The Smartest President Ever

tom jeff

No, not him. Can you imagine if the Declaration of Independence had been written by Barack Obama? It would have been all about him.

My vote for the Smartest President Ever goes to Thomas Jefferson:

Thomas Jefferson (April 13 [O.S. April 2] 1743 – July 4, 1826) was an American Founding Father who was the principal author of the Declaration of Independence (1776). He was elected the second Vice President of the United States (1797–1801), serving under John Adams and in 1800 was elected the third President (1801–09). Jefferson was a proponent of democracy, republicanism, and individual rights, which motivated American colonists to break from Great Britain and form a new nation. He produced formative documents and decisions at both the state and national level.

Primarily of English ancestry, Jefferson was born and educated in Virginia. He graduated from the College of William & Mary and briefly practiced law, at times defending slaves seeking their freedom. During the American Revolution, he represented Virginia in the Continental Congress that adopted the Declaration, drafted the law for religious freedom as a Virginia legislator, and served as a wartime governor (1779–1781). He became the United States Minister to France in May 1785, and subsequently the nation’s first Secretary of State in 1790–1793 under President George Washington. Jefferson and James Madison organized the Democratic-Republican Party to oppose the Federalist Party during the formation of the First Party System. With Madison, he anonymously wrote the Kentucky and Virginia Resolutions in 1798–1799, which sought to embolden states’ rights in opposition to the national government by nullifying the Alien and Sedition Acts.

As President Jefferson pursued the nation’s shipping and trade interests against Barbary pirates and aggressive British trade policies respectively. He also organized the Louisiana Purchase almost doubling the country’s territory. As a result of peace negotiations with France, his administration reduced military forces. He was reelected in 1804. Jefferson’s second term was beset with difficulties at home, including the trial of former Vice President Aaron Burr. American foreign trade was diminished when Jefferson implemented the Embargo Act of 1807, responding to British threats to U.S. shipping. In 1803, Jefferson began a controversial process of Indian tribe removal to the newly organized Louisiana Territory, and, in 1807, signed the Act Prohibiting Importation of Slaves.

Jefferson mastered many disciplines which ranged from surveying and mathematics to horticulture and mechanics. He was a proven architect in the classical tradition. Jefferson’s keen interest in religion and philosophy earned him the presidency of the American Philosophical Society. He shunned organized religion, but was influenced by both Christianity and deism. He was well versed in linguistics and spoke several languages. He founded the University of Virginia after retiring from public office. He was a prolific letter writer and corresponded with many prominent and important people throughout his adult life. His only full-length book, Notes on the State of Virginia (1785), is considered the most important American book published before 1800.

Jefferson owned several plantations which were worked by hundreds of slaves. Most historians now believe that after the death of his wife in 1782, he had a relationship with his slave Sally Hemings and fathered at least one of her children. Historical opinion of Jefferson has generally been exalted over the years. In recent times he has been criticized by some historians for owning slaves, however presidential scholars overall continue to rank Jefferson among the greatest presidents.

Nowadays all the focus seems to be on the stuff in that final paragraph. But old Tom was a very complicated character, way too much so to fit into any pigeon hole.

Jefferson was what used to be called a “Renaissance man.” He wrote what is arguably the most profound document in human history. And he never used a teleprompter.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

111 Responses to The Smartest President Ever

  1. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Interesting tidbit:

    Both Thomas Jefferson and John Adams died on the same day – July 4, 1826:

    On July 4, 1826, the fiftieth anniversary of the adoption of the Declaration of Independence, Adams died at his home in Quincy, at approximately 6:20 PM.[106] Jefferson died earlier the same day.[107] Adams’ crypt lies at United First Parish Church in Quincy, Massachusetts, with his wife Abigail and son John Quincy Adams.[108] When Adams died, his last words included an acknowledgement of his longtime friend and rival: “Thomas Jefferson survives”, though Adams was unaware that Jefferson had died several hours before.[109][110]

  2. Dora says:

    “Experience hath shewn, that even under the best forms of government those entrusted with power have, in time, and by slow operations, perverted it into tyranny”.

    Thomas Jefferson

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      “The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants.”

      • DeniseVB says:

        I think we’re in that phase now. Obama’s got the US and World so divided, I have a bad feeling no matter what the outcome of the Nov election, there will be blood. Gee, I’m just Little Miss Sunshine today😛

    • 1539days says:

      Of course, the ones entrusted with the power and perverted it have been the people themselves as a result of the men and women they chose to represent them.

  3. Dora says:

    He was said to play the violin beautifully. Can you just imagine him playing Vivaldi? I wish I could have heard him.

    Personality Profile – Jefferson and Music

    Music: “The Favorite Passion of My Soul”

    Thomas Jefferson declared that music “is the favorite passion of my soul, and fortune has cast my lot in a country where it is in a state of deplorable barbarism.” To improve the state of music in America, Jefferson encouraged its practice, and music played an important role in the life of his family through the generations.

  4. Myiq2xu™ says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Taylor lives rent free in Kanye’s head. He still takes full credit for making her “famous”, but he’s just creepy and still don’t know why he’s so popular.

      • Anthony says:

        “but he’s just creepy and still don’t know why he’s so popular.”

        If he hadn’t married into the same family that kept Bruce Jenner (somewhat) relevant and then ‘famous’ once he Caitlined his own sorry ass, he’d be working a 3 card Monte table on Hollywood Boulevard. Just my opinion…

        • DeniseVB says:

          My husband is so pissed they put Caitlin on the cover of Sports Illustrated wearing his Olympic gold medal. Are there no other “brave” athletes of any gender they could have used ?

      • leslie says:

        He is very creepy. And the reason he is so popular is #BLM. Never forget that.
        Btw, #BLM every where except in Chicago where the number of murders for the month of June, is greater than the numbers in LA and NYC combined.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Hypocrite, he married a white girl and white people helped make him rich. Hope Kimmy Big Butt got a pre-nup. Kanye’s just a big ole baby and he always looks so miserable in the gossip rags (aka, my professional journals😉 ) BLM is nothing but a racist hate group, if whitey behaved and spoke like them, they’d be the KKK.

      • Venus says:

        I hate to admit it, but as much of a jackass as Kanye truly, truly is, he is talented.
        Ex. A:

  5. Dora says:

    He was a bold and fearless rider and master of his horse.

    Thomas Jefferson’s Horse, Caractacus

  6. votermom says:

  7. votermom says:

  8. helenk3 says:

    sometimes I wonder if we will ever realize just how lucky we are having such great founding fathers. These men created something wonderful for millions of people. We have the freedom to be.
    Now I look around and want to cry at what is happening to this country. We can not blame outside enemies for our fall. We have to look in the mirror and ask ourselves some really hard questions.

    • CiscoKid says:

      It’s a cancer that is spreading into every part of America, and it will come to a point that removing this cancer may kill the patient.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Without clicking on the link I knew the answer to that question, Helen. But I clicked on and read it anyway. Growing up as a teen I noticed the leftish kids in school were also the emotionally driven kids. Drawn to and supporting any POV they thought would “put Christians in their place”. Not logical in most ways, except they THOUGHT they were logical. But it was emotional.
      It’s the same for progs today. They lean towards Islam because it quite obviously is not “Christian”, ergo it must be good. It’s an emotional decision. Oh, they put together a few logical reasons to formulate their decision process, but the steps are mostly disconnected and do not build on one another. Once, they think, they’ve completely done away with Christians they can extricate themselves from the simple minded Islamists. Easy-peasy.

  9. DandyTIger says:

    Thomas Jefferson’s Charlottesville, VA is now a super liberal town in the middle of a purple state. The townspeople are planning on pulling down statues and other memorials from the Civil War. Can Jefferson’s own statues and even his own residence, Monticello, be far behind.

  10. Lulu says:

    Of all the houses I have toured in the US and Europe, including some of the villas in the Veneto of Palladio which are masterpieces, the most beautiful house is Jefferson’s Poplar Grove. Intimate, simple, private, beautiful, livable and comfortable it is my ideal of of house.

  11. Dora says:

    BREAKING NEWS: Man’s leg ‘is blown off’ by explosion in Central Park near funeral of Holocaust survivor, author and Nobel laureate Elie Wiesel

    • votermom says:

      I hope it was just a fireworks accident

    • DeniseVB says:

      Fireworks and may need his foot amputated. I follow the local NYC newsies, when it first broke, there was mass hysteria at first just reporting an explosion in Central Park. Still being investigated as to exactly what happened. Tourists from Virginia, of course😛

      I did see Explosion in Central Park injures man and immediately thought of Anthony. Like I do Jadzia when France makes the news. I think I get that from my DNA, when we lived in California, if headlines back east were CALIFORNIA ROCKED BY EARTHQUAKE at the first breaking news………we got the calls from panicked relatives.

  12. votermom says:

    Belated HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Mt. Laurel!!

    Just saw that mentioned in the previous thread.

    • DeniseVB says:

      HBD to Mt.Laurel, a great friend and commenter of TCH.❤

    • helenk3 says:

      happy birthday. enjoy the day, the week, the month, the year, the life

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Thank you to one and all.

      Just picked up a couple kindle books using the Amazon link on Book Horde’s site. Have sangria prepped in the fridge and the makings for spumoni in the freezer so I am ready to enjoy my first visitor free 4th of July in years. No touring DC with relatives until next week. Yea!

      Hint: I usually suggest people coming for the 4th that they take in the dress rehearsal for the concert. Everything but rockets red glare – although they do shoot of the cannon for the 1812 Overture.

  13. helenk3 says:

    off topic
    the other day I commented that if there are any horses with magic in their name this weekend bet on them. I have never seen the word magic more than I have in the last couple of days. it is really weird. books, facebook, all over the place.

  14. helenk3 says:

    this never gets old

  15. SHV says:

    Obama, best salesman ever!!!
    “The agency reported on Sunday that it processed more than 2.1 million gun related checks in June, an increase of more than 600,000 over the previous record set last year.”

    • DeniseVB says:

      Liberals so stupid. Really, it’s either that or a mental disorder. We all know and love Chicago and other Dem controlled cities, the problem isn’t GUNS, it’s the morons running these cities and ignoring the criminal element.

      • CiscoKid says:

        Prior to the law being passed that allowed CCW in Illinois was passed, every Democratic politician, then Gov. Pat Quinn, current mayor Rahm Emanuel and former Superintendent of police Gary McCarthy, etc, went on record that if CCW was passed, Chicago would turn into Dodge City and the streets would run red with blood.
        It’s been about 2 years or more since passage of CCW.
        Now here’s the deal, the following stats are for the month of June ONLY.
        Shot & killed: 67
        Shot & wounded: 375
        Total shot: 442
        Total homicdes: 71
        Total of LAWFUL CCW’s involved: 0, that’s ZERO.
        Chicago is in and has been involved in street gang warfare, over drug trafficking and territory, so lucrative that fighting is even within the same gang.
        But naturally the fault is that of Republican’s, NRA, Trump and anyone else the Democrats can point a finger on to blame for THEIR failed policies.

  16. helenk3 says:

    one way to teach the kids

  17. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Legend says that whenever a Caesar or triumphant Roman general was being honored by a parade, as he rode thru the adoring crowds lining the streets there would be a slave sitting in his chariot whispering ‘Remember, you are only a man.’

    Obama would have kicked that fucker out of his chariot. So would Kanye West.

  18. Myiq2xu™ says:

    SF Giants are leading the D-Bags 4-2 in the 8th.

  19. Dora says:

    This could get interesting.

    Senator Admits The FBI Is “About To Ask Putin For His Copies Of Hillary’s Emails”

  20. Dora says:

    I thought of something else attributed to Thomas Jefferson. He was the first president to shake hands upon meeting another person. Before that, leaders bowed to each other. Obama still prefers bows.

  21. mothy67 says:

    Being gang raped by a bunch of thugs at 16 sucks. I picked glass shards out of my forehead. I was so ashamed. I thought it was my fault. I told my parents I had friends but I sat in the woods by myself. I could never hurt them. One day this woman by the name of Elizabeth Taylor assaults me with kisses you look like Monty I think to be honest Clint Eastwood. So odd to grow up with movie star features but a body covered in scars. I was beaten and raped because I was pretty

  22. mothy67 says:

    Another thing I just need to expess. I was 16 went to school doctor. He said I had bad posture. He wrapped around his arms and fucked me. I was 16. Iwas so scared. He threatened me. No child deserves that.

    • votermom says:

      omg Mothy! Did you ever tell anyone? I would have killed him if it was my kid!

      Btw, once again, I think you should write a book about your life. It might help.

      • mothy67 says:

        Its all so long ago. I only half remember. What I do think about is I am a cunt. I will rip your throat out with my teeth and spit it back in your face. Puddle is my best friend. I will end anyone that screws with her. People grossly under estimate white trash. Ain’t nothing I would not do.

        • jenlyn says:

          Mothy on behalf of the universe much apologies I wish I could wrap my arms around you and give you a hug forever and ever instead I will remind you of the fact that if there is a heaven your place is reserved i enjoy reading you here very much in real time I wish we could be friends if that never happens in my heaven I hope you are there and we are real friends Love’s gym

    • swanspirit says:

      Mothy HUGS!!!!

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      “In America the law is king.”

    • jeffhas says:

      To me THIS is what makes him the greatest President ever. Up until then, every Leader never gave up power,…if he doesn’t set the precedent, every leader would still keep power indefinitely. He actually changed history in a way no one else has ever done – and no one else would likely ever had, people everywhere demanded their leaders be temporary… I thank him all the time for having the foresight and humility to allow people to be free. I just don’t believe it would have ever happened with any other human being.


      • Myiq2xu™ says:

        His precedent became a tradition that was only broken once. Then we amended the constitution so that it wouldn’t happen again.

        • jeffhas says:

          Lincoln, Schmincoln.
          Think Lincoln would have given up being President?

          • Myiq2xu™ says:

            Yes. He hated the job. It was making him physically ill. If Booth hadn’t shot him he probably wasn’t long for this world anyway.

          • jeffhas says:

            I’m sure there were many great and no so great rulers who hated the job… Just like there were so many benevolent dictators and kings…. Yet none of them gave up ruling willingly, until Washington… Unless you consider abdicating your rule to your offspring or relative… as much as I admire Lincoln – or Jefferson, or any other President… I don’t believe any of them would have given up the chance to be King of the US until they died rather then President for a set term and willingly go away.

  23. votermom says:

    Saw this freebie on a clean romance fb page

  24. mothy67 says:

    I flirt with suicide all the time. I fear bridges because I want to jump. I am aware. I live in Pittsburgh. I look at the curb and walk as fast as I can. I ran into a little girl like a train wreck. I wasca useless piece of shit that gave her every ounce of energy I had. Think about it how many childr i am so en are thrown away and get a great gay uncle that had open heart. Gonna say zero. I am so fundamentally proud of my brat. I believe in her.

    So I ate 90 propanol drank a gallon of Cab and 1.75 litres of Vladimir vodka.. i had 500 k that I wanted to leave her.l am so fuucked one day I was on my way to work. I got hit by a cab Woke up four days later. It is almost impossible to process the whole story

    I could never begin to express what this did.

    • jennifer lyn says:

      I hope that you stick around a bit more with us. We need you. Selfish I know but I think your niece needs you too.

  25. Myiq2xu™ says:

  26. Myiq2xu™ says:

  27. Mt.Laurel says:

    Hillary ads have been running constantly. What is up? I had the TV on for background noise while I worked (it calms the cats who got use to it being on all day with Mom living here) and had to move the Hallmark Channels Christmas in July to get rid of her. She was everywhere. And some young millennial (who is truly awful) that they now have doing intros on TCM was talking about how much she admired her – geez. Not even classic movies are safe from that octopussy. I will be breaking out the DVDs for tomorrow.

  28. swanspirit says:

    I have nothing but extreme admiration and reverence for our founding fathers. F I could go back in time, I would want to meet Washinton , Jefferson, and Franklin. They absolutely fascinate me. I love learning new things about their daily lives, it makes them so real to me.
    Washington had been a surveyor, he knew the land, Jefferson was nothing short of brilliant , and Franklin must have been endearing.
    We are so fortunate to enjoy the country these men formed. We cannot let it go those who would destroy it.

  29. Dora says:

    Come back senator. We don’t like your replacement at all (Schumer).

    Sen. D’Amato Drops Bomb: Hillary Allowed Russia to Take Ownership of US Uranium to Sell to Iran (Video)

    Former Senator Al D’Amato (R-NY) dropped a bomb on Sunday Morning Futures this AM. D’Amato told Maria Bartiromo that Hillary allowed Russia to take ownership of US uranium so they could sell it to Iran.

  30. Dora says:

  31. mothy67 says:

    I know I am strong. I do try to hide it. I want to be drunk nota little buzzed. I ache for the point I am near death. I imbibed two gallons of Cabernet. I decided to shave at 4 am. I saw my trach scar. I started coughing then blood ran out of my eyes and gums. I then had explosive diarrhoea. I know what happened. There was a boy at the deli. He is 19 his boss attacked him. He told me he just wanted to cry. I tried to drink him away but I could not . It’s not because I am a fag. I just saw something in this kid that I knewcin my heart I could salvage. For lack of a better word an essence. Same thing took place with pup. I knew organicly I had to surrender to her. I want this child to go away. I do not want to care about him. I never throw up from alcohol. I puked blood about him. I am tired. I don’t want to have anything left to give. My crud is amazing but I feel like I am done. I infused her with every ounce of dignity I had. I am so tired but can I walk away from a boy in pain?

  32. Dora says:

Comments are closed.