Wednesday Open Thread – Black Coffee Edition

Saw this on twitter this morning and yes, I drink my coffee black so it’s a true story.

Here’s a fresh cuppa thread to keep the party going😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

109 Responses to Wednesday Open Thread – Black Coffee Edition

  1. Hi everyone! Busy as a one-armed-paper-hanger these days but I still read here. Y’all are going to disappear TCH are you? VM was sending invites to “something new” (sorry if I missed a few days…been dealing with a 93-year-old dying friend a lot). Anyway – still the bestest place on the web to read, so I hope I can still find you all….



  2. DeniseVB says:

    First attempt at posting a link from Gab. Not sure if it works like twitter links, but here goes:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Bummer, just a boring link😉

    • Anthony says:

      Here’s an excellent article about #Gab – at this point, they’re still in beta so links won’t embed like tweets, but I’m sure they will soon. Their tech team is working really fast and updating/adding features every day.

      This will tell you all you need to know about it, and any #Gabbers here should follow the author on

      View story at

      • DeniseVB says:

        Thanks Anthony !

      • lateblum says:

        I must’ve done something incorrectly. I signed up, was around 34,500. I don’t think I even received a confirmation email. 😟
        I hope this is nothing to be concerned about.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I was in the 30k’s when I signed up, found the invite in my spam folder the next morning. I didn’t have high hopes since I have an AOL address which just screams troll at some sites, lol. Try again!

        • blowme0bama says:

          I was around 3,400 something when I requested an invitation. It took several days before an email came and then it wouldn’t allow me to register for some damned reason, but I tried it again prolly when Anthony or someone here brought it up again and it worked.

        • Anthony says:

          There were some glitches (still in Beta) and lots of ppl were finding invites in spam, so check. As of last night, Andrew (founder) said he’d be re-releasing those with almost 30K of new ones.

  3. Thanks Denise! Whew! And good luck with the glitches. The only thing I know to do when I have them is to say “Stupid Phone”

  4. CiscoKid says:

    In the am, black with a shot of bourbon just to get the am kinks out. My friend Arthur needs it.
    Arthur is code for arthritis.

    • mothy67 says:

      I had a very dear friend who drank coffe black with dollar store mouth wash. He had a little problem. Great guy.

  5. CiscoKid says:

    Expect this kind of shit from Obama every day until he’s out of office.
    sharia or the Constitution ?
    How do you think this muslim will judge?

  6. Dora says:

    Do you think Hillary could even get up on the chair?

    • DeniseVB says:

      GMTA ! Just spotted the same photo on twitter and was going to post it too. That photo is worth a thousand words ! Trump’s agility and the SS holding the chair, not him. I like that he always takes time to hat tip his overflow crowds, it means so much to them.

      • Constance says:

        Trump obviously really likes people and he draws energy from being around them.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I’ve been following Trump for almost 40 years, he’s definitely a people person. Personal and business problems sometimes gets in the way, but hey, that’s life. He’s been endorsed by his former wives, doesn’t get more amicable than that. Though I worry about Marla Maples who couldn’t seem to live off the 2 million dollar settlement, yet Tiffany was set for life, because Donald is just a great Dad🙂

    • foxyladi14 says:

      WOW!!!!! 😀

  7. DeniseVB says:

  8. Anthony says:

    BBC is openly “tampering in the American electoral process” like Hillary accused Russia of doing. This time, she’s silent (not even an impromptu coughing fit) because it’s not “to Trump’s advantage”

    • Lulu says:

      The Beeb did the same thing with the 2015 Parliamentary elections for Labour then Brexit Remain. Their track record recently is not so hot. Inviting in drug cartels from Mexico seems a bit much even for the idiots at the BBC. Imagine Mexican drug cartels shoot outs with Turkish/Afghan drug cartels in the streets of London.

  9. cynic says:

    Let’s keep this party going, indeed! I just became gma again last night to Millicent (Millie) Jean! She came 18 days early, and mom’s water broke the day after I threw her a baby shower. She went into labor on Labor Day! My twins gave me granddaughters that are 4 months apart. Millie and Lily. I giggle every time I say those names together. Life is good, and feeling blessed.

    • votermom says:

      Congrats grandma!!!!

      • CiscoKid says:

        A shamrock for luck 🍀 a crown for the little Princess👑 a little teddy bear to play with🐻 and a 🍼 to nourish.
        Best wishes !

    • DeniseVB says:

      Welcome to the Worrrrld Millie ! Congrats cynic and family❤ (Wow, that must have been some rocking baby shower😉 )

    • Somebody says:

      Congrats cynic……check around online. My due date with my youngest was close to labor day and if I recall there are give aways for babies born on labor day similar to NYE babies. I want to say some of the diaper companies and fruit of the loom were the sponsors, maybe Gerber?

      If I remember correctly they were open to the first 50 or 100 babies whose parents filled out the form and sent it in along with a copy of birth certificate or other documentation to prove birth on Labor Day.

      You get X boxes of free diapers, the fruit of the loom thing so many pairs of free under until the age of 18.

      Enjoy the grandbabies!!

      • cynic says:

        Thanks for the info, but she actually didn’t arrive til the day after. What I find interesting, however, is that in our little town, there were 6 girls born yesterday (no boys)! It was soooo very hot and humid, that I’m thinking that they all wanted out, and into the a.c.

    • swanspirit says:

      Aww we, congratulations!!!!!

    • mothy67 says:


    • 49erDweet says:

      Cool, cool, cool. Gd’s are gifts for life! Gs’s……..about 12 yrs.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      Cynic I see some spoiling going on. Congrats. 😀

    • lateblum says:

      Cynic !!!
      I woke up thinking about you and the gbaby.
      How awesome! You must be over the moon. Your little gbabies will have each other to play with, and plot with, and just be good friends.
      I am so happy for you all.
      And what a beautiful name!

  10. Anthony says:

    #Brexit related: “Here a wall, there a wall, everywhere a wall wall…

    Coming soon to a headline near you: “Entire United Kingdom is RACIST!”

  11. DeniseVB says:

    I do like Gary Johnson, he’s always fun to watch in interviews, but President? I don’t think so, he’s all over the place on his policy positions. For those “voting your conscience” this is a pretty good overview video. He’s only in it as a spoiler, imho. We can’t hand this election to Hillary !

  12. Dora says:

    I find this a bit creepy.


  13. Dora says:

    More looting? I wouldn’t be surprised. Be careful if you’re in the area.

  14. Somebody says:

    I think the stars are aligning in some cosmic way today, to teach me to be more patient. I am failing miserably!!

    • votermom says:


      What’s up?

      • Somebody says:

        It’s just irritation with the school system, plus normal everyday little kid stuff. I’m trying to resolve an issue and while I’m doing that my youngest grandbaby is just being her usual self and getting into stuff. Today it was my handwritten collection of family recipes on 3×5 cards going back a couple of generations, argh!

        There is a newly designated “ESE” student on my street. I put it in quotes for reasons I won’t go into, but mostly parental issues is all I’m saying. Anyway due to designation kid gets special bus service. This was a goal cuz it’s just too much to walk to the normal bus stop or drive……see my above statement.

        So this ESE bus stops in front of the house and blocks my street for 10 minutes or more this morning with flashers on, parents finally realize the bus is there and then they are in no hurry or incapable of walking faster than a snail’s pace…..bonus they forgot the backpack so one had to SLOWLY walk back inside get it and return…..then lots of good byes….meanwhile I’m coming unglued!! Seriously this all took forfreakingever!!

        This is all happening in the dark just before 6:30am, school starts early here. I’m usually early to the bus stop because I want the extra time to be careful because it’s dark and there is traffic up on the main street where the stop is. Plus when the bus actually arrives morning or afternoon is a crap shoot, but generally within a 10 minute window….schedules, schmedules. I have to park about 5 car lengths away and walk my granddaughter the rest of the way. We barely made it this morning and bonus the ESE bus driver sucks and swerved way over too close for comfort to the kids waiting at the regular stop as she’s leaving the neighborhood.

        Our regular driver is pissed too so we’re both working on trying to resolve this by getting the “ESE” stop time changed. Otherwise my choice is to walk 4/10ths of mile with 3 kids in the dark or leave 20-25 minutes early so I can get off my street before the ESE bus arrives. The ESE parents like the stop time, works for them… the county comes out and tried to “compromise” by moving the ESE stop in front of my house….AYFKM!!!! Oh thanks a heap, um NO. My grandchild isn’t allowed to ride that bus so why do I want the stop in front of my house?? How does that solve anything???

        You can tell by my entire comment I’m failing at patience 101!

        It’s not the end of the world and normally things like this roll off my back, but it all just sort of got on my last nerve today……mainly because there have been continual issues with the regular bus keeping a schedule and now this. Like I have nothing better to do with my life than to stand on the street corner for 30 minutes every morning and afternoon with 3 fucking kids and traffic……ARGH! Added frustration, these aren’t my kids, they’re my grandkids, at my age why should I care about the bus schedule? I should be sound asleep at o’dark 30!!

        OK…..I vented, thanks for listening or not…..I did refrain from calling people bad names or questioning their intelligence… points for that??

        • votermom says:

          I sympathize. Our school district likes to jerk around the bus schedule for my kid’s school because it is a charter school. But never as bad as that!

        • 49erDweet says:

          Is there anyway you can casually arrange for the ESE bus parking space in front of your home to be occupied for a few days? The bus people I know usually try to take the path of least resistance and might just move on.

          • votermom says:

            Great idea! Just park on the street where it’s supposed to park, maybe?

            Edit – does the ESE bus block your driveway? or is it in the direction on the street you need to go?

        • lateblum says:

          {{{ Somebody }}}
          We had similar issues with the school bus here. So I actually did park so that the bus had to stop behind where I was parked in order to allow the kids to board the bus safely. I, OTOH, was able to get into my car and pull away to get to the train. Of course, this was my way of getting to the train before it left without me. I had missed the train several times before I figured out how to manage this situation.
          Best of Luck with that !!!
          I hope your neighborhood isn’t a “no overnight street parking” zone. ❤️

          • Somebody says:

            Leslie I do the exact same thing, but usually I can’t get back to my car quick enough to beat the bus out. In fact if I do make it to the car quickly enough she leaves her flashers on so I can’t pull off until she’s pulling off…….heaven forbid I slow her down a couple of seconds!

          • Somebody says:

            I should add I can’t get back to the bus quickly enough because I’m quite a ways ahead of the bus. I could be a jerk and pull off in someone’s yard where the stop is located, but instead I pull far enough up so I can pull over in a natural area and not in someone’s yard. Parking on the same side like that is much safer than parking across the street and trying to cross in the dark with 3 kids.

        • Somebody says:

          My neighborhood doesn’t allow parking on the street AND the ESE stop is half way down the block from my house, but in the direction I need to go. In fact I live in the cul-de-sac so it’s the only direction I can go. Moving the stop in front of my house will do nothing other than I’ll have to sit in my driveway instead of in the street.

          • lateblum says:

            Somebody, I’m on my iPad and cannot reply directly to your comments. But I want to say, I understand and wish we could come up with a foolproof plan for you. What you’re doing is hard enough without these other-imposed impediments. I’ll be thinking of you every school day. ❤️

          • Allegra says:

            Why don’t they put the ESE stop in front of the ESE student’s house? Would that help you if it’s possible?

    • Anthony says:

      Embrace failure and move forward. Balance and shit… (you need a little yin to go along with that yang🙂 )

    • foxyladi14 says:

      somebody ❤

  15. Dora says:

    Boycott Starbucks. I can’t boycott it because I never go there. I hate their coffee.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Well, that’s a surprise. /s

    • mothy67 says:

      That let’s talk about race with a barista was cray cray. Having grown up in a mixed town I found it insulting. The biggest difference I recall was black people sat on the front porch and congregated. We did the back yard. I can find similar distinctions between the Methodist and Catholic sides of my family.
      So mister I have no decent paying Starbucks in the hood STFU.

      • blowme0bama says:

        I know. I grew up around black kids, we played together, joked around at school, never had a frickin’ problem. It’s more than a little insulting for some snotnosed ultra-privileged CEO to think some little 20something wet behind the ears kid is going to talk to me about “race”. F the F off.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      they don’t support the vet’s either. 👿

    • votermom says:

      Their coffee does suck. (Although in fairness the cold brew is not too bad)

      • lyn says:

        I cold brew my coffee at home.

        • mothy67 says:

          I make coffee ice cubes poor hot coffee over add hersheys and throw it in Ninja. Yummy and less than a dollar for a venti. You do need a kickass smoothie maker.

        • lateblum says:

          How do you cold brew coffee?
          I loved Caribou Coffee’s “cold brew” coffee. I don’t care for SB’s coffee, but their espresso drinks are okay, and their stores are usually clean – if crowded.

          • mothy67 says:

            Starbucks double brews house blend and refrigerates then when cold pours over ice. I prefer iced coffee and find at home I need to use a glass pitcher plastic ruins it. In a pinch Folgers Crystals works with tepid water over ice.

          • lyn says:

            I have a Toddy Cold Brew System, but I put 6-ounces of ground French Market French roast in 40 ounces of water in a glass pitcher. Soak at room temp for 12 hours and then I pour it in the Toddy to decant in another glass pitcher. Toddy has a reusable filter above its drain hole. If you want, the next time I make coffee, I’ll take photos and e-mail them to you.

          • lateblum says:

            Thanks mothy. When I make a large pot of coffee, I usually allow it to cool a bit before I pour what I don’t drink into large-ish glass jars. Then I refrigerate and when I want coffee, it is cold and pretty fresh. I guess that’s my version of cold brew. So I’ll just keep going with that. Then I can have iced coffee or hot (when I nuke it). 😉

        • lateblum says:

          Thanks, lyn, for describing your system. It sounds like you know what you’re doing. You could have a coffee stand (in lieu of lemonade) in front of your house when people are going to/coming home from work. Next year, when I hope to be out your way, I’ll stop by for a glass. 😉

  16. Dora says:

    Donald Jr and Vanessa walking their kids to school. So cute.


    Swapping the campaign trail for the school run: Donald Trump Jr. walks with his wife Vanessa and their five children through New York to their first day of classes

  17. Dora says:


  18. votermom says:

    Here’s Hillary, coughing, holding a bottle of water, when an aide hands her a glass of water and she drinks that instead.
    Strange, huh?

    Innocent explanation – maybe the bottled water is cold and she wants warm water, or vice versa.
    More fun tinfoil explanation – that’s not water in the glass…

  19. votermom says:

    I am going to tattle on our secret at noon eastern. Coz I can’t wait.
    What do you guys think?

  20. Dora says:

Comments are closed.