Taking Bets: Will #DemsInPhilly Explode Tonight or Tomorrow?


The speakers are all yelling and giving the crowd the evil eye so far. This is shaping up to be the greatest show on earth, and that’s not a compliment. Pass the popcorn.


This is an open thread. The last one was getting pretty full.

About Lola-in-a-Basket

Bitch, please.
This entry was posted in 2016 Elections. Bookmark the permalink.

133 Responses to Taking Bets: Will #DemsInPhilly Explode Tonight or Tomorrow?

  1. Dora says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      LOL, Baked “plagiarized” The Donald, just heard the sound bite from a rally today. The crowd loved it. Hillary Rotten sounds too much like Rodham and why she dropped her middle name……priceless.

  2. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Both. Maybe all four nights.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    You’re very welcome Gov Pence🙂

  4. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Bernie Bros say “Fuck that!”

  5. Myiq2xu™ says:

    El Buffoon Grande:

    I am so sick and tired of dealing with everyone’s fucking feelings and this bullshit about being cheated. Not only was Bernie not cheated out of the nomination, it’s all so besides the fucking point. Despite the sporadic few states in which Russia’s favorite fauxgressive Jill Stein and the glibertarian shitshow are on the ballot, this election is a binary construct if you intend to vote.

    You vote for Trump or you vote for Clinton. That’s it. Those are the choices. And if you choose not to vote for either or vote for Trump, you are responsible if Trump wins. It’s not on Hillary- she’s making her pitch. The voters decide, and to quote some lyrics, “if you choose not to decide you still have made a choice.”

    I don’t understand why people don’t get that elections aren’t about your feels. You look at which candidate is more likely to do things you like and which one is more likely to create World War III, and depending on your level of psychoticism, you choose accordingly. Your feels may impact how involved you get or if you donate or if you are enthusiastic about voting or if you go out and work to elect a candidate, but your feels shouldn’t be shaping your decision.

    I was super excited about Obama in 2008. In 2016, I looked at both of the Dems, and said I would support either. I later leaned Clinton because I decided that while I liked what Bernie was shouting about, shouting about shit doesn’t get things done. But either way, I was going to support the Democrat, because the Republican ticket was, no matter who they nominated, would be a Death Star of Suck and we are all Alderaanians now.

    TL;DR: Vote for the Democrat or you are to blame for the disaster. Also, FUCK YOU.

    Best election ever!

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Never know when you’re going to strike a Twitter nerve. LOL….

  7. blowme0bama says:

    Carried from last thread –

    What crops out west are still harvested with mass hand labor? Tomatoes? Grapes for certain, artichokes? Lettuce? I know there are mechanical pickers for citrus – do western farmers still use hand labor for citrus? Just curious of temp work visas would be necessary for some vegetable harvest?

    • Somebody says:

      Very good point blowme

    • 1539days says:

      I’d guess almost everything can be harvested mechanically, it’s just a matter of machinery cost. Why innovate when you can get cheap labor.

      • blowme0bama says:

        I think grapes for wine would be pretty difficult for mechanical harvest because its expensive to grow the vines – they don’t just pull them up every year like with tomatoes.

        Asparagus would be one as well. I think it takes 3 years for a plant to begin producing spears (dad planted some one year).

        Anything that isn’t an annual planting other than things that grow on trees likely would need manual harvest.

      • blowme0bama says:

        Blueberries would be another. They don’t produce immediately. I’ve got giant blueberry bushes my Dad planted 25 years ago. It took a few years before they started producing.

        • blowme0bama says:

          I say that and just remembered that when they get ripe they really will fall off the bush if you shake them hard. There’d be some waste though because they don’t all come ripe at once.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Lettuce uses field workers but they apparently have enough. I’m just two blocks from half a dozen yuuuuge blocks in the main growing area and they’re harvesting close by this week. Schools are out locally so that augments the force, but most of the workers are adults. Lots of women, too. The major lettuce growers here also pull up stakes in the winter and harvest lettuce in Yuma, AZ and the Imperial Valley, CA, as well as two brief seasons in Huron, CA. (Google Fresh Express growing regions).
      Grapes also use grove workers but the ones I see seem to have enough, too. They are older and better paid because the vines are quite valuable.

      • blowme0bama says:

        Lettuce looks to me to be something that could be done mechanically. It’s grown from a new plant every year and they’re all ready for harvest at the same time.

        • lizzy says:

          Perhaps we should focus on better jobs that were shipped overseas; the industrial kind that paid a living wage. Even at $15. an hour you can’t live on that. We need our jobs back that were shipped out. Minimum wage is a smoke screen. Increasing it so drastically so quickly will just encourage job loss.

          • blowme0bama says:

            Well, what I was getting at was just how much of agriculture is really dependent on seasonal harvesters. You can’t have people just sitting around all year to only work for a couple weeks picking produce, and there are undoubtedly some vegetables that can’t be machine harvested. Some, such as squash, cucumbers, okra, peppers… will produce for many months but only a few a day, so you can’t just pull the plants up and strip the vine in a single operation. For such work, I think temporary visas would be necessary.

        • 49erDweet says:

          It might, but these Salinas Valley lettuce growers are ubiquitously resourceful and as much $$$ as they make each year woulda gone to machines decades ago if it were possible. I suspect mechanization would damage too much product to make it worthwhile. I’ll ask a couple of neighbors who work for ’em.

    • kanaughty says:

      Just to add in hear not about fruit or veggies, but i live just south of indy and i’ve only seen one field being tended too by people. But it’s behind a church, so i am suspecting it’s like their community garden. A way to spend time together. Everything else (thousands of acres which all seem to be for sale, yet still producing) is corn or either what i think is soy, and maybe sorgum. I’ve seen one grape field, but it’s for a local winery. I don’t know how they harvest.

    • Constance says:

      Berries are harvested by hand.

  8. Myiq2xu™ says:

    • kanaughty says:

      Perfect. I was actually wondering, because they took so long to get there, if they were even going to sing the national anthem. They started with a religious like song, glory glory halleluyah, and i thought, they are not the party of religion (unless it’s islam), what am i watching here? Weird.

  9. mothy67 says:

    Asking again. Do the Bernouts have a case against the DNC? It was fraud for gain. They lied. Individuals lost money, time, emotional damage. The dnc allowe people to invest in something they had guarenteed would go no where. Its theft. Not a lawyer but I see through emails they did not cover their asses and who knows what is to come from wiki.
    Case? No case? Its a club not government.

  10. Myiq2xu™ says:

    • taw46 says:

      Hope they keep it up. But I remember PUMA. Most caved and returned to the party. Granted, things are a lot different this year, and the corruption is open for all to see. But Bernie, like Hillary, is not sticking with his supporters. He is all in for the DNC.

  11. Somebody says:

    My daughter texted me confused by the Bernie Sanders delegates and their outrage. She said in her opinion Sanders votes weren’t stolen they were just redistributed and they’re all into to that so what is the big deal, LMAO!

    • taw46 says:

      Lol. Smart girl, like her mother.

    • kanaughty says:

      Nice and perfect. They love to take stuff from other people, but the minute anyone touches their stuff, they cry foul. (Special little entitled robin hood snowflakes.)

  12. CiscoKid says:

    Propaganda corps at work and in the pocket of the Dem’s.
    Every local tv station in my area has sent “reporters” to cover the DNC.
    Coverage has been since this morning.
    During the RNC you ask? Zero, none, zip.
    As if they could stop the meltdown.

  13. PUMA for me, but not for thee, assholes.

    https://riverdaughter.wordpress.com/2016 /07/25/puma-to-bernie-peoplepum/

    • DeniseVB says:

      PUMA died in 2008, R.I.P. Most of “us” moved over to the Tea Party, until Obama’s IRS shut us down😦

    • Propertius says:

      I don’t think RD has the slightest clue just how hypocritical she sounds. It’s really kind of sad.

      • Anthony says:

        Agree. Just read her comments, and she really goes off the rails lol. Does EVERYTHING I see tonight need a side of popcorn???

        • SHV says:

          I haven’t been there for years but read the comments…nothing has changed, especially her disdain for PhDs. “Are you deferring to authority? As a researcher who spent years listening to presentations by PhDs ….” She used to go off on how “The PHDs” would steal her work and ideas…Kim was never satisfied that she was doing well despite the fact that her hard science degree was only a BS.

  14. lateblum says:

    The DNC is being pre-empted by the “Crosstown Classic” tonight on local ABC station. 😄😄😄
    I bet they have a larger viewing audience than CBS and NBC combined. 😉
    I wonder if their license to broadcast will be renewed or revoked come the fall.

    FYI: the “Crosstown Classic” is the baseball series between the White Sox and the Cubs.

    • elliesmom says:

      When we lived near Chicago, I wanted to go to a ballgame so my friends took me to a White Sox vs. Red Sox game. It was fun, but I really wanted to see Wrigley Field so we went to the Crosstown Classic. While it was fun being one of the only Boston fans at the first game, the Crosstown Classic was a real party.

  15. Dora says:

  16. votermom says:

    OT we are watching Octopussy
    I’ve never seen it before. This must be the funniest James Bond ever.

    • kanaughty says:

      Good one! Roger moore ones didn’t take himself so seriously. Maybe bond needs to get back to that. Too much self brooding and feels for the craig bond. I did love judy dench though as M.

  17. Dora says:

  18. taw46 says:

  19. Anthony says:

    How we’ll know exactly when the shit hits the fan – the Dems will begin to whisper that Trump supporters infiltrated the Bernie supporters coalition at Putin’s urging. Or some other daft, loony, absurd bullshit.

  20. elliesmom says:

    I don’t know when or if they’ll erupt inside the convention center, but the heat is getting to the folks protesting outside, and they’re pretty disgusted with Bernie. There’s some talk about managing their resources to make the biggest impact. My “guy on the ground” is still pretty pumped up

  21. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Rep. Gutierrez seems to be under the impression that Puerto Rico is a foreign country. Immigrants from PR ARE American citizens.

    • mothy67 says:

      He is so dumb. I never call people dumb, but this guy is a flood of stupid. I could not even follow him. I thought is he drunk, then I thought am I drunk. Then it hit me he is of tribe Clinton — profit from everything. He is Puerto Rican and his poor sob story. Fuck please tell me dims are not that stupid.

      • lateblum says:

        THAT Dem Is that stupid. His sister was on the payroll of HRC the last time and was a mole for Obama. HRC was also too stupid to realize it.

  22. taw46 says:

  23. Myiq2xu™ says:

  24. taw46 says:

  25. Myiq2xu™ says:

  26. taw46 says:

    I laughed.

  27. Dora says:

    How awful! It makes one wonder what is wrong with the world.

  28. elliesmom says:

    “Nearby, vendor Damian Charles sold novelty condoms bearing images of the various candidates, and slogans saying ‘Make America Erect Again’ and ‘The Ultimate Stimulus Package’.
    Charles, 25, a music and film production worker from New York, said: ‘They are five bucks each and bit of fun.
    ‘The biggest selling condom has both party emblems and it says ‘either way we’re screwed”.

    Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3707609/Communists-environmentalists-Trump-haters-Bernie-backers-thousands-protest-DNC-Philadelphia-just-one-group-missing-Hillary-Clinton-supporters.html#ixzz4FTKvfRTZ
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

  29. elliesmom says:

    Paul Simon shouldn’t sing “Bridge Over Troubled Water” without Art Garfunkel. It was painful.

    • lateblum says:

      I don’t know where you heard him – or when. I saw him probably 10 years ago and he couldn’t sing that song then. You are so right. It is very painful.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Either he’s really lost his voice, or is sick. But it sounded really bad.

      • lateblum says:

        He lost his voice years ago. I saw him with Bob Dylan at least a decade ago. and neither of them could sing. In fact, Dylan sounded better than Paul Simon. (And I’m a huuuge Paul Simon fan) It was so disappointing.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Simon was on some radio show my boss was playing griping about old guys in their 70s singing. I thought – well are you not one of those guys and you never really had a good solo voice so what’s up. Turns out he was pi$$ed at the Monkees.

      IMHO Garfunkel’s voice made those songs. Simon took most of the credit.

      • elliesmom says:

        My daughter fell in love with Simon and Garfunkel’s music when she was in junior high school, and she begged me to take her to one of their concerts. Knowing they had already broken up and supposedly hated each other, I promised her if they ever came to the Boston, I’d take her to the concert in the very best seats available. Several years later they were coming to Boston on their reunion tour, and she presented me with a bill for $400 for two seats. She fully expected to pay her share. She had finished college and was a married lady by then, but I keep my promises so I picked up the tab. We had a great time. The Everly Brothers were the warm up act. S&G had recorded some of their songs, and the four of them did a couple of numbers together. At that point Paul looked like her grandfather trying to relive his youth, but Art could still sing and had aged better. She had also been big on Linda Ronstadt, and she bought the tickets for that one. A lady sitting near us asked my daughter how someone her age knew so much about Linda. My daughter explained Ronstadt had been a frequent visitor to Sesame Street and the Muppets.

  30. helenk3 says:

    I just finished watching the old movie The Long Grey Line. Yes I cried. Isn’t it ironic on this day a movie about duty, honor, country and the first day of a convention that will nominate a woman for president that has no conception of the meaning of these words.
    We have come a long way in the wrong direction and I really want better then the choice we have this year. That makes me very sad.

  31. CiscoKid says:

    The scene where O’hara drops the rosary as she dies can bring a tear or two, very touching.

    • helenk3 says:

      I cry at this movie, always at Yankee Doodle Dandy and a few other old movies. They taught us different values than today. I miss that kind of movie

  32. elliesmom says:

    I find it hard to listen to Elizabeth Warren rant about Donald Trump’s business practices. Someone who made money by flipping foreclosed homes and representing insurance companies to reduce the money they were ordered to pay out in asbestos injury claims w/o a law license.

  33. CiscoKid says:

    When stars were truly stars. The old studio system trained and polished them.
    We have good ones now, but I don’t think they have the range.
    James Cagney as example, drama, comedy, and quite a dancer.

  34. mothy67 says:

    Not going to say I subjected myself to much beyond Guiterez lies.
    What is wrong with DNC.Do they think we are all so lost in celebrity
    Why not my knew favorite ditty about not being 12

  35. 1539days says:

    Ouch. They’re using Bernie’s campaign video to introduce him.

  36. 1539days says:

    Poor Bernie. They padded the speeches so he would be on when people went to bed.

    Cruz got some prime time action last week.

  37. Myiq2xu™ says:

    The Berners are crying.

  38. Myiq2xu™ says:

  39. Myiq2xu™ says:

  40. Myiq2xu™ says:

  41. 1539days says:

    “Taking it to the streets” is playing.
    That won’t be easy with the Great Wall of Philly outside.

  42. DandyTIger says:

  43. DandyTIger says:

  44. 1539days says:

    I’m reading Uppity’s blog and the complete 180 about Michelle Obama and Barack Obama as well. I guess it’s a good thing UW dumped most of her 2008 posts down the memory hole.

    • lateblum says:

      I did not realize she had done that. She was so SHTRONGLY against Obama. OMG. and now she’s deep-sixed those posts????

  45. 1539days says:

    I’m watching MSNBC (entertainment value) and Hillary is 0 for 2 with Bernie delegates they’ve interviewed.

  46. elliesmom says:

    I’m off to bed, but my favorite part of the convention tonight was the look on Sara Silverman’s face when Bernie’s supporters booed her. It was priceless.

  47. Constance says:

    I am pretty mad about this, Every local station in Seattle had the Democrat convention on tonight while last week I couldn’t find a station to watch the RNC on so I had to watch PBS and the Democrat talking heads who all looked like they had been sucking lemons when they weren’t yammering over the Republican speeches. That can’t be legal since their broadcast license is granted by the government. I only have antenna TV. Who do I complain to?

    • 1539days says:

      The FCC controls broadcasts and the FEC controls elections. Unfortunately, local stations can claim editorial discretion because they’re not giving a preferential interview or anything.

  48. mothy67 says:

    I tried to watch. Bored and angry. I made it through a few a speakers. All I could think was why the fuck after trillions of dollars was why this little girl on stage is blah blah blah ba fucking blah and Jose still has no drinking water.

    • Constance says:

      Yeah, I turned it off too. It seems to me like the Democrat convention is really negative with a lot of personal attacks on Trump. I thought the Dem talking points last week were that the Republican convention had negative vibes and that Democrats were going to be inspiring. All I got from the Dems today was “we Bernie and Hillary people have a common enemy” “Republicans are haters and whenever they talk it is hate speech” “If Trump wins the world will end and pain will linger forever.” So I have to say I found it depressing and also it comes off as hyperbole. And the fact that it was on every channel my antenna brought in made it oppressive.

  49. swanspirit says:

    Someone sure has changed their tune.

Comments are closed.