A Day To Honor Sacrifice


Today is not a day of celebration. Today is a day of commemoration. Today is a holiday to honor the sacrifices of those who died in military service to our nation. Today is Memorial Day.


A memorial is an object which serves as a focus for memory of something, usually a person (who has died) or an event. Popular forms of memorials include landmark objects or art objects such as sculptures, statues or fountains, and even entire parks.

The most common type of memorial is the gravestone or the memorial plaque. Also common are war memorials commemorating those who have died in wars.

I am unabashedly patriotic. Despite all our faults, the United States of America is the greatest nation in the history of mankind. I believe in American exceptionalism because America is exceptional.

Unfortunately, America is not as great as it used to be. Hopefully, we will soon have a new leader who will not only restore our nation but who will help us make America even greater than we used to be.

The best way we can honor those who died for our country is to be worthy of their sacrifice.

It is for us the living, rather, to be dedicated here to the unfinished work which they who fought here have thus far so nobly advanced. It is rather for us to be here dedicated to the great task remaining before us—that from these honored dead we take increased devotion to that cause for which they gave the last full measure of devotion—that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain—that this nation, under God, shall have a new birth of freedom—and that government of the people, by the people, for the people, shall not perish from the earth.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

142 Responses to A Day To Honor Sacrifice

    • 49erDweet says:

      Inappropriate comments that couldn’t keep from jumping onto the page:
      1. Waz’up with an Army Chorus that only has 20 members? Is the US Army now that small? We had 70 voices in my junior college glee club.
      2. Those are the cheesiest, chinchyist, most laughable and ridiculous special group military uniforms ever. Originally that design was for the Army Bands drum major. Somebody went all giddy with public funds.
      3. Leave it to the mighty O’ to ignore the solemnity of the occasion and carry on random conversations during patriotic performance. Gag me. 234 days, 17 hours and 8 minutes left. But who’s counting?

      • DeniseVB says:

        When the camera panned out, nobody in the audience was “chatting up their neighbor”, it was rude of President Chucklenuts.

        • 49erDweet says:

          If only he could develop the ability to sit still, keep pleasantly quiet and appear to be presidential. Something even Herbert Hoover could do. But no,………everything everywhere is about him.

  1. votermom says:

  2. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Today’s ironic hipsters are too cool to do corny things like fly Old Glory in front of their homes.

  3. votermom says:

    Memorialday.org is a rather neat site I discovered the other day.

  4. DeniseVB says:

    This is just beautiful. Thank you for your service Sen.Cotton, (dabbing eyes).

    • CiscoKid says:

      Senator Tom Cotton
      Combat Infantry Officer
      *Combat Infantry Badge
      *Parachutist Wings
      * Other Decorations & Awards
      (I couldn’t make out from video)
      Proud of his Country, His fellow servicemen/women and Our Fallen

      Obama, community organizer, agitator and apologists.

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      And your point?

    • blowme0bama says:

      Like that white guilt lefty on twitter the other day sending me pictures from 1962 of black people sitting at a lunch counter in a white restaurant to somehow support her point that we are racist for wanting immigration laws enforced.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Oh please, these black kids today have no clue. White kids who stood in solidarity with the lunch counter kids, were hosed and beat up too by the racists. Cops were only involved because they were ordered too. (thankyouverymuch Dem governors). When slavery comes up, I ask unless they picked cotton to STFU and go read history of the south.

        • blowme0bama says:

          No, this was a white guilty lefty history PhD.

          • leslie says:

            And did this white guilty lefty history PhD used to beat his slaves and rape their women and separate families? Can’t people feel bad about what happened so long ago without taking responsibility for something they had NOTHING to do with? Because if they can’t they need help, lots of it.

  5. DeniseVB says:

    Looks like the Cincinnati Gorilla is getting memorial treatment today also. Jack Hanna was on fox this morning explaining why a tranquilizer gun wouldn’t have saved the boy.

  6. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Among the many things I despise about Barack Obama is his passive-aggressive disdain for our country. Like this Hiroshima bullshit.

    • DeniseVB says:

      The video I posted above is my favorite rendition of the Battle Hymn of the Republic and watching Obama’s behavior (chatting up Bar Bush) proves your point. Of course I wanted slap Bar upside the head for enabling him too.

    • swanspirit says:

      I always thought Memorial Day was the commemorative for our war dead, not the war dead of our combatants, that caused our war dead. Obama is a schmuck. I fully expect him to outdo himself in despicable behavior as POTUS until the day he is out of office. He is a walking talking open sewer of excrement. After he is out of office, I don’t care what he does.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Yeah, he trolls traditional America constantly. That’s what his whole fucking game is: rubbing our noses in things.

  7. elliesmom says:

    I grew up in a small New England town, and as is tradition, we had a town green. The centerpiece of the green was a Civil War memorial. Every Memorial Day the parade ended there with a laying of a wreath and the reciting of the Gettysburg Address. The student with the highest GPA in the junior class was given the honor. They chose the student at the end of third term to give him or her time to memorize the Gettysburg Address. I was honored to be one of the students selected. My turn went without a hitch. The following year I was called into the principal’s office on the Wednesday before the holiday and asked if I remembered the speech well enough to be ready to do it again on Monday. The junior had withdrawn from school temporarily, and the principal thought it would be too stressful to ask #2 in the class to learn the speech so quickly. The decision was to ask me to do it from memory again or to let someone just read it. His preference, so he said, was to continue to have it recited. So I was introduced as the “senior class valedictorian”, and from that year on, the honor went to a senior instead. Why didn’t it go back to the junior class the next year? Well, the junior who withdrew from the school temporarily was the superintendent’s niece who left school because she was pregnant, and he didn’t want it to be so “noticed’. The change was just a change in school policy. Today she probably would have given the speech regardless of her pregnancy, but things were so different then. But I could still step up to the memorial and do it today. They were powerful words to learn by heart.

    • votermom says:

      Saw that yesterday in the theatre while waiting for x-men.
      We rarely go to the movies but we wanted to escape the heat of a busted a/c
      For once I was happy to sit thru 40 minutes of trailers, followed by a 2 & a half hour movie.

      • DeniseVB says:

        One of our big luxury splurges is a contract with our local HVAC guy. It’s a few hundred a year, but includes spring and fall preventative check-ups. Should anything go wrong (and I become homicidal without a/c) they are there within a few hours and fix it without additional cost other than parts.

  8. leslie says:

    I think I’m in a twitter war with @AdamBaldwin
    He might think he’s “won”; I don’t care. I just can’t believe some of what he’s written.

    • votermom says:

      Is he a nevertrumper? How disappointing.

      • leslie says:

        I don’t know about being a NeverTrumper. But he is mocking Trump supporters (unless I misunderstood his tweets).

        • DeniseVB says:

          Do share🙂 I don’t have him on mute, so I guess I haven’t noticed off the rails nevertrumpy, like, for instance, Gay Patriot is a pretty rabid anti. (I just checked on my muted team now and then to see if they’re behaving. I’ve taking a lot of them out of timeout since I don’t care if they still don’t like Trump, but they’re supporting him because……Hillaryous is not an option.

          • leslie says:

            I can’t really share as he blocked me! Stunning. Look up @AdamBaldwin and his tweets from about 8:30 this morning should be there. I responded to 2 of them. The first time I referred to his excellent ability to mock others. In his response he referred to amateur psychology or something as if to imply I was an amateur at exploring what he meant by calling out Trump supporters and my response was “Feeling better now, cupcake?”
            Blam! Blocked! how mature.

          • DeniseVB says:

            Rat bastard, blocked? Not sure if your comments would show up, I’ll go sniff around.

          • leslie says:

            I’ll post my responses to his tweet. But they won’t make as much sense without the tweets themselves. I think Anthony liked one of them
            Thanks, Anthony!

          • leslie says:

            So, here is my first tweet in response to a asinine tweet calling out trump supporters:

            My second tweet was a reaction to his implying an “amateur” psychology nature to the first tweet:

            *Shrugs shoulders*

    • lyn says:


  9. DandyTIger says:

    It never ceases to amazing me when progs decide today is a good day to point out the failures of the US or the US military. It’s as if patriotism and honoring sacrifices is offensive to them, so they have to push back.

    • elliesmom says:

      Patriotism is offensive to them. Patriotic songs are “stupid”. Our flag is a symbol of oppression. It doesn’t matter if other countries have committed far worse sins and not righted them because somehow our ancestors should have anticipated 21st century sensibilities and lived by them. The achievements of western civilization are the reason other areas of the world lag behind. If we had just waited for them to catch up before we forged ahead in food production, medicine, and technology, they wouldn’t be so far behind today. In every other part of the world “to the victor go the spoils”, but we should win battles and give everything back and more to the people who attacked us in the first place.

      • Myiq2xu™ says:

        We haven’t always lived up to our ideals. But the things we do wrong we fix ourselves. Things like the My Lai massacre we are ashamed of, but in many countries they would be policy.

        • Myiq2xu™ says:

          ISIS brags about slaughtering civilians.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Calley was a disturbed person to begin with (sorry Army guys, should have never been near any command type position in VN). Though decades later, we saw the same type batshit crazy play out in Star Wars’ Phantom Menance when Anakin went “all Calley” on the villagers. I remember reading a lot of comparisons at the time. Thanks Hollywood😦

          I guess the hit and run troll is long gone?

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      They’re haters, and haters gonna hate, hate, hate, hate, hate.

      • Myiq2xu™ says:

        Prog: Why do you say we hate America?

        Me: Because of the shit that comes out of your mouth and the shitty things that you do. Your hatred for America oozes out of your greasy pores.

        • Myiq2xu™ says:

          Every fucking holiday is an excuse for progs to piss all over our country and our culture. They are even trying to ruin Halloween.

  10. Dora says:

    So, I got dressed in a patriotic tee shirt and shorts. Of course, I was wearing my Trump Hat. I put my camera in my handbag. Hubby took 2 folding chairs out of the garage and carried them down the block to the corner where the parade was supposed to pass by. No one was there. A veteran from the American Legion came over to tell us that the parade had been cancelled. This morning’s rain had stopped, but the organizers thought it best to cancel in case it started raining again. I was and am disappointed. Oh well.

    I hope you are all enjoying your Memorial Day.

  11. Dora says:

    On Memorial Day – Please Remember Sgt Derrick Miller Who Sits in Leavenworth for Killing Taliban Operative

    As Obama continues to release Islamic terrorists right and left out of Gitmo, he never mentions our Sons who were sentenced to prison in Leavenworth for their defensive actions on the same battlefield.


  12. votermom says:

    If it wasn’t for American soldiers winning world war 2, my mom and dad would never have met, and I wouldn’t be alive.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I’ve thought of that too. While Obama was in Hiroshima ignoring history, I wondered if I’d be here if we didn’t drop those bombs. I was in that first wave of the baby boomer generation.

    • elliesmom says:

      My mom and dad met outside a USO dance.

    • taw46 says:

      My parents met when the military came to a base built near my small Southern town. My sister was born during the war, me after it ended.

  13. DeniseVB says:

    I guess this is in tribute to the Libertarian convention stripper ? I laughed and voted for Milo.😛

  14. jennifer lyn says:

    I am somber and grateful this morning as I listen to the birds, watch the squirrels play, and pet my cat. We are so fortunate to have the gifts of freedom–freedom to live, freedom to practice the religion of our choice (of course it is getting harder and harder to be a Christian in America), freedom to study, freedom to work, freedom to travel, freedom to love, freedom to write, freedom. I think too many people have forgotten how great a gift freedom is, how many people have died, how many people will die, and how many people — both our men and women in uniform and the families who love them — sacrifice to protect this freedom.

    I am humbled by this gift and the gift of those who keep it a reality. I have friends who have lost a family member in service and the pain they suffer never ends. Every time someone burns a flag, or diminishes this great country, they are really saying to those who have given the greatest gift ‘f… you.’ There is no other way to say it. And to those who don’t want to honor America please leave–make room for those dying to come here and experience the greatest country in the world.

    Bless this country, those who protect and serve, those who love those who protect and serve, and help us make America great again. She deserves that and so do we.

    Have a memorable Memorial Day! Volunteer at your local VA it will change your life. Volunteer at a nursing home or a senior center and just sit and listen. We are losing our greatest generation and the replacements are not going to cut it. Not by a long shot. Seniors possess so many talents and tremendous intelligence and they built this country not playing on cell phones and complaining about not being able to get the newest toy but by working hard, sacrificing, and having principles. We would do well to follow in their footsteps and we will only have ourselves to blame if we do not. A senior citizen told me recently that he thinks most of us are foolish. I asked him why and he said “Watch the news. We have lost our moral compass as a country and until we find it we will never be okay. Children don’t know the difference between right and wrong because their parents don’t know the difference. We excuse everything and make excuses instead of looking at the problem, finding a solution, and doing it. We are failing ourselves and our country. I am glad I am old.” Then he gave me a hug and said he would pray for me because I wasn’t old.

    GO America. Let’s find our moral compass, let’s make America great again. I’m all in– it is the least I can do to honor the fallen.

    • CiscoKid says:

      So very well said Jlyn, you’ve put into words what the heart feels on this Memorial Day.

    • leslie says:

      That was beautifully said, Jennifer lyn. I hope many will have the benefit of reading this today. Thank you.

      • jennifer lyn says:

        thank you. I sent this out to my email group and I got back lots of emails that made me cry–from veterans, regular peeps, and families of vets. One person sent me a really mean email and accused me of being a right wing racist christian bigot. I told him I was jewish, which I am, and took him off the list. 🙂

    • lyn says:

      ❤ All of the above. Well written, Jennifer Lyn.

  15. driguana says:

    Interesting to listen today to all the comments about how Trump could have dissed popular Latina NM governor Susana Martinez. Where does the press get the idea that Gov Martinez is popular??? As a New Mexico resident for almost 40 years, it’s pretty apparent to me that she is NOT popular in New Mexico. The education system is in chaos. Unemployment and the inability to attract new jobs is anemic. It took her forever to come around to support the film industry, a no-brainer for New Mexico. Popular? Do our reporters bother to check out the Albuquerque Journal or the Santa Fe New Mexican? She still does maintain support in southeastern NM but certainly not in central and northern NM. Strange.

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      NM is in flyover country. The media has no clue what goes on there. Even worse, they don’t care to find out.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I was introduced to Martinez at the 2012 convention and really enjoyed her speech. In fact, all the speakers were pretty inspiring (Hello Clint Eastwood !) while the Dems were waving tampons and their lady parts. How the hell did Mitt lose?

  16. Myiq2xu™ says:

    “If ever proof were needed that we fought for a cause and not for conquest it could be found in these cemeteries. Here was our only conquest. All we asked…was enough…soil in which to bury our gallant dead.”
    — General Mark W. Clark
    Chairman, American Battle Monuments Commission

    • taw46 says:

      Many years ago I visited the Sicily-Rome American Cemetery in Nettuno. It was beautiful and immaculate, an emotional visit. It was also sad to think of the families who were unable to visit the graves of their loved ones.
      A few years later I read the sweetest story about the Italians who cared for those graves. They looked upon them as their boys, since they had been there for so many years. And were thankful for their sacrifice.

  17. lyn says:

    A baby elephant was rejected by his herd and left to die. But he was taken in by the Thula Thula Rhino Orphanage in South Africa where he met a special canine companion. Watch as the dog helps Ellie beat the odds.


  18. elliesmom says:

    The littles have been here all week. Dad was released to drive and return to work just in time to drive Mom to the hospital. She’s still in the hospital. The surgery went well, but she’s having some post op bleeding so they’re doing more tests today. My son-in-law’s sister is a nurse, and she’s arriving from Ohio today to help them out. She wants to spend some time with the kids so I’m sending them tomorrow with a friend who lives near me and works near their house. Auntie has the option to send Crash back if she needs to.

    Big Bro missed school this week, but his teachers sent some work with him, and I supplemented it. The school principal was the vice principal when I worked there so he was on board with a week of “homeschooling” with me. I found an online preschool for Crash, and the three of us went to school every morning on the deck. Then after lunch we swam in the lake and built castles in the sand. Ellie had previously only put her front paws in the water, but Big Bro hit Crash with a burst of cold water from his supershooter, and she let out a screech. Ellie charged into the water to save her baby and discovered she can swim. From that point on if the kids were in the lake so was Ellie.

    Needless to say, I have accomplished little else this week. There’s sand everywhere. It’s raining today so I’m getting their laundry done. I can clean and do our laundry after they leave tomorrow. They’ve video chatted with Mom and Dad everyday so they haven’t been “in exile”. It’s been more of an unexpected vacation for them. My grandson has decided he rather likes homeschooling for a least some of the time. But what’s not to like when you get to go to school for half the time and do twice as much? 😉 Right now I’m too tired to know just how tired I am, but you do what you need to do for family (and close friends).

  19. Dora says:

    Again? No wonder he wants a higher fence.

    • CiscoKid says:

      The part where a Marine Officer was presenting the Flag to the little boy tears right thru to the soul.

  20. Dora says:

    I don’t know if it’s true or not, but I’ve had the feeling for a while that something is about to happen. There is so much buzzing behind the scenes. And consider how often the name Biden has been mentioned lately. Once by Trump during a rally.

    The FBI will “Blow the Whistle” if Hillary Clinton is not Indicted. “They’re Going Public”

    Bombshell Announcement by U.S. House Majority Leader Tom DeLay


    • Anthony says:

      I called it months ago. Expect a Biden/Warren ticket coming to a kabuki theater near you soon

      • dm says:

        I was just explaining this very theory to a friend last night…who appeared stunned at the prospect…I asked him – do you really trust Obama not to pull the rug out from under HRC?

        • Anthony says:

          If Obama really wanted her to win, he could (within the purview and power of his position) declassify any documents – especially those that were classified after the fact.

          Fact is that there is a hell of a lot of bad blood between the Clintons and the Obamas. I suspect he has her by the short hairs, otherwise she would NEVER have done a 180 on her 2008 platform. She is now running to perpetuate the exact same policies she vowed to eliminate back then.

    • 49erDweet says:

      The snap judgement fails just keep on coming.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I got some likeys from a local NYC FB news feed for this comment while the debate raged on.

      New Rule: All Zoos must post signs saying “Unsupervised Children May Be Eaten, Parents Please Remain Vigilant in Tending to Your Children. Thanks for your help. Signed, The Zoo Animals”

      While Special Greg was in public school, I did more room mom field trips to the zoo with his classes. Never lost one of them, if you’re familiar with herding cats. In fact, I think our field trips were more entertaining than the animals for the rest of the zoo visitors.😉

  21. votermom says:

    Meanwhile, in Paris …

    • CiscoKid says:

      Have I missed something today?
      What the hell is going on in Paris?Terrible that a cop, anywhere, can’t defend himself after being attacked with a pipe.
      Attack me that viciously, you’re going to get perforated.

    • Somebody says:

      The guy that smashed the back window with that huge pipe is an American citizen. He’s been arrested, but his name hasn’t been released. The protests are about a move to weaken worker protection. Sooooooo, is this more Soros funded crap???

      Did you notice the masks? These are straight up anarchist and professional agitators, the kind we see at Trump rallies. I can’t believe that policeman not defending himself when the guy went after him with the pipe. Here in the US he’d be face down in the street.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Saw that and triggered my JADZIA, YOU OK? alarm. Other France concerns in the news today too. Economy worse than Greece stuff.

  22. lyn says:

    Disgusting …

  23. elliesmom says:

    So a horse goes into a bar and gets totally sloshed. He orders yet another boiler maker and the barkeep finally says “haven’t you had enough?”
    The horse snorts, “I think not” and poof, disappears.
    At this turn of events a band of philosophy students in the back booth start snickering. Because of course, they had just been studying the famous thinker Descartes, who said “I think, therefore I am.”

    I could have explained all that sooner, but that would be putting Descartes before the horse.

    See this is what happens when I get exhaustipated.

  24. Myiq2xu™ says:

    I just finished Sharp Objects by the author of Gone Girl. If you think GG was some twisted shit, you ain’t seen nothing. SO is out there in Pet Sematary territory.

  25. lyn says:

    This is crazy.

  26. helenk3 says:

    off topic but I had to share it

Comments are closed.