Is it the weekend yet?

Watching Deadpool tonight on dvd, assuming I stay awake.

Whatcha’ll doing this weekend?

Open thread.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

113 Responses to TGIF

  1. votermom says:

    Check out I haven’t put it up on yet but right now I’m reading Left of Boom.

  2. votermom says:

    It took me forever and one hanging browser to post this thread.
    I know my laptop is old but this is ridiculous. Is wordpress being horrible to anyone else?

  3. 49erDweet says:

    I think it’s the interweebly thingy. FB has been a mess for 2 days and tweets take forever, so blame Obummer for trying to approve everything before it posts.

  4. Dora says:

    • CiscoKid says:

      Amazing! Amazing that this didn’t/won’t make the 6o’clock news.
      Brave fellow, no mask to hide his identity like the rioting thugs.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Ever since Obama put the Clinton Foundation in charge of Haiti’s “recovery” with a billion dollar budget from compassionate American donors, not a sh*t’s worth of progress seems to have been made. Media ignores this tidbit.

        I remember post 9-11, zillions were donated to the recovery effort, mostly to the Red Cross. Which really didn’t need all that money, so the Red Cross chief at the time, decided to use those funds to remodel their executive offices.

        Sidebar: Trump paid a hundred or so construction employees to go to Ground Zero to help with recovery and clean up. Then Senator Clinton helped out her Wall Street buds.

  5. AFVet says:

    Trump speech, Hillary, take note.

  6. elliesmom says:

    I’ve mentioned before I went to a guys’ school for my undergrad work. The upperclassmen were assembled in the spring and told about the arrival of women to the school the next fall. They were asked to treat us like they would their younger sisters as life would be difficult enough for us w/o having a bunch of upperclass predators at every turn. The guys who arrived with us were not given the same lecture, and most of the harassment we endured actually came from them and the professors who didn’t believe we belonged there.

    Several of my “big brothers” belonged to frats. The more academic ones in one frat and the rest to the campus equivalent of “Animal House”. I’ve been to parties at both frats and was treated like I was someone’s little sister. When they discovered I could really tend bar, I was often stuck behind it where I had a bird’s eye view. When the guys wanted to throw a party, they’d put some flyers up at the local junior college that was mostly secretarial courses so mostly women. They’d stock the bar with liquor and always had something fruity that would catch you unaware if you’d been sipping it down too fast. Each house had a sound system that could be played loud enough to make conversation difficult but not so loud as to upset the neighbors. When enough people had arrived to make the party room just a little too crowded, they’d stop letting girls in. After the liquor had been flowing for a little while, and everyone was getting a little warm and feeling crowded, the invitations to go someplace “cooler and quieter where we can talk” would begin to be issued, and the party would move upstairs to the guys’ rooms. Everything about the party had been orchestrated for the events to turn that way.

    No one expected to or deserved to be raped for attending a party like that, but any woman who thought she was being asked to the party to discuss the mating rituals in “Pride and Prejudice” wasn’t smart enough to be in college. This was at a time when abortion was still illegal, and the pill was hard to come by, and yet women went upstairs aware of what was expected of them. Today’s hookup culture should have made women more aware of expectations young men have when they invite you to a “cattle call” frat party. And yet young women expect they will be cared for like someone’s little sister by men who don’t have a vested interest in their well-being. They accept no responsibility for putting themselves in harm’s way. It’s “victim blaming” to expect them to show some brains and personal agency.

    I stopped attending frat parties when the police were called when one of the girls at the party OD’d in one of the guy’s rooms. One of my “big brothers” shoved me out a cellar window so I wouldn’t get caught at the party. That would have caused a great deal of trouble for the frat with the Dean of Students. The party wasn’t at “Animal House”. But it showed me that even if I didn’t drink or accompany one of the guys upstairs, I was still someplace where things could happen to me that would be beyond my control. At 18 the last thing I wanted to be was a helpless female.

    • swanspirit says:

      Another great story. I am glad you had someone looking out for you!

    • WMCB says:

      No woman, no matter if she is lying naked in the street, should be raped. I still told my daughters that putting yourself in that situation is dangerously stupid.

      No man should ever be beaten and assaulted. I still told my sons not to flash wads of cash while walking through a bad neighborhood.

  7. 49erDweet says:

    TY. I missed all those neat frat party benefits due to the Korean War and then life. Shouldn’t that qualify me for some gummint handout?

    • AFVet says:

      Korea,…we served the Country and I will never regret it.
      Vietnam here.
      I missed the college scene also.
      Got out, got a job, life goes on.

      • 49erDweet says:

        I was in SAC at March AFB in the 15th AF. Once Curtis LeMay came for an inspection hitchhiking on a cargo plane. Got off carrying his own bags. Kinda guy I could respect.

  8. Somebody says:

    Enjoy Deadpool Votermom. I enjoyed it, but fair warning it’s an adult comedy definitely NOT a kid movie. When it was in theaters there were a lot of upset parents that took their kids to see it, guess they missed the R rating thing.

    • 1539days says:

      There was a lot of stuff online about how the movie was 100% not for kids. Better they take kids to that movie than take them to the gorilla habitat, I guess.

    • Ann says:

      I saw Deadpool at the theater when it came out this past February, and then I bought it to own when it became available last month. I watched on my ‘little’ 50″ TV screen. I enjoyed it at home because I could catch a lot of the jokes I missed at the movies due to the crowd was laughing so loudly. But, at home I missed the atmosphere of the crowd laughing loudly. *sigh*

      I agree with Somebody, Votermom; Deadpool is about as far from a kid’s movie as a movie can get.

      I may watch Deadpool again tonight.😛

  9. Hope you enjoy Deadpool. I loved it!

  10. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Why did the blonde write “TGIF” on all her shoes?

    “Toes Go In First”

  11. 49erDweet says:

    OT. Love it when the “gun control” meme doesn’t work out. –
    On the plus side, tho, Jadzia should be safer.

  12. DeniseVB says:

    Real Heroes, not those BLM and SJW schmucks. Will the NYT pick this up?

  13. CiscoKid says:

    Legendary boxing promoter Don King endorses Trump.
    KO, KO, KO!

  14. DeniseVB says:

    Can’t wait for July 22 sweetie darlings😉

  15. SHV says:

    “Whatcha’ll doing this weekend?”
    A lot of yard work and Al, the DW, wants to go to the range and shoot guns.

  16. DeniseVB says:

    Live Stream, Trump in Richmond VA !

  17. jennifer lyn says:

    Media is already reporting no one is there. Media says he is DROPPING like hot rock in polls. Media is a liar. WHEN will people actually start paying attention? 😦

  18. jennifer lyn says:

    I know. It is ridickulous but hey everyone believed that nobama was ‘smart’ or whatever. I saw the LIVE photos and there are more people in VA listening to Trump than if you added up everyone who came to hear Hillary in toto. I hope people turn off their tvs and just vote TRUMP.

  19. DandyTIger says:

    Of course applies to any voter and any politician. But progs are especially sheepish.

  20. Dora says:

    Baby Theodore is adorable.

    ‘Table for four!’ Ivanka Trump shares sweet snap of ‘dinner date’ with her three kids and a cheeky photo of baby Theodore who is ‘excited for the weekend’

  21. Dora says:

    Nice entrance! Plenty of people there.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Before he hit Richmond, he dropped by Williamsburg for a surprise visit (to the media and several attendees apparently). How does this thing, TrumpForceOne, sneak in anywhere?

    • lyn says:

      Obama’s abandonment of the traditional paths to wisdom in foreign affairs makes sense, however, in a context where the right answers were already provided by his rationalist ideology—as was his frustration with those who called his own wisdom into question. Goldberg relates the following story of an exchange Obama had with Israel’s prime minister:

      Obama has also not had much patience for Netanyahu and other Middle Eastern leaders who question his understanding of the region. In one of Netanyahu’s meetings with the president, the Israeli prime minister launched into something of a lecture about the dangers of the brutal region in which he lives, and Obama felt that Netanyahu was behaving in a condescending fashion, and was also avoiding the subject at hand: Peace negotiations. Finally, the president interrupted the prime minister: “Bibi, you have to understand something,” he said. “I’m the African-American son of a single mother, and I live here, in this house. I live in the White House. I managed to get elected president of the United States. You think I don’t understand what you’re talking about, but I do.”

      The obvious irony here is that not a single piece of the President’s purported pedigree actually implies any familiarity with how the Middle East works—or how foreign policy works, for that matter. If anything, it reinforces the sense that he believed that understanding comes to a person through merit rather than effort. That when you already have the answers, you don’t need to ask a lot of questions.

  22. DeniseVB says:

    Good question, if I say so myself😉

  23. DeniseVB says:

    Trump Rally Live stream #Tampa

    • DeniseVB says:

      Hasn’t started yet ( now11:42, scheduled for 11). Watch on youtube and you can follow the live chat, over 7,000 watching the empty podium now.😀

  24. Dora says:

    Don’t believe the media.

  25. helenk3 says:

    I still do not understand this woman’s reasoning or what she hoped to accomplish

    • 49erDweet says:

      She needs to “prove” that these particular cops are evil. And subsequently if THESE officers can’t be trusted, most others can’t, either. It’s her political position. She’s so sure she’s “right” she’s twisting the law, because feelings matter.

  26. DeniseVB says:

    Never gets old.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Once had a call of a drunk guy sleeping “somewhere” on the railroad tracks. Big deal to stop train traffic, nighttime search miles of trackage, find drunk and book ‘im, release train traffic, etc. etc. Guy served 30 days, got out and went back to sleep on the tracks. No report this time. No next time.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Have to go with Trial by fire because they will never listen to common sense.

  27. Dora says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Um, yeah. I hear the same thing from my kid. The “chatter” is disturbing, but don’t you dare profile twenty something brown people acting suspiciously.

  28. WMCB says:

  29. WMCB says:

  30. WMCB says:

  31. DeniseVB says:

    LOL ! Good read by Don Surber…. first, my favorite, and the most honest, reason to support Trump

    3. Trump does not need the job. He has fame. He has fortune. He has a hot wife. What the hell else could he want.

    Rest of the article….

  32. Dora says:

  33. DeniseVB says:

    Our local crack news team, sigh…..

  34. Dora says:

    I’m glad I’m not in France. 😦

    • DeniseVB says:

      Jadzia! Is you okay? /Glozell

    • taw46 says:

      A lot on Twitter about this. Mob fights after soccer. Russians attacked English at the stadium. Not sure who started this fire. Supposedly French hooligans fighting as well. Several people in hospital, reports of one dead. The notorious European soccer games.

  35. jennifer lyn says:

    France has gone to the muslims and hell. I was there 4 years ago and had not been there in 20 years and it is a dump. Garbage everywhere, no poilce in sight, Nigerians selling fake purses in front of churches. The Louvre needs to be moved to another country. NOW. I would not return to France without a bodyguard. The week after I got home the news reported that Paris, the city of lights, could not longer afford to keep the lights on after 8. Really? France is a rich country the only thing that could break it would be national welfare out of control and Sharia law and idiots in charge. And they have all three. I read a report on the ‘ghettos’ outside of Paris and it was very disturbing. Mostly young angry Muslim men angry at Western law, equal rights and anyone who is not Muslim. What is WRONG with people don’t you get it they don’t want equality they want Sharia law. THEY HATE YOU. And my message to them, and I 100% agree with Trump, is I hate you more and I will destroy you before you hurt another child or woman in the name of Allah. F..k this fake god you pray to and your evil ways. I am sick of the tyranny of the foolish and how it assists the evil. I am tired of the stupid being rewarded and praised. I am tired of dumb being called smart. I wish I could arm all women and children with guns and let them go after ISIS and Muslims in general. Slave trading, human trafficking, child rape this is the Muslim world Hillary praises and welcomes into America. The war on women is real and it is being promoted by Democrats in the name of political correctness. I hope Trump has 1000’s of Muslim women who want to trade their sheets for freedom speak out and stand with him. The treatment–and remember that there is no distinction between religion and society in the Muslim world–of women and children fail to meet the International standards the UN set for treatment of prisoners in time of war. REALLY. Just because someone calls is a religion you can rape a child. BULLS..T. Stupid LGBT idiots marching with signs promoting Islam define stupid. What would we say if Holocaust survivors marched holding Pro Hitler signs? We would say they are CRAZY. CALL IT WHAT IT IS. CRAZY and EVIL and STUPID.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Well said. It is insane. I see no rational explanation except a desire to commit genocide through immigration of an unassimilable people against Western Europeans. There it is. It’s ugly, but that’s the only rational goal that I can see behind this seeming madness.

      • jennifer lyn says:

        Hitler wanted to overthrow the world. Obama thinks he is smart. There is a LOT of crazy out there and the Muslims & religion of Islam is no different then what the Nazi’s wanted to do–get rid of anyone that does not believe as they do. Why we think that kindness is going to change evil is insanity if you look to history? Or how about we just extrapolate from the personal. Do you keep your doors open and invite in the rapists and murderers hoping that your ‘kindness’ of not locking the door will change their evil hearts? Hell no. You lock your door and get your guns ready. I hope that one day Obama and Hillary are prosecuted for Benghazi and the multitude of crimes committed against America every time they open their mouths or sign a bill or send an email.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I’m feeling that way about visiting NYC too. DiBlasio’s NYC sucks. We need the NYPD of the Guiliani era back. Mom and Pop diners and shops are going tits-up because of “over regulation” and it’s such a blue city, they blame “Republicans” and continue to vote Dem. Good grief, it’s depressing.

      • jennifer lyn says:

        I have hope for NYC–they LOVE Trump.

      • Dora says:

        Absolutely Denise. Guiliani and Ray Kelly were the good old days. I don’t even like going into the city anymore and it was once such an enjoyment. Depressing is right.

  36. AFVet says:

    Our National bird dressed up an proud.

    • CiscoKid says:

      Wasn’t it Ben Franklin who wanted the turkey as the National bird?
      If Hillary gets elected maybe it should be changed to Ben’s suggestion.

  37. Dora says:

    A new winner. The race was thisclose!

Comments are closed.