Sunday Open Thread

This is how the media thinks Trump supporters enjoy their Sunday dinners. I don’t know about you, but I’m craving me some KFC right now.😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

169 Responses to Sunday Open Thread

  1. swanspirit says:

    Does KFC have a Sunday Special going? Imma gonna go check. Brb

    • DeniseVB says:

      I tell ya, if you’re invited to my home for dinner, that’s pretty much what fine dining looks like, but we’ll have fun😀

    • votermom says:

      KFC smells great but it’s a lie. Tasted much better years ago.
      Popeye’ s chicken is the way to go.

      • swanspirit says:

        I have a really fond memory involving KFC. When I was very young , my family used to go to Loch Raven Dam/ Reservoir
        every summer Sunday we didn’t go to Grandma’s, for a picnic.
        My mother would spend Saturday in a hot kitchen making fried chicken to take on the picnic, along with potato salad and macaroni salad, etc etc . One of the first ever KFC to be built, went up right along the route to Loch Raven. So we tried it! And yes it did taste better back then, or my taste buds were younger, or something. But after that first bucket, we could go on our picnic, and my mom didn’t have to spend her Saturdays in a hot kitchen. Of , course, KDC didn’t measure up to her chicken, but it was good enough.
        Thanks KFC!!

        • votermom says:

          That’s a great memory.

        • lyn says:

          I remember when the first KFC opened in Missoula, MT. I may have met Colonel Sanders or a look-a-like.

        • blowme0bama says:

          Yeah, great memories. We did the same when I was under 6. Four uncles & Aunts and 3 cousins. Sunday afternoons at Mammaw & Pappaw’s on picnic tables with homemade fried chicken (Mammaw’s was the BEST ever). Found some old black & whites of one of those dinners. I miss all those folks. That’s one reason I have no fear of dying and look forward to seeing them all again.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Small world and another great memory …. Yearrrrrrrs ago I dated a boy from Baltimore and he took me to the Loch Raven with a bucket of KFC for a picnic❤

          • AFVet says:

            Colonel Sanders got Dave Thomas started.
            The Dave Thomas of Wendy’s.
            I met him once in his home office in Dublin, Ohio.
            Very nice man, exactly what you saw on his commercials.
            Very low key, but demanding.

      • CiscoKid says:


      • DeniseVB says:

        I blame the feds for requiring fast food to be healthy. They screwed up McDonald’s fries making them fry ’em in veggie oil instead of the artery choking (but tasty) beef fat. And the Whopper got smaller (I remember needing both hands to eat one). The food police have taken the fun out of eating😛

        • foxyladi14 says:

          The food police should choke!!! 😡

        • 1539days says:

          The fast food industry is playing along because smaller food = bigger profits.

        • Underwhelmed says:

          And that is a big fat lie. There is no health risk in eating beef fat. Excess carbohydrate, especially the refined kind, is what creates the triglycerides that clog arteries/cause heart disease. Big business at it again for profit, and screw the people.

          • DeniseVB says:

            Over the years, margarine and artificial sweeteners have been linked to more problems than the stuff we grew up with in the 50’s-60’s. High fructose corn syrup has been linked to obesity and other health issues more than good ole’ real sugar.

      • 49erDweet says:

        Back in (I hate saying that) the late 1930’s our Sunday supper outings were at a little family restaurant called Knott’s Berry Farm in Buena Park, CA. It was open on weekends in a converted farmhouse next to a berry patch. With THE BEST FRIED CHICKEN IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!
        Today it’s a yuuuge amusement park, but it all began with weekend fried chicken dinners. My dad actually knew the Knott’s. They bought stuff from him.

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Be sure to finish reading the last post since there was a flurry of great comments while I was dicking around looking at redneck photos🙂

  3. lyn says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      As long as they are retired, what’s the big whoop being politcally involved ? It’s a different set of rules (UCMJ) for active duty military.

  4. votermom says:


  5. votermom says:

    Is that Ted Cruz in the lower right corner of the picture?

  6. DandyTIger says:

    Holy crap. You have top watch the Hillary interview on FoxNews Sunday w/ Chris Wallace. She’s going to stand up for the poor, poor Republican candidates that Trump as so mean too. Priceless.

  7. Kathy says:

    That’s hysterical ! Remember that the media called us bumpkins for supporting Hillary in 08. Somehow in 7 years, all the Hillary diehards got PHD’s .. Amazing.

  8. DandyTIger says:

    Dem booing and hating all military people, heroes, moments of silence, police, etc. and then worshiping the one Muslim hero is such classic prog virtue signaling. The Muslim hero is high up on the totem pole, so deserves honor, the other are lower on the pole and deserve hate.

  9. Myiq2xu™ says:

    • Constance says:

      I wonder if Khan thinks women in Media should be more modest? I wonder what women in Media think of that.

  10. Lulu says:

    I just put a tater tot and sausage breakfast casserole in the oven. My guests requested it. One has a master’s degree in chemistry, another an MBA from Wharton, a couple of Phi Beta Kappa’s, and me. Just your average white trash household on a weekend eatin’ tater tots. And biscuits and peaches with blueberries grown locally. Then we are going to shot shotguns off the porch.

  11. CiscoKid says:

    A couple of day ago I posted a link to a body cam video of a Police Officer pulling a mother and her child to safety amid gunfire.
    Here’s another child’s life saved.

    • Lulu says:

      It makes me think Trump has been getting a heads up from the leaks. LOL. They used “taco bowl” as a derogatory pejorative and he ATE a taco bow and tweeted itl.

    • lateblum says:

      She really is scary looking, especially in this photo.

  12. driguana says:

    but…but…but…seems like everyone you talk to these days has a big “but”…

  13. taw46 says:

    • taw46 says:

      We can’t talk about Hillary’s lies, falling poll numbers, hacked campaign computers, protests at her convention. We’re too busy talking about Melania’s nude photos and Trump’s “attack” and “lashing out” at Khan family. Seriously, since yesterday that is how press describes Trump’s remarks. NeverTrump people piling on, too.

  14. AFVet says:

    Hillary’s troubles are just beginning.

  15. foxyladi14 says:

    Hope this works 😀

  16. DeniseVB says:

    Am I the last person on the planet without a smart phone? Tried to grab a couple of tickets to the Mike Pence townhall nearby, but I’m required to enter a mobile phone number so they can send the entry thingy to that …. and allow them to send me campaign messages throughout the election season. I never use text messaging so I’m on a limited plan where I pay for texts, incoming and outgoing. I just wanted a print option, like eventbrite’s been providing for previous rallies and events.

    My instructions were to download the phone app to a wireless printer then send it an email to print my ticket. FFS, I’m out of the mood now. My old lexmark printer has provided me with event, train and plane tickets for years now thanks to two options, send to mobile or email.

    I guess this is proof Trump supporters are stupid, LOL. /rant

    • 1539days says:

      Just about. A lot of people got those bargain Tracfone “smart” phones.

      This reminds me of more rewriting history. The site (run by a Democrat) had a story about how both Trump and Clinton don’t like e-mail and computers or faxes in Hillary’s case. That’s all fine, but they pushed this narrative that Obama wanted to use his smart phone because he was so tech savvy. No, in 2008 he wanted to use his BLACKBERRY. Smart phones were just starting to be popular and Obama eventually ditched his years later. Regardless, that just makes Obama a dumbass because smart phones are about as secure as a DNC mail server.

    • dm says:

      Nope…I have never seen the need for myself…have a computer, have a tv…besides, I’m half blind so using a “smart”(ass) phone is kind of pointless…I can’t see much on the darn things anyway. I have an old phone with the pull out “keyboard” for texting, which is still tough due to my “fat” fingers.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Pretty much the same here🙂 We have a basic cell phone(2) plan that we only use for travelling. About $50 month for what we don’t use now. Our phones have that toggle tap keyboard, give me an hour and I’ll send you a text, LOL!

      • 49erDweet says:

        Look. I’m so old I creak when I breath, but if I can handle 80% of the stuff on a smartphone, so can the rest of the TCHers. Just get your favorite grandchild to explain it to you and after a 30 day learning curve you’ll be find.

        • taw46 says:

          And addicted. Addicted to it everywhere you go. But I love it 😊 And you can always take photos, no need to carry a camera.

  17. Venus says:

    Keep letting him talk, MSM — his arrogance will keep come out.

    • dm says:

      What I want to know is does he believe in/follow the teachings of Mohammed? If “terror” has nothing to do with Islam, then I guess that’s like the Catholics getting rid of a few books from the Bible – which, of course, was all done in the name of politics. So, is this the same with the muslims?

    • Kathy says:

      CNN is literally pounding the Muslim soldier story to death..not even a whiff of objectivity.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Daddy seems to have a lot of issues with son’s choices. There is a bitterness that is palatable. Perhaps son was not devote enough? Something if off. Perfect rep for the DNC.

      There are hundreds of these horrid little men in the DC area and many get their rather large salaries from the taxpayers while pissing on all non-muslims. They come into meetings/projects and try and take over and lecture women about their proper place. My experience is that in the end they alienate just about everyone because their misogynistic tendencies are repugnant and they have absolutely no couth .

      Bitter Daddy’s focus on Melania is beyond distasteful.

  18. DeniseVB says:

    Well, there is this….

    • 1539days says:

      More like France hated an American winning so much, they found something everyone else did and only focused on Armstrong. Like the way the Tea Party groups couldn’t get approved for tax exempt status but Democrats can get away with decades of dodging taxes.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Tea Party groups were required to have permits to rally. OWS did not. I doubt BLM does either. Bob McDonnell got caught with his hand in the cookie jar and went to court. Tim Kaine did the same and is running for VP.

  19. Dora says:

    Let them come to my door and they will get more than my urine!

    CNN: Breaking: Feds Going Door To Door Collecting Urine Samples “checking for ZIKA”

  20. Constance says:

    Well Meet The Press was unwatchable. You had a round table of press virtue signaling relative to Trump vs Khan which if you listen to the whole Trump statement online, it was not even outrageous. Why even pretend to discuss politics, just call it a “liberal press virtue signalling about imaginary issues that would be outrageous show”. I turned the sound off and their mannerisms look really contrived. The only reason I left it on is they are supposed to have the Wikileaks guy on. But I started talking and missed the end of the show. Part of what the press is hacked off about is Trump isn’t paying for ads. That has really got to be threatening to them.

  21. Constance says:

    I saw that! Chris Wallace did a good interview. Here is a link to the Wikileaks interview, it sucks it is 5 mins of chuck ignoring the content of the leaks and trying to advance the Dem narrative that Russia is responsible.

  22. Dora says:

    50,000 turn out in Germany to cheer Erdogan.

    The dam is breaking….there’s no turning back. Germany will have a civil war.

  23. DeniseVB says:

    Why do I even try, lol.

  24. Myiq2xu™ says:

    The Miss Teen USA pageant is under attack from SJW’s. Can you guess why?

    • DandyTIger says:

      I know, I know. None of them are in a hijab.

      • lizzy says:

        We must preserve modesty at all costs. I suggest that swimsuits from the early 1900’s with long legs and skirts are the only ones allowed. Evening gowns cover from chin to floor and down to the wrists. They could wear bags over their heads to cover their lustful hair. Perfect modesty; oh, and tape their mouths shut they shouldn’t say anything./s

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        Well I am going to need a spreadsheet with pivot table and rankings for each category because it looks likes hijab is the new card of choice.

        Current favorite: hijab card
        Fall back one: race card or transgender?
        Fallback two: vagina or illegal immigrant status?

        Then you have those with more than one card:

        assuming a person get bonus points for falling into multiple categories:
        Does an pro hijab illegal immigrant vagina/gay hater get preference over a female transgender person lose points for the whole hating on another protected sub groups or does the hijab supporter card come into play for the win?

      • Anthony says:


    • Constance says:

      That Teen USA pic is pretty stunning, all blonde and all blue eyed. I say leave the pageant girls alone, I wish someone in media would go after women athletes in the Olympics. I’m so sick of women’s asses hanging out of their track and volleyball uniforms I’ve pretty much given up on the summer Olympics. For some reason the male athletes seem to be able to keep their asses covered and thankfully the women swimmers have gone to the high performance suits so I’ll be sure to watch the swim meet.

    • DeniseVB says:

      At my age? I’ll take Body Shaming for $200 Alex.

      Seriously, White Trash Hillbilly Privilege struck me first.😉

    • AFVet says:

      OMG !
      How can it be ?
      They’re all blond !

  25. DeniseVB says:

    My inspiration for today’s post ….

  26. DeniseVB says:

    Another Trump Miracle😀

    • lateblum says:

      When I saw Senator Obama in one of his very rare townhall meetings (2007), he not only did not care about Gold Star Mothers, he did not know what a Gold Star Mother was. A woman rose to ask a question about his thoughts on the Iraq War and what he planned to propose to end it. She introduced herself as a Gold Star Mother.
      His response, and I swear to you on everything that is holy, was, “I’m sure you are a very good mother. . . ” He then went on to say that he had nothing to propose because he was “just a freshman senator” and his voice wouldn’t be heard even if he were to offer a plan. He then went on to explain that the purpose of this meeting was not to discuss the Iraq War or the cost of gasoline,or anything else except his proposal for a change in the student loan program, and that was what he planned to discuss.
      One of his college “volunteers” had to tell him what a Gaold Star Mother was so that he might apologize to the woman before he took another question.
      I swear this is true. He was an asshat from the very beginning.

  27. Constance says:

    I don’t think the Bernie Bros are going to care about the whole Russian agent BS. That is an argument that might work on an older audience or someone who studied history. Young people don’t think of Russia as being powerful or a threat. I don’t see this argument distracting them from the fact that their own party and candidate sabotaged Bernie and trashed Democracy as they understand it and neutralized their votes.

  28. Dora says:

  29. Dora says:

    He is still waiting someplace in the wings. 🙂

    • swanspirit says:

      In case Hilz is indicted?

    • DeniseVB says:

      Bless his heart, he’s a moron. In my USSS book (Kesslar). The Bidens fly home to Wilmington every weekend on AF2. Sometimes he flies back to Andrews AFB to play golf with Obama, then flies back, then comes back to DC the next day. He uses AF2 as his personal taxi on weekends. To stay on budget, the AF and USSS use their training budgets for the pilots and agents. Professional politicians are so out of touch.

  30. DeniseVB says:

    Speaking of white trash, snork…..


    A photo posted by Lena Dunham (@lenadunham) on

  31. Dora says:

    Wow! Hillary is really bringing them in. Just look at that crowd!

  32. AFVet says:

    Well we’ve never had a first lady look like this.
    I bet all of them wished they did.

  33. Dora says:

    • swanspirit says:

      I want to know why Khan gets to be an American, and his wife doesn’t.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Watching the MD floods, you okay girl?

      • Myiq2xu™ says:

        But . . . but . . .she CHOOSES to wear the hijab and be quiet and submissive!


      • Mt.Laurel says:

        Oh my. I am sure the bitter little man would not stand for such things. He can wave his little piece of paper all he wants but he does not really like the constitution, it might give wife ideas like she had rights or something. /s

        And I have not seen anyone mention the obvious so what the heck:

  34. DeniseVB says:

    I will rue the day I entered a John Podesta thread on twitter, looks like I tapped the HRC Troll Team, sigh…..

  35. Venus says:

    This article is great. It reads like an obituary, for those who richly deserve one, lest their vile deeds be forgotten. And then, as part of the ritual, we can all piss on their graves.

    Who’s Worse: Trump’s Neo-Nazis or Clinton’s Press?

    In this Rodin-vs-Godzilla election, the best I can hope for is to see my enemies discomfited before I watch my country get destroyed. So the question is not: which candidate do I like better, the man who has never read the Constitution, or the woman who has read it and swears to destroy it?

    The question is: which group of evil thugs would I prefer to watch reeling in shock and horror as the results come in? Who is worse and more deserving of punishment: the white supremacist, anti-semitic neo-Nazis of the alt-Right who spew their inner filth at anyone who attacks their hero Trump, or Scott Pelley, David Muir, Wolf Blitzer, Dean Baquet and the rest of the leftist news media who spew their pro-Hillary lies at the dwindling audiences willing to listen to and believe them?

    The answer seems obvious: the journalists are worse than the neo-Nazis.

    The alt-Right are irritating scum, but for three reasons they don’t bother me much.

    Ah, but the pompous, corrupt, blandly dishonest lowlifes of our mainstream press: They are powerful, well-paid, and respected by the ignorant, no small tribe. Their just desserts have yet to be served. For them to watch Trump get elected president would be only a small taste of the hell they so richly deserve.

    Their job is to tell the truth and they lie. Every day, every newscast, every newspaper edition. They lie to support Democrats and denigrate Republicans. They lie by omission, by emphasis, and sometimes outright. They take the powerful tools given them to disperse information to a free people, and use them instead in the service of their party and their bad ideas.

    Conyers: Hillary Should Have Press Conferences ‘All The Time’

    It would be difficult to condemn them for relentlessly attacking Trump if they hadn’t done the same thing to far, far better men like Mitt Romney and George W. Bush — and indeed to every Republican who has run for office since Reagan shocked them all with both his popularity and his success. But to watch them use Trump’s faults to distract their audience from the economic, military and social failures of the Obama presidency and to elevate to respectability a greedy, conniving, lying crone like Hillary Clinton, all while pretending that they are reporting the news fair and square — this is more than the moral mind should be forced to contemplate.

    Nothing exemplifies their criminal behavior more than their treatment of the Tea Party. These ordinary Americans who sought to express their support for lower taxes and Constitutional governance were relentlessly portrayed as racist and violent by the media, while the sins of the racist and violent Occupy movement were relentlessly omitted and disguised. And when the Obama administration, at the president’s instigation, used the IRS and the Justice Department to bully and intimidate these good people into silence, the media let the scandal fade, let the president lie, let evil-doers like Lois Lerner walk away largely unscathed. Obama’s actions were worse than anything Richard Nixon ever thought of doing, and the media treated it like a bagatelle.

    The media’s treatment of the Tea Party was the ugliest case of scattershot slander since McCarthy. It was a war of the few against the many, the elite against the people, the ruling class against the Constitution or, to put it in political terms, the socialists against those who would be free.

    If the people should decide to elect Donald Trump president only as an act of retaliation against the well-dressed, well-spoken, well-paid, well-educated trash that is our journalist class, it will serve the journalists right. And to watch Pelley, Muir, Blitzer, Paquet and the rest have their reams of lies crumpled up and shoved back down their throats, to see them get their heads buried in the ordure of their own deceit, to have the opportunity to spit on the upturned heels of their expensive shoes before they sink into the dung — well, at least it will provide me with a fleeting moment of laughter in these, the waning days of our republic.

    • taw46 says:

      Bravo! That’s what I want on election night, to watch all those a-holes’ faces as the results roll in. Too many to name.

  36. 49erDweet says:

    I want to bankrupt the press and imprison about 60% of the congressional GOP. For starters.

  37. Myiq2xu™ says:

Comments are closed.