Dog Days of Summer

Pacino style. Open Thread (Attica! Attica! Attica!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

158 Responses to Dog Days of Summer

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Is it Nov yet ? It’s bad enough to follow the politics, but NBC seems to insist on politicizing the Olympics too. Muslim girl should have carried the flag….wahhhh. Geesh.

    • Constance says:

      Why the Muslim girl NBC? Because it fits your narrative? News orgs are supposed to report what is going on not make up stories they find compelling.

      • mothy67 says:

        You funny. The news media having integrity.

      • lizzy says:

        They are being repaid with low ratings. Browbeat and lecture-people switch the channel. Who Wants to watch shows where countries are excluded for doping; the major story is a mosquito; and are the venues ready? I’ll watch a Blueblood rerun.

    • taw46 says:

      Oops, so sad NBC. French woman knocked the Muslim girl out of individual round (she will still compete in team event). So sorry, there goes your narrative.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I turned off my notifications from the local NBC even though they have good traffic and weather alerts because there were four blips just this morning about that attention hog and her head garb, that I assume actually almost hidden by the protective head gear for fencing, and how it represents America. This has been going on for days. Would say an Amish women get this much press?

      It was rather fun to see one of the other local stations play up that fact the Phelps is a Maryland native and such an honor to have him carry the flag.

      Dueling news blips.

  2. DeniseVB says:

    One of my favorite movies of all time.

  3. Dora says:

    Here He Is. The Spoiler.

    • lyn says:

      He has charisma. LOL.

    • DeniseVB says:

      It does give the anti-Trumpers something else to talk about🙂 There’s over 100+ candidates and parties running for President in 2016, and that’s the best the NeverTrumpers can get behind ? See the list:

    • kanaughty says:

      nevertrump is a damned clown show. do they really want possibly what 3 far left liberal supreme court judges nominated in the next 4 years? they seem to forget the court will swing if they let hillary win. and they are letting her win by backing any 3rd party peeps.

      • kanaughty says:

        not to mention nominations to these appeals courts like the one on the west coast that keeps allowing these unconstitutional california gun laws to remain law. it’s the right to bare arms, not lock it up in your house only for break ins. you actually get to bare it, carry it according to the constitution. nevertrumpers are fools. and i am coming to think the gope and the nevertrumpers want to lose so they can keep complaining for 4-8 more years instead of actually fixing our problems. because they make more money complaining against the party in power probably. money talks.

        • blowme0bama says:

          You’re just now figuring that out? They LOVE being out of power. Their “think tank” donors pour in the money when they feel threatened by the left being in power. They don’t want the reins, they want to lose and be the only hope of slowing the leftist destruction down.

  4. DeniseVB says:

    Follow the Olympics, because for the USA, it’s Gold or nothing, and Silver is the first loser🙂

    • lateblum says:

      Today on the morning news on WGN-TV the sports announcer/reporter ranged for namely minutes about NBC and the restrictions on other tv networks r/t reporting on the Olympics. He was fuming and said that among the restrictions are: no network can report.on the Olympics for longer than 2 minutes and cannot report again on a news program that runs 3 hours later! So if the morning news reports for only the allotted 2 minutes. The noontime report may NOT report at all because it starts 3 hours later. Also, they must run a “ribbon”at the bottom of the screen giving “thanks” to NBCSports for any photos of video. They cannot wear Olympics garb of any type and cannot refer to the Olympics in the news.
      There was much, much more but I can’t recall. He was livid because some viewers had complained about the lack of coverage on WGN. He mocked NBC, and mocked the medal report -which they are also forbidden to report. He reported a medal count from some mythical competition and referred to (the US) “Narnia”. There were also “Oz” and “The Good South Korea” among other nations. I wish I could recall the other “nations” in his report.
      The control NBC has is unbelievable. I’m gonna see if I can watch somewhere online. I don’t have Roku.

      • Constance says:

        This morning one of Seattle’s NBC competing channels said “Good luck if you are wanting to watch the Olympics live, the best you can do is probably see a taped version run 2 week from now”. Then they recommended the Canadian channels coverage.

        • lateblum says:

          Good for them!!! If there were a practical alternative here in the Chicago area, I’d look there for sure.
          Was ABC this terrible when they started the coverage 40 something years ago?

  5. helenk3 says:

    this may sound weird, but maybe the public should start paying more attention to who is running for vice president for the dems and also look real closely at Huma. If Hillary’s heath is so bad who will run the country if she wins?

    • mothy67 says:

      Something about Tim Kaine sets off alarms. He seems what when I was a kid we called nasty. I can’t say pedo but you know how when you are in the car instinct takes over. Times out and about with a kid without knowing you place your body between the child and danger. Its not something you think about. Just happens. Kaine disconcerts me.

    • kanaughty says:

      i don’t know what’s going on with hillary, but it seems like the tick of parkinson’s. i guess eventually it will come out. you can’t hide it for too long. drugs can mask it for a little while. i don’t like kaine, and wished she would have picked webb instead.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Hills and I are the same age. I don’t know if I could run for President , I can hardly make it to my neighborhood garden club meetings.😀

        • lateblum says:

          At Hill’s and your age, I might have wanted to run, but prolly could not have done. Now, for certain I couldn’t run. I can’t imagine the grueling task of campaigning. It doesn’t sound pretty.

    • 49erDweet says:

      A very, very valid question with her situation. And……even before she goes, who’s gonna be behind the magic curtain pulling all the various strings?

  6. mothy67 says:

    I can’t buy any of the polls. I know of not one person that supports Billary. . I know dishwashers and CEOs. Even my prog friends dislike her. My accountant, lawyer and doctor are all 30 to 50 yo women. Successful they find her insulting. My D.O. is vehement. She hates the gender card. Acknowledges that history might have been tough, but she busted her ass. Not sure why she went DO as opposed to MD

    • Ann says:

      I saw my first Clinton sign last week… next subdivision over. I should clarify: first and only Clinton sign.

      I see Trump signs all the time. Throw a rock, hit a Trump sign.

      This is in NYS.

      And like you, Mothy, I know of no one (and my immediate family is hard core dem) who has stated outright that they are voting for Hillary.

  7. votermom says:

    Thanks Ann!

    • Ann says:

      How do you like the “I am not a robot” captcha? Even using Askimet I get spam comments that make it through. Even worse, the legit comments that have to sit until I approve them. While I hate captcha myself, the “I am not a robot” one does not prevent me from posting somewhere (as opposed to the higher math 2+5 ones😉 ), so it might be better for my readers…

      • votermom says:

        I don’t know f I have control over it, so I haven’t given it much thought. Do you get a lot of spam?

        • Ann says:

          “Akismet has protected your site from 420,859 spam comments already.
          There are 28 comments in your spam queue right now.”

          A few slip through, but it is mostly the legit first-time commenters that have to wait for my approval (not all comments are directed at me – on some of those recipes they have conversations with one another, and so email notifications of new comments) that I would consider captcha.

  8. Dora says:

    • taw46 says:

      I don’t know if Hillary really has health problems, although there are some strange photos/videos of her. Maybe she has minor problems, maybe major ones. Even if it is all made up, I don’t care. After what she and her campaign/Obama/media have done to Trump the last couple of weeks, I don’t really give a damn what is being done to her. Do they think they can call him unfit, insane, unstable, dangerous, etc, and not expect retaliation? No sympathy here.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    Meanwhile, I’m sure Gabby Douglas’ sponsors have told her to put on a happy face or else.

    • lateblum says:

      You know, this is what I thought last night while watching Rio 2016. The comments were about how she called people who didn’t support her or who questioned her as “haters”. I watched her as she interacted with her teammates and wondered who reminded her that she is part of a TEAM. Because suddenly she smiled and mouthed something that looked like she was “joining the team’s chat fest”. Up to then, she hadn’t said anything to anyone (that I noticed). Maybe I’m just being catty. But the other girl -with the hijab – also has caught my attention for all the wrong reasons. And it’s such a disappointment to think this way. 😟

      • CiscoKid says:

        Everyone’s a hater or a racist…that’s if you dare to disagree.
        The hijab? Every time I see one I think,”that’s the way muslims believe ALL women should wear/look.
        If not, you get beat, maybe stoned. Look at what’s happening in Europe.

    • votermom says:

      We watched last night. Gabby looked tense the whole time. Her team mates, specially Lay, looked like they were having fun.
      We also watched the qualifying where they picked Team USA. Shabby performed poorly then, and only got in on the basis of her rep / celebrity, imo.

      You, did you see the 41 year old Romanian gymnast last night? Wow!

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I have not been watching but I do like their uniforms. Whoever designed went for a cut, color tone and look that is flattering on all of the team members and appears to be comfortable.

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Watching Trump’s live economy speech on FBN…from Detroit ! Many interrupting and thrown out of the venue. He’s sticking to his prompter and going off prompter at the same time. Just gave a shout out to Bernie supporters being better at disrupting than the plants there now. LOL !

    • taw46 says:

      He is in control, not letting the many protestors get to him.

    • taw46 says:

    • taw46 says:

    • Anthony says:

      I had it on (FOX) as background noise while I was working on a project for a client. I thought it was a good, detailed speech and left no questions (to anyone who was listening, that is – the NeverTrumpers are bound to find fault with it.

      I was also surprised to her FOX anchors relentlessly slamming Trump and then alluding to his “unqualified to be POTUS!” status. which was bestowed upon him by Hillary Clinton, the entire Democrat party, the NeverTrumpers and most of the MSM.

      This is really getting on my nerves, and now makes me dig my heels in even more. Even if the GOPe is successful in getting him off the ticket with their new Candidate Asshat (or whatever his name is), I’ll write his name in. I’m just soooooo over this BS….

  11. Dora says:

    While listening to Trump talk about American steel, American hands, American this and American that, I told Hubby that Donald sounded just like John Galt! I’m not sure if Hubby knew who I meant.

    Someone on CTH did though and as soon as I saw this post I knew I had to steal it.🙂

  12. Dora says:

    Conservative Tree House.

  13. DeniseVB says:

    Not sure of the source, but wouldn’t this be fun if true?

  14. Dora says:

    Is she so afraid to let people hear what he has to say?

  15. DeniseVB says:

    Tammy’s usually a good source, if this is true, SMH !

  16. swanspirit says:

    Team USA is winning rowing!! Those are some strong women!!

  17. mothy67 says:

    I’d be willing to bet Trump has made plans for this. He has talked about running for decades. He walked the streets as a very young man surveying the city. Then he put his name on that city..
    Think hills is going to implode.

  18. mothy67 says:

    Oh my

    One Senator, Scott Wagner from York, even went so far as to say he’d commit suicide before voting for Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton.

    Best erection ever

  19. Dora says:

    • mothy67 says:

      I think she is going to crack. This is her time damn it. How dare the unwashed be concerned with their own futures. She flew a bunchbof times and stuff.

      • CiscoKid says:

        It will happen on the debate floor.
        The pressure will be to much.

        • mothy67 says:

          My thoughts as well. He can needle her into a straight jacket and a 72 hold. I started tending bar at 16. You learn to see anger. She seems to be percolating.

        • Dora says:

          I hope it happens on the debate floor. That’s about the only place the media won’t be able to hide her.

          • CiscoKid says:

            That’s why the propaganda corps, media, is so intent on trying to destroy Trump by any means.Yep, Hillary will be out there all on her own.

    • Constance says:

      I’m sure the Dems in charge would love it if Hillary fell apart then they could move What’s his name the VP into the Presidential spot, he was hand picked by The Powers That Be after all. That way the Dem party could dodge the Bernie bullet and the Hillary bullet in a passive manner and get back on track with a regular young white guy candidate.

      • lizzy says:

        I think it’s more likely they’ll try to install Mooch for Obama’s next term. Her convention speech was soooooo presidential.

  20. taw46 says:

    Oh, yeah. We loved Clock Boy so much the first time, we can’t wait to relive it. Not!

  21. mothy67 says:

    Why do the smarty pants not get that over using a word robs it of any force or meaning. Everyday I read somewhere that Trump is a “nationalist”. Trying rather desperately to tag him Hitler. It is not yet mid August and that meme is stale. With weekly savage jihadist murders protecting what is dear and close doesn’t seem like the worst idea. Machetes on the street makes me far more uncomfortable than some dull metrosexual talking head calling me raycist. That word has no power over me.
    This season the dimocrats constantly make me think ” me thinks the lady doth protest too much”. I think they are always guilty of what they charge. Insane was a bridge too far. Bam hills adjustment is brought into question. Emails from DNC declared racism. I was working in a bar on the Upper West Side(Patzo) waitress was busy I said where do you need me to take this glass of wine. She described the guys tie. Afternoon lunch, Manhattan every guy had on a tie. There was only one black guy he was having the white wine. I asked her why she didn’t say the black guy. She thought that was raycist. Huh? She had gone to Spence and was playing waitress. Tuition is yuuuge. She was more aware of his skin tone than me. I thought referring to a black man as black was okay. She had the issue. Her family is super liberal. I had her send a fax once asked for it back. She said I can’t I sent it. She was 18 going to Brown in the fall and thought a fax machine was magical teleportation device. I don’t think in 1992 the term progressives was used like today. Her family was just the typical over educated UWS denizen.

  22. Dora says:

    • DandyTIger says:

      Wouldn’t surprise me. After all, in the end, this is establishment/elite of both parties against an outsider that might shake up the system. In the end, I expect almost everyone in the establishment will be on Hillary’s side (publicly or secretly) before it’s all said and done. Trump is a threat to the status quo.

    • lateblum says:

      Hillary said she would NEVER take advice from Kissinger and compared him to Satan. I hope someone has the video of that.

  23. Myiq2xu™ says:

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      This is despite the film receiving extremely reviews from critics, with the movie being branded as “squalid sexism masquerading as anarchy,” “hideously timed gun worship,” as well as the “Donald Trump of superhero movies.”

  24. Dora says:

    Soon-To-Be-Released Book by Judicial Watch President Tom Fitton Warns of Massive Voter Fraud Danger in Current Presidential Election

  25. lyn says:

    Neutered cats have bigger balls than these GOPe losers.

    • Somebody says:

      A lot of the establishment ran around screaming the same kind of stuff about Reagan.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Neocons that got us into Iraq. I’m shocked that they don’t love the guy who says that was a yuuuuge mistake and immoral. And so are helping the person who voted for and supported the war in Iraq. And went on to help launch other wars as SoS. Shocked I tell you.

  26. Dora says:

    The Trump Reformation. I like that. 🙂

  27. SHV says:

    Above topic, FWIW:
    “The tragic romance that shaped Meryl Streep’s life”

    • DeniseVB says:

      Great read, thanks for sharing.

    • lateblum says:

      What Denise said. ❤️

    • SHV says:

      ““When I saw that girl there with him like that I thought, ‘There’s nothing like that.’ I mean, that’s it for me. As great as she is in all her work, that’s what I think of when I think of her.”

      Gave me a new insight into Meryl Streep.

    • helenk3 says:

      thank you for posting this. I have admired Meryl Streep as an actress for a long time. Now I can also admire her for being a great person of strength and able to give great love.

    • lyn says:

      But, but … Trump University!

    • Anthony says:

      Saw that on the news. Love this part:

      “But aside from the wrongful death and negligence charges, they’re also going after Clinton for defamation and intentional infliction of emotional distress.

      The defamation charge concerns this:

      “Defendant Clinton made false and defamatory statements negligently, recklessly, purposefully, and/or intentionally with actual malice… by stating that Plaintiffs were lying about Clinton having told them that the Benghazi Attack was caused by an anti-Muslim YouTube video.” (bolding mine)

      I’ve been reluctant to talk shit about her, most likely because of my ego regarding the amount of effort I put into supporting her in her previous political incarnation, when her platform was the complete opposite of what it is now.

      When I saw/heard her call Ms. Smith a liar re: the statement about the video, she completely lost my trust and my opinion of her radically changed. Ridiculing a mother who lost her child for her own political gain has made her (imo) lower than a snake’s ass while its slithering through a fault line. I’m disgusted with her, and I doubt I’ll ever change my mind.

      • Constance says:

        Mrs Smith is who finalized my change of mind regarding Hillary too. That is just stunning that anyone could lie to a Mother who is greeting her son in a coffin.

  28. taw46 says:

    “This is the most united effort by the press, certainly in the 45 years that I’ve been on the national political presidential stage of analysis, that I’ve ever seen them united with this kind of fierceness — against one person who they are trying to destroy, where there are no rules, which is Donald Trump,” he said, describing the crucial advantage that might help Clinton overcome her poor campaign performance. “I don’t think there’s anything comparable since ‘64 with Barry Goldwater. You go back — and I was very young, but I do remember some of that — where you had everybody questioning his sanity, and whatever, in the press.”

    “The press is in the business of protecting the political class,” Caddell explained. “The fierceness of their response, as it is in the political class, is not just a little bit inspired by fear that someone who is representing the disruptive majority of America is a threat to their position and power. Donald Trump has got to understand he is, in this campaign, in a different kind of campaign. The country has to understand, we aren’t talking about a press that’s reporting the news.”

  29. helenk3 says:

    this is from the election of 2012.
    as much as I can not stand trump, I do not want this fraud to happen in this election. I want America to better than a 3rd world country.

    • CiscoKid says:

      Theft of elections and voter fraud is a rich Chicago tradition.
      Dick Gregory, a famous AA comedian of the 60’s once commented,
      “When they talk about the spook vote in Chicago, their not talking about the Negro vote.
      Of course referring to the dead voting.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      So they are going to keep the new house in DC and the old house in Chicago )the one they never use)? because DC only has shadow senators and I do not think Norton is planning on giving up her cushy position for MOO.

  30. lyn says:


  31. westcoaster says:

    a suicide bomber in Pakistan- killed 70 (mostly lawyers that were mourning the recent death of the president of a bar association)

  32. SHV says:

    Mid-Night Beach Volley Ball with Kerri and April!!

  33. swanspirit says:

    1AM men’s gymnastics! Wow, men and women are different! 😇

  34. Dora says:

    Dog Days of Summer.

  35. Dora says:

    • cynic says:

      Hmmm, I have a 96 y.o. aunt that loves to read, and a 98 yo aunt who just passed away, one month from turning 99, and she read up until the very end.

      I wonder if reading on the internet counts? If that’s the case, I’ll live way past 100.

      • lateblum says:

        LOL. I thought of my mother who died at 98. She read novels, short stories, the newspaper – anything she could get her hands on until she died. She also worked crossword puzzles and played word-based games like Boggle, Scattergories, etc. with gusto. One of the last things I took to her in the hospital was a newspaper. 4 days before she died, we all played Quiddler – a word game – with her in ICU. She beat us all without effort.

  36. Dora says:

    FOX News’ Medical Team: What Do Hillary Clinton’s Neurological Records Show?

    Dr. Marc Seigel said “the public has a right to know” and speculated on what the issue could be but was more interested in previous spills and a concussion she had in 2012.

  37. Venus says:

    Ho Lee Phuc!
    The Orlando shooter’s father was invited to Hillary’s FL rally, got a prominent seat behind her & yes, it’s him, the local news interviewed him! Are you fucking kidding me?!?!?

    Terrorists for Hillary!

    • Somebody says:

      Although the optics are bad, he got a standard DNC invite via email as did thousands in the state. It appears he himself got there early to ensure he had a prime seat. As much as I’d love to slam the Clinton campaign for this, the man could have just as easily attended a Trump rally and gotten there early enough to have a prime seat in camera view…….although to be fair he would have had to have stood in line for hours to accomplish that at a Trump rally.

      • taw46 says:

        I get that he is a member of the Dem party and received an invite. But, he wasn’t just “in the crowd”, he was sitting ON the stage, behind her. I thought all campaigns controlled who sat on the stage, for this very reason, to avoid any embarrassments to the candidate. Why was he on stage?

    • Ann says:

      Here’s the video:

      From his interview it sounded to me like he may be on the DNC mass email list and that was his invite. I may have misunderstood though. But, was it just a co-inky-dink that he sat right behind her?

      I can’t think of worse optics for her, and a Trump or RNC PAC needs to get on this one fast doe an ad in Florida.

  38. Venus says:

    OMG — the kids on Twitter have dubbed that slow-witted bald #NeverTrumpo Evan McMullin who is *now* entering the race to stop Trump “Egg McMuffin” and they are meme’ing the hell out of him. I bet he drops out within a week.

    It’s some funny shit:

  39. votermom says:


    I used the Terror Dad at Rally pic

Comments are closed.