TGIF: Steel Magnolias Edition

If you’re still plugged in, here’s a fresh open thread to play with😀

I don’t need to take a personality test to find out which Steel Magnolia character I am, I’m definitely a Ouiser !

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to TGIF: Steel Magnolias Edition

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Sally Field almost didn’t get cast since the producers didn’t think she looked old enough to have a daughter Julia Roberts’ age. Then she told them she had a son Julia’s age in real life. She got the part.

    • Somebody says:

      I’m becoming more and more like Ouiser with each passing year, however I’m more like M’Lynn (Sally Field’s character) in that I take care of everybody and everything… always falls on me. I’ve taken care of my grandmother, father, MIL, and Aunt, each with serious medical issues for YEARS…..took care of my MIL for 11 fucking years. I buried my Aunt and two weeks later my youngest child was diagnosed with cancer and now I have my 3 grandkids. I surely would have taken care of my FIL had he not passed away quickly 20 years ago. The day is not too far off that my mother will need care and guess who owns the only home with a spare bedroom downstairs??

      All of that seems to have turned me into Ouiser because I’ve been in a bad fucking mood for decades, LOL!

  2. CiscoKid says:

    TrumpForceOne has landed in Baton Rouge.
    Donald looks calm and confident.

    • DeniseVB says:

      It’s probably why I had this movie on my mind today, I always think of it when LA is in the news. Filmed in Natchitoches, Louisiana.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Ahh! For actual people things will get better, soon, now. He doesn’t actually have to be in the WH for his effect to be felt. OTOH the neverT’s will have a field day imagining the severe damages he’s doing to the ecologically fragile backwaters of the Mississippi basin. After all, they’ve never flooded before. (Oh yeah, oh yeah, oh yeah).

  3. DeniseVB says:

    Thank goodness for Dan, I don’t think the media is covering this……

  4. AFVet says:

    Well folks, the left continues to paint Donald Trump as some sort of demon.
    Here’s why he is not.

    • Anthony says:

      Good catch. As a New Yorker, I’ve heard those stories and many more. He has a penchant for pitching in without being asked to help a number of people, causes and failed city projects, but will only proceed upon a guarantee of anonymity. NYC is a small town at heart, and stories like those are part of our “gossip”. Giuliani recently alluded to this in an interview, then clammed up when pressed for details.

  5. CiscoKid says:

    Ah, Gov. Edwards of LA like a Good Democratic WANs Trump for a fair share to help relief efforts.
    I lifted this from another site.
    Trump’s decision to visit, however, was met with harsh words from Edwards.

    “We welcome him to LA, but not for a photo-op,” said his spokesman Richard Carbo in a statement. “Instead we hope he’ll consider volunteering or making a sizable donation to the LA Flood Relief Fund to help the victims of this storm. “

    • DeniseVB says:

      I think Trump’s helped more people than the Clinton Foundation. Jeh Johnson said something stupid also ……

      • dm says:

        Yeah, I read some ridiculous apologist piece on RCP this morning where the author was trying to explain why Obama won’t interrupt his vacay…sometimes the spinning is so very, very lame…I scratch my head and think who does this person think is buying this shit…then I remember one of my favorite political cartoons that perfectly illustrates Obama’s followers – “like zombies, but with no interest in brains”…

      • John Denney says:

        Silly Songs with Larry.

  6. dm says:

    I love some of the characters that Shirley McClaine has portrayed…my favorite is the mother in Terms of Endearment. She’s a bit out there in real life, but what I consider a great actress.

  7. Dora says:

    VIDEO CONTRAST: Donald Trump Visits Flood Victims in New Orleans – Obama Golfs
    Donald Trump landed in New Orleans Friday morning to visit with flood victims.

  8. helenk3 says:

    now here is a real steel magnolia maggie

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      When I finally saw the silly CGI broken glass effect form the convention it reminded me of Agatha Christie’s The Mirror Cracked from Side to Side. Hillary would of course be the murderous actress who has gone more than a bit over the edge.

    • John Denney says:

      Sign in front of the women’s locker room at my gym recently said, “Men working in locker room.”

      Apparently they couldn’t find any women plumbers.

      Hillary should lead the way and shatter the porcelain ceiling!

  9. DeniseVB says:

    WoW, on ABC news, good for them!

  10. Somebody says:

    Guess what time it is??? It’s the most wonderful time of the day…..nap time!!!!! By the time they wake up their dad will be here!!!

    Unfortunately I can’t really hang out because my 16 year old has 102 fever, chills, etc., etc….it never ends! I have to go be a mother and fetch medicine, make some soup, fluff some pillows, do the things moms do.

  11. Dora says:

    It seems like he is already our president.

  12. DeniseVB says:

    Never gets old, from 2010 Gulf Oil spill response was pretty bad on Obama’s part too….

  13. Venus says:

    As y’all know, I lived in NOLA during Katrina (evacuated with family to Houston ahead of storm, then lived in NC for a while after before coming back) and have been living in BR since February due to job. So I’m going to be living twice through recoveries.

    First: I really don’t think GWB nor Obama *needed* to come in either case; however, it does help people effective “feel better” to know higher ups are there as support. So in that way, yes, it is good. What I cannot effing believe is the way the MSM has completely ignored this in favor of making up “scandals” based on rumors and/or distortions re: Trump, Manafort, etc. John Bel giving Obama cover for not coming & staying in Martha’s Vineyard to golf & party is even more outrageous. Obama didn’t care about “pulling away resources” during Sandy, did he?

    Second, I’m glad Trump came — like I wrote above — it gives people who are really devastated right now a little psychological boost. Thanks, Trump.

    Third, FEMA sucks.

    Fourth, if you want to give, please give to Salvation Army — a lot more of the actual dollars donated actually goes to aid with SA as opposed to Red Cross. (Head of SA makes $50,000 a year; Head of RC makes almost $1 million)

    • DeniseVB says:

      What the Presidents brings with them (and they’re not on the ground that long) is the media, awareness, compassion and a shoulder, maybe even a hug (right Christie?). It’s what leaders, like Trump do. Oh sure Obama can make a phone call and get some balls (not golf) rolling for immediate assistance, but nothing replaces a “feel good” like a Presidential visit.

      After the Marine Barracks bombing in ’83, the Reagans came down to Camp Lejeune to comfort a shocked USMC community. It meant a lot to us. (the victims were our sister battalion in the 8th Marines).

      I agree FEMA has sucked ever since they were absorbed by DHS, which sucks even more. People were screaming after Katrina to make it a Cabinet position again and report directly to the President, instead of wading through layers of bureaucracy which slows things down.

    • Ann says:

    • mothy67 says:

      They run a 90 day rehab here. I used to teach adults to read there until 08 when obama made it unbearable. It was an amazing thing to do. Watching a 50 year old read for the first time. I am loved in the hood. I even get called N word. Anyhow they do 90 days and then allow housing for 1 year. 25% of income is paid as rent with it returned when they find housing. These aren’t housewives popping oxy. They are hardcore long term users. 28 days don’t do squat. They only take medicaid and its drugs no boozers. When someone falls off the wagon they send them if willing to a crisis center and take them back. Its mostly 3 hots and a cot or trying to avoid prison. They do a job no one else will. I was very impressed at the compassion. Faith based so they had some issues with SJW. Winter months they are full. Realists. I think the penal system should adopt something like that for non violent offenders. Interestingly they are not 12 Steppers. They do one class a day and walk to an outside meeting. Most of it is RET or REBT. They had workbooks dealing with shame. I’d help them complete. Talk about awkward. Lots of bed wetters. Great institution.

  14. DandyTIger says:

    Both Zogby and Rasmussen national polls just out have Clinton+2 (statistical tie). It’s been a pretty steady gap closing by Trump over the last week or two. I think Trump has mostly recovered from the intense couple of weeks of media working to destroy him, gaffs, etc. Hillary’s drip, drip bad news has been a part of it, but also Trump doing the steady, serious act has been a big factor.

    I’m sure it will be up and down until the vote. The consensus seems to be that Trump under-polls like he did in the primaries. But don’t kid yourself, this is going to be close in the best of conditions. And all kinds of nasty surprises can still happen. Running against the establishment of both parties and the media ain’t going to be easy.

  15. DeniseVB says:

    Keith Koffler (White House Dossier) made the headline at Drudge and what a great article it is……

    • taw46 says:

      Yes, I am glad he wrote that article.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I came across this quote while reading the other day and I think it sums up how Trump is perceived by many people even though he came from a far different background than Truman.

      Truman established a reputation as a blunt, unsophisticated fighter for the common man, who took responsibility for his actions because, he said, “the buck stops here.” His stunning reelection victory in 1948 baffled the experts and has inspired underdogs ever since.

      It is not an approach that registers with the NPR crowd.

  16. CiscoKid says:

    What I think is important is Trump didn’t have to go to LA, a very, very, smart move, yes.
    But he could have sat on his ass, like Obama and just make a statement or something.
    But instead he got what I like to call “ass in the grass”, out in the field with the troops.
    And thanks Venus for the tip on what organization to donate to, I wanted to help out a bit, but I just didn’t know who give more bang for the buck.
    Salvation Army it is.

  17. AFVet says:

    Here’s Trump and Pence in Louisiana courtesy of RSBN.

  18. Dora says:

    This man is so aggravating!

    Obama irks La. flood victims with memo warning them not to discriminate

    • CiscoKid says:

      Trump vists and helps hand out food and supplies.
      Hillary makes a phone call.
      And Barry gives another lecture on race, after golfing for two weeks.
      A big F to H & B…and I’m not talking about a grade.

    • blowme0bama says:

      My God. It is comical. Finger wagging is priority 1.

Comments are closed.