Overnight Open Thread: America The Beautiful

Isn’t this a nice palette cleanser?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Overnight Open Thread: America The Beautiful

  1. DeniseVB says:

    I’m bummed. Downtown Norfolk, Norfuck, whatev, is flooded tonight and couldn’t make it to the http://www.fathomevents.com/event/miss-saigon. I’m now crying in my vodka while hubby took off for a poker game in a higher elevation. Chesapeake. He said it was a sign.

    Have a great overnight !

    • lateblum says:

      I’m so sorry you missed it. I got home from Saigon just a few minutes ago and DM’d you asking if you enjoyed it. I thought it was wonderful. There was a woman sitting 4 people down the row from me who had seen it 4 times! 3 times in London. She was disappointed after the 1st act. At the end, she was applauding. This production was different from the original and so what she said they had cut in the first act, was very present in the second. I loved the music. I hadn’t heard it – or much of it – before.
      They brought out the original cast members at the end since it was a celebration of the 25th anniversary of the original. Will they refund your money or will there be a second showing of it the way they do the operas from the Met?
      I didn’t know there was flooding tonight.😦

  2. 49erDweet says:

    Klown’s newer post “not being found” on web. ??? Might be a WP thingy.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Just thinking out loud, but it might be a scheduling snafu. It might be referring to his Fri post and somehow WP released the email notication this evening? No harm done.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Prolly my fault, didn’t see anything in the barn when I posted my thingy.

        • It was the best post I have ever written but I deleted it in a fit of drunken rage and now it’s gone forever.

          Just kidding – I checked before I started writing but I didn’t check again before I hit “publish”. You snuck in on me. I didn’t want to bigfoot your post and it was nothing that couldn’t wait until morning so I re-skedded it.

          (But it’s still the best post I have ever written.)

  3. SHV says:

    This is interesting:
    “Clinton’s eyes — a window into her health issues”

    What doesn’t fit, the article’s hypothesis, is that if she has problems with her left Sixth cranial nerve, her transverse sinus thrombosis was reported to be on the right side of her brain. Whatever…On Monday, 80+(?) people will be watching her eyes, head movements, seizures(?), cough, etc,.

  4. SHV says:

    80+ million

    • lateblum says:

      Thanks for that! I thought you really meant only 80+ people would be interested in watching her. I figured the rest of the 80 million would be watching Trump.😀

  5. DeniseVB says:

    I made some Pasta Fasta tonight. Ordered it from Vm’s link on Amazon. It really, really works great for single serving pasta servings. Nom, nom, nom.

  6. votermom says:

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Here’s the whole Milo at LSU last night. Qued to about 50 minutes….?

  8. SHV says:

    “NAACP Leader on Keith Scott Shooting: ‘It Really Doesn’t Matter If He Had a Gun’”
    “But in my mind and in most of the community’s mind, it really doesn’t matter if he had a gun,” she said.
    “At the end of the day we have the right under the Second Amendment to carry here in North Carolina,”
    “So I don’t want anyone to walk away from this conversation today thinking that a video showing he had a gun in any way says that he was guilty of anything,” concluded Mack.”

    One minor problem with that logic. IIRC, Mr. Scott was a convicted felon and felon+firearm=crime

  9. DeniseVB says:

    This is supposed to be a get out the vote ad, most are saying it’s anti-Trump? Other than the usual suspects it might be, but why not endorse Hillary? Oh well, et tu Ironman?

  10. blowme0bama says:

    Is he thinking, “How stupid have I been?” or “I deserved it”?

  11. lyn says:

    I think Facebook took down the video of the guy being dragged and kicked in the parking garage. I don’t remember deleting it.

  12. Somebody says:

    My chuckle for the day. I get in my car to go somewhere. I turn up the radio and hear “I’m Hillary Clinton and I approve this message….Have you suffered traumatic brain injury, a concussion……blah, blah.

    It was an ad for a TBI clinical trial. It played immediately following the Hillary ad, but I missed the ad and only heard the I approve this message. Then it starts in on brain injury and for a minute I was like WTF! Bad ad placement though.

  13. mothy67 says:

    HotAir does not have a Trump bashing top headline.

  14. elliesmom says:

    Crash learned how to sing “God Bless America” in kindergarten. My daughter has a video up of her mutilating the lyrics, but she has the melody down pretty well. I can’t post it because my daughter has the security settings on at a high level. I’m just glad she’s not in a school that worries about people objecting to it being taught, and we all know how religious I am.

  15. mcnorman says:

    Milo should have a chat with this one.

  16. swanspirit says:

    Speaking of palate cleansers, and completely OT. I have been decluttering, throwing stuff out, giving old stuff away, selling stuff on CL, and generally going in the Fixer Upper direction in my home, and I really needed new drapes in the LR, and I thought I needed a new sofa in the den. With little to no money for those , I almost gave up, but thanks to Pinterest, I have now discovered painters drop cloths!!! So cheap, $10 for 6×9 hemmed material that looks like linen, I can do it all and more. I might go drop cloth crazy for a while lol, but I don’t care.
    They are wonderful, and you can make them into almost anything. I tried one on my sofa in the den, and with a little bit of tucking, it looks fantastic, and the fabric doesn’t move!!
    So if I am ever MIA for too long, I am probably under a drop cloth somewhere in my house!
    It’s a great way to unplug and de-stress.

    • votermom says:

      That’s so resourceful!

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I have slipcovers on my sectional sofa. There are areas where the fabric wore through/faded but the bones are in very good shape and it a hard to find clean style that looks good even in my condo. It is a lot less expensive fix than new furniture. I will have to try the painter cloths. That would help for a change in look or when the slipcovers need washed.

      I do use those painters cloths over boxes stacked single/double/triple. Makes for inexpensive kitty trees and the cloths can be washed. They like the fabric and yes – they love to get under them like kids using sheets to pretend they are in a tent/castle/whatever.

  17. Dora says:

    This is a good article from John Bolton. I can hardly believe how everything around us is being destroyed piece by piece by this corrupt administration.


    John Bolton On Obama’s Internet Handover : “Within 10 Years, The Internet As We Know It Will End.”


Comments are closed.