’kd up things are national security wise.

    • taw46 says:

      That was a thing on Chris Matthews show the other night. The panel having a fit that he will have classified information.

      • Lulu says:

        Ben Rhodes who is demonstrably a turd head has classified information and is a National Security Adviser to a putz and they are worried about Trump? That is very funny. The international business intelligence that Trump PAYS for is more sensitive and accurate than the shit the CIA and the posse of ninnies in DC passes around.

        • taw46 says:

          Ben, whose masters degree is in creative writing and who mind melds with Obama? Yeah, that Ben is OK with them.

        • leslie says:

          Isn’t it just like Ben Rhodes. Kinda like his boss who, after interviewing YouTube *stars*, joining the “ladies” of television daytime talk shows, and dancing in Argentina, chastises the R nominee about the seriousness of the presidency. The entire bunch of the bronco administration are farces.
          And to echo em, what bathroom will the next administration use for the secure network? The bathrooms in a Walmart?

  27. mothy67 says:

    I am binge watching Dynasty as a favor to a friend. She is doing research on tv trends and politics. Her take is very interesting. Walking Dead, Game of Thrones and Empire are the hot shows. She is going with this anti hero theme and how it is reflected in politics. I think its kind of silly as I think I could use horror films or Saved by the Bell to make an argument any argument. I am on season 5. Alexis threw out her daughter for flirting with her husband. Jeff went to Bolivia to try and find his dead wife but instead married his secretary. Alexis drinks and smokes and sleeps around. She is taking on the Chinese government. Number 1 show in 1985.

  28. WMCB says:

Comments are closed.