Happy Farrokh Bulsara Day!

Most of you are thinking “Who the hell is Farrokh Bulsara?” That was the real name of Freddie Mercury. Today is his birthday. Had he not died from complications due to AIDS in 1991 he would be 70 years old today.

He was also one of the most awesome musicians in history.

I mean we’re talking up there with Beethoven, Mozart and all the other great masters. He made music that was completely unlike else was doing. In an era of heavy metal and disco he was unique.

But Freddie Mercury’s most significant contribution to history was helping to normalize homosexuality. Until 1974 homosexuality was officially considered a mental disorder according to the DSM-II. Homosexual sex (aka “sodomy”) continued to be a crime in some states until the remaining sodomy laws were invalidated by the 2003 U.S. Supreme Court decision Lawrence v. Texas.

Freddie Mercury was one of a handful of artists (including Elton John) who made it okay to be gay. His death from AIDS helped bring the disease out of the shadows.

Rest in peace.

BTW: My first concert experience was supposed to be Queen and Thin Lizzy, but the concert was cancelled. My first time ended up being with Kiss and Cheap Trick.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

96 Responses to Happy Farrokh Bulsara Day!

  1. Dora says:

    I really don’t know who he is, but that is a fine write up you gave him. May he rest in peace.

    In the meantime . .

  2. Anthony says:

    I don’t know how obscure the duets album of Freddie Mercury and opera star Montserrat Caballé is or isn’t, but when it was released in the 80s, I was one of the first to own it. Caballé was fascinated with Mercury’s voice, and pursued him to do the album. Surprisingly, he was a big opera fan and agreed immediately. Here’s a live appearance of them both in Barcelona

    • Dora says:

      I am an opera lover from way back and am quite familiar with Montserrat. Thank you for introducing me to Freddie. That was good.

      • Anthony says:

        Opera has saved my life so many times it isn’t funny. Luckily I live really close to The Met, so when I’m down, I have time to go to the box office at 6 and see if there’s a ticket that a subscriber turned in if theres a performance that can lift my spirits. Can be home, showered, dressed and back there by curtain without rushing. I prefer Italian opera (particularly Verdi) to German, although Moses and Aaron remains one of my faves. You?

        • Dora says:

          I prefer Puccini. When we were still dating, Hubby brought me to see Tosca with Pavorotti and I was hooked. My very favorite opera of all time though, is Cavalleria Rusticana by Mascagni. I’ve seen it 3 times at the Met and wouldn’t mind seeing it again.

          • Anthony says:

            I love Puccini too, particularly La Boheme and Turandot (I know, typical🙂 )
            Pag/Cav is amazing. I saw Pavarotti in Fille du Regiment with Ruth Ann Swenson for the first performance following that night when he missed his high note. The whole audience held their breath while he paused, and he hit it BIG!. Got an immediate standing ovation.

            If you can get into the city, Met is doing big screen opera in the courtyard until the 23rd (I think). Friday night I was walking home with a friend from dinner at The Smith, and we caught The Merry Widow. Sound is great, screen is pretty big, and the crowd very orderly and appreciative

      • swanspirit says:

        Oops. I spoke too soon!!! 🙂

    • dm says:

      Wasn’t he a classically trained singer? If not, his voice certainly sounded like it was made for opera.

    • lyn says:

      The “Barcelona” CD is $10.99 at amazon. Only 17 are left.

    • mcnorman says:

      Freddie was awesome.

  3. Dora says:

    WTH? It’s a good thing I didn’t have the TV on. I’d probably still be packing.

  4. Anthony says:

    Heh… Reuters mistake made this cameraman a star

  5. blowme0bama says:

    Daughter and Wife: “Fuck you all”, “Fuck America”

    This guy didn’t figure this shit out on his own. There’s a culture of thievery out there. How much of this goes on at the now ubiquitous muzzie run c-stores?

  6. Myiq2xu™ says:

    I am so fucked. My computer died last night. It was a practically new 2005 eMachine with Windows XP

    I am logging in from Mom’s computer right now. I will be scarce until problem is resolved.

    No tengo dinero. No tengo muchas esperanzas.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Crap. Too bad there isn’t insurance for totaled computers. Fingers crossed it comes back to life.

    • mothy67 says:

      Dell has easy financing. Desktops starting at 230(mini)

    • 1539days says:

      Power supply is only about $40. It gets more pricey after that.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Here ya go! In Winton. Merced Craigslist ID: 5756824181
      Start a GoFundMe and I’ll chip in $20.

      • Somebody says:

        Klown you can get a small tablet for $40 at Walmart that would do in a pinch.

        Beyond that there are some good deals out there, check on amazon. Speaking of amazon, VM is there a way for all of us to somehow pitch in on gift cards via your link? Similar to 49er’s go fund me account, either way would work. I’m certainly willing to pitch in. If those of us that comment here on a regular basis pitched in at least $10 each, we’d be able to cover a decent computer. I’m game and I’ll pitch in more, Klown can just get over himself and consider it a subscription fee from all of us.

        Who knows maybe we’ll pitch in enough for a computer and a small tablet, so Klown will have a back up. There are factory certified refurbished desktops as low as $169 on amazon, a bunch in the $229 price range. Laptops are a little bit more. Do you prefer a desk top or a lap top Klown??

        • votermom says:

          Great idea! Let me check.

        • Somebody says:

          OK Klown here is some geek advice from my husband. From you mom’s computer go to ubuntu.com and download Linux live and burn it onto a CD. Alternate choice is to go to any book store and find any kind of Linux magazine, check inside most include a Linux live CD with purchase (approximately $5 to$10)

          Once you have a Linux live CD put it in your CD ROM and tell it to boot from the CD ROM. You will then be back online unless the problem with you computer is a power supply issue or certain mother board issues. By doing this it will also help you ascertain where your problem is. If it boots then hubby will be happy to talk you through to figure out where your problem may be. He’s betting hard drive and he says right now hard drives are pretty cheap. However you can run without one using the Linux live, don’t ask me how…….I’m not the geek around here.

          If it boots, to get online click on the wifi icon at the top right and enter the proper credentials to get on your wifi. If no wifi (really?) plug your ethernet cable in and you are golden. Afterwards, click on the firefox icon in the menu bar on the left and presto, internet.

          The above paragraph was actually written by my husband, yes he’s a smart ass as well as a geek. He swears everybody should keep a Linux live CD in their house, he’s resurrected many a “dead” computer for friends with this method. He also said fair warning, once you’ve gone Linux you may never go back to Windows.

        • lyn says:

          I’ll contribute.

        • Lulu says:

          I’m game. Set up a Paypal or GoFundMe, etc so we can get it done. Odds are it will be enough for a more than Klown even wants. I use cheapy Toshibas so when they fry I get another one. I use external drive thingies for our records.

      • Constance says:

        Good idea, I’ll chip in too.

    • votermom says:

      Do you have paypal Klown?

  7. Anthony says:

    Oh, FFS… He’s sticking his nose in it again…

  8. DandyTIger says:

  9. votermom says:

  10. Dora says:

  11. Dora says:

    My favorite aria from my favorite opera by one of my favorite singers.

    Placido Domingo – Cavalleria rusticana-O Lola

  12. CiscoKid says:

    Comment from “Roak” over at Breitbart .
    “13 blackberries and 5 iPads walk into a bar…they leave hammered.”

  13. DandyTIger says:

    The 70s. Don’t ask me to explain it.

  14. CiscoKid says:

    Gave me a flashback.

  15. DeniseVB says:

    Where was I ? Sometime after I posted an open thread last Friday, we lost the “bundled VerizonFios” internet and home phone til about a few hours ago. I’m going to blame Hermine, though at that time “gusts” were about 13 mph while she was still ravaging Florida. Verizon guy said, our outside box was fried, and had the whole thing replaced.

    myiq always reminds us to refresh and renew our energy and “unplug” now and then, BUT, I’d like to do it on my terms😛

    I did finish 2 books by Kesslar and Surber, my third was to finish Rosalynn Carter’s memoir published in 1984, what a slog, but interesting. She’s such a whiner. Up to the 1976 campaign for Pres., glad I got m’internet back, I needed the break.😀

  16. Dora says:

    I can’t even imagine it, but to each his own, I guess. Or her own. 🙂


    Sex with robots will be so good, addiction already a concern

  17. swanspirit says:

    President of the Philippines calls Obama a Son of a bitch..
    I say , welcome to the club President Duterte.

  18. 49erDweet says:

    Nothing sez Labor Day quite so much as sitting in a locked down ER waiting room teeming with folks stymied and stalled because some idiot shot at somebody else a couple of blocks away. SMH.

Comments are closed.