‘Sup ? Saturday Night Political Fights Open Thread

Funny, as a Virginian, never EVER saw Kaine connected to Hillary, ever, ever.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

123 Responses to ‘Sup ? Saturday Night Political Fights Open Thread

  1. DeniseVB says:

    BRB, I’m on Jadzia’s Happy Hour timezone😛

  2. CiscoKid says:

    From the comments over at Breitbart.
    “Trump is campaigning on America first and the Dem’s are campaigning on Americans last and everyone else first”.sounds about right to me.

  3. swanspirit says:

    Hillary obviously thinks she needs the middle aged white guy vote, but I think Melania has that all sewn up already 😁

    • Constance says:

      Melania and Ivanka and even Tiffany Trump have certainly gotten the attention of the middle aged white guys.

  4. Dora says:

    Hubby was watching television earlier and heard an interesting conversation among a panel of talking heads. Apparently, some people wanted to know why Hillary didn’t choose someone more diverse to fit with the progressive attitude of the democrats, instead of another white guy. They were told that Hillary is so sure of winning that she doesn’t need any help on the ticket. She chose Kaine for the work he will be able to do when they get to Washington.


    • DandyTIger says:

      Shorter DNC/Hillary: If you want work done, hire an old white guy.

    • lyn says:

      That’s the media narrative.

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      Scott Adams:

      This is all deeply subjective, obviously, but that’s the point. If the public sees Kaine as a beta male to Clinton’s alpha female, that’s their reality. And the Master Persuader filter says this perception will make a difference.

      Clinton will probably win the vote of women. Her problem is men. If you ask a man why he doesn’t like Hillary Clinton, he might say something about her policies and her history. But the persuasion filter says the real reason men don’t like Clinton is that they can’t stand listening to her. Her speaking style reminds men of every bad relationship they have ever had with a woman. We’re all irrational sexists on some level, and Clinton sounds to many male ears like a disgruntled ex-wife, or perhaps your mom who had a really bad day. That’s a problem if you need the male vote.

      Now add Tim Kaine to the mix. In our irrational minds – where we compare everything to our personal experience – Kaine will play the part of the beta male husband whose wife can’t stop complaining about her terrible co-worker, Donald Trump. No guy wants to hear eight years of that. They get enough of it at home.

      My prediction is that Kaine will do nothing to improve Clinton’s standing with women. But the Clinton-Kaine ticket is a persuasion disaster in terms of the male vote. Male egos are probably already at a historical low point. Kaine puts a face to that movie. Will men vote to watch Hillary Clinton make Tim Kaine her Whitehouseboy for eight years?

      The persuasion filter says they won’t. And after men vote against Clinton, they’ll tell pollsters it had something to do with her policies and her history.

      • elliesmom says:

        In my minute little corner of the universe all the women support Bernie or Trump. With Bernie out of the race, a few of them will vote for Hillary, but I wouldn’t call it “support”. I don’t doubt there are lots of women eager to see a woman elected. I suspect there are a lot of women voting for the “idea of Hillary”, but who are not real keen on the reality of Hillary. There is a breaking point for most women where the reality overcomes the idea. A lot of us have hit that point already. There’s a lot of time before November for a lot more women to get there. She doesn’t stand a chance with white straight guys. She didn’t in 2008, and there’s more not to like now.

      • votermom says:

        Whitehouseboy LOL

      • Venus says:

        I overheard one of my male co-workers — a mild-mannered, even dweeby sort of guy — talking to another male co-worker who is def. a Dem — and he said, flat out “The thing with Hillary is her voice. I can’t take listen to that for 4 to 8 years.”

        So I’m pretty sure Scott Adams is right on this one.

        • blowme0bama says:

          It is grating. I didn’t coin this, but I mentioned previously that she’s like America’s ex-Wife.

          • Jadzia says:

            That is beyond depressing. Hate Hillary all you want for what she’s done (and there’s more than enough not to like on that account), but if men won’t vote for a woman because they are annoyed by the sound of her voice… I mean, in what universe is that okay? That’s pretty much like saying that you won’t vote for somebody because of their accent(*) or something like that, and few people would find that kind of thing appropriate.

            (*)Bernie Sanders and I guess even Trump are good examples. Those New York accents can be grating to people from other parts of the country, but I haven’t heard a lot of folks saying that this would be a reason not to vote for one of those guys.

          • blowme0bama says:

            Yup. People can vote for someone for whatever reason they’d like, such as “first black President”, or “first female President”. She comes off as a phony, hectoring nag, and guess what? She’s a phony, hectoring nag.

          • Jadzia says:

            And I am sick of hearing women over a certain age called a “nag.” See also: cackle, cankle, witch, and worse. Seeya.

          • Somebody says:

            Jadzia, I’m a woman and I can’t stand Hillary’s voice, well I can’t stand it when she does her yelling which sounds more like screaming. When she does that, I don’t hear what she’s saying all I hear is the music from the Wizard of Oz and I fully expect her to say “I’m going to get you my little pretty and your little dog too”

            That’s NOT the reason I’m not voting for Hillary, but there is no denying that her voice can be grating. Same goes for Ted Cruz, his nasal twang and over dramatic speaking style gets on my last nerve, but once again that is not the reason I didn’t vote for him.

            Facts are facts and it is a fact that Hillary’s voice can be annoying mostly when she attempts to yell. She knows it and so do her handlers, otherwise she wouldn’t be making an effort NOT to yell. I don’t think is necessarily has to do with gender, perhaps for some, but I’m betting that is a small minority.

            I don’t think it’s a sexist thing, hell there are a boat load of things about Trump that turn people off but I don’t think it has to do with his gender either.

          • Mt.Laurel says:

            I would never vote based on a voice but I have to say Hillary’s reminds me of two of my sister in laws and no one can stand their voices either. I think it is the tone they tend to adopt. They whhhhhhine, are in constant blame everyone else mode for work/home/whatever, they talk down to everyone and they are only in a good mood when they think they have got the better of someone else.

            In all fairness I know several men who voices that are hard to take. For instance, the husband of our accountant at work has very similar voice type/tone and attitudes toward others. He drives the guys in the office right up the wall as well me.

            I think it is that certain personalities tend to develop a speech pattern that is jarring. It is not the same as an accent – it is something they seem to have cultivated on purpose as it gets them their way a lot because people just want them gone asap.

            If Hillary were a man with those tonal effects, I think people would still react the same way. They just phrase their reactions poorly because there are so many stereotypical phases that are applied more often to women than men.

      • Constance says:

        Interesting and it sounds about right. On the other hand you have Trump and his bevy of beautiful babes who back him up. That should appeal to the subconscious male ego. From my perspective Trumps women are smart and able to give intelligent speeches so I’m impressed too.
        Hillary might have been able to go with a really young male VP and sort of done a Mother-Son dynamic. But I agree if Kaine is perceived to be her bitch, or Bill Clintons Beta it won’t be good.

    • Venus says:

      Kaine was one of the first to backstab Hillary in 2008.
      He was picked most likely because they have enough dirt on him to make him keep him “loyal.”

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Because Timme got passed over with BO so now its his turn to play Biden? I found this gem looking for something else entirely.


  5. Venus says:

    Kaine looks like a pudgy, soft alcoholic.

    • lyn says:

      😀 Today’s winner!

    • lyn says:

      Kaine also reminds me of Kasich.

    • Jadzia says:

      Nobody over here (including my apparently soon to be ex husband) has any idea who he is. People keep asking me and I’m like, um, he’s from Virginia? What else is there to say really?

      • Venus says:

        Re: your comment below about it being sad that Hillary’s voice being a reason some won’t vote for her.

        I didn’t state it in my initial comment, but the reason what my male co-worker said struck me was because I’ve been hearing about Hillary’s voice being annoying in the media since 2008 (remember MSNBC guy who said she sounded like “your nagging ex-wife”?) and I thought it was just bullshit. My co-worker, who really is a mild-mannered guy saying it is what made me think there was some “there” there.

        I still doubt it is the SOLE reason someone wouldn’t vote for her — but I do think shallow things like that across the board (looks, voice, etc) does influence people when they vote.

        • Jadzia says:

          I also might be taking that kind of thing a little bit too personally ATM. No worries.

  6. Myiq2xu™ says:

    I’m wondering what Timmy said to Hillary to make her laugh uproariously like that. From what I heard he’s not that funny.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I think this illustration of Animal Far’ms Elite Pigs sums up what may have been the tone of that conversation.

  7. Dora says:

  8. DeniseVB says:

    Well, fook, just found out my youngest brother died 10 days ago. Sigh, life in a dysfunctional family.

    Michael P. Harris, 50, of Virginia Beach passed away unexpectedly Wednesday, July 13, 2016. Survived by his son, Michael Christian Calimer, 5, (mother, Carrie Reid), sweetheart, Lisa Roberts, & so many friends.
    Michael, better known as Mikey, was born October 10th in Oceanside, California to parents, Gloria Harris & Howard Hodges, brother, John Harris, and sisters, Andrea Casterno & Denise Higgins.
    Mikey worked maintenance at Bayville Golf Club for almost 20 years. He loved the Steelers, fittingly, he gravitated to the Brass Bell Steakhouse & Bar. He was everyone’s friend & loved for his sense of humor and exuberant disposition. Mikey was the go to guy, golfing buddy, and football buddy. Mikey was special. His megawatt smile lit up every room. There was a light that shined within him. Sunshine & Good Vibes!
    A memorial will be held at The Brass Bell Sunday July 24th at 3:30 pm to celebrate his life blockquote.\>

    • swanspirit says:

      Denise, I am so sorry. Hugs. ,😑💔

    • lyn says:

      Oh, Denise, so sorry for your loss. ❤

    • votermom says:

      Prayers & sympathies.

    • 49erDweet says:

      {{hugs and hugs}}. So sorry. Dysfunction junction ain’t fun. 😦

    • Venus says:


    • elliesmom says:

      Sorry to hear of your loss. I didn’t find out my dad’s stepmother died for a year. And they did put you in his obituary. I was “various other relatives”. But dysfunctional or not, baby brothers are special. Hugs.

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      Aw, shit. That sucks.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Life is so much quieter without brothers causing havoc. I still miss mine. Even the surviving one who has not bothered much with family, outside demanding gifts for kids, since he remarried 20 odd years ago. Except on his Facebook page where evidently he lives in Pleasantville. I don’t have a Facebook account but I have a couple cousins that suggest he missed his calling writing fiction. Most of us have at least one branch of the family that is outside the norm on the dysfunction scale. That does not keep us from still caring or from experiencing sorrow at their passing. Sympathies to you and your family.💝

    • Constance says:

      Sorry for your loss Denise and for the family communication difficulty . Some family members just seem to consider communication optional and it’s a very hurtful attitude.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Sorry for the loss of your brother. Sounds like you lost him long ago.

    • Dora says:

      Denise, I am so sorry. It must have been a shock to learn about his passing.

      Please accept my hugs and prayers.

    • DandyTIger says:

      So sorry to hear. {{hugs}}

    • AFVet says:

      So sorry to hear that Denise.
      God Bless.

    • taw46 says:

      Denise, so sorry to hear this. Prayers and hugs to you. Will be thinking of you.

    • helenk3 says:

      denise I am very sorry for the loss of your brother. Prayers for your family

    • jeffhas says:

      God Dammit!

      50 is too damn young.

      So very sorry… Tell every person you can the memories you have (good, bad, whatever).

    • Jadzia says:

      Oh, no. That is so young! I am so sorry.

    • Somebody says:

      Denise I’m so sorry to hear about your brother and he was so young. (((HUGS)))

    • Anthony says:

      I’m so sorry, Denise. I also found out my Dad died 6 months after the fact. I ran into a friend I hadn’t seen in years, and she said “Thank God it wasn’t you!” I asked her wtf she was talking about, and she clammed up. A couple days later, she let me know she saw what she thought was my obituary (Dad and I have the same name).

      Long story short – my sister outed me for being gay when I was 16. Her mission was to make sure I would always be persona non grata. It worked, and 10 days after my 18th birthday (and a failed suicide attempt at age 16), I turned the key in the door of my new apartment, started paying for my own college education and just moved on. The only thing of my Dad’s that I had (and still have) are his dog tags. I put them on and went to visit his grave, letting him know I forgave him for his rejection. It was sincere, and I felt better afterwards.

      All families have their own brand of dysfunction. I’m sorry you’ve had to be reminded of your own, but from what I’ve gleaned from your on-line presence, you are emotionally healthy, caring and empathetic. Perhaps its best for a healthy person to extricate themselves from an unhealthy environment. I wish for you to have that feeling of peace and calm that comes along with resolution.

      (Why is this place beginning to feel like “The Breakfast Club”?❤ )

    • lateblum says:

      Oh Denise, I am so very sorry.
      I cannot imagine how you feel right now.
      Sending hugs and love to you.

  9. Myiq2xu™ says:


    The world of the Black Panther, the Marvel Comics hero who hails from the fictional African country of Wakanda, is about to get bigger. Marvel announced on Friday a companion series, World of Wakanda, which is to premiere in November.

    And just like the current Black Panther series, which is written by Ta-Nehisi Coates, the author and a national correspondent for The Atlantic, the new comic will be written by newcomers to the industry: the feminist writer Roxane Gay and the poet Yona Harvey.

    “My agent was not thrilled that I was taking on another project,” Ms. Gay said. But learning to write comics exercised different creative muscles, which she said she found exciting.

    “It’s the most bizarre thing I’ve ever done, and I mean that in the best possible way,” she said.

    Her story, written with Mr. Coates, will follow Ayo and Aneka, two lovers who are former members of the Dora Milaje, the Black Panther’s female security force. “The opportunity to write black women and queer black women into the Marvel universe, there’s no saying no to that,” she said.

    The first issue of World of Wakanda will include a 10-page second story by Ms. Harvey about Zenzi, a female revolutionary who incited a riot in the first issue of the Black Panther series. Mr. Coates, who recruited both writers, said he thought it was important to have female voices help breathe life into these characters. “The women in Black Panther’s life are very, very important,” he said.

  10. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Mom is back in the hospital. She was in there for several hours on Tuesday, but they couldn’t find anything wrong. She saw her regular doctor on Thursday, and he diagnosed her with bronchitis, but that wasn’t why she went to the ER on Tue.

    She is having sudden attacks of muscle weakness/loss of control. They don’t last long. Today she had her worst attack. I took her in on Tue, but today I called an ambulance for her.

    I can tell you what she doesn’t have, but not what is wrong.

    My sister and I have been taking turns with her. The doctor wants to admit her so I am waiting for a call when they assign her a room then I’ll go back. I’m guessing I’ll be there most of the evening.

    Her big worry this morning? She was in her robe and pajamas and wanted me to help her get dressed before I called the ambulance. She went in her pj’s.

  11. Constance says:

    I’m sorry to hear this. I’m glad you have been living near by all this time and can take care of her. You’re in my thought and prayers too.

  12. Mt.Laurel says:

    Goodness I can relate. My mother started getting so worried that she would have to go to the hospital in the middle of the night that she would work herself into a panic attack. Ended up buyinh a couple sets with a coordinated top/bottom in loungewear. Light enough to sleep in but covered enough for her sense of proprietary that no one would see her in her night gown. She thought they were everyday wear not pjs. so it was a win-win.

    Positive thought for you , your sister and your Mom and hoping they can narrow down the underlying cause.

  13. Dora says:

    Oh Boy!

  14. votermom says:

    Clinton Cash movie playing on breitbart right now and tomorrow at 2 pm & 8 pm

  15. elliesmom says:

    Breitbart is streaming “Clinton Cash” until 11 pm eastern. http://www.breitbart.com/clinton-cash-movie/

  16. mothy67 says:

    I am watching Shameless on Netflix. Holy shit. Brutal, disturbing, hilarious, heartbreaking.

  17. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Guess who:

    We had to wait until almost 2pm before Hillary and Tim Kaine showed up at the field house. There she was, cheery in robin’s egg blue. He was tall and relaxed in an open collar shirt. She gave a very pointed speech about Trump and his rule of one. There were some memorable lines. And then she did a magic trick.

    Tim Kaine took the podium and nailed it.

    Wasn’t that awesome? And there was Hillary sitting in back on her stool, looking perfectly content to let him have the stage and grinning from ear to ear as if to say, “Do I know how to pick them or what??”
    She does indeed. Between the two of them, they have every branch of government covered except the Supreme Court. These are the two people who will get to nominate the next justices. Woot!

    Meanwhile, Kaine gave his biography. He’s a really decent guy. Even his colleague Republican Senator Jeff Flake congratulated him. He also ticks every possible box Hillary Clinton could want in a VP pick:

    From a battleground state- Virginia
    Former Mayor and Governor
    Faced a serious gun related incident during his tenure that compelled him to…
    Take on the NRA to prevent guns from falling into the wrong hands
    Roman Catholic who likes Pope Francis
    Actually went on a mission trip to Honduras where…
    He learned to speak fluent Spanish

    I could go on but you get the point.

    But don’t be deceived. Behind that smiling face is the mind of a shrewd politician. He delivers his killing blows with neatly spread claws and gentle demeanor. I have no doubt that he’s companionable, competent and experienced, just what a VP should be. He can take over without any rookie mistakes. And he got to this place because he plays the game very well.

    Can I just say that it’s about time we got people with experience running the executive branch? You know, people who don’t have to do on the job training, or will start the bargaining from a position of weakness, and who know how the web is structured so they know what threads to pull to get the whole thing moving in their direction? Politics is for politicians and this country has had plenty of really good politicians.

    They’re not all bad.

    By all accounts he is a decent, hard working, god fearing, civil rights championing ex-governor with a heart. And he looks deadly for Trump and Pence.

    Well done, Hillary. I have no doubt that she was rational and strategic and made this decision all by herself. There was no indication of second thoughts or buyer’s remorse. She also claims to be “afflicted with the responsibility gene“. As an eldest child, I know exactly where she’s coming from.
    This was her first big decision and it was brilliant.

    The two of them were like a crisp, bracing, joyful wind blowing away all the sturm und drang of Trump’s RNC convention speech translated from the original German.

    All you lefty guys out there can relax now. (You know who you are, Joe Trippi and others too numerous to mention) This is what we saw in Hillary all along. She’ll take it from here.

  18. Dora says:

    Well, well. Look who is being thrown under the bus over Wikileaks.

    DNC chair won’t speak at Dem convention following Wikileaks fallout

    “(CNN)The head of the Democratic National Committee will not speak at the party’s convention next week, a decision reached by party officials Saturday after emails surfaced that raised questions about the committee’s impartiality during the Democratic primary.”


  19. Dora says:

    This picture should come with a warning! Yikes!

  20. Dora says:

  21. DeniseVB says:

    Hey guys, thanks for all the kind thoughts, I think I was more pissed than sad about my brother’s death. I found out through a Facebook event invite. Like I said, dysfunction is strong in my family.

    Hope myiq’s mom is feeling better❤

    • DeniseVB says:

      Whoa, that could be the final nail in the anticipated ratings disaster. The world loves the battle between the USA kids and the Evil Empire. Not as much fun watching us kick those 3rd world butts.

  22. CiscoKid says:

    Just reading about your loss Denise, please accept my condolences and prayer.
    There are no words that can soften the blow, especially under the circumstances you noted..
    Stay strong, safe and take care.

  23. DeniseVB says:

    I’ve been taking the wikileaks story very skeptically until DWS was removed from her speaking gig at the DNC. Wait, what? They may be real? (if you can fake a tweet, you can fake an email). How stupid does the DNC think we are? Hasn’t anyone told them NEVER EVER put into email that you wouldn’t want published on the front page of the NYT? Of course we knew this all along, those astroturfed protests that the media wanted us to know were because meany Trump, racist poopy-head. (and the GOPe played along).

  24. Dora says:

    Enough to scare me.

Comments are closed.