Hermine: We Will Rebuild Open Thread

We never lost power, or got flooded, or got a tree slicing our house in two, but losing INTERNET for 3 days? The HUMANITY! Hope all you guys are well and enjoying your holiday weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

113 Responses to Hermine: We Will Rebuild Open Thread

  1. DeniseVB says:

    If I had a “smart phone” this past weekend would have been easier.

    • 1539days says:

      Laptops and complimentary wi-fi are also a good combination.

    • AFVet says:

      I was wondering about you.
      A true Patriot never gets tired of listening to other Patriots voice their opinion.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Try 2 weeks w/o power following Katrina. Frankly, as bad as it F’d everything up down here, it’s amazing we got power that quickly.

      Pioneer life sucks.

      • taw46 says:

        After Andrew I was lucky, only without power for short period of time. But I had friends that were without for weeks and weeks. It was bad.

          • taw46 says:

            I was living in Miami Lakes, the safe part of Miami during Andrew. Just some small trees down. I volunteered for two week-ends to help unload trucks. It was so bad, and I knew many people who lost their homes. Homestead was just about leveled.

          • blowme0bama says:

            Wife was in South LA and got hit from the second landfall. It was pretty bad for them, but I know S.FL was far, far worse in terms of the power of the storm, the amount of damage done and the number of people affected.

          • taw46 says:

            When I was about 7 yrs old, Hazel hit S.C. We went to Myrtle Beach and Ocean Drive with a friend who had a house there, that is how we were let in. The house was gone, nothing but the foundation left. I vividly remember seeing houses sitting in the middle of the road, houses destroyed. So after seeing that and Andrew, hurricanes terrify me because of their power, seeing the destruction. I have been through several Cat 1’s and one low Cat 2. That is enough for me. We usually went inland for hurricanes. Andrew was a Cat 5. I could tell you lots of stories of my friends almost drowning from a 17 ft storm surge and roofs peeling off their houses while they ran from room to room. But, I imagine you have heard many of those stories yourself!

          • blowme0bama says:

            Very similar to my experience. I was 7 when Camile his the Miss. Gulf Coast. I lived 120 miles inland but the storm still had 120 mph winds recorded at a local small airport 10 miles from me. It was the most terrifying night of my life. Took off a portion of our roof, knocked trees over.

            I’ve been terrified of those storms, though I sat through the eyewall of Georges in 98, about 1 mile from the beach. It landed with 109 mph sustained winds, which is maximum Cat 2. It was impressive, but I’ve opted to evacuate for everything since then, which was really Ivan and Katrina.

  2. votermom says:

    So what shall we do about Klown’s computer?

    I’m waiting to hear from amazon if they do group gift cards, but another option is just to do it the old fashioned way via us mail (check or money order). Directly to klown if he agrees or someone could collect it and ask him for a mailing address.

    There is also paypal, but I don’t know how many people have PP (I don’t frex).

    What do you guys think?

    • lyn says:

      If Klown has a PayPal account, you don’t need a PP account to pay with a credit card.

      • Constance says:

        Good because my ex fouled up Pay Pal and I’ve never gotten it to work since. I’ve spent all the time I intend to trying to make it work.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I guess I didn’t catch up on ALL comments since Friday, can some one fill me in. I don’t do Pay Pal since I got stiffed a few years ago with a Vintage Star Wars collectible transaction, but I digress. vm, you can email me.

      • votermom says:

        It’s on the previous thread – Klown’s computer died.

        • Lulu says:

          The funeral is tomorrow. It was OLD.

          • Somebody says:

            Denise there are some factory refurbished computers as low as $169 on amazon, most are in the $229 range. I did the math, if the regulars on TCH all pitch in $10 we should be able to cover a new computer. 49er already volunteered $20, he’s a big spender!!

            $10 is less than $1 per month, think of it as a subscription fee……not to mention all the years we’ve been coming here for free. Divide that $10 out over the number of years and then divide each year monthly and well Klown works for cheap, LOL!

    • Ann says:

      Didn’t read all the comments, but on Amazon people can just buy a GC and send it to an email address. Done. I do it all the time. The recipient doesn’t even need to know the name of the sender, you can fill out whatever you want.

      Keep us posted on the route this goes, Votermom. I’m in too!

  3. lyn says:

    What’s the best way to collect money for Klown’s computer?

    • SHV says:

      I’m in….The insane Klown keeps me sane in insane times!!!

      • SHV says:

        Pay Pal is good for me.

        • Somebody says:

          I’m good with any option. I think we should all conspire now while Klown is offline and get it worked out and over. If he comes back here, he’ll insist no way. Also, he’s not going to give any of us his home mailing address, some kind of online thing would be best. I’m fine with any of them, but amazon would be the easiest if we can work it out.

          Even if there was an email address we could all send virtual gift cards to that would work. I know some people are suspect of pay pal and go fund me, but most people trust amazon. If we work out the logistics then we have to get past Klown’s stubbornness.

          I don’t think we’re going to see him log on until either much later this evening or tomorrow. Apparently he has to go to his mom’s.

          • Lulu says:

            I agree with you. We can’t MAKE him but we can present as fait accompli and then say tough shit it is done. I don’t think we could “shame” him into it. Ha. This is the only blog I read that doesn’t have a contribute button to pay for costs and this is a “cost”.

          • DeniseVB says:

            Not sending *money* to anybody. Stop it you guys. I mean it! If myiq wants to do *fundraisers* he would have put up paypal or something…update me if I’m wrong.

          • CiscoKid says:

            Late start for me, but count me in.
            Keep us posted on plan(s)

          • votermom says:

            Well, would this scheme work?
            All Amazon needs for gift cards is an email address, right?
            I could set up a new email account, and we could send whatever amount giftcards we want to it, then I give klown the email password so he can claim it?

            (Let me double check with Amazon that the email doesn’t have to be linked to an Amazon account)

          • jeffhas says:

            I’m in for up to $100. If there’s a ‘pitch in’ amount, whatever, I’m in… Paypal, GoFundMe – whatever you want, I’m good on all those.

            I look at it like I’m saving at least that much on therapy every week.

            Lemme know.

          • 49erDweet says:

            Look at it as an intervention, Denise. Friends don’t let friends hafta borrow their mom’s computer.

  4. helenk3 says:

    what happened to MYIQ’s computer?

  5. helenk3 says:

    looks like the 49ers have some scuzzy players

    San Francisco 49ers release Bruce Miller after arrest for assault with a deadly weapon and battery – ABC 7
    Read more on abc7news.com

  6. DeniseVB says:

    While I’m waiting for an update on the myiq computer crisis, here’s a Crowder Detroit video from a few years ago. Nothing’s changed from Trump’s visit this past weekend? Eh?

  7. DeniseVB says:

    myiq’s computer died? R.I.P. This was a bad weekend for my wifi connection to die. Sorry😦

    • Somebody says:

      It died last night of old age. He logged in earlier from his mother’s computer and left a comment in the previous thread.

  8. Somebody says:

    If Klown does pop on I hope he sees the post I made in the last thread about using a free Linux live CD. Hubby swears that will fix 9 out of 10 issues.

    Who knows maybe we’ll all pitch in enough for a new computer and he can try the CD ROM boot on his old one, if it works then he’ll have a back up!!

    • 49erDweet says:

      I went to your hub’s site. It was a mite confusing to me, an old fuddy duddy non-geek, but maybe klown can make it work for him. Linux Live was nowhere to be found by that name on the site,

      • Somebody says:

        Duly noted, perhaps the magazine is an easier choice. HOWEVER, I mentioned your comment to hubby and he went and found the exact version Klown would need. BTW the boot from CD ROM versions are under alternate versions then you find the one that goes with your computer hardware.

        Klown for your computer type in the following exactly do NOT put a www in front of this


        That is the version you burn to a CD, then load into your CD ROM and boot. It will hold your hand through the installation process or just allow you to work in a trial mode. If your computer boots then odds are overwhelming your hard drive failed. It could also be a windows or a driver type issue, but if that is the case you can easily use Linux to fetch what you need because you’ll be up and running.

        • Somebody says:

          There is a newer 16.0 version, but not all the bugs have been worked out. This 14.0 version works really well, all the kinks have been worked out, etc. Hubby thought this version would be better for you.

          • Somebody says:

            If you need help figuring out how to burn it on to a CD here is a direct link to instructions.


          • 49erDweet says:

            Who-wheeee! Took a long time to load – over 6 minutes – but there it is! Thanks to your hub!!! Now for some free time to figure it out! V-e-r-y interesting!!!

          • Somebody says:

            I didn’t know you were personally interested 49er. I tried to post another comment with a direct link to instructions as to how to properly format and burn the CD, but it got caught in the spam filter……hopefully you figured that part out, sounds like you did.

            There are user guides and Linux user boards online, some specific to ubuntu. It’s basically a version of Uniyx or however you spell it, which is what the internet and servers run on. It’s much more stable than windows, but doesn’t have as many short cut icons or bells and whistles. Although you can customize it and add bells and whistles. It also doesn’t take up nearly the amount of memory so generally even older computers run much faster.

  9. votermom says:

    Here’s what Amazon said – I’m not sure I understand.

    Thank you for taking the time to contact and take interest in purchasing a gift card to give to your recipient. I understand you wanted to know if a group could help pay or chip in to a single recipient.

    Yes you can choose different kinds of payment method to purchase a gift card for a recipient, but it would not come as a single gift card.

    Since this can only be possible if all of you would purchase an electronic gift card to give to your recipient and all amounts would just accumulate to your recipient’s gift card balance.

    Denominations available to purchase between $0.50 and $2,000. Purchases of gift cards from Amazon.com and its affiliated websites are limited to up to $10,000 for any customer in a single day.

    Please visit our Help pages for instructions on how to purchase and use Amazon.com Gift Cards:


    • votermom says:

      I think it means we’d have to do it all separately if we go re amazon route, so I don’t know …

      Are there computers on Amazon that might be good for klown?

    • Somebody says:

      So how do we set up an electronic gift card? I think it has to be tied to an email address, surely Klown can set up a throw away email or we can create one for him.

      Do any of you know Klown’s actual name?? We probably can’t set up a gift card fund in the name of Klown. Maybe we could get away with The Crawdad Hole?? I don’t know?? There should be a way to hide the recipients name and still allow donations or maybe set it up as The Crawdad Hole fund and once the donations are complete transfer it to Klown’s legal name???

      He likes his privacy and I don’t blame him. I think maybe some of the moderators at one point were on facebook with him and perhaps know his real name. He might trust one of you since you already know his name. If by chance he trusts me, which I highly doubt, I have a pay pal account and amazon prime…….but I highly doubt Klown wants me knowing his address!! Now if by chance I was prone to stalking then yep, he’d be all over that, LMAO! I’m too tired to stalk anybody, but I might ship a grandkid to him, LOL!

    • 1539days says:

      If I’m not mistaken, you can do multiple gift cards, but they get tied together in an amazon account. It would be difficult to send a gift against Klown’s will. He’d either need to use his amazon account or get a separate one.

  10. Dora says:

    Denise, it’s good to see you back. I’m glad you didn’t suffer any major property damage.

    After resting for 4 weeks, Hillary came out in public and made a speech. It didn’t go well. She had another coughing fit and blamed it on Trump. Why not? It’s got to be someone’s fault.


    Hillary blames coughing fit on ‘Trump allergy’ at rally

    • Somebody says:

      Holy cow, everybody should and watch that clip it’s 4 and half minutes of her hacking. She drinks water, opens something and puts it in her mouth, drinks more water, somebody hands her what looks like a cough drop about 3 minutes in. She keeps drinking water and at times has barely any voice.

      She tries to pass it off as being allergic to Trump, but she also says she’s been talking so much. I guess all that money grubbing and elbow rubbing at fund raisers is tough.

    • Dora says:

      Another One!

      Hillary has 2nd coughing fit on plane this afternoon. Ends interview abruptly.
      Mystery doc appears at 1:22 in video.

    • Somebody says:

      Hillary is ahead in the polls don’t you know, she had a couple hundred people show up in Cleveland, many required to attend due to their membership in a union. That wasn’t even any kind of official Trump event and he had a larger crowd just waiting to catch a glimpse of him.

  11. taw46 says:


  12. votermom says:

    Ok, we will move Operation Klownputer offline to be more discreet.
    Put a reply to this comment and I’ll get your email off the header or email me at – votermom at gmail and we will talk about in in email.

  13. votermom says:

    Ok I sent an email to a bunch of peeps here. Actually 2 emails coz I forgot to mention something.

  14. Dora says:

  15. swanspirit says:

    I apologise. I was wrong. The President of the Philippines did no call Obama a Son of a Bitch.
    He called him a Son of a Whore. I will be more careful to be accurate. Especially when leaders of other countries call Obama names.

  16. 49erDweet says:

    OT Sis ends up being admitted to H so they can follow her heart action for several hours. Going to see her again late Tues morn. G’nite.

  17. Dora says:

    Love the quote.

  18. Somebody says:

    Hey moderators, perhaps one of you could put up a new thread sometime later this morning. Klown may or may not log on, guess it depends if he goes over to his mom’s house.

    Perhaps someone could do a post about Hillary’s hacking, or Trump’s unexpected crowd in Ohio yesterday where he was giving an interview but had no event scheduled. Also, there are several new polls out…..CNN has Trump up by 2 nationally, there are several state polls (Reuters) showing him ahead or tied. Another idea over at the conservative treehouse they have a Jimmy Kimmel spoof that is pretty funny.

  19. Anthony says:

    New post up!

  20. DeniseVB says:

    New post up ! Thanks Anthony !!!

Comments are closed.