Happy Birthday Deray!


This is awesome!

Black Lives Matter activist DeRay McKesson arrested in Louisiana protest

DeRay McKesson, a prominent Black Lives Matter activist, was among several demonstrators who were arrested Saturday night in Louisiana protesting the police officer-involved shootings of African-American men.

According to The Washington Post, McKesson was arrested around 11 p.m. in Baton Rouge. Several witnesses described the arrest as “physically violent.”

“The officers won’t give their names,” said Brittany Packnett, a co-founder of the group Campaign Zero, a prominent activist collective. “He was clearly targeted.”

Packnett said that McKesson was in a group of eight people walking down a street when an officer approached him and told him he had been “flagged” and that if he left the sidewalk he would be arrested.

Moments later police were seen taking McKesson into custody.

“They tackled him, one officer hit the top of his body and another officer the bottom,” Packnett said.

The Post reported that McKesson’s phone was knocked from his hand, but blurry video was able to capture the exchange between him and the police officers.

“The police continue to just provoke people,” McKesson said after an officer told people to stay on the sidewalk.

The New York Daily News reported that McKesson’s video doesn’t show his arrest, but an officer was heard confronting him and telling him not to “fight” him.

“I’m under arrest ya’ll,” McKesson was heard saying.

McKesson said in a text message to The Post that he and 33 others were in custody together. It’s unclear if he is facing any charges.

Best part: yesterday was his birthday.

I don’t know about you, but I was cheered up.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

120 Responses to Happy Birthday Deray!

  1. Myiq2xu™ says:

  2. Myiq2xu™ says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      I managed not to get arrested during the Bush Anti-War Peace rallies in DC and NYC. It’s easy. You participate because the organizers had permits and paid local police for the their time to keep you safe. You obeyed the laws, like don’t throw shit at the police or loot a store. Did it end the wars? No. Still hasn’t under Oblahma.

      Oh, and if you wanted to be a “troublemaker”, you were required to attend the local police/march organizer’s pre-march seminar on Civil Disobedience to prepare yourself to be locked up in a hot van (down by the river! Sorry, couldn’t resist…) for hours w/o food or water….the march organizers were responsible for provisions, and usually didn’t. I had no desire to “be arrested” since after a long, hot march, looked forward to a lovely cold beverage in a local dive, as did most of my new friends😀

    • 49erDweet says:

      Love the “for no reason” disclaimer. “Who cares if we were disturbing the peace and quiet, blocking traffic and creating hazards”? “Absolutely no reason to prevent us from causing problems for others and interfering with our right to pout in public”.😃😃

  3. Myiq2xu™ says:

    What’s the point? The perp is dead.

  4. DeniseVB says:

    Wasn’t Deray hired by the Baltimore schools for a 6 figure salary? Just how is he oppressed by whitey again?

    Arrest photo wasn’t as powerful with a black officer “oppressing” him😀

  5. Dora says:

    There’s already a ‘Free Deray’ thread. Maybe they want to make him the next Mumia.

  6. Lulu says:

    I dub these the “selfie” protests. “This is what I was doing on a Saturday night in July 2016 in Baton Rouge which was nothing much. Somebody please read my twitter and pay attention to me!”

    After Obama is gone maybe some of these sad, bored people will have jobs and money to go out and drink, eat and party on Saturday nights like normal humans are supposed to do. Baton Rouge used to be a fairly happy, jumping place on Saturdays before everyone was broke-ass thanks to Obama and his globalist pals. D-Ray needs poverty and misery to make a name for himself just like Obama did.

  7. votermom says:

    • Dora says:

      IMHO he was one of the most brilliant men to ever live and today most people think his name is a car. He spent his last years in his room at the New Yorker Hotel where he died alone. When his body was discovered by a maid, dozens of government agents ransacked his room and cleaned it out. I believe countries all around the world are still using the information that was stolen from his room, with no credit given to Tesla.

      BTW several years ago the records were changed to indicate it was Tesla, not Marconi, who invented the wireless. Unfortunately, most people aren’t even aware of it. They could care less.

      I didn’t mean to rant. It’s just that this man has been treated so badly by the society that he did so much for, that it makes me angry. And a little sad.

      Rant over.

    • Jadzia says:

      I never knew he was born in (what is now) Croatia, having heard all my life that he was a Serb (like my dad).

      • votermom says:

        Success has many fatherlands!😀

        How are you & Ananda today, Jadz?

        • Jadzia says:

          Okay. I’m still in shock, so I’m trying to blast through a mountain of work before I really feel the impact of what’s happened. Also, it’s at least 90 degrees here, and we don’t have air conditioning.

          When I looked at the Tesla info, apparently where he was born (which is now Croatia) was then part of the Austrian Empire. Which is very interesting–I was trying to figure out where my dad’s family was from a few weeks ago looking at genealogical info, and COULD NOT FIGURE OUT why the birthplaces on U.S. census records would sometimes say Yugoslavia and sometimes say Austria. (For the same person, who was born before the birth of Yugoslavia, but whose census records were for after the creation of the Yugoslav State.)

          I feel pretty bad about one thing. Yesterday I went to the gym and on the way home, saw that, of all the weird things to encounter, a Serbian restaurant is opening up in my neighborhood. (Right next to the, I kid you not, “Yugo Mart.”) Serbian cuisine is kind of like Monty Python’s “Spam” routine: you can have sausage, sausage with your sausage, or sausage on the side, basically. Feta if you’re fancy. Anyway, it’s a fast-food type place that has pictures of the food on the front of the building (as is common here), and I took a picture of the sausage, sausage, and sausage dishes, intending to send it to my dad, who would get a laugh out of it. But it was 90 degrees out and I didn’t do it right away and forgot about it when I got home, and that night he was gone.

          • votermom says:

            You were thinking of him, with love, the very day he died. That’s not something to feel bad about.

            Yes, I was lazy in my post – Tesla was born in the Austrian empire, in what would later be Croatia. Technically I guess we should call him Austrian.😉
            *cue howls of outrage from across Serbia and Croatia*

          • DeniseVB says:

            {{{Jadzia}}} I had to go back to the last thread to catch up, so sorry for the sudden loss of your Dad. No, make that, as a 69yo smoker, I’m now terrified of the sudden loss of your Dad. I’m so glad there were so many TCHers here when you posted, very comforting you weren’t alone.❤

          • Jadzia says:

            Thanks, Denise. I suspect that unlike my dad, you are not built like The Mountain, which probably also played a role.

          • DeniseVB says:

            I’d be a mole hill I guess😉 Sorry, don’t mean to make light of your sorrow, but I did giggle through my Dad’s very somber Catholic Requiem Mass when my Mountain of an uncle got stuck at the end of the pew and had to spend the whole mass wedged there. My Dad would have laughed too. It helped the healing❤

          • Jadzia says:

            No offense taken at all! I just got off the phone with my stepfather, who presented me with a long list of the highly irreverent songs that my father apparently said, at one time or another, he wanted to have played at his funeral. He was the least sentimental person I’ve ever known, and somebody who gave no fucks about what anybody else thought, a lesson that I wish I had learned a bit better.

          • DeniseVB says:

            At “my age” I’m rethinking my funeral playlist. But it won’t matter if I “go” before hubby. He’ll want me at Arlington to “wait” for him. I’m doomed. Must get my Living Will in order, cremation and ashes tossed off a pier at Coney Island, or flushed down the toilet, I won’t care😉 A boombox playing https://youtu.be/g3ENX3aHlqU would be nice at either event😉

          • Jadzia says:

            When my grandparents died, my dad lobbied hard (and fortunately unsuccessfully) to have Grandma’s ashes spread at Luby’s and the mall (anyone here from Texas knows Luby’s) and Grandpa at some racetrack in Louisiana!

          • 49erDweet says:

            When I go the only thing I want played at my service is six different jazzy arrangements of Amazing Grace – four of them on Wurlitzer organs.

          • Jadzia says:

            StepMOTHER. Oops.

          • leslie says:

            When my father died, we spread his ashes in Lake Michigan just off the pier where my parents lived. Except for the ashes we spread at the original site of home plate at Cellular Field White Sox Park – formerly known as Comiskey Park.
            He’d have loved that.

          • Mt.Laurel says:

            Jadzia, glad to hear you (and Amanda) are holding your own.

            If your father mentioned any songs, I have a feeling he might have been joking/getting in snarky comments and it went over a few heads. Children tend to know their parents tastes because they often hit youth as odd. Music tends to be one of the major areas of divide. Secular and religious. Of course, Berlin, Gershwin, Miller, and the rest have given way to a new generation or two of song writers and musicians. That oldies station play list is catching up with us.

            Sending lots of hugs your way.💖

      • swanspirit says:

        Been thinking about you. My dad died suddenly and unexpectedly, and I was in shock for quite a while. Everyone is different of course. He was only 73, and was out and about and very active. He and my mom were vacationing in Ocean City, and he was standing up on the boardwalk looking out at the ocean, and died of heart failure. I like to think that it was easier for him,he would have hated becoming an invalid; but for the myself it was like getting hit with a Mack truck.
        Take it slow and be very gentle with yourself, your dad is right there with you, still looking out for you. Lots more hugs, and much love.
        Also I drank. I drank my dad’s drink, Seven and Seven, in tall glasses, and didn’t feel a thing, no one could even tell I was drinking, but I think it helped. And I don’t drink because I have no tolerance for alcohol.

      • lyn says:

        Sending you a big hug, Jadzia.❤
        I'm almost done with my Mom's obit, and I learned new things about her.

        • Jadzia says:

          It is very interesting, isn’t it? Are you doing okay?

          I am hoping to not have to write the obituary, because I always get asked to do it and it is emotionally exhausting. I’ve written 3 in the last 2 years and I can’t do this one, I just can’t.

          • lyn says:

            For me, writing my mom’s obit set me free. It’s hard to type with tears, but I had several people review it and they added some personal things. It also is the most important thing I ever wrote.
            I’m doing OK, but I will be flying back to help my sister this week. Our father is being stubborn. Thanks for asking.
            It also hurts to know that we are sisters in grief, Jadzia.❤

        • leslie says:

          I hope writing the obit brings you a sense of peace, lyn. I realize the sorrow your mother’s passing has brought you.

          I remember having to plan the memorial for my mother just 5 years ago. It was difficult and time-consuming and led to several conflicts about music, readings, demands by family members who ultimately walked away when I, after trying to please everyone, suggested someone else could do the planning.
          I also remember saying that my mother – a huuuge baseball fan – would have enjoyed hearing “Take Me Out to the Ball Game”. That was about the only thing the entire family agreed upon. And that was the only thing the senior community where my mother had lived, disallowed. We played it on a tape player just outside the site, where we had a lovely display of photos that my brother and his wife had assembled.

        • Mt.Laurel says:

          Lyn. I found dealing with the details very comforting. I was on my own to do all the planning and wrote my mom’s obit and everyone commented that they knew it was me. I was lucky that I had known the funeral home staff many years and that portion went very smoothly. Not once did someone balk at anything – even through everyone was surprised my elderly mother had requested cremation and no wake/viewing.

          The service meant family members were asking/suggesting/whatever. I managed to get Mom a couple of her favorite Christmas carols thrown into the music mix for the service (she had requested and I had it in writing – yea!!). I also nixed one of the current churchy faves . I pointed out I did not find it at all uplifting and that my mother ‘s aversion to certain songs was so great she would haunt the choir from beyond. My one cousin decided to take out some insurance and made a little ghost with tissues and stuck it up in the choir loft ahead of the service as a reminder. When I found out later, It made me giggle through tears. My mother would have approved.

          • lyn says:

            <3, Mt.Laurel. Mom didn't want a service, and her cremated remains are home. I'm flying back this week to help my sister.
            Being with Mom when she died was hard, but a friend told me that Mom would be scared. When I talked to her and told her that I loved her, I wiped tears from her eye that the stroke did not affect. I kept my hands on her the whole time.

  8. Dora says:

  9. Myiq2xu™ says:

  10. DeniseVB says:

  11. votermom says:

  12. DeniseVB says:

    Dang, I’m gonna hafta drag my Whittle vid out and hit some Deray supporters over the head with it today. Dumbasses!!

  13. Venus says:

    OMFG! The mean police oppressing people by telling them to stay on the sidewalk!!!!

    These “protesters” are too dumb to stay out of traffic. Cops should have left them there.

    • Jadzia says:

      My mom would’ve said “Too dumb to come in out of the rain,” but too dumb to stay out of traffic works better in this context.

      • Venus says:

        Sending prayers and love your way. (((Jadzia)))

        • Jadzia says:

          Thanks. I’m distracting myself thinking of the many ways that we have to call a person stupid. I remember Archie Bunker once saying about somebody, “He’s so dumb, if he was a bird he’d fly backwards,” but can’t find it on YouTube.

          It’s not working all that well.

        • foxyladi14 says:

          Amen ❤

    • blowme0bama says:

      Heh, was thinking of that very scene yesterday morning while cutting grass.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Lazy cops. Didn’t want to write the reports if the marchers were run over by cars so they became meanies!!!!

  14. Dora says:

    In case you missed it, there was another arrest over the weekend too.

    Roger Clinton blew a 0.23 during DUI stop in Redondo Beach, could barely stand up, police say

  15. votermom says:

  16. Myiq2xu™ says:

  17. Myiq2xu™ says:

  18. Dora says:

  19. Myiq2xu™ says:

  20. leslie says:

    Deray was supposed to appear on Face the Nation today. Maybe they’ll pay tribute to his humanitarian acts in lieu of his appearances.
    They are treating hm as if he were a f***ing hero. 😒

  21. leslie says:

    Yesterday I was listening to a family member honor BLM as a “positive” expression of the black community in addressing the problem of having to deal with the biased police department because “everyone who was a bully” in his high school went on to become a cop and that “at least” 25% of police departments are comprised of bullies and hateful people.
    Finally I challenged his figures as something he pulled out of his a$$. I also said it was easy for someone, who lived in a suburb where less than 1% are POC and who worked in a suburb where the average income is in the high 6-figures, to side with people who he’ll never have to come up against. I shared my own experience of FEAR of the hoodlums who run the streets of Chicago when I worked at UIC and had to work until sundown and then walk to the elevated trains. Where students, staff, and just plain folks were at the mercy of a benevolent goddess to walk to and ride the CTA without being robbed or worse while just trying to get home or to class or the library or dinner or whatever.
    We actually agreed on much, but when we disagreed, it was glaring. And I now come across as a bigot because I quoted proven statistics and he pulled his stats out of his rear end.

    • Jadzia says:

      Those suburbanites need to start commuting on the #4 Cottage Grove bus, where I was assaulted at 5:30 pm on a weekday afternoon back in college. Seems like things have not improved much. (Or more accurately, it seems like things got better for a while–the last time I blew through town, which is a long and crazy story, was late 2009, and even at that point I felt safer downtown at night than I had in the late ’80s and early ’90s, but looking at the crime stats now is just scary.)

  22. foxyladi14 says:

    I thought that Bobby’s had no guns?

  23. Dora says:

    I live in Massapequa. The march was put together quickly with not much time for word to get out. If we had known about it Hubby and I would have been there.

    As it is, we are very proud of our town.

    Rally to support police officers held in Massapequa


  24. CiscoKid says:

    Activist? You mean instigator.
    Besides, laws are for white people, I’m black so I didn’t have to comply and I have the “resist race card” for protection.
    Another thug elavated to sainthood by the media and thug subculture.

  25. Myiq2xu™ says:

  26. lyn says:

    It’s great to see that protesters finally are being arrested, but it took the assassination of police officers to spur it.

  27. Dora says:

  28. DandyTIger says:

    First with Hillary saying only women should have high level jobs and pushing women over men, it’s already hard to imagine any real men voting for her. Now with her along with Obama clearly siding with racist, anti-white and anti-cop thugs and terrorists, it’s hard to imagine any sensible non racists voting for her. And after siding with New Black Panthers/BLM campaign of wanting to kill all white people, what sane white person would vote for her.

  29. helenk3 says:


    cops of all colors and religions go out every day to protect their communities.
    what do the nutjobs of blm and other ” community activists” do to protect their communities? Do they put their lives on the line? don’t think so

  30. helenk3 says:


    while cops of all colors and religions go out every day to protect their communities.
    what does the blm and other “community activists” do to protect their commninites

  31. helenk3 says:

    statement by Baton Rouge PD

  32. Venus says:

    Ha ha! Actual police report:

  33. Venus says:

  34. helenk3 says:

    another one of the “rev”s jessie jackson on tv now spewing his bs. talking about michael brown and other thugs that brought about their own deaths. If I were a black mom I would be screaming. Screw you, when you stop glorifying thugs and start giving a damn about the kids that shot by drive bys while in their own homes, you might have some credibility. the message this “rev”s give is you only count if you are a thug. If you go to school , try to better yourself and be a law abiding citizen you do not count.
    these phonies make me sick. I want every child no matter what color or creed to have a chance to be the best they can. These phonies only hurt not help

    end of rant

    • CiscoKid says:

      I wonder if Jessie will mention the over 2,000 people shot in Chicago, 80% by fellow blacks.
      I don’t think so, to busy race baiting.

Comments are closed.