Good Morning Monday

Bet your were expecting the Mamas and Papas? Okay, them too😉

Open Thread !

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

147 Responses to Good Morning Monday

  1. votermom says:

    Good morning!!!

  2. Dora says:

    Good morning. Thanks for giving us The Mamas and Papas this morning.

    Yesterday I watched an old movie on TV. Psycho doesn’t sound like an old movie to me, but when I realize that it was 56 years ago that I sat in the movie theatre watching that shower scene – well, it is mind boggling. 56 years! It seems absolutely impossible! I feel a little like that when I hear the Mamas and Papas too. But I do love their music.

    I suppose the shock I sometimes experience when I notice the passing of time, is just another part of the aging process. I do agree with Bette Davis when she said – “Getting old ain’t for sissies”. 🙂

  3. votermom says:

    Sarah Palin tells Tapper she will work against Ryan in the primary

    • dm says:

      Good for Palin. One thing I have noticed, is that all the “conservatives” who had icons such as Sarah representing their cause, are now belittling her and smacking their heads as to how they could have ever supported or respected her…I find that very sad that people cannot realize that someone who is not backing their guy is now persona non grata. I personally am not socially conservative so I don’t agree with all of Palin’s views, but I don’t believe Trump does either. Yet, she is smart enough to support and endorse him.

    • Lulu says:

      Ryan is just doing what his donors want. The donors calling the shots this year has backfired every time. Jeb, Rubio, Cruz have all been bit by the stupidity of their donor elite. Ryan is such a vainglorious little twerp he didn’t see it coming. You can’t be Speaker if you don’t have a safe seat. Ryan doesn’t at present. The Republican conference should tell him no Speakership for you until you have a safe seat bub. Go tend to your rat-killing instead of lecturing us or anyone else.

      • Myiq2xu™ says:

        Ryan has been given a golden ticket. As long as he keeps the faith (with the donor class) he is set for life. If he loses the election he will get a cushy life-tenured position as a lobbyist or a consultant.

        As the commercial says, membership has its privileges.

      • foxyladi14 says:


  4. cynic says:

    Good Morning everyone! I haven’t had much spare time these days to comment, but I love reading! You guys are so in tune with my thoughts. Love you all, and Klown, thanks for the Lily pics (and the one yesterday of your son).

    I have been trying to get all the gardening done before our little one arrives, but rain and cool weather has held me back. Grandbaby #1’s due date is this coming Sun., and Grandbaby #2 has hit the 20 wk. mark, due date 9/29.

    The babies room had the carpet ripped up, hardwood repaired and refinished, and the last coat of paint was applied on Sat. We bought a few pcs. of furniture yesterday at an estate sale, but I still need a crib.

    Hubby has been helping both households repair/paint stuff around their houses. It’s wonderful that they all are able to do this themselves as opposed to having to hire it out. I’m busy cooking/sending food.

    For Mother’s Day, I requested that my son remove my Romney/Ryan bumpersticker from my car.
    Very happy to announce that it’s finally gone! Wouldn’t be unhappy if Ryan is Cantored.

    • leslie says:

      So happy to hear the progress you are making with the babies’room. I’ve been thinking of you and the coming birth days. I’m so excited for you and your kids. They’re gonn have the Best. Gramma. Ever. And the best home away from home as well.
      Just remember to take care of yourself, too. ❤️
      Speaking of bumper stickers . . . Yesterday when I was out for lunch with dd#1, I saw a bumper sticker for “Kennedy/Johnson” it was clean and amazingly well preserved. (Maybe it came from the JFK museum.) 😉

      • cynic says:

        Thanks Leslie! Glad you had a nice MD with your family yesterday! Interesting story about someone putting that bumper sticker on their car. Suppose they’re saying that dead Presidents are better than the current bunch of candidates?

        I see Gov. Rauner said he would skip the convention, and my Congressman, who originally worked for the JEB campaign here in IL, then went on to endorse Rubio, said he doesn’t see himself voting for Trump. He’s always been a puppet of the local Skull & Bones wealthy donor. Amazing, wks. before his ’12 campaign, he cancelled his wedding (local friends were to attend) and someone (female) who worked in his campaign office was sent to Hawaii to work on a Republican’s campaign at the same time. Made me go hmmmm. The insiders know how to keep these stories from the press/google, and the candidates are indebted to these donors. He calls himself a No Label’s Guy, along with Huntsman.

        • leslie says:

          I love the thought that “dead Presidents are better than the current bunch of candidates”. (Wish I had thought of that.)
          About Rauner – Do you think he’s trying to preserve whatever respect/support he has in this Democrat den of iniquity by holding back his support?
          Have a great week and keep the baby ( and political) updates coming.☺️

          • cynic says:

            It’s the IL Combine. Look at Mark Kirk and the way he votes. When he was in Congress in ’09, he was one of the few R’s that voted for the Cap & Trade bill. When he was running for Obama’s Senate seat, the choice was between the fake R, Mark Kirk, or Lexi Giannoulias. Kirk was the lesser of the two evils, and the days when I was working at the Party’s office, I had to do my darndest to convince people to take one of his yard signs, basically selling him as such.

            I’m sorry, I can’t believe that there were no other IL politicians that didn’t hear the whispering of Denny Hastert liking little boys. They protect their own, and they’re all disgusting. Wealth & power is everything to them.

            I don’t think Rauner is a Republican. The Unions have gained too much power over the dems (Karen Lewis taking on Rahm) and the only way to take them on was by having a ‘Republican’ do it like Walker did in WI. That way, the Unions lose power, and the R’s remain the bad guys.

          • leslie says:

            Even I “heard” rumors about Hastert. I have no sympathy for him. I get so annoyed listening to some trying to make him out to be a “victim” of this so-called witch hunt.
            I think you are right about Rauner. He is as Republican as Trump.
            You’re right about the pols protecting their own. It’s just another fraternity imo. We seem to have few people who are able to or even willing to break through that system for Illinois. I remember when Christine Cegelis ran against Tammy Duckworth in 2006. Duckworth was handpicked by Rahm and supported by Durbin, Kerry, Obama (then Senator) and HRC. She was a “good soldier” – no pun intended. Cegelis was defeated by the party even though she, too had been a “good little soldier” until then. She later refused to support Duckworth who is now running against Kirk.
            Kirk has voted like a Dem ever since he arrived in the senate. That is likely why I had no difficulty voting for him at the time. But no longer. Duckworth and Kirk are in the same boys’ club. there will be no noticeable change after this election.

  5. votermom says:

    Speaking of Ryan sorta, my friends’ kid is graduating college and has a job lined up at GM outside Detroit. (I know!)
    Anyway, suggestions for a modest but thoughtful grad gift?

    • elliesmom says:

      When I need a graduation present and I don’t care if the recipient has something to remember I gave him, I look at what restaurants are in the area of his or her new job, and I pick up a gift card to one or more of them. Most of the chains have a store locator function on their websites. When you’re moving in, getting settled, and still waiting for the first paycheck, a “free dinner” is welcome gift.

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Nope ! Crazy……

    • leslie says:

      My heart is pounding! The storm was so powerful as it swirled round and round. Geez, I can’t imagine chasing a storm like that one. It was hard not to watch this video, though. These people believe they are invincible, immortal. Well, so far so good. I might have been that foolish in my way earlier years. But not since I had children. My foolishness has been less “foolish” since then.

    • lildoggy4u says:

      Chasing tornado’s, “its all fun and games til somebody gets an eye poked out”- my mom.

  7. NBD says:

    Monday, Monday, can’t scratch that itch.
    Time to choke on a ham sandwich.

  8. lyn says:

    How quaint …

  9. lyn says:

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Here’s a pretty good summary of my morning Twitter feed ….

  11. lyn says:


  12. lyn says:

    The Alberta fire is awful.

  13. Dora says:

    Black Women on Why they Support Trump
    By Hardnox

    Here are two women from California:

  14. votermom says:

  15. DeniseVB says:

    My daily Milo ….😉

    • CiscoKid says:

      Milo’s Trump Militia and Trump’s Rangers align to combat the Axis of Evil, Obama/Hillary/GOP Elite.
      Feel good this morning and kinda silly.

  16. votermom says:

    FB ex employees say that the “trending news” feed of FB suppresses conservative news sources.

  17. Dora says:


  18. DeniseVB says:

    lyn !! Is this close to you?

  19. votermom says:

    I am so annoyed at my med insurance website right now.
    I can’t view my kid’s claims. She’s not even an adult yet. And the place where you can allow other people in your family to view your stuff disappeared. And you can’t print put EoBs.
    Piece of crap site. *kicks laptop*

    • leslie says:

      How is your daughter doing since her surgery? I’ve been thinking of her. What a scare that must’ve been for everyone. Hope you get through. Is there an (open to family) chart online with the MD or hospital?

      • votermom says:

        That wasn’t me, Leslie. Dang, I forget who it was too.

        • leslie says:

          oh, right. it was elliesmom. Sorry vm.
          That said, I have been thinking of her daughter since the appendectomy.

          • elliesmom says:

            My daughter’s appendectomy turned out to be more than we thought it was. Her appendix was hiding a carcinoid tumor. The surgeon is busy with her making sure it was all contained inside her appendix. CatScan today to check her lymph nodes. Colonoscopy next week. Then more surgery to remove the margins of her appendix. But these things are very slow growing so at least for now, all of this is cautionary. I sent her brother, otherwise known as “Cancer Kid”, to hold her hand through it. He asked what I wanted for Mother’s Day, and I told him for him to spend some time with his sister. He didn’t disappoint. She’s in much better spirits. She was in college when he was undergoing his cancer treatment, but she came home any weekend he was in the hospital and moved in with him. I knew he’d be better at reassuring her everything will be fine than I could ever be. I have good kids.🙂

          • leslie says:

            Oh my goodness! that they found it is such good luck! I really have been thinking about her and meaning to ask, but failing to do so. I will continue to keep her in my thoughts. Your son sounds like a dear and a good friend to his sister. Please continue to keep us in the loop.
            {{{hugs}}} to you all.

          • votermom says:

            Elliesmom, oh my goodness. I will be praying for her!
            I guess it is good it was finally detected?

          • elliesmom says:

            Finding it was a good thing.

          • Mt.Laurel says:

            I can empathize with your kids from both sides of the isle. Right down to surprises at surgery time. They are lucky to have one another. And you. Hugs all around.

          • lyn says:

            Hugs for you and prayers for your daughter, elliesmom.

          • cynic says:

            You will all be in my thoughts and prayers.

          • elliesmom says:

            Thanks to all of you. I’ll let you know how things work out.

  20. leslie says:

    My gbabies for Mother’s Day, 2016
    Just beautiful!!!

  21. DeniseVB says:

    Love this, a mashup of old Hollywood musicals and Uptown Funk !

  22. DeniseVB says:

    AG Miss Lorretta: NC Gov created state-sponsored discrimination (?) I swear, this admin wants to start another civil war😦

  23. DeniseVB says:

    True story.

  24. Dora says:

    Drip. Drip. Drip.

    Romanian hacker who claims he breached Clinton server says he spoke with FBI at length

  25. AFVet says:

    Back in the day we had great TV shows to watch, here is one of my favorites.
    The theme song is classic.
    Cheer up people it all OK.

  26. Dora says:

  27. CiscoKid says:

    Last minute appeal folks.
    All you Nebraskan Cornhuskers and West Virginians in the Mountain State that support Trump, GET OUT AND VOTE TOMORROW.
    Let your voice be heard.
    Help MAGA!
    Don’t slow down, please
    Ok, I’m off my soapbox.

  28. DeniseVB says:

    Love Jim Hoft/GatewayPundit, WZ and Sundance, but sometimes their blogs are over moderated to the point the commentors eat their own, in that HOW DARE YOU sort of way. Ugh, PTSD Trigger back to 2008. Therefore, I stalk them, and it usually picks up a gem, like this……

    • AFVet says:

      Agree Denise.
      Many strict rules and restrictions pertaining to the subject matter.
      Sundance is the worst,.
      If you are on the wrong thread the mods delete you.

  29. DeniseVB says:

    Watching the NC Bathroom kerfluffle….what is the difference between transgender and crossdresser? Never see that q asked. Since less than .03 % of our population is affected by such decisions, why am I even following this. Why are the boycott NC celebrities still playing in toss gays off the roof countries? God, I hate this administration, probably why I’m on the Trump Train😉

    • taw46 says:

      You and me both. And it also pisses me off that Obama admin threatens to withdraw funds from schools/universaties if they don’t do what he says. And citing Title IX as basis for bathroom laws. Yeah, keep telling me how much they care about women.

    • Venus says:

      I looked into that — since I used to live there — seems it isn’t what the press has made it seem (big surprise there, huh?). Charlotte passed a law *requiring* all businesses to accommodate “trans” bathrooms; state legislature passed law banning such a requirement — that is, private businesses can decide for themselves whether they have “trans” bathrooms or not.
      Personally I have no problem with that and think the state is right here. I’m tired of the tyranny of the minority using the government to mandate behavior — 0.01% of the population is “trans” (and that’s being generous). Requiring private businesses to have bathrooms for them is total agenda-driven bullshit.

    • AFVet says:

      Screw the celebrities.
      They have been rich for a long time.
      Maybe if their invites go down they will sing a different tune.

  30. votermom says:

    Zombie is back with a new photo essay!

  31. I’ve got the morning post, y’all.

  32. westcoaster says:

    this guy’s got The Donaldphobia bad… It was London that didn’t want to let Donald in and not the other way round:–abc-news-topstories.html

    • Elliott says:

      The mayoral election of a radical Muslim just popped the London housing bubble. The financial firms are looking at moving out of London to suburbs to lessen their profile as targets of terrorism, and the Detroit-ization of London speeds up. The money flight begins in earnest.

  33. Dora says:

  34. Dora says:

    Wealthy Cruz Donor Pours Millions Into Clinton Campaign

    Such a swift transition illuminates what we knew all along: Hillary will do anything to get elected

Comments are closed.