The Crawdad Crew (and Sunday Open Thread)


A couple of weeks ago, I posted a comment that a radio broadcast where we can all get together and actually hear each other talk would be a great idea.  I said “all I need is an off-the-hook co-host” and Angie immediately jumped on it!  We’ve since opened an account called “The Crawdad Crew” and here we are; about to have our first live broadcast!

We’ve already had a successful test broadcast to get used to the interface and check out our chemistry, which is off the charts btw…  I had hoped to include a video with some clips from our conversation, but my sound editing app was upgraded mercilessly, and the new format makes it almost impossible to isolate selections unless you’re Einstein.  Its currently 7:30 am here in NYC and I started working with it at 4am.  No dice – sorry folks.  But the Blogtalk Radio interface is perfectly working as you’ll see later today.

  • SHOWTIME:  3:00 pm Eastern, Noon Pacific
  • OUR PANEL: Angie, Lola, Dandy Tiger and Me
  • TOPICS: Media Bias, latest Wikileaks revelations, and anything that the Sunday Talk Shows are lying about this week (or as we call it, “The Stephanopoulae Report”)

Its simple to use – follow this link to listen from your PC, tablet or phone.  Once your’e there, you’ll have the opportunity to start a free guest account, which will also let you in to our live chat room.  I suggest that option for those of you who are too shy to speak on the air because Lola will be monitoring it like a hawk so she can communicate your questions to the panel.  If you’d rather not set up an account, simply call in to the number provided.

You can also leave your suggestions for additional topics in your comments below, which we will add as time permits.  The broadcast is scheduled to last for 2 hours in the event caller traffic is high or our panel is particularly mouthy (entirely possible😀 ).

Hope to hear from you later! (call in and shoot your mouth off at (929) 477-1796 )

This is an open thread

This entry was posted in 2016 Elections, Politics, Trumpmania. Bookmark the permalink.

186 Responses to The Crawdad Crew (and Sunday Open Thread)

  1. votermom says:

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Can’t wait for the show ! Today, I will just concentrate on being able to listen in, Break a Leg !

  3. DeniseVB says:

    From what I understand, this happened because cops killed a black thug pointing a stolen gun at them? Obama’s world of hating whitey😦

    • votermom says:

      I’m sure Trump is to blame for this riot. If only he were not running, everything would be peaceful and wonderful.

    • Anthony says:

      FOX just had coverage of the Alderman calling for more violence. WTF is going on around here??? Can law enforcement NOT arrest an elected official for refusing to obey the law and inciting public danger??? or is this all part of the “Summer of Rage” to attempt martial law to keep Okie-Dokey in the WH?!

    • lateblum says:

      It was a gun with 23 rounds, per a report I heard on the news this morning.
      I’d bet that if he killed 2 or 3 LEOs, these thugs would still call the shooting by MPD, “brutality”.

    • lateblum says:

      This morning, there was a report of a sniper on a rooftop in one of the south side neighborhoods. When the CPD went up to the roof, they found 2 bullet-proof vests and a black hood, along with a stand for the gun. (And it looked like a rifle was in the stand. But that wasn’t said. It was what I thought I saw.)

  4. DeniseVB says:

    WaPo article on the RedState Gathering. What a bunch of Debbie Downers, I missed nothing. Tried following #RSG16 on twitter, just a bunch of Beck fans. Ugh.

  5. elliesmom says:

    Will your show be archived?

    • Anthony says:

      Yes it will. I would also like you to consider being a guest host in the future when the future of public education is a topic. You’ve had a lot to say about that, and have shown insight that I think would be valuable and informative to many people who are otherwise under informed on the possibilities. (begging you to say yes…)

      The link to the archived podcast is

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        Thanks, I just got home from volunteering. Although I guess I could have called in and sent OBOTHILLBOT heads spinning but I was having enough trouble with those same idiots giving out personal information on our adoption counselors, bringing cats to show that had not be cleared for adoption by out vet , and pushing applications on people as if we were having a fire sale (we do not push – all foster all volunteer – no need to try and move cats ASAP as once they are in our system they have a foster home until placed).

        • 49erDweet says:

          Could use a couple of your kitties for about a year. Recent smokey conditions from the forest fire next door have been pushing field mice (and rats) into our garage. Our real tuff guard dog just sniffs at ’em and leaves ’em alone.

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Doing my part to spread The Goos Word🙂 (see what I did there?) Thanks Geoff !

  7. Dora says:

    All the networks should be covering this. Stop the damned Trump bashing and let the people see what’s really going on!

  8. foxyladi14 says:

    Peaceful protesting is allowed.
    Rioting and burning, Blocking roads is a crime. 👿

  9. Dora says:

  10. Dora says:

    Please pray for Donald Trump. If you’re not a praying person, say one anyway. It’s worth a try.

    • Anthony says:

      NOW is something I’ll be throwing out there today as well. I commented on it months ago, when identifying NeverTrumpers as Bush Republicans. GHWB resurrected Woodrow Wilson/Winston Churchill’s idea when he took office. Ironic that it is still considered a “conspiracy theory” despite these facts:

      “In his speech, Toward a New World Order, delivered on September 11, 1990 during a joint session of the US Congress, President George H. W. Bush described his objectives for post-Cold War global governance in cooperation with post-Soviet states. He stated:

      Until now, the world we’ve known has been a world divided—a world of barbed wire and concrete block, conflict and cold war. Now, we can see a new world coming into view. A world in which there is the very real prospect of a new world order. In the words of Winston Churchill, a “world order” in which “the principles of justice and fair play … protect the weak against the strong …” A world where the United Nations, freed from cold war stalemate, is poised to fulfill the historic vision of its founders. A world in which freedom and respect for human rights find a home among all nations.[15]

      The New York Times observed that progressives were denouncing this new world order as a rationalization of American imperial ambitions in the Middle East, while conservatives rejected any new security arrangements altogether and fulminated about any possibility of a UN revival.[16] However, Chip Berlet, an American investigative reporter specializing in the study of right-wing movements in the US, writes:

      When President Bush announced his new foreign policy would help build a New World Order, his phrasing surged through the Christian and secular hard right like an electric shock, since the phrase had been used to represent the dreaded collectivist One World Government for decades. Some Christians saw Bush as signaling the End Times betrayal by a world leader. Secular anticommunists saw a bold attempt to smash US sovereignty and impose a tyrannical collectivist system run by the United Nations.[4]”

      • Anthony says:

        SHIT! – HATE autocorrect! *NWO* not NOW. Damn….

        • lateblum says:

          If you have (edit) following the date on your entry, click on it to correct your auto correct “corrections” . I hate auto correct. It reminds me of #NeverTrump and HRC people who think they know better than everyone else. Grrrrrrr

    • lateblum says:

      Who is Michael Delauzon? I see his tweets, but know nothing about him.
      I googled him and got his Twitter account which has nothing to identify or describe him.

      • Dora says:

        All I know about him is that he’s a member of the NRA and a Trump supporter. His name is often included among the retweets, which is where I found it. He sometimes has valuable information.

  11. foxyladi14 says:

    love this ❤

  12. Shez ZK says:

    Anthony I’m delighted you have started a new BTR radio show for the crew here. I attended and supported your old show, and also the one Lola had a few months back. I’ve been hoping some kind of show would get scheduled soon. And now you have Angie, my fave kickass ranter? And DT too? Pure bliss!

    It figures this show I’ve been waiting and waiting for is scheduled for this afternoon, the only day in weeks I have to be somewhere. Our eldest daughter-in-law and her sisters are hosting a baby shower for our (my hubby’s) eldest grandson & fiance for our FIRST great-grandchild, due in Nov. My hubs is so tickled he decided to come along and take me shopping for gifts a couple of days ago, how precious is that.

    It starts at 1pm plus a half hour drive back home, I’m sure I’ll miss the show. But I’ll listen to the podcast when I get back. I’ll miss the interaction in the chatroom though, which is always fun. I’ll gladly call in on your next show. Best Election Evah! I can’t stop laughing after having lost my sense of humor for the past 7 years…

    • Anthony says:

      I’m delighted to hear this, Shez! Although I’m not sure about doing a weekly broadcast, I’m looking forward to kicking it off today. It has to be compatible with my and Angie’s schedules, as well as the schedules of guest co-hosts.

      At this juncture, my idea is to treat it like a circuit party, and give a few days to a week’s notice on when the next show will be. It could be on a weekday evening, or a weekend day. Maybe a couple of times a month, or weekly, or maybe even a couple times a week, all at different times and on different days. Who knows? Its all up in the air, and frequency will be determined by both live attendance as well as archived listens.

      I totally LOVE our panel, and glad to hear your feedback about us! Should we re-name it to “Loose Cannons-R-Us”?😀

    • Anthony says:

      Also – Congratulations on the (coming) new addition!

  13. helenk3 says:

    something good happened in Baltimore last night.
    baseball team stopped game to watch Michael Phelps last swim. The swim team won the gold. what a great way to end his Olympic career

  14. helenk3 says:

    the Irish in me says the rallying cry should be “UP THE REBELS”. just saying

  15. votermom says:

    Gotta head out with the family.
    Good luck with the radio show!
    I will listen when I get back.

  16. helenk3 says:

    More: US Olympic officials say Ryan Lochte, 3 other US swimmers robbed by people posing as armed police – AP
    End of alert

    bad mistake having games in Brazil

  17. helenk3 says:

    US President Obama briefed on Milwaukee
    violence; White House says adviser Valerie Jarrett spoke with Mayor
    Barrett and offered support for local authorities – @markknoller

    See original on

    does anyone see anything wrong this? I thought the vice president handled things when the president did not want to do so. I do not remember val jar being on the ballot and elected to any office

  18. helenk3 says:

    you can not fix stupid

  19. Anthony says:

    15 minutes til showtime!

    • blowme0bama says:

      You have an excellent radio voice. Very organized, I suspect you’ve done broadcast before?

      • Anthony says:

        Thanks for the compliment! Just blogtalk radio here and there, but I paid for my degree by working as a session singer in a really competitive NYC recording studio, so there’s all that training….

  20. Dora says:

    Sounds like good news!

  21. 1539days says:

    Blog talk radio has a quirk where the show may not automatically start if you are on the page. Refresh just as the show starts like I did.

  22. Dora says:

    Governor Scott Walker.may send in National Guard.

    Milwaukee burns: Four buildings and a police car are set on fire as violent protests erupt after cops shoot and kill armed man during chase

    The Milwaukee County sheriff is asking for help from the National Guard after violence broke out in Milwaukee in response to a police shooting.

    Sheriff David Clarke said Sunday that a repeat of the previous night’s violence on the city’s north side cannot be allowed.

    He says he has consulted with Governor Scott Walker.

    • Constance says:

      They should invite the Seattle riot bike police over. You should have seen those guys harass the Anarchists from Oregon on May Day! It was great TV. They chased them around for hours until they collapsed. Of course it was about 75 degrees out and that is enough to cause heat stroke in people from Seattle and Portland especially if they are wearing black.

      • taw46 says:

        That was fun! 😊

        • Constance says:

          I know! I don’t think it is really clear from that clip but what the bike cops did was herd the trouble makers around at a pace that was too fast for a man on foot, the women dropped out early on and they herded the guys to the Costco parking lot after running them around for a few hours. Obviously the punks aren’t in very good shape so they ended up stripping down to their boxers so they wouldn’t be wearing black and sitting on the curb dehydrated and exhausted and sick looking. Then two cops would break off and stand there staring at the punks.

      • lyn says:


      • lateblum says:

        What taw said. I smiled nearly all the way through. I guess I’m a sadist at heart.
        (Given the right circumstances.) 😊

  23. Hey y’all. About to go into our second hour!

  24. helenk3 says:

    Milwaukee police chief says police officer who fatally shot a black man is also black – AP
    End of alert
    Fatal police shooting in Milwaukee, Aug. 13, 2016
    Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett: ‘I don’t think it’s appropriate’ for body camera video to be made public today – @TheoKeith

  25. DandyTIger says:

    Fun show. Thanks for the invite.

  26. blowme0bama says:

    That really was excellent. it flowed well, very spontaneous, and the time flew by.

    • Anthony says:

      Thanks! Still worried about having to watch your language?😀😀😀

      • blowme0bama says:

        Imagine the proverbial curmudgeonly old uncle retired from the Navy. Imagine him after having drank a pot of coffee and talking about the religion of peace building a muslim church down the street, or the need to recognize his white privelege. That’d be about what I’d sound like.

  27. mothy67 says:

    Sorry I missed most of the show. Unexpected company. Did catch the closing the remarks.

  28. Anthony says:

    Thanks to Angie, Lola and Dandy for making that show so much fun! If I’m to believe the comments in chat, we kinda killed it😀

    • Venus says:

      I hope so.
      It was fun.

    • taw46 says:

      I missed the first 30 minutes. I had sound when you started (new desktop, Win10, ugh), then it disappeared. Could not get sound on my ipad, but finally did on my iphone! Could not see live chat on those two, but could see it on desktop! but, could not sign on to chat. Oh well, hope I can work it all out for the next one! You guys were great, thanks for doing that. Since I heard your voices, I will now read your comments in your voice 😉.

  29. mothy67 says:

    Can I listen to the whole thing now?

    • Anthony says:


      • lateblum says:

        Hi Anthony, I went back to listen to the archived show and had to leave after the first 30+ minutes. When I returned to the site, I couldn’t resume where I left off. Is there a trick to this? I thought that first half hour was fun, but I want to hear the remaining show without having to repeat. Is there a trick to do this? Or do I have to listen to everything at once?

        P.s. I loved the nearly hour (beginning and end segments) that I heard.

        • Anthony says:

          Yes. Once the page loads and the broadcast starts, you can pause (at the top of the page) and let the podcast load. Then just click about where you think you’d like to be in the broadcast (like the red line at the bottom of a video feed) and pick up from there.

          Hope that helped!

          • lateblum says:

            I’ll try that and see. I’m think I failed to hit pause before I left the page.
            Thanks so much.
            And thank you for doing the show. It was terrific – at least what I heard . . . 😉

  30. Anthony says:


    Thanks again to everyone!❤

  31. cynic says:

    That was fun, and you all have great radio voices! I’ve been too busy to comment these days, but I was able to prepare dinner while listening. Can’t wait til next time. Maybe I’ll be brave and even call in!

  32. Anthony says:

    Someone just messaged me and asked why I picked such a weird looking avatar for the show. I let it go back and forth for a little while before telling them its an actual pic of me that I “cartoon-ized”😀

    • lyn says:

      😀 The show was great, and I enjoyed hearing each commenter’s voice.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Been listening while doing some computer work – but it has cut off a couple times with the storms so its taking a while. Everyone sounds great. Yes, Anthony has a wonderful radio voice. It reminds me of radio before it was all bought out by media giants and everyone starting yelling.

      I have to say – it is also good to hear people say just how maddening and creepy everything has become. I often feel like I am the lonely petunia in the onion patch surrounded by people who never question their blind allegiance to a single group. It seems so few realize something is off and the consequences are potentially far worse than imagined.

      By the way, I liked the gravatar. Not strange at all. Just looked like a photo that had been rendered using visual effects in draw or photo program.

  33. Dora says:

  34. CiscoKid says:

    Media STILL calling the rioters, “protesters”
    Amazing since the videos show the destruction of buildings.

  35. 1539days says:

    Hillary has a new LGBT ad out with women kissing and everything. Must be on damage control patrol after Orlando shooter dad showed up at her rally. This is why Obama made sure the Muslim looking people in the crowd were out of camera range back in 2008.

  36. swanspirit says:

    I SO enjoyed that show!! Thank so much to everyone who put it together, and participated. I haven’t laughed like that in a long time! I will try and make every one, they are too good to miss. Makes me long for a Crawdad get together. Can you see us all seated at a long picnic table having crabs and beer? 💜💜💜

  37. mothy67 says:

    Wow Proud Military Mom!

  38. helenk3 says:

    a case of at first you don’t succeed, do not try again

  39. Venus says:

    Interesting article allegedly written by someone within the Trump campaign:

    Money quote:

    The media is run by extremely clever people who know what they are doing. Their onslaught against Donald will almost certainly have some scratching their heads about what is going on with the campaign, and why Donald seems, for once, to be on the defensive.

    All I will say to that is, there is a plan. There is a strategy. There is a method at work here. When the enemy has you surrounded—that only means there’s no way for them to escape. We are right where we want to be in August.

  40. mothy67 says:

    GREAT FUN. Great job by all so glad a listened. A little hard to hear.

    • Venus says:

      I have to get a better Microphone — mine had problems cutting out on me. ;-(

      • Anthony says:

        Its cause you were cheating :-)! Seriously, I got a Logitech c920. Any headset approved for Skype will give you excellent sound quality

      • mothy67 says:

        actually it was the volume. I tried on kindle and laptop with it all the way up. Fine with headset but I needed to listen for phone. Its probably blog.i

      • elliesmom says:

        I teach online, and when I’m in real time with students, I use a wireless headset with a mic. It means I can stir the pot on the stove while I’m listening and talking.

      • Anthony says:

        Gave you the wrong specs – my headset is Plantronics Audio 665. The Logitech c920 is my external camera.

        BlogTalk Radio says that a wired headset is preferred to bluetooth (if you can stand being tethered, I guess), because their interface could easily drop a bluetooth connection, and that would be the end of your broadcast.

        Bluetooth is great if you’re multitasking, but stirring the pot on the stove can be easily heard by your listeners. Yesterday’s broadcast featured fast ‘n furious typing and other household noises that were a bit distracting to me at times while speaking on the air, but magnified enormously on playback.

    • CiscoKid says:

      It begs the question, are there ANY honest and trustworthy people in politics?

    • 1539days says:

      There’s a lot of merit to that article, although I do think it implies that the Federal government was right when the IRS blocked the creation of Tea Party groups. The advantage with Trump is that he only wants donations to his campaign and the RNC.

  41. mothy67 says:

    Force a Christian to bake a cake, but assault Trump supporters and refuse service in a restaurant because of Trump hats?????????

    Hope Baked Alaska sues

  42. Venus says:

    So, out of nowhere, this NeverTrump starts trolling me on twitter. Look at the stupid logic of these morons. I’m starting with my tweet, that he trolled (warning, bad language):

  43. Venus says:

    I’m in moderation — too many links, I think.

  44. Venus says:

    So Nate Silver is once again predicting DOOM for Trump & actually trolled him with this tweet:

    Nate Silver ✔ @NateSilver538
    @realDonaldTrump: You’re eating peanut butter cup ice cream and listening to Wilson Phillips right now, aren’t you.

    I decided to remind him of his track record on Trump:

  45. ginainmo says:

    Listening to the podcast this morning and I’m really enjoying it. Thank you so much for doing this! I look forward to your next show.

  46. lyn says:

    But this notable trend isn’t reflected in the Bloomberg write-up here. Instead, the reporter chose to use the poll numbers that look better for Clinton: ones that added in “leaners.” What are leaners? Respondents who were first asked who they’d vote for, then answered they didn’t plan to vote or didn’t know who they’d vote for, and then were pressed to pick a candidate they were leaning toward, anyway. This is how Bloomberg got to the 6-point spread cited in its headline…double the actual spread of 3%.

  47. 49erDweet says:

    Hello? Testing. One, Two, Three, Four.

  48. elliesmom says:

    I can handle “Trump is a blowhard”. “Trump is too unpredictable.” “Trump shoots his mouth off too much to be president.” I can even agree with some of that. I’m just sick of the stupidity that Trump is the second coming of Hitler. The guy is a free market capitalist. He opened the doors to blacks and Hispanics in Palm Beach when everyone else shunned them. His grandchildren are Orthodox Jews. His ideas about vetting Muslims before we let them move here is far less radical than what FDR, the great Democratic destroyer of Hitler’s empire, did to the Japanese. When Obama attracted yuuuuge crowds, he was the Light Bringer. Mom said my biggest flaw is I don’t “suffer fools”. I don’t see it as a flaw.

  49. Dora says:

  50. foxyladi14 says:

    Even with my aids, I have a problem hearing.
    I am getting a Caption phone, so I can read what you say. 😀

  51. Dora says:

    Some people believe that George Schwartz – AKA Soros – escaped from the Nazis. He didn’t escape. He was actually one of them.

  52. votermom says:

Comments are closed.