Zombie Lies – Al Haig

This is one of my pet peeves.

Fat Tommy Christopher:

In a moment reminiscent of Reagan Secretary of State Alexander Haig‘s “I’m in charge here” moment, new Donald Trump campaign manager Kellyanne Conway appeared to diminish the role of Breitbart News chairman and Trump campaign CEO Steve Bannon Sunday morning in an interview with Fox News Sunday’s Chris Wallace.

And what was “Alexander Haig‘s “I’m in charge here” moment?”

The conventional wisdom/zombie lie version is that Al Haig thought he was running the country after Reagan was shot. That’s bullshit.

Here’s the full quote:

Constitutionally, gentlemen, you have the President, the Vice President, and the Secretary of State in that order, and should the President decide he wants to transfer the helm to the Vice President, he will do so. He has not done that. As of now, I am in control here, in the White House, pending return of the Vice President and in close touch with him. If something came up, I would check with him, of course.

Does that sound like a guy who thinks he is the acting POTUS? Haig was a retired general, and he understood the chain of command. He was simply stating that he was the senior administration official present at the White House.

I remember that day. I remember that press conference. My BIL and I were sitting in his living room getting high when the news came on. There was never any doubt in my mind what Haig meant.

I wasn’t talking about transition. I was talking about the executive branch, who is running the government. That was the question asked. It was not, “Who is in line should the President die?”
— Alexander Haig, Alexander Haig interview with 60 Minutes II April 23, 2001

Full discosure: When I was stationed in Germany General Haig was my boss (he was NATO Commander) but I never saw him.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Zombie Lies – Al Haig

  1. DandyTIger says:

    But, but, but, the narrative. All for the narrative.

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Listening to the Anthony,Angie,Lola,Dandy,Cisco and Helen Show now on the archive! You guys Rawk! (about the 55 minute mark now). Just figured out I can comment and listen at the same time. Baby steps for me, yay! Love you guys and your voices and in awe how you bring 6 states together in one fun party.

  3. AFVet says:

    Here’s a look at some Trump supporters in Akron, Ohio.

  4. I’m glad you have such a long memory and remind us of all these Reagan moments. It’s going to be very useful here in a few months.😀

    • Myiq2xu™ says:

      Certain events are vividly etched into your memory. I remember the day JFK was shot, even though I was only three. I remember 9-11. I remember the Challenger explosion. I remember when Reagan got shot.

      Some events focus your attention.

      • Myiq2xu™ says:

        I can actually tell you where I was when I heard that Elvis died. I had just turned south off Olive Ave. onto Hwy 59 and I was crossing the Santa Fe tracks when they announced it over the radio.

        • 1539days says:

          I listen to a lot of talk radio. I heard about Michael Jackson dying on my way home from work.

          I heard about the twin towers from Howard Stern driving home from graveyard shift. I saw the second tower fall live on TV.

          • Myiq2xu™ says:

            When MJ died it crashed the internet.

          • AFVet says:

            I was at work when the twin towers came down.
            A girl came into the room and said that they were flying planes into buildings.
            There was a TV in a snack bar down the hall.
            I thought they were playing a movie.

          • 1539days says:

            Wow. In a couple of weeks, it’s going to be 15 years since the WTC attacks. A whole lot of special snowflakes don’t even remember it.

          • taw46 says:

            Hard to believe, 15 years. Our world has turned upside down in that time. I knew it would change, but not in the way it has.

      • I remember all of those things except for JFK getting shot. I wasn’t born yet.

        • helenk3 says:

          i was in the corner store when it was announced. I came home and called my husband at his work. We were in shock. i still think the country changed after that killing. Loyalty to country became so yesterday. That was the day the music died.

        • AFVet says:

          I was in 8th grade history class.
          They called the teacher from the room and when he came back in he told us that JFK was dead.

          • taw46 says:

            Senior English class. Same thing, called the teacher to the door, then she came in and told us.

          • Kathy says:

            I was in our marching band ..9th grade.. We were getting ready to march in a parade. Suddenly the news went through our lines and people started crying. I’ll never forget that and 9-11 because my daughter worked in NYC and I didn’t know where she was for a long time and I was teaching that day, had to try to be calm.

        • 49erDweet says:

          I remember Reagan being shot. /sticks out tongue/

      • lizzy says:

        I wasn’t too upset about Reagan-I really disliked him. It was also known very quickly that he was only slightly injured. It was stunning to me when John Lennon was killed. He was shot in the courtyard of the Dakota Apartments which are a Gothinc design. Rosemary’s Baby was shot. That was just too spooky,

  5. DeniseVB says:

    Votermom! just called in (1:00 ish). How kewl to hear her sweet legal immigrant voice❤

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Who was that caller after vm ? Ok, I have sh*tty hearing, especially on my tinny laptop, sorry I missed the i.d.

  7. Myiq2xu™ says:

    I’m not tuning in just to see Kanye make an ass of himself again.

  8. lyn says:

    What the writer described here were incidents that could happen to anyone, but she saw it as “white privilege.”
    I had a kid throw rocks on my lawn. I didn’t go to his parents; I picked them up. I asked him what the point was, and he said it was fun.

    • Anthony says:

      Wow! Lots of butthurt in that article. Something tells me she could find a microaggression in a simple “Good morning”

  9. Myiq2xu™ says:


  10. DeniseVB says:

    I finally broke the code on MacArthur Park on the “left the cake out” lyric when my dh left a 2 pound bird cake out in the rain last week….. so ahead of my time😉

  11. votermom says:

    Weirddave over at AoSHQ has people signing up for the new Twitter alternative that is supposed to be pro-free speech.
    It’s Gab

    I signed up for an invite and am 22000 something in line.

  12. DandyTIger says:

    Holy crap. The VMA’s are really, really bad.

  13. DandyTIger says:

  14. Myiq2xu™ says:

Comments are closed.