Operation Overlord: Neptune #DDay

Into the Jaws of Death 23-0455M edit

Into the Jaws of Death by Chief Photographer’s Mate (CPHoM) Robert F. Sargent June 6, 1944

They saved Europe. True Heroes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

107 Responses to Operation Overlord: Neptune #DDay

  1. votermom says:

    Most of them just kids off the farm

    • CiscoKid says:

      Every time I see this film clip, I think of all those young men who left their homes and families, trained, then went to Europe to fight and so sadly to die.
      The flim clip is a camera long shot with 1 soldier in the foreground and 6 in the background just taking a few steps off the landing craft.
      1 soldier on the left is immediately shot and falls, another, bent over by the heavy pack on his back is also shot and falls.
      No more than 5 or 6 steps by either of them. Heartbreaking.
      I’m not forgetting the sacrifices of our men and women in the Pacific Theater, its just today is about D-Day. If you see the clip on the news, look closely.

      • Myiq2xu™ says:

        The opening battle scene from Saving Private Ryan gives you a feel for what it was like. The guys who were there said it’s about as close to the real thing as a movie could be.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Truly one of the greatest Hollywood and Oscar snubs of all time. I guess Shakespeare In Love had a stronger opening sequence ? /sarc

          Hubby saw Pvt Ryan on the big screen and the opening triggered some Vietnam PTSD since he still wells up just thinking about watching it. (I always research my comments😉 ). It made me teary watching him.

        • blowme0bama says:

          My personal favorite movie of all time (hence, my avatar).

          My Dad watched part of it with me. Surprisingly, it was the cursing that caused him to say he’d seen enough.

          • 49erDweet says:

            Yeah. There’s a yuuge generational gap in the cursing department. GI’s cursed just as much during WWII and Korea, they just didn’t repeat it in public. Because my gkids are around all the time, I still keep it off my screens bc they know Papa doesn’t use ‘those words”.

      • Lulu says:

        One of my friend’s father was on Omaha beach. He was 18. Raised by his grandmother on a subsistence farm with a peach orchard for cash money. He joined up when he graduated from high school as he promised his grandmother. It was his first combat experience. He told us he shit his pants in the surf. He told stuff he thought would make us laugh like drinking a whole bottle of Calvados thinking it was wine and staggering around in the dark lost. He said he was never even wounded because he had a lucky star because he had been an orphan. He was a large, handsome and very athletic guy (great amateur golfer who built and owned a fancy men’s store) so he was one of the soldiers who were good strong swimmers and given huge packs of equipment to carry ashore. He said he promptly sunk so he got rid of that shit and swam ashore with only his rifle. He was brave, honest, kind to giggly girls and so funny.

    • taw46 says:

      They were so young, many of them from small towns across the country. Most of them had not ventured far from their hometowns before the war. Heroes all.

    • driguana says:

      It really is hard to imagine how this must have felt! What was going on in these young kids minds!

  2. WMCB says:

  3. driguana says:

    Always thought prayer and chanting and praise singing were about lifting up the voices, raising the voices, not silencing them. The world has gone crazy….mondo cane, as the Italians might say…the world has gone to the dogs…

  4. DeniseVB says:

    Meanwhile, more juicies on the woman who wants to turn us into Americazuela. This is not what our young men left their safe spaces for in 1944 ….


    • taw46 says:

      “I liked Jim, he made me laugh,” wrote Williams in the March 12, 1998 letter, which also claimed the prison guards’ were negligent when it came to giving McDougal his medication. “He was one of the few patrons that openly proclaimed his guilt.”

      “In the T.V. room he’d have his arm slung over another chair,” Williams added. “If someone came up and asked to sit there he’d say, ‘no, I’m saving this for Bill.’”

  5. WMCB says:

    • DandyTIger says:

      They just don’t get how the prog game is played. Sadly they mimic progs in their battered wife syndrome. If we just play nice with progs, and watch what we say, they’ll play nice.

      • Myiq2xu™ says:

        The GOP and Dem establishments are like Sunni and Shia Muslims. They hate each other but they won’t hesitate to put aside their differences to fuck us.

  6. taw46 says:

  7. Dora says:

  8. Dora says:

    A new book by Megan Fox and Kevin DuJan. So that’s what he has been up to.

    SHUT UP! Or we will have to shut you up

    • taw46 says:

      Wondered why he disappeared. And that article was a scary read. Can’t believe what is being done to us across the country. And we don’t know what to do about it. We are law abiding people, so we don’t want to think about it.

    • votermom says:

      Megan Fox is on clfa group in fb.
      I’m thinking of asking if she’ll do an interview (q&a via email)
      What questions would you guys like to ask her?

  9. Myiq2xu™ says:

    The first day of Operation Neptune went so badly that Ike nearly called off the invasion and ordered a retreat. In military terms it was a complete clusterfuck. Things got better but it was pretty iffy for weeks.

    • SHV says:

      ~160,000 troops crossed the English Channel on D-Day and none of the day one objectives were accomplished. It is amazing to me that “only” 4,400 were confirmed killed during the D-Day assault.

      • 49erDweet says:

        To be fair, “crossing the channel” in that short a time period in that small an area involved so many watercraft – warships of all sizes, freighter, trawlers, pleasure craft and barges, that eventual success WAS surprising. Many of the knowledgeable locals thought it wouldn’t work.

      • blowme0bama says:

        The shore landings, correct. The British Airborne objectives, Merville Battery and “Pegasus Bridge” over the Caen Canal were captured.

  10. cynic says:

    I heard from Leslie’s daughter last night, and this was what she had to say. “She is still in the hospital and will be until they can get a better handle on managing her pain. Once that happens (hopefully very soon), we think that she’ll likely go spend a few days in a rehab center to get some additional PT and OT before heading home. It’s a longer battle than we had hoped for – but not unusual, considering what she’s been through…”

    Positive, healing vibes, and prayers being sent her way.

  11. mothy67 says:

    I have a new favorite lie. My mom has a sister. She is telling everyone her granddaughter is skipping 6th grade. They no longer allow kids unless they are Doogie Howser to skip grades. I know because it happened to me 2nd and 5th. Sadly you can never live up to your own hype. .my aunt just harbors an extreme form of jealousy. Everything is a competition. Pup has a very fit body. I will go burka shopping. She is near perfect. We were at pool and she got a modeling offer from UPMC. I would have said no had I known I would be attacked. Pay is around 12 thousand. 100% will go into her college account. I never touch her taxes. Her money goes in the bank and will never be touched until freshman year. On facebook I am being accused of being a pimp. Its just envy. I would never be rude to a child, but my cousins are less than pleasing on the eye. One might if so inclined say ugly. . My parents where too sexy for their own good. That’s why my mom had a kid at 15. James Dean and Liz Taylor. I was able to travel through life because I was handsome. Seriously I had a fucked up childhood. Baby blues and cheekbones opened many a door in Manhatten. My family is stunning. Its genetics no point in lying. I am Irish, English, French and German. I avoid the sun. Crud is darkone day in the sun covered in SPF 50 and she is brown. She doesn’t even burn just tans after one day. Thing is my kid has worked to get a stranger offer a lucrative deal is nice. A 69 year old woman attacking her on facebookis obscene. Kid is pretty and fit. She is supposed to hate herself because she won the DNA lottery. I am the best looking guy ever on planet earth. I am also funny. I kinda know I might favor Montgomery Clift to a drunk woman. Thing is I am funny. Kid knows she is attractive but she’s real. We have 5 African Dwarf Frogs. I was annoyed at first, but as I am a loser I bought them yuuuuuge tanks. They are so fucking cute. My pup cares about her frogs. Out on a limb I’m gonna say most kids do not have a super model great gay uncle that loves African Dwarf Frogs. I laugh so hard everytime I think about how good looking I am. Tears. Thing is I half believe it.

  12. Venus says:


    Read this re: the political witch hunt against Trump with the Trump U lawsuit

    • taw46 says:

      I read that earlier. Will never be discussed on MSM.

    • CiscoKid says:

      No doubt the left is out to get Trump in a coordinated legal attack, by Hillary and Obama donors/supporters.
      Meanwhile, Clinton Foundation, meaning Hillary and Bill remain squeaking clean.

    • swanspirit says:

      I contributed to Sarah Palin’s legal fund (the one she had to refund) when she was battling all those frivolous lawsuits. Those lawsuits didn’t come out of nowhere.
      I don’t think this lawsuit against Trump did either.
      Democrats don’t mind questioning bias on the part a Supreme Court Justice , if a decision doesn’t go their way, heck neither do Republicans, but
      if Trump does it he is a racist.
      Let’s face it, if Donald wakes up in the morning, he is a racist.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I donated to Sarah’s legal fund too, the GOP govs and the RNC did NOTHING to help her, then called her a quitter. I remember signing back the refund check to her new PAC.

        What’s funny, Bill Clinton had the same exact legal fund guidelines in place when he was suffering from the Bimbo Eruption lawsuits, no problem with that, eh?

  13. Dora says:

  14. Dora says:

  15. Dora says:

    • 49erDweet says:

      Was 13 yo in LA sitting in front of old Philco Radio in living room when first heard those words, “…under the command of General Eisenhower,………”.
      Big cheer went up in neighborhood!!!!! Sweet times but worried about casualties, too.

  16. Venus says:

    Dandy: yesterday you were wondering about why Trump was bringing up the judge issue. Here’s one perspective (ignore the power line blogger’s comments at beginning and end –he still can’t admit/see Trumps genius so has to hedge and say maybe it was luck/coincidence):

  17. DeniseVB says:

    Not a D-Day peep from the POTUS tweet account today. This r/t’s been at the top of his timeline all day, promoting a Women’s summit. I couldn’t help myself …..

  18. Dora says:

  19. CiscoKid says:

    Soapbox moment.
    To fellow Trump supporters in
    California, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico and South Dakota, don’t forget to vote in your respective primaries tomorrow, 7June. Even though Trump has the required delegates, you, by voting will show he has overwhelming support no matter what bs the left/Dem’s and media say or print about him.
    We need to show big, big, numbers tomorrow.
    Ok, ’nuff said, thanks.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I’m glad Donald hasn’t been resting on his “presumptive nominee” laurels, he’s working hard in every state for every vote. I look forward to the returns tomorrow night. I hope it’s a Smash Hult night for him🙂

      • jennifer lyn says:

        I am praying he wins CA. What a victory it will be🙂

        • DeniseVB says:

          He should win the Cali GOP easily, though was saddened to see the remnants of Cruz and Kasich supporters going for the steal and a contested convention. Sometimes I think these are remnants of OFA and the Hillaries spamming social media.

    • 1539days says:

      Maybe he can crack 50% again running unopposed.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Sweet Jeebus, history is lost on the current stupids generation. Just yesterday Mohammed Ali was celebrated as a draft dodger. Oy.

      • 49erDweet says:

        Yeah. Hard to brag about a guy who was so wrong about so many things. But history can be rewritten, it seems. Didn’t Ali invent the electric light bulb, too?

  20. lyn says:

  21. lyn says:

  22. CiscoKid says:

    Heartwarming story of a current combat vet paying homage to his grandfather, a veteran of the D-Day invasion.

  23. taw46 says:

    This one gave me chills. I heard so many stories about my grandparents and my mother sitting around the radio at night, listening to news about the war and the “boys”. I could just see them as I listened.

  24. Dora says:

    It’s over. Poor Bernie. 😦

  25. DandyTIger says:

    • Venus says:

      Hey Dandy — OT:
      I found another theory on Trump bringing up judge thing now on Hillaryis44:

      June 6, 2016 at 7:41 pm
      La Raza didn’t expect to become a topic this year and are scrambling. They didn’t purge out their more questionable “racist” stuff fast enough. Now claiming La Raza means the The People (it doesn’t and never has) are they accepting non-Hispanic (say black, Asian or white non-Spaniards) members? No I don’t think so. All after a riot. Lucky Trump.

      • DandyTIger says:

        May or may not have been the best strategy. Doesn’t look like it to me. But I see the thinking behind it. And everyone of these things so far as been the right strategy when most everyone thought it was wrong.

        • Venus says:

          I thought the same thing when he said so many things in the past – calling out Bush starting the useless war in Iraq right before SC and the temporary ban on Muslims coming in after Paris.
          This now is part and parcel with that, IMO.I agree the MSM is going crazy with it -but they went crazy with the other 2 and so many others before, that I wonder how much effect they really even have except for those of us like us, who are actually following things closely.

        • Venus says:

          Also,I just found out that the Hispanic National Bar Association issued a press release last year (June 2, 2015) condemning Trump & calling for a boycott of all Trump business interests. The fact that this judge is a member of this organization right there is enough that he should have recused himself. (Oh, and lets not forget, this judge unsealed court records for no fucking reason except to try to damage Trump –he’s shown actual bias too, not just implied — the “appearance of bias” not actual bias, is the standard for recusal):
          Link to HNBA press release:


          • DandyTIger says:

            Yeah. This is a fascinating issue. The MSM is going batshit over it. And being completely biased in ignoring or outright lying about the judge while pounding on Trump. Unfortunately for Trump, lots of GOP members are caving to this effort. Fascinating.

          • taw46 says:

            Ace has some good posts about this.

    • jeffhas says:

      … And all this time I assumed she was using her WalMart connections for the Mao collection fashions she sports. So she’s just going to spend our money on the fugliest stuff ever, right?

  26. swanspirit says:

    The liberal left is going all apeshitt rage over the judge that gave Brock Turner, the Stanford rapist, six months in jail. They are screaming blue bloody murder.
    Funny, when illegal rapeugees sexually assault women, stab them to death, drive drunk and kill them with cars, and the perps skip town cause ICE won’t hold them , not a peep. Nothing. Crickets.

    • elliesmom says:

      At the risk of being accused of “victim blaming”, how much alcohol does it take to blackout that completely? If I went to a party where I knew no one but my sister, how much would I have to drink to be that passed out? I’m in no way giving Turner a pass for what he did, but was he drunk, too? Is there just a drop of shared responsibility? I don’t have much experience with the criminal court system. Some jury duty and testifying as a witness. Is this all about the “white, rich, athlete privilege”, or is the judge looking at this as two drunk people have to share some of the responsibility? Her judgment was obviously impaired before she took the first drink. She gets to live the knowledge she suffered a sexual assault she can’t remember. That’s punishment, I agree. He gets to spend 6 months in jail and gets labeled a sex offender for the rest of his life. If he was a drunken party goer, too, then the sentence doesn’t seem unfair to me. If he was stone cold sober standing around looking for a vulnerable target, then maybe not. His state of sobriety is a factor for me. Women shouldn’t be the only ones given a pass on personal responsibility and alcohol.

  27. Dora says:

    While the major media is discussing – yet again – Donald Trump’s racist remark, there has been another terrorist attack. This time in Istanbul.

    Istanbul bomb attack on police bus ‘kills 11’


  28. votermom says:

Comments are closed.