Thursday Open Thread

I like hot crazy chicks

I like hot crazy chicks

Tonight is the biggest night of the campaign so far. Donald Trump will be delivering his acceptance speech.

I expect him to hit it out of the park. I also expect that his speech will be professionally written and that he will use a teleprompter.

Will you be watching? I plan to watch. I don’t normally watch political speeches. I have beer in the fridge to help me thru it.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

124 Responses to Thursday Open Thread

  1. blowme0bama says:

    No, I rely on y’all, His44, HotGas & twit to provide reaction, then I decide whether I want to watch it on Youtube or not.

  2. votermom says:

    What time will Ivanka and Trump speak?
    I’d like to watch them.
    We don’t have c-span and kid has the computer so I’ll have to use cnn

    • DeniseVB says:

      Do you get Fox Business? They’ll be running it w/o breaks tonight. So they said.😉 CNN ticked off a few people by not showing Laura Ingraham’s speech last night, but if that’s all you got, better than missing Ivanka and Daddy’s speeches tonight. Expecting an audience of 60+ million tonight worldwide.

  3. swanspirit says:

    I will be watching. I definitely don’t want to miss Ivanka , but I am also very interested in what Peter Theil , the openly gay founder of PayPal, and early investor in Facebook has to say. Very interested.

  4. swanspirit says:

    Also, Helen, to continue my answer to your question, not only was Ted deceptive about what he meant when he said vote your conscience; he knew that to a larger audience, that he was being high minded and courageous. That is the worst kind of political slimy deception, that people are tired of, and the reason people are voting for Trump in the first place; to get away from politics as usual.

    • helenk3 says:

      during the 2008 election season, I ended my comments with the words
      I still feel that way.
      we have two very bad candidates in this election. neither one will help the country. That makes me very sad. We did not demand the best and we got the worst

      • swanspirit says:

        Here is how it falls out for me. I KNOW Hillary will not help the country. She has already caused irreparable damage , and the middle east is on fire, Europe is suffering, and her plans will definitely cause more pain. Hillary has harmed , more than helped.

        Trump on the other hand, despite.his bluster, and a few setbacks, has a 30 year history of success. He has helped, more than he has harmed. I would like to at least give him a chance to succeed , and help.

        • dm says:

          Nicely put…my thoughts exactly. As far as I’m concerned, Hillary’s track record in government is disastrous. Trump has no government track record, but has had far more success than failure in the private sector. Yes, he is an egotistical, narcissist, blowhard – seriously, like almost ALL successful men, but I think he has the pulse of the country much better than anyone else on the ballot. And he’s not going into government service to make money – he’s been there and done that.

      • Venus says:

        Objectively not true.
        First, the people voted. Just because YOU don’t like the result doesn’t mean that “we didn’t demand better.”
        Second, one candidate is significantly MORE HARMFUL than the other — that’s Hillary who flagrantly breaks the law & has a body count on her record.
        Third, you are putting PERSONAL feelings (your niece or daughter or whoever it was lost her job because Trump failed in NJ) above country so you have NO RIGHT to lecture others on taking the high road.

      • DeniseVB says:

        You do remember I have a kid who’s a fed (crisis of character? The book?) The younger kid, has her own business in NYc and getting skrewwwed daily by the Bloomberg/DiBlasio taxes from hell to make sure the more she makes, the higher she’s taxed. I truely think Trump is their only hope. If he’s elected and screws us, come sit by us at TCH😀

    • DeniseVB says:

      As long as Helen doesn’t vote for Hillary….😉 My new favorite go to, h/t Mae West, “If I have to vote for the lessor of two evils, I’ll vote for the one I haven’t tried before”.

      I think Days has even figured that out. Some of the other NeverTrumpers have too. Seen several tweeting out, paraphrased, “I despise Trump, but will vote for him to stop Hillary”. And I always *like* their tweetie for that.

      • Constance says:

        I love that quote! It’s the perfect Trump poster. Mae West with a think bubble that has a picture of Trump and a merge picture of ObamaHillary with an X through it. Then the quote below.

      • elliesmom says:

        On the last thread Days said he’s voting Libertarian to get the party recognized by the FEC. IOW, let’s give the Democrats a split Republican Party for years to come.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I’m a Days blog follower, saw a hint the other day in that “oh shit, ABC (anybody butt Clinton). That’s a good thing !

          • 1539days says:

            I’m not never Trump. I’m more Trump doesn’t need me and I don’t need Trump.

          • dm says:

            I don’t look at it like any candidate needs me…it’s my country, my family, my friends, my community…the candidate is just a vehicle to hopefully get us closer to where I would like us to be…some people get far too wrapped up in all this shit and take it wayyyy too personal…jmo.

    • driguana says:

      This is definitely not a campaign between “the lesser of two evils”. It may be campaign between two people we didn’t expect to be running but there is ONLY one person between the two who is patently evil. The other person is clearly not evil, just uniquely unusual! At this point, anyone should be able to figure that out!

  5. Constance says:

    I can’t watch the speech live but will definitely be watching it when I get home. I also want to see Ivanka’s speech. I’m really amazed at the Trump kids so far. But I give a lot of the credit to their mothers.

  6. DandyTIger says:

    Even monks hate Cruz

  7. 49erDweet says:

    Fortunately we still have a full season of Inspector Morse to watch before I’m forced back to live TV. Relying on TCH to filter out the drivel.

    • Dora says:

      I love Inspector Morse. Hubby and I watched all the episodes already and now we are starting on Endeavor. Not the same though.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Trouble is depending on the filters of media and partisan hacks, like moi, to tell us what we watched and how we feeeeels about it. Nothing like raw, live and happening now for the soul🙂 I just hope I’m still awake.

      • 49erDweet says:

        My candidate self destructed earlier so the race now isn’t as interesting.

        • elliesmom says:

          Mine did, too, but my response won’t be to pick up my ball and go home. You play with the team you have and do your best. That, along with doing an honest day’s work for an honest day’s pay, and honoring my word, were what would have been my speech. I don’t think my dad would have objected to my plagiarizing him.

    • John Denney says:

      Loved Morse. Highly recommend “Foyles War”, a similar genre set in WWII England.

  8. DeniseVB says:

    From WHD, this was a nice insight…Trump caught on open mic, doesn’t come across as a pompous asshole at all.

  9. helenk3 says:


    this will hurt trump. not as much free advertising. will trump have pictures and negatives on who ever takes his place?

    • Anthony says:

      Trumps “free” advertising is actually him, making himself available for interviews. Not a gift. Hillary accepts no or very few interviews, and the other gop candidates during the primary didn’t either. If you agree to an interview, ppl get to hear what you have to say. If u don’t, u have to spend your own money on ads.

      Sorry if this sounded curt – commenting from my phone, which I hate. Much prefer using my computer.

      Hope that cleared up the free advertising thingy for you. ❤

      • swanspirit says:

        Every time O’Reilly has Trump on his show, he always says he has invited Hillary, and she declined. She is so above it all.

        • Anthony says:

          and the same goes for almost all of the GOP primary contenders. None of them wanted to be interviewed, because they may have been afraid of a question that they couldn’t answer. No access = no dissemination of your message.

          If these dolts are afraid of a pundit, how are they going to deal with the other side of the aisle, Putin or anyone else who doesn’t walk in lock step with their ideology?

  10. elliesmom says:

    I think I’ll make a later dinner for out on the deck tonight. We can get the speeches on the internet out there. The screech owls, the peepers, and other wildlife noises will be a calming background for them. I’m thinking a nice grilled chicken Caesar salad and a bottle or two of chilled white wine. Besides, Ellie did some fishing in the pond again today, and the wet dog odor isn’t as overpowering outside.

  11. Myiq2xu™ says:

  12. Dora says:

    Meanwhile, out in the plaza….

  13. John Denney says:

    So, who do you think is the stronger supporter of Life, Liberty, the pursuit of Happiness, and Property Rights? Hillary or Donald?

  14. CiscoKid says:

    Watching an interview with Pence. This guy is sharp!
    First time I’ve heard him at length.
    Of course head was asked “isn’t it terrible how the crowd chants, Hillary for prison, crooked Hillary,etc.”
    Of course, because the Dem’s and Hillary have nothing but kind words about Trump.

  15. taw46 says:

  16. Venus says:

    I see it’s time for CHURCH!

    • SHV says:

      Good speech that will be trashed by all of the people and institutions that Trump calls out.

  17. DeniseVB says:

    Me: Put on Cspan
    DH: I want to read my book on the Civil War.
    Me: It’s here again a’hole
    DH: But mine’s quieter
    Me: You’re still an a’hole

    How marriages last 47 years😛

  18. SHV says:

    NBC “NEWS” headline:
    “Trump’s Task: Salvage A Disastrous Convention”

    • CiscoKid says:

      Now that is the STUPIDEST thing I’ve read all week!
      NBC, Nay sayers, Bull Crap dispensers.

    • CiscoKid says:

      My new screen saver, thanks.
      I’ll be attaching it to some emails to upset some friends.

  19. DeniseVB says:

    Those of you lucky not to have Cspan 😉

  20. Dora says:

  21. mcnorman says:

    Priebus is not throwing softballs. Good for him.

  22. Asshole:

  23. taw46 says:

    I liked Peter Thiel.

  24. Dora says:

  25. 1539days says:

    Hell is freezing over. MSNBC just spent two minutes talking about how good Sarah Palin’s speech was at the 2008 convention.

  26. taw46 says:

    Ivanka for President next!

  27. kanaughty says:

    I am sitting here thinking, please don’t have a heart attack, mr. Trump, we need you.🙂

    • kanaughty says:

      Btw, ivanka is awesome. I kew she was going to be something amazing when she appeared on celebrity apprentice and took no excuses.

  28. votermom says:

    This is the legacy of Hillary Clinton:

    Death. Destruction. Terrorism. And weakness.

  29. 1539days says:

    There’s a good theme song. You can’t always get what you want.

  30. Venus says:

  31. Underwhelmed says:

    And just think — he was only clearing his throat when it comes to Hillary Clinton.

  32. Venus says:

    My pledge reads: “I’M WITH YOU – THE AMERICAN PEOPLE.”

    I am your voice.

    So to every parent who dreams for their child, and every child who dreams for their future, I say these words to you tonight: I’m With You, and I will fight for you, and I will win for you.

    To all Americans tonight, in all our cities and towns, I make this promise: We Will Make America Strong Again.

    We Will Make America Proud Again.

    We Will Make America Safe Again.

    And We Will Make America Great Again.

  33. Venus says:

  34. Myiq2xu™ says:


    • lyn says:

      What a scared and crazy bitch.

    • CiscoKid says:

      Then run and CRAWL into your safe space.

      • Lulu says:

        They are having difficulty facing reality. For a year they convinced themselves it wasn’t happening, Trump was a clown, stupid, etc. He isn’t. He never was. And just because they didn’t like his metier ( he builds things! with dirty construction worker men! how declasse! tacky man! he sounds like a plumber! he has had three beautiful wives! gross! he has too many kids!) they convinced themselves that the flyover people apes wouldn’t support such a clod. Ignorant, coddled, stupid and stubborn they are having reality shoved at them and weaklings that they are their coping mechanism is whining and fear. Maybe the flyover people apes won’t scare us if we whinge enough like mommy would. Pussies. And payback is a bitch. Eat it. And STFU.

  35. Dora says:

    A wonderful speech; a wonderful night. I feel hopeful.

  36. Venus says:

    But now, my sole and exclusive mission is to go to work for our country – to go to work for all of you. It’s time to deliver a victory for the American people. But to do that, we must break free from the petty politics of the past.

    America is a nation of believers, dreamers, and strivers that is being led by a group of censors, critics, and cynics.

    Remember: all of the people telling you that you can’t have the country you want, are the same people telling you that I wouldn’t be standing here tonight. No longer can we rely on those elites in media, and politics, who will say anything to keep a rigged system in place.

  37. swanspirit says:

    Did anyone else notice Barron wanted to play with the balloons after his father’s speech? What a cute kid.

    • mothy67 says:

      In a shot of the siblings during acceptance speech I think he was playing a game on his phone. 10 is 10 even if your dad is The Donald

    • Venus says:

      I saw that — and Reince’s little boy too, who is adorable. I love how the two of them were playing together.

  38. Dora says:

    The more I see them together, the more I think they compliment each other.

    Here they are accepting their nominations.

    • Lulu says:

      I think I like Pence because he is so genuinely gobsmacked. He is grinning, smirking, and just liking it without the entitlement. I hope he and his family are ready for the incoming fire.

  39. CiscoKid says:

    Best description I can think of is Elvis’s.
    Taking care of business.

  40. CiscoKid says:

    Ok, another thought.
    Can you imagine being across the negotiating table and facing these two men instead of the usual hacks the Obama administration has sent in the past? Kerry, are you listening?
    Probably not. Cleaning your bicycle, eh.

  41. Dora says:

  42. Dora says:

  43. DeniseVB says:

    Yawn … speakers for the Dem convention are being rolled out, I doubt it will be as inspiring as the GOP. This list just reeks of gloom, doom, victimhood, lying liars, bullsh*t and MORE !

  44. votermom says:

    I peeked and Klown is writing a new post. Should be here shortly.

Comments are closed.