Debate Drunk Blog Open Thread


Are you ready to rumble?

I got a big bottle of Seagram’s Seven and a case of Diet Pepsi, along with half-a-dozen leftover Tramadol from the last time I had a tooth pulled. If I start now I should be unconscious by the time the debate begins.

I recommend watching on CSpan. They give it to you unfiltered. I won’t be watching the pre and postgame commentary because it’s all just jibber-jabber.

The easy-peasy Japanesy way to tell who won is to check out the prog blogs during and after. If they are freaking out then Trump won. If they aren’t talking about the debate at all then Trump won big.

I’ll see you all on the other side. I’m binge-watching GOT season 6 and Daenerys is about to roast the Khals.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

118 Responses to Debate Drunk Blog Open Thread

  1. From Uppity’s place:

    No matter how it gets spun or even how it looks, the fact is, Hillary already won this debate. She is the only legitimate candidate. There is only one professional. Only one competent nominee. Only one presidential candidate. She beat the purity trolls of the far left, she’s beating the racists, sexists, and xenophobics of the right, and she’s beating the gawd-awful media (who decided they were in this race back when she was still doing her book tour).

    Today there is more advice swirling around the Interwebs about what Hillary needs to do to win. She needs to smile. She needs to show she’s likable. She needs to tell us what she plans to do. (Because, if you’re in the media in 2016, you have NO idea what she plans to do and no way of finding out. It’s just not possible. You are literally forced to speculate.) What Hillary needs to do is tell these people to STFU. I was going to link to some of them, but they’re stupid.

    This is not a normal year. Donald is not a normal person, much less candidate. The fact is, he blew away 16 of the GOP’s best and brightest by playing Political Apprentice while they were following The Establishment Book of Rules & Norms. If she follows the book too (likely), Mom and Pop won’t get freaked out but the Pundit Class will say she’s risk-averse, boring, wonky, (you know the rest—sing along with me). If she does something unexpected (perchance bold), the media Kewl Kidz will make fun of her, like they did with Naeing on Ellen, Pokemon Go Vote, and even this Kinney selfie pic. Because Hillary is not allowed to have any fun with this. None. Maybe her best bet is to play it straight, just up to the edge of baiting-with-plausible-deniability, and then let him Lazio himself. That kind of thing polls well.

  2. Have fun Klown – and all. I’ve already started on the wine, and am cooking wild rice, fresh mushroom with almonds, green beans and sirloin strip. No (un)social media for me tonight. After 9 that is!

  3. in the meantime – this is fun! And FREE! Lose all your money? Just reload the page! LOL

  4. Now that Hillary has burned thru most of the money she raised, Trump is starting to run his own ads.

  5. Dora says:

    Oh. My. God. The networks have caved to Hillary’s demands!


    Bloomberg TV will conduct on-screen fact checks of statements made by both Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton during Monday night’s debate, POLITICO has confirmed.

    • These are NOT “The Networks” – They are Bloomberg & NPR

    • Constance says:

      All trump has to do is let go a stream of truths which do not fit the Progressive narrative, about 15 to 20 facts a few should be debate-able, then while the nerds are trying to check go off on his own agenda.

  6. jennifer lyn says:

    Hey guys…I live in Houston and there was a sniper like shooting this morning. Black attorney, who earlier in the week had been seen and reported on his roof with an assault rifle, drove his porsche down to a major intersection and shot with precision ONLY white people. How do I know this–my good friend is a police officer. Interesting how media did not f..king report this but can you IMAGINE if the shooter had been white and the victims black? My god the world had become fun by lunatics.

    • mcnorman says:

      They never reported that problem. They did say that he was an attorney that was working from home because his business went bust. Actually, his partner has the business now. He was Indian. Now old either.

    • I didn’t see his race referred to in media reports, but he didn’t look black in picture. His last name is Desai, and that’s a from-India-Indian surname. Several prominent Indians have that last name, including a former Prime minister and an actor.

      They did make voluminous mention of some Nazi artifacts in his car and the fact that he was wearing a Nazi uniform. Ima laugh if he was wearing that shit because he was muslim and hated jews.

      Spot-the-Nazi-paraphernalia is the media’s latest game. I’ve seen two different references (multiple articles on each) on it today. #Confirmed it’s a Journolist-collaborated strategy designed to prove that there literally ARE Nazi’s everywhere.

  7. jennifer lyn says:

    What is that old saying about having the fox watch the hen house?

  8. anyone besides me think Jennifer Griffin at Fox is in the total tank for HRC?

  9. Dora says:

  10. Dora says:

  11. CiscoKid says:

    Is this to much?
    This man doesn’t . Neither do I .
    Phil A.✓Trump Landslide
    39 minutes ago
    Heavenly Father, God Almighty, I am protected by Your grace and thank you for that. I ask that Donald J. Trump be protected this day, kept safe and given comfort by Your grace and loving-kindness. Let him be filled with Your peace and love, and let everything he needs be easily available. Let everything work out in his favor. Protect him, and keep him safe in all ways.

  12. Kathy says:

    Hillis44 has a very calming post up about the debate. I’m still not watching because if I lose it the tv will be my first target.

  13. DeniseVB says:

    I’m going downstairs now to make hubby dearest to switch over from NfL to a DeBate channel, wish me luck🙂

  14. swanspirit says:

    I am so excited! I washed and bleached my new drop cloths (future curtains / sleepovers / pillow covers etc.) And they are in the dryer; I am waiting for them to be done. I can’t wait to see how they come out!!
    What else is going on?

    • lyn says:

      I’m not watching the debate; I would rather read people’s reactions.
      My Radio Cat is doing well. When he was at the Feline Thyroid Clinic, he chewed one claw and exposed the quick. That is healing nicely. All his radioactivity will be gone by Friday. Yay!

    • lateblum says:

      I have been thinking of those painters cloths. I am more than a little interested in what you do with them and how it turns out. Please let us know.

  15. CiscoKid says:

    Getting near post time, so here’s the call from Santa Anita race track.

  16. Dora says:

  17. votermom says:

    And here they come…

  18. mcnorman says:

    Og gawd, she’s wearing red…looks like a giant strawberry.

  19. mcnorman says:

    Are the eyes already tracking in different directions?

  20. votermom says:

    Her eyes are weird if you look closely

  21. SHV says:

    Just used my new Fasta Pasta and watching the Berlin Marathon….I will follow the TCH version of the Debate.

  22. Okay, I’m done. That was all I could take. Back to GOT

  23. We should adopt Daenerys Stormborn’s foreign policy – “Speak softly and ride a big fucking dragon.”

  24. CiscoKid says:

    Trump is sniffling , doesn’t sound good, might have a cold.

  25. votermom says:

    Oh it’s on now like donkey kong

  26. What is wrong with her right eye? I can’t stop looking at it.

  27. Constance says:

    She seems to be dominating. It’s all a bunch of pie in the sky, She will make sure we have solar power in every home and that will create millions of jobs. Trump brought up solyndra debacle but she just gave him a Cheshire cat grin. I think her folks are going to be happy.

  28. Constance says:

    I still see Trump as a doer not a talker and a good judge of character.

  29. mcnorman says:

    Tit for tat…he needs to talk about the CGI and her stint at the state dept.

  30. ka-BOOM

  31. mcnorman says:

    Pillar of the community…that guy in NC had a restraining order placed by his wife a year earlier…gun problem.

  32. Anthony says:

    I can’t stand either one of them tonight. I’m going to do a bong hit and watch Real Housewives. That’s how much I fucking hate it.

  33. lateblum says:

    Remember the debates between HRC and BHO? He agreed with almost everything she said. Then he was elected because his campaigning was (they say) so effective. So when he can, he should agree with her and then highlight those issues that he can very clearly give specifics. Like now while he is talking about law and order.
    He’ll win based on his plans, his use of statistics and his emotional connection with people.

    • Somebody says:

      The birthed issue, Holt keeps pushing it. I guess the MSM really thinks the birthed issue will bring him down.

      For the record Trump is correct Hillary started the birthed issue, but the media will cover for her.

      • lateblum says:

        Of course they will cover for her. they don’t want their gravy train upended.
        and yes. The Clinton campaign began that issue in 2008.

  34. One of the things I like best about GOT is the character development.

    Even the ones who get killed.

    • Somebody says:

      Trump missed a golden opportunity when “Russian hacking”, cyber security and national security was asked by Holt. He should have thrown the server and her looseness with classified information in her face.

      Now he’s defending his view on invasion of Iraq. Answer is……I was private citizen, she actually voted for it and doubled down on bad decisions with troop pull out. Trump is digging in on this, going down rabbit hole.

      • CiscoKid says:

        Trumps biggest miss of the night.

      • blowme0bama says:

        I agree. I think he missed opportunities to bury her, right and left. In spite of that, she didn’t come off as really sparkling or anything, but he could have put his foot in her ass on the cyber security, on the absolute incompetence that led to the current M.E., and other matters. I don’t believe he once mentioned Benghazi. Maybe that will come up in other debates.

  35. Ann says:

    “She has experience, but it is the wrong experience.”

    He got that good one in at the end, but he needs to stop responding – if you are explaining, you are losing. He missed so many opportunities to go after her on so many issues.

    • CiscoKid says:

      Sadly, he missed.
      But it helps to have the moderator in your corner.
      He never grilled Hillary like he did Trump.
      Never challenged Hillary, but Trump on almost everything he said.
      But see, these debates mean nothing to me.
      Hillary, higher taxes, open or no borders, amnesty for 10, 20 million illegal aliens and admitting thousands more rapeugees from the ME.
      Trump, lower taxes, secure borders, no amnesty and a hold on ME .

    • taw46 says:

      He did, he missed opportunities. At the end when she bragged about sitting in a hearing for 11 hours, he should have reminded everyone what that hearing was about. Just as one example. And, he let her get under his skin. All the smirking, sneering, laughing him off as a crazy person. Someone better make him listen before the next debate. But what do I know, I still hope enough people are so fed up, that the debates won’t matter and he will get the votes.

      • lyn says:

        “All the smirking, sneering, laughing him off as a crazy person.” Well, that reflects more on Hillary than it does on Trump. Hillary thinks she is better than most of us, including Trump.

  36. swanspirit says:

    Ok, I watched it, so now I don’t have to watch all the clips.

    • lateblum says:

      I did laundry much of the night. So I missed at least the second half completely.

      • swanspirit says:

        My drop cloths are taking a long time to dry, they are still in the dryer. But when I checked them they are very much softer. Such nice fabric, for almost pennies

        • lateblum says:

          So how are you going to use them on the sofas? I have two loveseats and I’d like to cover them in a neutral color for a little while, but don’t want to spend a fortune. the drop cloths sound like a good find.

  37. DandyTIger says:

    Trump was not a drooling, crazy, basket case. By being on the stage and being reasonable, he is by definition presidential. Hillary had to not drop over and die. She did that. A draw.

    • DandyTIger says:

      He really slammed Hillary quite a bit. But maybe over played his hand and got noisy and interrupted too much. And missed some great comebacks at the same time. But Hillary was pretty lame throughout. And she brought up issues that only make her look bad. So they both could have done lots better. I suspect Trump will learn and do better. Hillary on the other hand will just get sicker.

  38. elliesmom says:

    After tonight I expect we’ll see a “less gentlemanly” Trump. Hillary lowered the bar for civility. The fine line Trump will have to walk will be to be slightly less nasty than she’s been. I don’t think any of us really expected her to fall off the podium tonight, but if she’s not out on the campaign trail tomorrow, he can have a field day with that.

  39. taw46 says:

  40. swanspirit says:

    I loved the way Donald talked back to Lester. I wonder if Mitt was watching.

  41. CiscoKid says:

    Not that it needed saying, but I told you this fuck was in Hillarys corner.

  42. votermom says:

    I think Trump did ok for the audience he was trying to win – the undecideds. He seemed more likable.

  43. Venus says:

    All the MSM is in agreement — Hillary won the debate.
    Of course, they all agreed Trump would never be the nominee.

  44. Venus says:

Comments are closed.