Retired Generals Week (and Open Thread)


Former Secretary of State, General Colin Powell  interrupted his otherwise restful retirement to defend himself against allegations by Hillary Clinton that he instructed her on how to bypass the State Department and set up a private unsecured server.

In a statement, the former secretary of state, who served under President George W. Bush, said that he wasn’t trying to influence Clinton when he emailed her advice.

“As noted by the FBI and Congressman Cummings in his comments about my exchange of emails with Secretary Clinton in 2009, Secretary Clinton has stated that she was not influenced by my email in making her decisions on email use. I was not trying to influence her but just to explain what I had done eight years earlier to begin the transformation of the State Department’s information system,” Powell said.

Now, I might not be the right person to be writing about Powell.  I’ve been ambivalent about him ever since he lost his mind and endorsed Barack Obama in both 2008 and 2012, thus breaking with his own party and supporting the narcissistic egomaniac that has ravaged our country for the past 7 1/2 years.  However, in this instance, I find myself strangely willing to have his back.

His statement comes a day after partisan reptile Rep. Elijah Cummings, D-Maryland, the top Democrat on the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee, released an email exchange between Clinton and Powell from two days after she took over the cabinet position in 2009.

Clinton wanted to continue using her Blackberry in her new position and Powell responded saying he didn’t have one and developed another system instead that allowed him to communicate with people without it going through servers at the State Department.

“What I did do was have a personal computer that was hooked up to a private phone line (sounds ancient.) So I could communicate with a wide range of friends directly without it going through the State Department servers,” Powell wrote. “I even used it to do business with some foreign leaders and some of the senior folks in the Department on their personal email accounts. I did the same thing on the road in hotels.”

hattieNow here’s where I might be turning into Tinfoil Hattie – You tell me: When Powell broke with his own party to endorse Obama, he got kudos from the AA community for “hooking a brotha up.”

Hillary Clinton’s standing among AA voters is hitting bottom faster than a fat kid on a see-saw, so it makes total sense for her to not only tie him to her tacky ways, but to also infer that he was not only instructive but directly responsible for her arrogant stupidity.  It would make sense (to a self-absorbed narcissist like Hillary) that the entire AA community would rally around both her and Powell and show up in droves at the polls to support her in November. But thats just my wildest theory, although its making more and more sense the longer I ponder it…

Earlier this week, almost 90 retired Generals penned a letter endorsing Donald J. Trump for President, and urging the general public to do the same

Lt. Gen. Michael Flynn is under fire from Clinton supporting former intel officers and the entire Dem party for having the nerve to attend the security briefing given to Donald Trump earlier this week. It seems they’re “alarmed” by Trump’s readout of his briefing and his opinions about them  Fuck them.  This is clearly partisan politics at its ugliest.

Thats it for me.  Your turn. Have at it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

115 Responses to Retired Generals Week (and Open Thread)

  1. CiscoKid says:

    “Fuck them”.
    Can’t improve on that.
    Pretty well sums up my feelings on the subject.
    🖕🖕🖕 and them some.

  2. votermom says:

    Did someone mention Gen. Mike Flynn?

    re-pimps book review😉

  3. taw46 says:

    Love the photo of Powell. 😉

  4. blowme0bama says:

    That sounds like something the oh-so-smart smarty smarts at Hillary2016 would come up with, but Colin Powell ain’t going to bring black people out to vote in droves. Verdict = FAIL

    • CiscoKid says:


    • Somebody says:

      They may try to use Powell, but they’ll need to figure in Powell’s role in getting us into the Iraq war in their calculus……because that will drive down some of the suburban vote.

      The Trump campaign should be so lucky as to have the poster boy of Iraqi WMD’s go out and stump for Hillary……all sorts of memory triggers. As for the AA vote, they’ve always seen Powell as an Uncle Tom. He wasn’t used by Obama to pump up the AA vote, Obama didn’t need any help with that…..Powell was used to pull in moderate republicans, but this isn’t 2008.

  5. votermom says:

    I am appalled at Colin Powell’s email workaround.
    And I suspect it was a huge security hole and probably illegal.

  6. Somebody says:

    Amazing out of all the email they manage to find the Powell one, but still no yoga.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Powell was tapped to be GWB’s SoS before the 2000 election and probably why I voted GOP that year, oh, and I couldn’t stand Algore either. What a disappointment (9-11,WMDs), then he endorses Obama (over battle tested McCain) in 08, another disappointment. But no-oh-oh, he had to endorse the Odipsh*t in 2012(after Benghazi???) also. Thanks Colin, you racist bore. Since Hillary threw him under the bus, will he be endorsing her too?

    • Somebody says:

      Most likely if she continues to dip in the polls, Powell will be called upon to vouch for Hills and try to scare us all about how unfit Trump is. Maybe he’ll do another slide show presentation like he did at the UN.

  8. Dora says:

  9. votermom says:

    Here is something I can post on but not on FB

    Why the hell is 9/11 a “National Day of Service”?

    9/11 should be National Bomb an Effing Jihadi Enclave Day.

    It should be a day when terrorists quake in fear and wail in grief and curse the corpse of Bin Laden.

    • DeniseVB says:

      It’s turning into a Mattress Sale day too. Thanks Obama. Many people are still suffering the effects of that day, especially families of the victims, the survivors, first responders and those who worked around the clock in rescue and recovery. And the rest of us who knew exactly what we were doing the moment we witnessed our world come crashing down.

      Like Dec 7, we should all just spend a moment or two reflecting and mourning the results of evil in this world. Nah, the Obamas will have another photo op in a soup kitchen for whatever reason.

      • CiscoKid says:

        Two of my local broadcast stations carried interviews with the wife’s and husbands who lost loved ones, First Responders and civilian’s.
        The other brief interview’s with their children.
        I confess, I could only watch 10/15 minutes.
        I ran out of Kleenx.

      • lateblum says:

        Maybe they’ll have a date night and go to dinner and a movie. You know, just like they celebrate other meaningful weekends. #$%*%^#@$%

        • DeniseVB says:

          Buried in the msm is the fact that a Seal Team had a failed attempt at rescuing hostages at the American U in Kabul while they were on vacation in MV. Like the LA Flood, MO doesn’t want him to be bothered. Good grief, the entitlement is strong with these grifters.

  10. Don’t worry VM, it won’t be a National Day of Service if HRC wins. It will be renamed “Take a Syrian Refugee to Lunch” day.

  11. Somebody says:

    Speaking of top brass, this is an interesting exchange. Notice Admiral Stavridis signs off with “Stronger Together”. So did she steal it from him or did she already have her slogan figured out in 2011. Also, notice the Supreme Allied Commander of Europe chooses to use the term inshallah, best I can tell he’s not muslim or of arab ancestry (Greek and Pennsylvania Dutch).

  12. Kathy says:

    Muslim chic..that is a good one. Btw, I would think this should piss off Colin Powell and he just might have an old friend or two buried in the bowels of the State Dept. that would love to dish on Hillary.

    • lateblum says:

      Or maybe it’s the other way around and the Clintons have people who are ready and willing to dish on just about everyone rather than commit Arkancide.

  13. votermom says:

    There is something funny in the post

  14. AFVet says:

    Trump Train.

  15. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Waiting for you-know-what to arrive. Was up late cleaning desk and getting everything ready.

    It was kinda like decorating the nursery before the new baby is due.

  16. votermom says:


    You know how Trump is always saying inappropriate and violent-sounding things? Most people see that type of language as offensive and even dangerous. The exception is people who grew up in New York. We see it as “talking.”

    After college, when I moved from upstate New York to California, I had to relearn how to talk. My New York style offended nearly everyone. Let me give you an example of how a Californian talks compared to a New Yorker.

    Californian: It looks like it might rain today.

    New Yorker: Oh, shit. Fucking rain. I need that like I need a goddamned bullet in my head.

    See the difference?

    • Anthony says:

      I noticed that when I shouted “Oh, FUCK ME!!” after knocking a rack of shirts over in Fred Segal last time I was in California. People swooned and covered their children’s ears. Nobody bats an eye in Saks…

      • Somebody says:

        Haha! My BIL is from NYC, my sister loves to tell the story of how he taught her to deal with pan-handlers. She had always avoided eye contact with them and if directly questioned would say things like “I’m sorry I don’t have any cash”, etc. More often than not, they could harangue her long enough to get a few bucks or at a minimum all of her change. My BIL looks them right in the eye and says “Fuck off get a job”, and they leave him alone.

    • CiscoKid says:

      Reminds me of a story, might have been true or someone’s joke.
      Combat vet returns from RVN, family has dinner with all available members present to celebrate his safe return.
      Platters of food are passed around the table, vet grabs a couple of biscuits, passes a few more plates.
      After a few mouthful’s of his first home cooked meal in a year, he opens his biscuit and asks, “Hey, could someone pass me the f*****g butter?”
      He got his butter and no one said a thing.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Totally New Yawk, and probably why blue collars workers love Trump so much, he talks like them🙂

  17. Myiq2xu™ says:

    • Somebody says:

      $5 says she’s going to gloat about “taking out” Bin Laden……read tough Hillary, CIC material…..probably a little credit taking for post 9-11 assistance. I doubt we’ll hear the Chelsea was almost killed story.

  18. Somebody says:

    True story……..turned on TV just in time to hear Jailbird Judith Miller state that at the forum the other night Donald Trump said women in the military should expect to be raped and that our generals are trash……click, turned TV off.

  19. blowme0bama says:

    Had a hearing this morning and this middle aged, morbidly obese, mustached female lawyer was gabbing to another very unattractive female lawyer about how the media isn’t being tough enough on Trump. Had the apparent complete blinder apparatus on her head to declare, “we used to have an independent media, but those days are long gone.” Mentioned something about “Brietbart level”. I just let out a little cackle and shook my head sitting at the other table. This was coming from an ostensibly person of at least normal intelligence.

    Do they actually think MSM has been biased towards Trump? Why in the world do Democrats think its okay to sit and spew their political crap out? Do they think everyone agrees with them or are they wanting to be confrontational? I swear I almost let out a, “you have got to be kidding?!?”, but pretty quickly recognized how inappropriate it would have been. It was only a couple minutes later before the Judge entered, so maybe I should have.

    • mothy67 says:

      My attorney and my primary care physician add to that pediatrician and vet. None havea penis. My dentist has a vagina. I do not think about gender. My accountant has boobs. School principal is female. I know its wrong but several of my pros are not white. I have known Doctor Chin for 10 years. Kids doc. Last year shay did a modeling thing for dance at an airport hotel. Doc was there. Her son is also a doc. She laughs and says her son has man crush. I took him to schools in high school. He knows I loveGlenn from Walking Dead. He calls me a racist because he says I no like Chinese. His mom hates Hillary. She calls her bitch. She is from China a freaking doctor. I have known her my niece Lex was born. Alexis asked me for 400 to buy a car. Some stuff is just not right. . Please be a kid longer. I need to catch up. My tribe is big on education. I tortured lex with etymology dictionaries. Shakespeare and Joyce.sheknew Edith Hamilton at 3. Shehas a 4.8 wants to go to Stanford. My brother is a boilermaker. Odd my littlebrother went with me to Purdue. Seriously I was going away to college and I had to baby sit. I registered with him on my lap. Time passed he was high school quarterback. His yearbook under hero my brother Tim Cain. I flew him to New York and London. He lives for his daughter . I am building credit because I might need to help. Not fora second would I hesitate. So funnywe grew up so poor. Astonishingly poor. I ate parmesean cheese out of my hand. We had nothing. Always hungry. I took spaghetti noodles and ran them across my teeth. I then ate it Not a sob story. We lived fucking Janis was bi racial foster kid getting daily raped. She like never left my house. Always there. Big broke family one more mouth what ever. My eldest brother paid cash for his son to go to college.he is a vp. Nothing matters but education. . Janis with never ending boob cancer still comes by. She loves noodles and gravy egg noodles and a can of gravy. Fed us all. Because I need to have my racist card stamped Janis was half black. For real I’d come downstairs and Janis was there. We were so fucked up no one cared that a child was squating. I still know her. I asked she said at first I hung out til everyone was asleep then no one seemed to care. No one ever asked me to leave so I didn’t. Looking back I remember. Didn’t seem to care. I was a dishwaher took a bus after work I bought almonds I ate almonds with her. Did not seem odd. Twenty years later I found about the rapes. She is like my sister. I tell her to fuck off all the time. Color me racist I never knew her bio dad was black.

  20. Dora says:

    She failed to respond? I wonder how many of us could get away with that.


    After Clinton Fails to Respond to Lawsuit, Parents of Benghazi Victims Want Judgment Against Her

    • blowme0bama says:

      Haha! Plaintiffs prolly picked the most sympathetic court available. So sad, HRC. Criminal law maybe inapplicable to her but she may be in front of a judge that will teach her about the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

  21. Anthony says:

    Mystery Solved?
    (you can also follow Paul Joseph Watson on GAB – )

    • mcnorman says:

      All I can say is that she must be on a lot of drugs in order to allow him to physically touch her. Everything that I have ever heard from people who have dealt with her firsthand is that she is NOT a touchy feely person, more like back off bitch.

    • Somebody says:

      You know a thought occurred to me; how many times has Hillary been to Cleveland during the first week of September? Odds are probably fairly high that she was there in the 90’s with or for Bill, maybe in 2004 for Kerry, perhaps in 2008 or 2012 for Obama. Also it’s possible she stumped for various Ohio politicians during mid-terms at some point.

      It would be interesting to find footage of her giving a speech and NOT having “allergy” issues in a previous appearance. Generally speaking, if you have allergies you’ve had them most of your life, particularly your adult life.

      She’s had other “allergy” episodes, I think one was in NYC in January or February. Finding a clip of her in NYC any time of the year should be fairly easy……but Cleveland in September would be awesome too. Then we could compare the pollen reports from those days. I’m betting we can’t find a clip of her in previous years hacking up a lung due to supposed allergies…….so then explain that team Clinton…..senior allergies??? Concussion induced allergies???

  22. Dora says:

    Oh my. Louie is going to be in trouble now.


    Rep. Louie Gohmert: Clinton is ‘mentally impaired’

  23. lateblum says:

    Awesome photo(shop) of Powell.
    Frankly, I haven’t trusted him since he lied at the UN general assembly r/t Iraq and WMD.
    This is my first comment today. Just got home from PT. So someone might already have said this. I apologize for any repetition.

  24. mothy67 says:

    So walking to store and see this woman wotking hRd on flower beds. I walk by every day and take for granted. Flowers are stunning. We chat. I buy her a bottle of Santa Margarita Pinot Grigio on my way home. She cried. Her job is so beautiful. I walk by daily I don’t see it. Not the person that made it happen
    This blog is like a flower bed. Sure tons of weeds. Tried to remember when I first came here. So long ago. Years. Crud thinks I am a given as she should. I had an interview with director of admissions at CMU. He asked will your daughter be applying in the fall. I said no she is six I just want to get my ducks in a row. I splurge on her. Took me hundreds of hours to find non girl scout archery. My brother and his wife took it over. She goes to most elite country club. She thinks Dan is archery. Red belt one stripe she thinks its my dad. Ballet and Sax she thinks its my mom
    I am jealous. She was a throwaway child. I picked her up in my pathetic arms. I wiped that ass read every fucking line in Harry Potter. I am always thinking about her future. I am evil. We walk dogs on Sunday from pound. Please I am always in the game. She goes to local news sits at desk edits. I played it whole staff had a benefit for North Shore Animal League. So easy to get my kid in.
    Anyhow I stopped telling brat I love you. I say I believe in you.
    Years I have taken her to Cathedral of Learning I beseech her to look up and believe.
    My SIL works for yuuuuge pharma. The CEO’s love Shayla. She goes to box parties. Hanging out with Crosby and Mario does not phase her. I think rich kids can be obnoxious. Pup is always polite.
    My complaint is that everyone seems to think it came out of no where. I feel anger. I come here and you people allow me to go on. Same thing with the womanthat creates such beautyi flower beds. No one sees her. I do not touch. Me no like . This big titted woman gave me bear hug and tears. I said well you ruined that she said you are an asshole. I left her smiling.

  25. Dora says:

  26. Dora says:

  27. Dora says:


  28. mothy67 says:

    I grew up in a hospital. Eggy and I were always friends. He was downs. I never saw that. He was just Eggy. We were four. I knew how to calm him down. So young but it was so simple I just talked to him. Never at him. He died at 14. Great kid. I am the only one alive from that 1970 horror. My mom via facebook speaks with the moms. Sharon was 19we hate/love each other. She never left. I did that whole dramitic death thing. Ticker stopped for a few minutes. Dead. Not a fan of being told what to do. I came back story has it that mom was screaming as her dead son was alive I said god she’s annoying.
    Youth was spent on transplant lists. One day it got better. No reason. I did get dunked in holey water all over the world. To this day a church has a room for me. I am the oldest living person with pig valves. I will be 50 in January.
    One might think poor me so not true I get to give. I boinked a sweat hog.aked him to to do that sound. He said no. It was his dad’s,emphysema. He had never told anyone. I screwed him because he was a celebrity fuck. We did not. I actually cared about him.

  29. Dora says:

    A NY Assemblyman, who has been working for Trump, as a member of the New York State Leadership Team, has decided instead to kill himself. It happened this morning.

    Mr. Nojay was 59 years old and leaves behind a wife and 3 kids. .What a shame.

  30. lateblum says:

    Their courage knows no bounds… /s

  31. DeniseVB says:

    Just ran into this at twitter…..for those waiting or thinking of signing up for Gab. Can’t believe people are announcing their last tweets, I wouldn’t burn that bridge just yet. It’s taken me 7 years to build almost 2k followers on the twitter !

  32. DeniseVB says:

    Anthony !!! You should enter ! I’d even watch the show that day❤

    • mothy67 says:

      Real life Kelly Ripa is my absolute hands down favorite celeb ever. She is funny. I worked at a place called Sambuca on West 72nd. We gave out cheap desert wine. Ripa and I got ripped on cheap wine. Like sloshed while I was at work. I wouldn’t let her tip me so she gave all the busboys cash. One point I asked to fill up a tables water and she did we were both drunk on 2/bottle desert wine. She bussed tables while I went out to smoke.

      • mothy67 says:

        She and Randy Johnson yes the Unit Randy Johnson are the best parents I have ever seen.
        FYI Kathie Lee Gifford is wonderful. I did a private party. Most people have people to talk down to people. We needed table clothes. She went with me to Family Dollar. We bought curtains to use as they didn’t have enough. Nothing homophobic about her. Media lie.

    • Anthony says:

      Could you imagine :-D? I’m not exactly a morning person, but I’ve met Kelly through a mutual friend. She’s great – talking with her feels like you downed about 10 shots of expresso lol. Very high energy

  33. mothy67 says:

    I owned a bar was way too hard. Anyhow I love this blog

  34. Dora says:

    Jon Voight was terrific. I hope some of you were able to watch.

Comments are closed.