I Deleted My Facebook Account Yesterday



Because Fuck Mark Zuckerberg!

Emperor Cletus:

The point is not to withdraw or quit. It is to demonstrate in a memorable way that it is in their corporate interest to remain neutral in the culture war. And the point is to let other corporations that provide news or entertainment see it happen. The idea is to impose a cost for choosing sides.

It is about denying the other side the space to maneuver unchallenged. Right now, corporations like FB do their bidding either from ideological agreement or because, more commonly, the left demands public fealty or exacts a price for dissent. Ace’s suggestion is to improve the overall environment by the simple and direct expedient of inflicting a cost on FB for their violation of neutrality.

It’s not about enforcing some kind of doctrinal purity. I don’t care what FB thinks (in truth, I don’t even have an account). It’s their thing and they can do whatever they want with it. But I do think it is worthwhile, for conservatives to stop being such cheap dates. If FB wants our eyeballs and clicks make them act like it (and others will notice).

Because the “value of a telecommunications network is proportional to the square of the number of connected users of the system” the loss of users amplifies the effect of a mass cancellation.

Ace has a lot to say on this subject but you should go over there and read it cuz I can’t steal his whole post.

I am tempted to delete my Twitter account too, but it is useful for posting pics and links.

My primary reason has nothing to do with politics. It has to do with mental health. I need to wean myself off of the internet and reconnect with real life. I mainly used FB to keep in touch with family. Now I will have to keep in touch via real life.

And Fuck Mark Zuckerberg.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

78 Responses to I Deleted My Facebook Account Yesterday

  1. votermom says:

    Keeping in touch in real life is the best.
    If you find yourselves missing the convenience of FB, try convincing your family to sign up.for something else that doesn’t use ads or tracking. I’ve been suggesting people try mewe.com but even just shared cloud space like DropBox could work too.

    • Ann says:

      Ok, that is a new one to me! Just joined. We are always looking for a facebook alternative, and so far little has presented itself.

    • Gumsnapper says:

      I never understood the point of Facebook. Why can’t people just send pictures and musings in emails to their friends and family?

      • blowme0bama says:

        I had one I started on with a fake ID in 08 to keep up with news I’d never even sniff otherwise, Lost interest in it and it was creepy.

        My attitude is if I want someone to know what I’m up to, I’ll call them and let them know.

        Wife uses it to keep up with her family. It’s good for being able to see recent videos and pics of family members.

      • Gumsnapper says:

        Could blog owner please delete my comment. I had no idea it would post my full name. Thanks.

  2. Somebody says:

    I don’t have a facebook account, in fact never have. Ace is correct you are the product, same goes for search engines and a host of other things. Big data is big business.

    Votermom makes an excellent suggestion about a way to keep in touch with your Hooiser grandkids and their goings on or some of your nieces and nephews. I would add to the list, how about scheduling a weekly video chat. That’s connecting in real life BUT also using today’s technology. You could do facetime or google hangout.

  3. 1539days says:

    I think I’m in the 10% of people in my age group who does not have a Facebook page. I have Twitter, which I find more entertaining. Plus, Facebook seems creepy to me because you can’t look at ostensibly public content because you don’t have a FB account. It reminds me of the old banner ads that tracked you with cookies and the websites you went to with the same company’s banner ads.

  4. elliesmom says:

    I’ve always understood how Facebook works, and it never occurred to me a group of millennials from Harvard would be anything but a bunch of limousine liberals. I see and hear from my close family and friends in the old-fashioned way on a regular basis. If I gave up Facebook, it’s the people from my past and the people I only know through Facebook I’d lose. Like if I gave up reading and commenting on blogs because of something WordPress or Google did, I’d lose all of you from my life. I’m just not that upset or disconnected from my family in other ways to dump Facebook.

    • leslie says:

      Staying here is important to me, as well, em. And for the same reasons. I have connections here that are very meaningful to me. And when I go to other sites and see some of the same commenters, I feel less like a stranger there. I benefit from the information and the different points of view that I get here as well as from other blogs.
      Gonna leave soon. It’s my day with Calamity. 💕😉💕

  5. leslie says:

    Well done, Klown. I signed up for FB early in 2008 because friends were posting their family photos there. I had an account for several weeks and found it took more time than I wanted to give it and there were FB friends who were already so in the tank for bronco bama that I could not tolerate their blind stupidity and unearned adoration that they were sending to me. So I deleted my FB account. I’ve lost touch with a few people, but not many. I’m able to keep in touch with those who are important to me by phone, email and face-to-face. You can do the same… And I’m thinking of using FaceTime as Somebody just suggested.

  6. Lulu says:

    Everyone I know is going through information overload. Too much everything. I think my internet, tv, whatever withdrawal began with an article on mono-tasking. Do one thing at a time, do stuff in moderation, be silent and do nothing part of the day, and tune the hysterical shit out if you can. I have never had Facebook or Twitter. I don’t have a iPhone either although I can afford one. I would just as soon have a CCTV camera in my bathroom. I have email. Good long form email with photo attachments (pretty, ridiculous, funny, horrible) to people I care about. And a few comments on a vastly reduced personal blog roll I still read with people who are not insane or too dumb to bother with on a regular basis. I figured out that Facebook was just another form of media where the users were the product when it started. I cautioned my kids to never put anything on Facebook that they would not want grandma to see many years ago. Zuck is a psychopath in my humble opinion and he creeps me the fuck out just like Soros does. And the ever-shifting “rules” cannot be enforced on us if we don’t read them. I am becoming a happier hermit.

    • Somebody says:

      I agree with you about Zuckerberg Lulu.

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      My reading binge has been an exercise in mono-tasking. I feel a lot better than I did a couple months ago.

      • Lulu says:

        I get it. I do several things in a day but now one at a time. And I enjoy each “thing” more where before it was just rushing and half-assing it. And I finish stuff instead of flitting from thing to thing.

        • Somebody says:

          I wish I could mono-task hell I’d be happy to non-task for a day. Instead I’m pulled in 50 different directions chasing after kids, trying to herd my home schooled high schooler, shuffling her from place to place for various activities with 3 fucking little ones in tow.
          Then in the evening I try to be a decent wife to my husband. Hubby gets the short end of the stick and he isn’t shy about letting me know it either. By the time he gets home and the girls leave all I really want is silence, I have no desire to chat or hear how his day was…….but I listen anyway. I’m not good at hiding things so I’m pretty sure he knows all I want is silence and to be left alone! Hell by then I still have to get dinner on the table, clean up the kitchen and then I just want to go to bed. If I dare to sit down odds are better than 50% I’ll fall asleep. Sooooo I spend the weekends kissing his ass, the end result there is absolutely no me time, I’m just trudging through trying to take care of and please everybody.

          Upside unless I follow a link on here I have no clue what is going on out there or who said what. I rarely turn on my TV in the evening. I don’t go to hardly any blogs any more. The only reading I do is children’s books, so I’ve transitioned from high information to low information, LOL!

          As an aside, when my grandkids are finally in school I’m going to list myself on one of those caregiver sites. You can find a few people at $10 an hour, but $15 to $25 seems to be more the norm, some people ask $50. AYFKM? $50 an hour to babysit? If you want that kind of money you have to have a good resume though, no problem. Yep, as miserable as I am I’ll watch more kids at $50 an hour. Although I probably wouldn’t keep such a job for long, anyone that pays that kind of money clearly has a special snowflake and I wouldn’t do well with a special snowflake, LOL!!!

          AAAAAANNNNNNNDDDDD this fucking comment just cost me pen marks on my hallway walls, FML!

        • foxyladi14 says:

          A successful Potato peeler, Always peels “One Potato at a time” 😀

  7. taw46 says:

    I resisted FB for years, finally gave in with only family and a couple of friends. That list gradually increased, especially when I retired and moved. I never have discussed politics there, and lucky for me, only a couple of people do. I scroll on by, and enjoy seeing vacation photos, kids growing up, everyday life. If I were to cancel FB, I would miss that. But I was never one to check FB every day, several times a day. Sometimes I go a week or two without looking.

    I would love to cancel them, because of Zuckerberg and all the SJW crap, but it is what it is. I have already given up watching news on tv, only tune in now and then. Have started to read again. And there is so much to do here, that I get away from the insanity on a regular basis. Because it really gets me down, increasingly so after the last 8 yrs.

    • DeniseVB says:

      FB became a lot more enjoyable when I learned to control the content I see. It’s been fun contacting old friends from school and dh’s active military years. Then again some of their posts convince me why I haven’t been in touch with them for decades😛

      With family scattered all over the country, it is a nice way to keep tabs on the newsies.

  8. driguana says:

    Bernie Sanders will be in Santa Fe NM today (and also in ABQ and the tiny little town of Vado). That’s going to be a veritable love fest. Half of my FB members (I know I know) are Santa Fe people and they began gushing early this morning and already lining up to see him at the Santa Fe Community College.

  9. Dora says:


    Friday, May 20, 2016: Donald Trump will deliver remarks at the National Rifle Association-Institute for Legislative Action’s (NRA-ILA) Leadership Forum in Louisville, KY.

    There will be several speakers attending the forum, and we will offer full coverage of the event from 1:00-5:00 PM EDT via the NRA.


  10. DeniseVB says:

    Speaking of twitter….Michelle Fields is engaged.


    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      I haven’t seen much of her lately. One day she was everywhere and then “poof” she was gone.

      • DeniseVB says:

        For some reason she popped in my head this morning so I did a twit check wondering who’s life she’s ruining now. It’s WaPo Jamie’s😀 I think she’s going to be one of those high maintenance wives. There is no way her himbo thought of flying her by helicopter to a Malibu bluff with a champagne picnic to propose…..all by himself. Then plan a celebratory dinner at the Beverly Hilton with BOTH sets of parents….as a surprise too !

        Okay, maybe I’m bitter, I got engaged in a Burger King parking lot.😉

  11. Myiq2xu™ says:

    I hope that quitting FB isn’t like what happened to Kramer when he decided to quit receiving mail.

  12. Myiq2xu™ says:

    • DandyTIger says:

      What will Kristol do when Trump wins?

      • Dora says:

        Maybe he will pack up his stuff and get on the same boat as Whoopi and Rosie.

        • Somebody says:

          We can only hope! Speaking of boats the annual Weakly Standard cruise will be loaded with bitter anti-Trumpers. I know it would be exceptionally rude of me to wish for a Poseidon adventure experience, but hoping for a little norovirus isn’t too terrible of me is it??

          • Dora says:

            I’d love for them all to have an attack of diarrhea at the same time. Where’s the bathroom? Where’s the bathroom? Open that damn door!!

          • DeniseVB says:

            I’m signed up for the Red State thing in Denver this August, same group of whinging ninnies from Weakly Standard, NRO, Twitchy, TownHall, som others. So far, Rick Perry is the only confirmed speaker that’s endorsed Trump. I registered months ago with the promise the GOP candidate will also be invited. I’m going to wait until after the convention to see what they do.

        • foxyladi14 says:


    • DeniseVB says:

      😀 First thing that came to my mind …..

    • blowme0bama says:

      What a delusional, butthurt ass.

  13. votermom says:

    Downtown Abbey fans check it out

    Also yesterday’s post about kindle deals are still mostly good.

  14. DeniseVB says:

    I get that not everyone likes Trump but it’s starting to bug me those “elite bloggers and newspeeps” are now in full throttle attack mode on Trump supporters. Pushing third party and other bozo plots in her favor. Now we’re a cult being offered the “kool aid”. Gah!

  15. DandyTIger says:

  16. WMCB says:

    These French cowards cancelled Eagles of Death Metal, bcz dude who had other people’s TEETH pulled out of his face from heads exploding 2 feet in front of him dared to tell the damn truth. Can’t offend the Muslims, ya know.

    Reaction so far is not good.

    • taw46 says:

      They never want to report or hear the truth, then they would have to do something about it. Disgusting.

    • votermom says:

      My guess is the concert organizers are worried about muzzies shooting them up if the band shows up. The Muslim Veto

    • DeniseVB says:

      Milo went whoop ass on Maroon5 for cancelling an NC gig because bathrooms. He reminded them they’re going to Russia this summer ? Hypocrisy. Nailed.

  17. taw46 says:

    Wish I had her patience.

    • CiscoKid says:

      “Its our job to protect our children and teach them right from wrong.
      No, not any longer.
      Its the Governments job now, CommonCore, LGBT values, Obama, Hillary, et al.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I listened to Rush while mowing earlier and he brought up the guy who’s pushing the bathroom thing is a convited child molester. I swear, the LGBT radicals are going for decriminalizing pediophiles next.

      Another topic was transmen (still with lady parts, so they have periods!) I’m confused, do I mean transwomen? Anyhow, you’re still a girl, dressed like a guy so they still need the ladies room to change their tampons. Huh? Good grief. I can’t take much more of the crazy…………😉

  18. Dora says:

    I’m glad to see that Little Marco found something useful to do with his time.

    Marco Rubio Proposes Tim Tebow Statue At The U.S. Capitol

    The Florida senator says he would replace the current statue of a Confederate general with a tribute to the former Florida Gator.


  19. DeniseVB says:

    Never gets old.

  20. Propertius says:

    I’ve never had a FaceBorg account.

  21. Dora says:

  22. swanspirit says:

    Trump, while speaking at the NRA, just coined a new nickname for Hils.
    HEARTLESS HILLARY. O my Goddess! Because she wants to take guns away from women who want to defend themselves.

  23. Dora says:

    Busy Day.

    BREAKING NEWS: Secret Service shoot armed man outside the White House and leave him in critical condition


  24. Myiq2xu™ says:

    • taw46 says:

      And is married to a Muslim man, who already has one wife. Gold, indeed.

    • CiscoKid says:

      This HAS to be some kind of joke.
      But if true, he certainly is the one to beat in the oppression Olympics.
      I think fluorinated water is the causes this.

  25. Dora says:

  26. Dora says:

    Oklahoma Introduces Measure To Impeach Obama Over Transgender Bathroom Rights

    State lawmakers also want to take down the U.S. attorney general and the U.S. secretary of education.


Comments are closed.